The claims received 9/22/2025 are entered.
The Notice of Allowance mailed 10/28/2025 is withdrawn as was indicated in the PTO-2300 mailed 12/18/2025.
This action is non-final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,987,093 in view of Holleman (US 2018/0274838). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the cited patent largely corresponds to instant claim except for lacking “vertically oriented” and “the other of said pin or catch” as are found in instant claim 1. However as the elements are three-dimensional, they include vertical components of their orientation. Further although the cited patent doesn’t include the other of said pin or catch; the bracket includes a pivot or catch mounting means and is for the purpose of pivotally mounting the mobile air conditioner. It is understood that the mounting means includes a corresponding mounting means at the air conditioner. Thus although not explicitly claimed it follows that it is present in order for the mounting means to function as intended. The limitations of claims 2-5 are found in claims 3-7. Regarding the internal frame of claims 6-8; while neither the cited claim 1 nor dependent claims thereof include an internal frame it is old and well known to provide internal frames to support structures. Thus it follows in constructing the air conditioner of the cited patent to include an internal frame for the purpose of robustness.
The cited claim(s) does not recite that the pivoting mount is “at a lower position” however Holleman discloses a pivoting mounting connection (shown in figure 4) at a lower position thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the pin/catch at a lower position in order to enable a technician to tilt the air conditioner into position.
Instant claim 9 includes similar features of instant claim 1 and further includes an internal frame not found in cited claim 1. However for the same reasons as provided for instant claims 1 and 6-8 instant claim 9 is not patentably distinct. Instant claims 10-15 correspond to cited claims 2-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holleman (US 2018/0274838).
Regarding claim 1, Holleman discloses a mobile air conditioner, comprising:
a base pan (vertical dividing wall identified in annotated figure 2 is base ban) which is configured to be vertically oriented for mounting, said base pan having a compressor (29), an evaporator (28), a condenser (20), a fan (31 or 32), and an expansion valve (24) forming a refrigeration circuit ([0052]);
a shroud (12) which is connected to said base pan and covering said refrigeration circuit, said shroud mounted vertically, said shroud configured to be oriented vertically (orientation shown in at least figures 2 and 4b);
a bracket (41) configured to be mounted to a frame of a recreational vehicle, and extend from said recreational vehicle said bracket having one of a pin or a catch (the shape of bracket 41 as shown in figure 4c provides for a “catch” structure that receives element 44 from the air conditioner);
the other of said pin or catch associated with said mobile air conditioner (element 44 best shown in figure 4c is a pin as defined by Merriam-Webster “a piece of solid material (such as wood or metal) used especially for fastening things together or as a support by which one thing may be suspended from another”), the other of said pin or catch engaging said bracket to pivotally mount said mobile air conditioner to said recreational vehicle at a lower position of the mobile air conditioner (pivoting motion shown in at least figure 4A), wherein said base pan pivots upwardly toward said frame of said recreational vehicle for operation;
a conditioned air duct and a return duct extending horizontally (the three dimensional duct including evaporator 28 as well as inlet and outlet 25 and 26 includes horizontal extension) from said base pan and configured to extend into said recreational vehicle through a wall of said recreational vehicle, said conditioned air duct in flow communication with said evaporator;
one or more openings (22 or 23) on either or both of the base pan or shroud to allow an airflow for heat exchange with the condenser.
Regarding claim 2, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising one of air into the condenser or air exhaust from the condenser (inflow and outflow of air from the condenser 20 is shown in at least figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a horizontal airflow (while the net flow of air across the condenser is in the vertical direction the airflow must also include horizontal flow in order to fill the condenser space, e.g. the air inlet 22 of figure 3 is at one side of the space while the air outlet 23 is at a top near the opposing side).
Regarding claim 4, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a vertical airflow (airflow arrows through 22 and 23 in figure 2 are oriented in the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 5, Holleman discloses a base pan extension (18).
Regarding claim 6, Holleman discloses an internal frame (51 and/or 18) disposed within said base pan or shroud.
Regarding claim 7, Holleman discloses said refrigeration circuit ([0052]) disposed within said internal frame (18).
Regarding claim 8, Holleman discloses the other of said pin or catch disposed at said internal frame (shown in figure 4 the element 44 is at the internal frame).
Regarding claim 9, Holleman discloses a mobile air conditioner, comprising:
a base pan (vertical dividing wall identified in annotated figure 2 is base ban) and a shroud (12) connected to a base, said base and said shroud configured to be oriented vertically on a wall of a recreational vehicle;
an internal frame (51) disposed within one or both of the base or the shroud;
a plurality of cooling mechanicals defining a refrigeration circuit ([0052]), said plurality of cooling mechanicals comprising a compressor, an evaporator, a condenser, a fan and an expansion valve;
one or more of said plurality of cooling mechanicals disposed within said internal frame (compressor 29 is within said frame 52);
a bracket (41) configured to be mounted to a frame of said recreational vehicle, and extend from said recreational vehicle said bracket having one of a pin or a catch (the shape of bracket 41 as shown in figure 4c provides for a “catch” structure that receives element 44 from the air conditioner);
the other of said pin or catch associated with said mobile air conditioner (element 44 best shown in figure 4c is a pin as defined by Merriam-Webster “a piece of solid material (such as wood or metal) used especially for fastening things together or as a support by which one thing may be suspended from another”), the other of said pin or catch disposed on a lower location of said internal frame and engaging said bracket to pivotally mount said mobile air conditioner to said recreational vehicle, wherein said internal frame pivots upwardly toward said wall of said recreational vehicle for operation (rotation shown in at least figure 4a);
a conditioned air duct and a return duct extending horizontally (the three dimensional duct including evaporator 28 as well as inlet and outlet 25 and 26 includes horizontal extension) and configured to extend into said recreational vehicle through said wall, said conditioned air duct in flow communication with said evaporator (28);
one or more openings (22 or 23) on either or both of the base pan or shroud to allow an airflow for heat exchange with the condenser.
Regarding claim 10, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a horizontal airflow (while the net flow of air across the condenser is in the vertical direction the airflow must also include horizontal flow in order to fill the condenser space, e.g. the air inlet 22 of figure 3 is at one side of the space while the air outlet 23 is at a top near the opposing side).
Regarding claim 11, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a vertical airflow (airflow arrows through 22 and 23 in figure 2 are oriented in the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 12, Holleman discloses internal frame pivotally connected to said bracket at one location (pivot connection at 44) and fastened to said bracket at a second location (fastened connection at 46).
Regarding claim 13, Holleman discloses a base extension (18) extending from said base pan.
Regarding claim 14, Holleman discloses said base extension (18) configured to extend through said wall of said recreational vehicle (shown in figure 4B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holleman (US 2018/0274838) in view of Bongaards et al (US 6,357,248).
Regarding claims 6-8, Holleman discloses the mobile air conditioner of claim 1. Holleman discloses an internal frame as discussed above however Bongaards is provided to teach an alternative internal frame. Bongaards discloses an internal frame disposed within said base pan or shroud or both. Bongaards further discloses said refrigeration circuit disposed within said internal frame. Bongaards further discloses the other of said pin or catch (47a or 164 are shown in figure 10) disposed at said internal frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Holleman with an internal frame in order to increase mechanical robustness, provide support for internal components, e.g. the refrigeration cycle components, and provide attachment points.
Regarding claims 9-14, Holleman discloses the features of claims 9-14 as detailed above. Nonetheless in regard to the internal frame Bongaards is provided from the same as detailed in claims 6-8 above.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holleman (US 2018/0274838), with or without Bongaards (6,357,248), and in view of Nagai (US 5,544,929).
Regarding claim 15, Holleman discloses the mobile air conditioner of claim 9, but lacks a backup camera window. It is also noted that backup cameras have been required by law in the US since 2018 and have been well known for many years prior. Nagai discloses providing a camera (8) on a vehicle ventilation arrangement. It would have been obvious to have provided Holleman with a camera and window therefor on the air shroud or base pan as taught by Nagai order to increase feedback to a user. Further although Holleman provides the air conditioner on a front of the arrangement it follows to configure it for a plurality of installations, such as a rear wall of a vehicle, in order to increase the use of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Henderson et al (US 11,639,083) pivotally mounted portions of air conditioner;
Brown et al (US 5,123,258) pivotally mounted air conditioner;
You (US 5,095,716) vertically mounted air conditioner;
Walker et al (US 5,046,327) pivotally mounted air conditioner;
King (US 4,748,825) pivotally mounted air conditioner.
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799