The claims received 3/30/2026 are entered.
Double Patenting
A terminal disclaimer has been approved in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,987,093.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holleman (US 2018/0274838) in view of Bongaards et al (US 6,357,248).
Regarding claim 1, Holleman discloses a mobile air conditioner, comprising:
a base pan (vertical dividing wall identified in annotated figure 2 is base ban) which is configured to be vertically oriented for mounting, said base pan having a compressor (29), an evaporator (28), a condenser (20), a fan (31 or 32), and an expansion valve (24) forming a refrigeration circuit ([0052]);
a shroud (12) which is connected to said base pan and covering said refrigeration circuit, said shroud mounted vertically, said shroud configured to be oriented vertically (orientation shown in at least figures 2 and 4b);
a bracket (41) configured to be mounted to a frame of a recreational vehicle, and extend from said recreational vehicle said bracket having one of a pin or a catch (the shape of bracket 41 as shown in figure 4c provides for a “catch” structure that receives element 44 from the air conditioner);
the other of said pin or catch associated with said mobile air conditioner (element 44 best shown in figure 4c is a pin as defined by Merriam-Webster “a piece of solid material (such as wood or metal) used especially for fastening things together or as a support by which one thing may be suspended from another”), said pin and said catch having a curved engagement surface
the other of said pin or catch engaging said bracket to pivotally mount said mobile air conditioner to said recreational vehicle at a lower position of the mobile air conditioner (pivoting motion shown in at least figure 4A), wherein said base pan pivots upwardly toward said frame of said recreational vehicle for operation;
a conditioned air duct and a return duct extending horizontally (the three dimensional duct including evaporator 28 as well as inlet and outlet 25 and 26 includes horizontal extension) from said base pan and configured to extend into said recreational vehicle through a wall of said recreational vehicle, said conditioned air duct in flow communication with said evaporator;
one or more openings (22 or 23) on either or both of the base pan or shroud to allow an airflow for heat exchange with the condenser.
Holleman lacks that the conditioned air and return air ducts guide entering and exiting air in the horizontal direction.
Bongaards discloses a mobile air conditioner wherein conditioned air and return air ducts guiding exit of conditioned and entry of return air horizontally (air flows 82 in figure 6 are in the horizontal direction). It has been held that a "simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” is obvious. In this instance the prior art provides for the element of horizontal air flow. It is known in the art to substitute vertical flow for horizontal flow. The result of the substitution would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 B. Further it is recognized that discharge and return direction impact flow distribution within the conditioned space.
Regarding claim 2, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising one of air into the condenser or air exhaust from the condenser (inflow and outflow of air from the condenser 20 is shown in at least figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a horizontal airflow (while the net flow of air across the condenser is in the vertical direction the airflow must also include horizontal flow in order to fill the condenser space, e.g. the air inlet 22 of figure 3 is at one side of the space while the air outlet 23 is at a top near the opposing side).
Regarding claim 4, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a vertical airflow (airflow arrows through 22 and 23 in figure 2 are oriented in the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 5, Holleman discloses a base pan extension (18).
Regarding claim 6, Holleman discloses an internal frame (51 and/or 18) disposed within said base pan or shroud.
Regarding claim 7, Holleman discloses said refrigeration circuit ([0052]) disposed within said internal frame (18).
Regarding claim 8, Holleman discloses the other of said pin or catch disposed at said internal frame (shown in figure 4 the element 44 is at the internal frame).
Regarding claims 6-8, Holleman discloses the mobile air conditioner of claim 1. Holleman discloses an internal frame as discussed above however Bongaards is provided to teach an alternative internal frame. Bongaards discloses an internal frame disposed within said base pan or shroud or both. Bongaards further discloses said refrigeration circuit disposed within said internal frame. Bongaards further discloses the other of said pin or catch (47a or 164 are shown in figure 10) disposed at said internal frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Holleman with an internal frame in order to increase mechanical robustness, provide support for internal components, e.g. the refrigeration cycle components, and provide attachment points.
Regarding claim 9, Holleman discloses a mobile air conditioner, comprising:
a base pan (vertical dividing wall identified in annotated figure 2 is base ban) and a shroud (12) connected to a base, said base and said shroud configured to be oriented vertically on a wall of a recreational vehicle;
an internal frame (51) disposed within one or both of the base or the shroud;
a plurality of cooling mechanicals defining a refrigeration circuit ([0052]), said plurality of cooling mechanicals comprising a compressor, an evaporator, a condenser, a fan and an expansion valve;
one or more of said plurality of cooling mechanicals disposed within said internal frame (compressor 29 is within said frame 52);
a bracket (41) configured to be mounted to a frame of said recreational vehicle, and extend from said recreational vehicle said bracket having one of a pin or a catch (the shape of bracket 41 as shown in figure 4c provides for a “catch” structure that receives element 44 from the air conditioner), said pin and said catch having a curved pivot surface
the other of said pin or catch associated with said mobile air conditioner (element 44 best shown in figure 4c is a pin as defined by Merriam-Webster “a piece of solid material (such as wood or metal) used especially for fastening things together or as a support by which one thing may be suspended from another”), the other of said pin or catch disposed on a lower location of said internal frame and engaging said bracket to pivotally mount said mobile air conditioner to said recreational vehicle, wherein said internal frame pivots upwardly toward said wall of said recreational vehicle for operation (rotation shown in at least figure 4a);
a conditioned air duct and a return duct extending horizontally (the three dimensional duct including evaporator 28 as well as inlet and outlet 25 and 26 includes horizontal extension) and configured to extend into said recreational vehicle through said wall, said conditioned air duct in flow communication with said evaporator (28);
one or more openings (22 or 23) on either or both of the base pan or shroud to allow an airflow for heat exchange with the condenser.
Holleman lacks that the conditioned air and return air ducts guide entering and exiting air in the horizontal direction.
Bongaards discloses a mobile air conditioner wherein conditioned air and return air ducts guiding exit of conditioned and entry of return air horizontally (air flows 82 in figure 6 are in the horizontal direction). It has been held that a "simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” is obvious. In this instance the prior art provides for the element of horizontal air flow. It is known in the art to substitute vertical flow for horizontal flow. The result of the substitution would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 B. Further it is recognized that discharge and return direction impact flow distribution within the conditioned space.
Regarding claim 10, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a horizontal airflow (while the net flow of air across the condenser is in the vertical direction the airflow must also include horizontal flow in order to fill the condenser space, e.g. the air inlet 22 of figure 3 is at one side of the space while the air outlet 23 is at a top near the opposing side).
Regarding claim 11, Holleman discloses said airflow comprising a vertical airflow (airflow arrows through 22 and 23 in figure 2 are oriented in the vertical direction).
Regarding claim 12, Holleman discloses internal frame pivotally connected to said bracket at one location (pivot connection at 44) and fastened to said bracket at a second location (fastened connection at 46).
Regarding claim 13, Holleman discloses a base extension (18) extending from said base pan.
Regarding claim 14, Holleman discloses said base extension (18) configured to extend through said wall of said recreational vehicle (shown in figure 4B).
Regarding claims 9-14, Holleman discloses the features of claims 9-14 as detailed above. Nonetheless in regard to the internal frame Bongaards is provided from the same as detailed in claims 6-8 above.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holleman (US 2018/0274838), in view of Bongaards (6,357,248), and in view of Nagai (US 5,544,929).
Regarding claim 15, Holleman discloses the mobile air conditioner of claim 9, but lacks a backup camera window. It is also noted that backup cameras have been required by law in the US since 2018 and have been well known for many years prior. Nagai discloses providing a camera (8) on a vehicle ventilation arrangement. It would have been obvious to have provided Holleman with a camera and window therefor on the air shroud or base pan as taught by Nagai order to increase feedback to a user. Further although Holleman provides the air conditioner on a front of the arrangement it follows to configure it for a plurality of installations, such as a rear wall of a vehicle, in order to increase the use of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or rendered moot by the new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the curved pivot/engagement surface. Annotated figure 4C of Holleman above identifies the curved surface. Figures 4A and 5 show pivoting at said surface. [0070]-[0071] of Holleman disclose pivoting at said surface.
Regarding horizontal air flow. The examiner agrees that Holleman shows vertical air flow at the entry and exit ducts; however Bongaards is relied upon to teach horizontal air flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Henderson et al (US 11,639,083) pivotally mounted portions of air conditioner;
Brown et al (US 5,123,258) pivotally mounted air conditioner;
You (US 5,095,716) vertically mounted air conditioner;
Walker et al (US 5,046,327) pivotally mounted air conditioner;
King (US 4,748,825) pivotally mounted air conditioner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799