DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-9, 13-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saito (US 2016/0329508 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, Saito teaches an iridium complex represented by M2 (page 68):
M2 reads on applicants’ iridium complex wherein LA = Ring B = pyridine, X1-X4 = C; X1-X4 = C; RB = 1, 3, 5-triazine, R1 and R2 = phenyl; Ring A = fluorene (shows two Ra(s) fused to from three ring system); LB = RY = H; Rx and Rz = methyl, LB1 (per claims 1, 4-5, 8-9).
Regarding Claim 3, Saito teaches the limitations of independent claim 1
. The limitations of dependent claim B are viewed as a recitation of the partial (
) limitations of independent claim 1; however, the missing limitation is nonetheless applicable. Therefore, as the basis for dependent claim 3 is encompassed in rejected independent claim 1, the limitations of claim 3 are thus meet by the treatment of independent claim 1 (per claim 3).
Regarding Claims 13-15, 17, Saito teaches a light emitting device comprises a light emitting layer between an anode and a cathode. The light emitting device of the present invention preferably comprises at least one of a hole injection layer and a hole transporting layer between an anode and a light emitting layer from the standpoint of hole injectability and hole transportability (paragraph 338). The iridium complex (above) is used in the light emitting layer (paragraph 419) (per claims 13 and 15).
The OLED can be used in a display device with applications in areas such as computers and television sets (paragraph 347) (per claim 14).
The OLED also contains a host material containing a benzothiophene skeleton or carbazole skeleton (paragraph 253) (per claim 17).
Regarding Claim 20, Saito teaches composition comprising the metal complex (M2) and a host material (paragraph 248) (viewed as a formulation) (per claim 20).
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akino (US 2011/0124808 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 8, 10, Akino teaches an iridium complex represented by Ak-pg22 (page 22):
Ak-pg22 reads on applicants’ iridium complex wherein LA = Ring A = phenyl; Ring B = pyridine, RB = X1-X4 = C; RB = 1, 3, 5-triazine, R1 and R2 = phenyl; LB = Ring D = X5 = N, pyridine; Ring C = phenyl (per claims 1-5, 8,10)
Regarding Claims 13-15 , Akino teaches an OLED: anode/hole injection layer (hole transport layer)/light-emitting layer/electron injection layer (electron transport layer)/cathode (paragraph 136). The light-emitting layer contains a host material doped with the light-emitting material (Ak-pg22) (paragraph 143) (per claims 13 and 15).
The OLED include a planar light source, a light source for lighting (or light source), a light source for signs, a light source for back lights, display apparatuses, and printer heads (paragraph 152) (per claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 2016/0329508 A1) in view of Adamovich (US 2016/0093808).
Regarding Claims 16-18, Saito teaches an OLED containing a host material containing a benzothiophene skeleton or carbazole skeleton (paragraph 253) but fails to mention applicants’ material.
Adamovich teaches a host material can include a benzothiophene (paragraph 102) (per claim 102). One example is represented by Compound H2 (page 61):
Compound H2 reads on
(per claims 16-18).
As Saito and Adamovich both teach benzothiophene containing host materials, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have selected thiophene based host materials which would have included Compound H2 of Adamovich which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claims 16-18).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 2016/0329508 A1) in view of Chen (Chem. Sci.,2015,6, 4623).
.
Regarding Claim 19, Saito teaches an OLED containing a host material containing a benzothiophene skeleton or carbazole skeleton (paragraph 253) but fails to mention applicants’ material.
Chen teaches that Zn(II)-2 (2-hydroxyphenyl)benzothiazolates have been used as host in OLEDs (page 4623).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of invention to have known host materials which would have included the Zn complex of Chen which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to show:
R1 or R2 (per claim 6)
LA (per claim 7)
LB (per claim 11)
Compounds (per claim 12)
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendment. New art applied.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786