DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of a new ground of rejections.
Further, in order to clarify the rejections, Examiner would like to make a few comments in response to some of Application’s arguments with respect to Ou’s teachings that Examiner sees as relevant.
Specifically, on page 17, Applicant argues that,
[…]
First, it can be seen that, Ou discloses that the electronic device may display multiple logos including the marks K41-K45 in the video recording screen. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5 of Ou, the mark K42 may be used to indicate that the number of display areas is 2, and the display area is arranged from left to right. That is, Ou only discloses that the marks K41-K45 may be used solely for indicating the layout of the display area. But in the subject matter of amended claim 1, the third recording interfaces can be used for displaying the recorded picture/video. Therefore, it is incorrect for the Examiner to regard the interface corresponding to the marks in Ou as the third recording interfaces in the amended Claim 1 of the present application.
[…]
In addition, since Ou does not disclose multiple recording interfaces of the scroll screen in the unfolded state, and the number of recording interfaces is determined based on the size of the unfolded screen area. Therefore, it can be seen that the person skilled in the art cannot obtain the solution in the subject matter of amended independent claim 1 by combining Ou with Li.
[…]
(original emphases by Applicant)
In response, Examiner respectfully clarify that Ou does teach multiple recording interfaces, each of which is associated with a corresponding area on the screen. For example, each of areas 31(a) and 31(b) shown in Fig. 5(b) comprises a recording interface because, as described on page 2, Ou teaches the user interacts with each area to perform recording operations for that area, e.g. to start and stop recording to the area.
In other words, Examiner does not interpret any of the marks K41-K45 as a recording interface.
Han is relied upon to teach arranging graphical regions according unrolled state of a rollable display. If incorporated into displaying the recording areas, each of which comprises a corresponding recording interface taught by Ou as described above, the claimed limitations are met.
The claims therefore stand rejected as described in details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al. (CN 111010523 A – hereinafter Ou, provided in IDS 02/12/2024, references to machine translated copy previously attached) and Han et al. (US 2021/0089173 A1 – hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 1, Ou discloses a video recording method applied to a video recording apparatus with a display, wherein the method comprises: in a case that the display comprises M recording regions (Figs. 3-5; page 9 – a display comprises two or more recording regions), receiving a first input performed by a user on a target recording region, wherein the target recording region is at least one of the M recording regions (page 2- receiving a first input performed by a user to a first area, and stopping recording of the video content of the first region); and in response to the first input, adjusting a recording status corresponding to the target recording region (page 2- in response to the first input, stopping recording of the video content of the first region), wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (Figs. 3-5; page 9 – a display comprises two or more recording regions).
Ou further discloses each recording region comprises a recording interface (page 2 – each area comprising a recording interface via which the user interacts with to perform recording operations, e.g. to start and stop recording to the area).
However, Ou does not disclose the method further comprises: receiving a second input performed by the user; and in response to the second input, unrolling the rollable display to a first unrolled state and displaying T third recording interfaces in the first unrolled state; wherein the rollable display in the first unrolled state comprises a first unrolled display region, the first unrolled display region comprises T third recording interfaces, and the number of the third recording interfaces is determined based on size of the first unrolled display region, T being a positive integer.
Han discloses a method further comprises: receiving a second input performed by a user (Figs. 4A-4B; [0089]; [0108] - receiving a second input performed by a user, e.g. grasping and pulling a side of the electronic device, to extend the display); and in response to the second input, unrolling a rollable display to a first unrolled state and displaying T third regions in the first unrolled state (Figs. 4A-4B; [0108] – in response to the second input, unrolling the rollable display to an unrolled state as shown in Fig. 4B and displaying 9 third regions 451-459); wherein the rollable display in the first unrolled state comprises a first unrolled display region, the first unrolled display region comprises T third regions, and the number of the third regions is determined based on size of the first unrolled display region, T being a positive integer (Fig. 4B; [0108] – the first unrolled display region 220 comprises 9 third regions, determined based on the size of region 220 vs. size of region 210 of another unrolled state shown in Fig. 4A, which comprises only 6 regions).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the rollable display and arranging the regions according to unrolled state of rollable display taught by of Han into the video recording method taught by Ou to increase portability and space efficiency for the display, and to adaptively adjust the recording regions based on the unrolled state of the device, thus optimizing the use of the displayable area. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, with the incorporated feature, each recording region in Ou would comprise a corresponding recording interface and arranged according to the unrolled state of the display taught by Han to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Ou also discloses the video recording method according to claim 1, wherein N recording regions out of the M recording regions are in a recording state, N being a positive integer (page 7 – the second recording region out of the 2 or more recording regions are in a recording state); the receiving a first input performed by a user on a target recording region comprises: receiving the first input performed by a user on a first recording region, wherein the first recording region is at least one of the N recording regions, and the target recording region comprises the first recording region (page 7 – receiving the first input on a first recording region, which is the target recording region); and the adjusting a recording status corresponding to the target recording region comprises: pausing video recording of a shooting subject corresponding to the first recording region (page 6 – pausing video recording of a shooting subject, e.g. a person as described at least on page 8, in the first recording region).
Regarding claim 3, Ou also discloses the video recording method according to claim 1, wherein X recording regions out of the M recording regions are in a non-recording state, X being a positive integer (page 10 – a recording region out of the 2 or more recording regions are in a non-recording state when a previous input is activated to pause the recording, thus it is in a non-recording state); the receiving a first input performed by a user on a target recording region comprises: receiving the first input performed by a user on a second recording region, wherein the second recording region is at least one of the X recording regions, and the target recording region comprises the second recording region (page 7 – receiving the first input to re-start recording of a region, the recording of which was previously paused); and the adjusting a recording status corresponding to the target recording region comprises: starting video recording of a shooting subject corresponding to the second recording region (page 7; page 11 - restarting the recording).
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Ou also disclosing an electronic device comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to perform the recited method (pages 15-16).
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim1 above in view of Ou also disclosing a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the recited method (pages 15-16).
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou and Han as applied to claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2023/0336863 A1 – hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Ou and Han as discussed in claim 1 above. Han in view of Ou also discloses the method further comprises: receiving a third input performed by the user ([0089]-[0094]; Figs. 3A-3B – receiving an input performed by the user, i.e. grasping and pulling); in response to the third input, unrolling the rollable display to a second unrolled state ([0089]-[0094]; Figs. 3A-3B – receiving an input performed by the user, i.e. grasping and pulling, unrolling the rollable display to a first unrolled state, e.g. from rolled state shown in Fig. 3A to an unrolled state shown in Fig. 3B, and displaying various extended interfaces) and determining N recording regions corresponding to the second unrolled state (Ou: Fig. 5(a) – determining recording regions when the electronic device is in a layout shown in Fig. 5(a) or Fig. 5(b)).
However, Ou and Han do not disclose the video recording apparatus comprises M cameras, one recording region corresponding to a recording interface of one camera, and the method further comprises: determining N cameras corresponding to the N recording regions based on preset mappings between cameras and recording regions; and displaying recording interfaces of the N cameras on the N recording regions, N < M and N being a positive integer.
Cho discloses a video recording apparatus comprises M cameras ([0175] – three cameras), one recording region corresponding to a recording interface of one camera ([0181]-[0182]; Fig. 9 – one of two recording regions, i.e. one of regions 931 and 932, each of which corresponds to a recording interface of one of a first camera and a second camera), and the method further comprises: determining N cameras corresponding to N recording regions based on preset mappings between cameras and recording regions ([0181]-[0182]; Fig. 9 – determining two cameras corresponding to the 2 recording regions); and displaying recording interfaces of the N cameras on the N recording regions, N < M and N being a positive integer ([0181]-[0182]; Fig. 9 – M is three, and N is two).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Cho into the video recording method taught by Ou and Han to allow the user to select a subset of N cameras out of total of M cameras that the device provides based on user’s need and applications.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484