DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 14-17, Applicant argues that,
“Ou fails to disclose the following limitations in amended claim 1:
in response to the fifth input, in a case that first layout information and second layout information are different, adjusting an unrolled state of the rollable display to make the second layout information the same as the first layout information; wherein
the first layout information comprises a first split count and a first split type, the second layout information comprises a second split count and a second split type, the first split count is a number of regions of the target recording split template, the second split count is the number of recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received, the first split type is a split type of the target recording split template, and the second split type is a split type of the recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received.
…
It can be seen that Han discloses that the number of images displayed may be changed by expanding or collapsing the scrollable screen. This can be understood as updating the layout of images from 3x2 to 3x3, or from 3x3 to 3x2. That is, Han only discloses that the layout of images may be changed by changing the state of the scroll screen. But Han dose [does] not disclose that the rollable display can adjust automatically after receiving the user input operations for selecting layout information, to accommodate the new layout information.
…
In addition, both Ou and Han also do not disclose, teach, or suggest that the rollable display can adjust automatically after receiving the user input operations for selecting layout information, to accommodate the new layout information. Thus, the person skilled in the art has no motivation to combine the solution of Ou with the solution of Han to obtain the following solution: after the video recording apparatus receives the user's input on the region control icon, if the layout information of the recording regions indicated by the region control mark differs from the current layout information of the recording regions, the expanded state of the screen can be adjusted to change the current layout of the recording regions to the layout of the recording regions indicated by the region control mark. Therefore, it can be seen that the person skilled in the art cannot obtain the solution in the subject matter of amended independent claim 1 by combining Ou with Han.
Thus, Ou and Han fail to disclose, teach, or suggest the above features of claim 1, such that "in response to the fifth input, in a case that first layout information and second layout information are different, adjusting an unrolled state of the rollable display to make the second layout information the same as the first layout information, wherein the first layout information comprises a first split count and a first split type, the second layout information comprises a second split count and a second split type, the first split count is a number of regions of the target recording split template, the second split count is the number of recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received, the first split type is a split type of the target recording split template, and the second split type is a split type of the recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received".”
(original emphasis)
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the claim does not recite “in response to the fifth input, in a case that first layout information and second layout information are different, adjusting an unrolled state of the rollable display to make the second layout information the same as the first layout information” as asserted, but, instead, “in response to the fifth input, the first layout information comprises a first split count and a first split type, the second layout information comprises a second split count and a second split type, the first split count is a number of regions of the target recording split template, the second split count is the number of recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received, the first split type is a split type of the target recording split template, and the second split type is a split type of the recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received”.
As such, there is no automatic adjustment of the unrolled state of the rollable display to make the second layout information the same as the first layout information involved. In other words, as long as in the proposed combination of Ou and Han, the first layout is the layout before the fifth input is received and in response to receiving the fifth input of selecting the second layout, the second layout is displayed, or vice versa, the claim limitations are met. Specifically, the step of adjusting an unrolled state of the rollable display … is recited as occurs “after the receiving a fifth input…”, not “in response to the fifth input …”
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
However, based on Applicant’s arguments and based on amendments of similar claims 8 and 15, Examiner believes that claim 1 has been mistakenly amended as “in response to the fifth input, the first layout information …” instead of in response to the fifth input, in a case …, adjusting …” as similar to claims 8 and 15. As such, for compact prosecution Examiner would treat claim 1 as having the same amendments as in claims 8 and 15.
Assuming claim 1 has been mistakenly amended as discussed above, Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of a new ground of rejections. Otherwise, the rejections of claims 1-5 would stand as previously presented in the Office Action dated 08/07/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al. (CN 111010523 A – hereinafter Ou, provided in IDS 02/12/2024, references to machine translated copy attached) and Li et al. (US 2023/0076158 A1 – hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Ou discloses a video recording method applied to a video recording apparatus with a display, wherein the method comprises: in a case that the display comprises M recording regions (Figs. 3-5; page 9 – a display comprises two or more recording regions), receiving a first input performed by a user on a target recording region, wherein the target recording region is at least one of the M recording regions (page 2- receiving a first input performed by a user to a first area, and stopping recording of the video content of the first region); and in response to the first input, adjusting a recording status corresponding to the target recording region (page 2- in response to the first input, stopping recording of the video content of the first region), wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (Figs. 3-5; page 9 – a display comprises two or more recording regions), wherein before the in a case that the rollable display comprises M recording regions, receiving a first input performed by a user on a target recording region, the method further comprises: receiving a fourth input performed by the user (page 10 – receiving an input by the user on the switch control K1 or K46 before selecting a recording region to start recording and to stop recording on the recording region as described in “the in a case that the rollable display comprises M recording regions” above); in response to the fourth input, displaying at least one region control icon, wherein each region control icon is used for indicating one recording split template (Fig 5(a)); receiving a fifth input performed by a user on a target region control icon of the at least one region control icon (Fig. 5(a) – the user selects icon K42 as shown in Fig. 5(a)); and in response to the fifth input, updating recording region layout information of the rollable display according to a target recording split template indicated by the target region control icon (page 10; Fig. 5 – the user selects icon K42 as shown in Fig. 5(a), updating recording region layout information according to the corresponding recording split template indicated by the icon, i.e. two recording regions arranged horizontally as shown in Fig. 5(b)), wherein after the receiving a fifth input performed by a user on a target region control icon of the at least one region control icon, further comprising: in response to the fifth input, in a case that first layout information and second layout information are different (Figs. 5(a)-5(b) – assuming before selecting K42, second layout information of K45, i.e. type 1x3 with count of 3, is displayed, then selecting K42 would changes from the second layout information to first layout information in Fig. 5(b) – the first layout information of type 1x2 with a number of recording regions equal to 2), adjusting layout of visual content elements on the display to make the second layout information the same as the first layout information (Figs. 5(a)-5(b) – assuming before selecting K42, second layout information of K45, i.e. type 1x3 with count of 3, is displayed, then selecting K42 would changes from the second layout information to first layout information in Fig. 5(b) – the first layout information of type 1x2 with a number of recording regions equal to 2, thus in response to receiving the fifth input, the layout information of type 1x3 with count of 3 is made the same as the layout information of type 1x2 with count 2), wherein first layout information comprises a first split count and a first split type, the second layout information comprises a second split count and a second split type, the first split count is a number of regions of the target recording split template, the second split count is the number of recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received, the first split type is a split type of the target recording split template, and the second split type is a split type of the recording regions of the rollable display before the fifth input is received (Figs. 5(a)-5(b) – assuming before selecting K42, second layout information of K45, i.e. type 1x3 with count of 3, is displayed, then selecting K42 would changes from the second layout information to first layout information in Fig. 5(b) – the first layout information of type 1x2 with a number of recording regions equal to 2).
However, Ou does not disclose the display is a rollable display; and “adjusting layout of visual content elements on the display” as “adjusting an unrolled state of the rollable display.”
Li discloses a display is a rollable display ([0017]; [0019]; [0039]; Figs. 1-3 – a display that can be rolled and unrolled to adjust size of the screen area); and adjusting layout of visual content elements on the display by automatically adjusting an unrolled state of the rollable display to optimize aspect ratios of visual content elements on the display ([0017]; [0019]; [0039] – automatically rolling the display in and out to for accommodating and optimizing for different sizes and screen ratios of visual content rendered on a rollable touch-sensitive display).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Li into the electronic device taught by Ou for improving a user's viewing experience by automatically accommodating and optimizing for different sizes and screen ratios of visual content rendered on the display. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that with the incorporated feature, the device would have performed the step of adjusting an unrolled state of the display in response to the fifth input taught by Ou above since the fifth input of Ou causes changes of dimension of visual content elements, e.g. size of recording regions.
Regarding claim 2, Ou also discloses the video recording method according to claim 1, wherein N recording regions out of the M recording regions are in a recording state, N being a positive integer (page 7 – the second recording region out of the 2 or more recording regions are in a recording state); the receiving a first input performed by a user on a target recording region comprises: receiving the first input performed by a user on a first recording region, wherein the first recording region is at least one of the N recording regions, and the target recording region comprises the first recording region (page 7 – receiving the first input on a first recording region, which is the target recording region); and the adjusting a recording status corresponding to the target recording region comprises: pausing video recording of a shooting subject corresponding to the first recording region (page 6 – pausing video recording of a shooting subject, e.g. a person as described at least on page 8, in the first recording region).
Regarding claim 3, Ou also discloses the video recording method according to claim 1, wherein X recording regions out of the M recording regions are in a non-recording state, X being a positive integer (page 10 – a recording region out of the 2 or more recording regions are in a non-recording state when a previous input is activated to pause the recording, thus it is in a non-recording state); the receiving a first input performed by a user on a target recording region comprises: receiving the first input performed by a user on a second recording region, wherein the second recording region is at least one of the X recording regions, and the target recording region comprises the second recording region (page 7 – receiving the first input to re-start recording of a region, the recording of which was previously paused); and the adjusting a recording status corresponding to the target recording region comprises: starting video recording of a shooting subject corresponding to the second recording region (page 7; page 11 - restarting the recording).
Regarding claim 4, see the teachings of Ou and Li as discussed in claim 1 above. Ou also discloses the method further comprises: in a first unrolled state, displaying T third recording interfaces in the first unrolled state (Fig. 5 – displaying five third recording interfaces K41-K45); wherein the rollable display in the first unrolled state comprises a first unrolled display region (Fig. 5 – the region where third recording interfaces K41-K45 are displayed), the first unrolled display region comprises T third recording interfaces, and the number of the third recording interfaces is determined based on size of the first unrolled display region, T being a positive integer (Fig. 5 – given each of the third recording interface has a fixed size, the number of the third recording interfaces are determined based on the size of the first unrolled display region, i.e. the region in the lower part).
However, Ou does not disclose receiving a second input performed by the user; and in response to the second input, unrolling the rollable display to the first unrolled state.
Li also discloses receiving a second input performed by the user ([0075] – receiving an input performed by the user, i.e. spreading gesture); and in response to the second input, unrolling the rollable display to the first unrolled state ([0075] – receiving an input performed by the user, i.e. spreading gesture, unrolling the rollable display to a first unrolled state).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the further teachings of Li into the method proposed in claim 1 above to allow the user to manually roll and/or unroll the display as desired, thus enhancing the user interface of the method.
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Ou also disclosing an electronic device (pages 15-16) comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor (pages 15-16), wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to perform the recited method (see discussion of claim 1 above).
Claim 9 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim1 above in view of Ou also disclosing a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, and the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the recited method (pages 15-16).
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou and Li as applied to claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2023/0336863 A1 – hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Ou and Li as discussed in claim 1 above. Li in view of Ou also discloses the method further comprises: receiving a third input performed by the user ([0075]; Figs. 3A-3B – receiving an input performed by the user, i.e. spreading gesture); in response to the third input, unrolling the rollable display to a second unrolled state ([0075]; Figs. 3A-3B – receiving an input performed by the user, i.e. spreading gesture, unrolling the rollable display to a first unrolled state) and determining N recording regions corresponding to the second unrolled state (Ou: Fig. 5(a) – determining recording regions when the electronic device is in a layout shown in Fig. 5(a) or Fig. 5(b)).
However, Ou and Li do not disclose the video recording apparatus comprises M cameras, one recording region corresponding to a recording interface of one camera, and the method further comprises: determining N cameras corresponding to the N recording regions based on preset mappings between cameras and recording regions; and displaying recording interfaces of the N cameras on the N recording regions, N < M and N being a positive integer.
Cho discloses a video recording apparatus comprises M cameras ([0175] – three cameras), one recording region corresponding to a recording interface of one camera ([0181]-[0182]; Fig. 9 – one of two recording regions, i.e. one of regions 931 and 932, each of which corresponds to a recording interface of one of a first camera and a second camera), and the method further comprises: determining N cameras corresponding to N recording regions based on preset mappings between cameras and recording regions ([0181]-[0182]; Fig. 9 – determining two cameras corresponding to the 2 recording regions); and displaying recording interfaces of the N cameras on the N recording regions, N < M and N being a positive integer ([0181]-[0182]; Fig. 9 – M is three, and N is two).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Cho into the video recording method taught by Ou and Li to allow the user to select a subset of N cameras out of total of M cameras that the device provides based on user’s need and applications.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484