DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 8/4/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious burden to search all claims. This is not found persuasive because the different groups have separate status in the art and there is nothing of record to show them as obvious variants.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/4/2026.Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deighton et al. (US 10,113,077), in view of Xu et al. (CN-112778867-A).
Regarding claim 1
Deighton discloses a water-based ink composition comprising at least one self-crosslinking acrylic polymer and a silicone emulsion (abstract, claims 1 and 16).
Deighton does not disclose the MFFT of the acrylic. However, Xu discloses that in similar acrylic compositions used for coating, that the MFFT of the acrylic resin should be between 0 to 25 C (Specific implementation examples). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to add to the teachings of Deighton by using an acrylic resin with a MFFT between 0 to 25 C, with a reasonable expectation of success, as suggested by Xu.
Regarding claim 2
Deighton discloses the use of 20 to 60 wt % of the acrylic polymer (claim 8). Although the range of the reference does not overlap the claimed range there is not such a difference between 20 wt % and less than 20 wt % that a skilled artisan would expect a difference in properties, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 3
The range taught by the reference overlaps the claimed amount, as such the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 4
Deighton discloses the use of a colorant that is a pigment dispersion (claim 11).
Regarding claim 5
Deighton discloses the use of Maa, MMA, butyl acrylate, butyl methacrylate, styrene and methyl styrene as the self-crosslinking acrylic polymer (claim 3).
Regarding claims 6-7
Deighton discloses the use of a styrene/acrylic ester copolymer formed from a carbonyl/amine reaction (claim 4).
Regarding claims 8-9
Deighton discloses the use of a silicon emulsion with a high molecular weight polydimethylsiloxane elusion containing reactive silanol groups (claim 7).
Regarding claims 10-11
Deighton discloses the use of between 0.2 to 3 wt % silicone emulsion (claim 10).
Regarding claim 12
Deighton discloses the use of 5 to 50 wt % of the pigment dispersion (claim 13).
Regarding claim 13
Deighton discloses the use of additives such as wetting aids (claim 14).
Regarding claim 14
Deighton discloses the ink is a gravure or flexographic printing ink (claim 15).
Regarding claim 15
Deighton discloses that the composition is substantially free of epoxyesters (claim 19).
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734