DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-38 of the amended claim set received 1/05/2026 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the apparatus of claims 1, 3-12, 20, and 22-31 and the species of Fig. 1 in the reply filed on 1/05/2026 is acknowledged. The species requirement traversal is on the ground(s) that that there is no search burden between the species. The species requirement is withdrawn. Applicant has presented no arguments regarding the process and apparatus restriction. Claims 13-19 and 32-38 are withdrawn as directed toward the unelected process. Claims 1-12 and 20-31 are examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “signal suppression unit” in claims 1 and 20 and “flow detector” of claims 1 and 22.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The signal suppression unit corresponds to a controllable electromagnetic switch as discussed at paras. 0029, 0031, 0067, 0073 and shown in Figs. 5 and 6. The flow detector corresponds to a flow switch as discussed at paras. 0028 and 0065 and shown in Figs. 5 and 6.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “fire alarm centre” of claims 2 and 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: “which control unit” should be written “the control unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 21, 23, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “pump start device” of claims 3 and 23 and “fire alarm centre” of claims 2 and 21 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no corresponding structure explicitly recited or shown in the figures, other than a schematic box for the fire alarm centre. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 26-29 are rejected by basis on claims 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hofmann (US 2021/0197004).
Regarding Claim 20, Hofmann discloses in Fig. 4, a water extinguishing system, comprising an extinguishing fluid supply 10 adapted to provide an extinguishing fluid; at least one pump 20 adapted to convey the extinguishing fluid from the extinguishing fluid supply into a supply line 2 to a pipe system 500 of the water extinguishing system; a control unit 21 adapted to operate the at least one pump in a controllable manner, which control unit is configured to start and to operate the pump for a pump test run on provision of a start signal and to end the pump test run and to stop the pump on provision of a stop signal (read paras. 0113-0115); wherein the control unit has a signal suppression unit 212 which is adapted to at least temporarily suppress the provision of the stop signal in the event of a fire (read para. 0116); and the signal suppression unit is configured to be free of executing a computer program (212 is a switching arrangement as read at para. 0113).
Regarding Claim 30, Hoffman discloses in Fig. 4, a central control unit (a component of control unit 21, consistent with the central control unit described by the instant application para. 0071) which is adapted to initiate a pump test run in response to a manual input and/or automatically and which is configured to provide the start signal for initiating the pump test run and for starting the pump and to provide the stop signal for ending the pump test run and for stopping the pump (as the control unit starts and stops test runs as discussed in paras. 0113-0115, this must necessarily be done manually or automatically and includes a signal to start the pump which is run during the test run).
Regarding Claim 31, Hoffman discloses wherein the central control unit and/or the control unit 21 are/is configured to suppress the provision of the stop signal in the event of a fire (as the control unit 21 controls the activation of the pump and the signal suppression unit 212 prevents the pump from switching off during a fire event as read at para. 0016, the control unit itself essentially suppresses the provision of the stop signal because the pump remains operational).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 21, 23, and 26-29 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1 and 4-12 are allowed.
Claims 22 and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose or form a reasonable combination teaching the following in combination with the independent claim limitations:
Regarding Claims 1 and 22, “a flow detector arranged between the supply line and the pipe system, the flow detector being adapted to cause the signal suppression unit to suppress the provision of the stop signal on detection of a volume flow of the extinguishing fluid through the flow detector.”
Regarding Claim 21, “a fire alarm centre which is adapted to provide a fire alarm signal in the event of a fire, wherein the signal suppression unit is adapted to suppress the provision of the stop signal when a fire alarm signal has been provided.”
Claims 2-12 and 23-29 are allowable by basis on of the claims discussed above.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741