DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/12/2024 has been received and made of record. Note the acknowledged form PTO-1449 enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "a first abrasion resistance" in lines 4-5 renders the claim(s) indefinite because a first abrasion resistance was already introduced in line 2, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It is unclear whether applicant intended to refer back to the first abrasion resistance of line 2 or introduce a new, additional first abrasion resistance. To move prosecution forward, the examiner assumed applicant intended to refer back to the first abrasion resistance of line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 14 (and thereby dependent claim 15), the phrase "the contact surface is formed of a coating" in line 2 renders the claim(s) indefinite because the contact layer of claim 1 comprises a second resin layer layered over a first resin layer, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It is unclear how a single coating layer (required in claim 14) can comprise the two separate resin layers of claim 1 wherein the second layer is layered over the first resin layer. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Regarding claim 16 (and thereby dependent claims 17-18 and 20), the phrase "a first thickness" in line 18 renders the claim(s) indefinite because a first thickness was already introduced in line 13, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It is unclear whether applicant intended to refer back to the first thickness of line 13 or introduce a new, additional first thickness. To move prosecution forward, the examiner assumed applicant intended to refer back to the first thickness of line 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 17 (and thereby dependent claims 18 and 20), the phrase "the contact surface is formed of a coating" in line 2 renders the claim(s) indefinite because the contact layer of claim 16 comprises a second resin layer layered over a first resin layer, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It is unclear how a single coating layer (required in claim 14) can comprise the two separate resin layers of claim 16 wherein the second layer is layered over the first resin layer. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "according to claim 17" in line 1 renders the claim(s) indefinite because claim 17 already introduced both first and second resin layers, thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. It appears that the dependency may include a typographical error if applicant intended to have claim 20 depend from independent claim 19 (which does not introduce any specific “resin layers”). To move prosecution forward, the examiner assumed applicant intended claim 20 depend from independent claim 19. Whichever case is true, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hibner et al. (US 2017/0119425).
Hibner discloses (see Figs. 2 and 10-14) an ultrasonic surgical instrument comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 1) An ultrasound treatment tool (100, Fig. 2), comprising: an ultrasound blade (160, Fig. 2; 379, Figs. 11-14) including a treatment portion located at a distal end of the ultrasound blade (160) (as shown in Fig. 2, i.e., upper surface of blade 160 comprises a treatment portion); and a jaw (144, Fig. 2; 356, Figs. 11-14) configured to (i.e., capable of) open and close relative to the treatment portion (as shown in Figs. 12A-12B; [0056]; [0086]), the jaw including: a surface (e.g., upper, exterior surface of clamp arm 356, Fig. 11); and a contact surface (358, Figs. 11-14) facing the ultrasound blade (379) (as shown in Figs. 12A-12B and 14), the contact surface (358) configured to be in contact with the treatment portion when the jaw (356) is closed relative to the treatment portion (as shown in Figs. 12B and 14), wherein the contact surface (358) comprises: a first resin layer positioned on the surface (as shown in Figs. 11-14), the first resin layer formed of a first resin ([0088]; the contact surface/clamp pad 358 expressly may comprise polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)); and a second resin layer layered over the first resin layer, the second resin layer formed of a mixed resin, the mixed resin being a mixture of a second resin and the first resin ([0088]; the contact surface/clamp pad 358 expressly discloses an embodiment comprising a pad composed of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) and further having an additional coating layer of one or more resins including at least both fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE));
(claim 2) wherein the first resin layer has a first thickness, the second resin layer has a second thickness, and the second thickness is smaller than the first thickness ([0088]; a coating layer composed of both fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) is expressly disclosed to coat the contact surface/clamp pad 358 wherein a thickness of a mere coating layer is thinner than the thickness of clamp pad 358, shown in Figs. 11-14);
(claim 7) wherein the first resin is polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) ([0088]; the contact surface/clamp pad 358 expressly may comprise polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE));
(claim 14) wherein the contact surface (358) is formed of a coating ([0088]; the contact surface/clamp pad 358 expressly discloses an embodiment comprising a contact surface/clamp pad having a coating layer of both fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) disposed thereon);
(claim 15) wherein a plating layer (at 386, Fig. 14) is located between the surface (of 356) and the contact surface (358) (as shown in Fig. 14);
(claim 16) An ultrasound treatment tool (100, Fig. 2), comprising: an ultrasound blade (160, Fig. 2; 379, Figs. 11-14) including a treatment portion located at a distal end of the ultrasound blade (160) (as shown in Fig. 2, i.e., upper surface of blade 160 comprises a treatment portion); and a jaw (144, Fig. 2; 356, Figs. 11-14) configured to (i.e., capable of) open and close relative to the treatment portion (as shown in Figs. 12A-12B; [0056]; [0086]), the jaw including: a surface (e.g., upper, exterior surface of clamp arm 356, Fig. 11); and a contact surface (358, Figs. 11-14) facing the ultrasound blade (379) (as shown in Figs. 12A-12B and 14), the contact surface (358) configured to be in contact with the treatment portion when the jaw (356) is closed relative to the treatment portion (as shown in Figs. 12B and 14), wherein the contact surface (358) comprises: a first resin layer positioned on the surface (as shown in Figs. 11-14), the first resin layer formed of a first resin ([0088]; the clamp pad 358 expressly may be composed a resin such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK)), the first resin layer having a first thickness (i.e., thickness of the clamp pad 358, as bets shown in Fig. 14); and a second resin layer layered over the first resin layer, the second resin layer formed of a second resin, the second resin layer having a second thickness, and wherein the second thickness is smaller than a first thickness ([0088]; a coating layer composed of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) is expressly disclosed to coat the clamp pad 358 wherein a thickness of a mere coating layer is thinner than the thickness of clamp pad 358, shown in Figs. 11-14);
(claim 17) wherein the contact surface (358) is formed of a coating ([0088]; the contact surface/clamp pad 358 expressly discloses an embodiment comprising a pad composed of combinations of materials including polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)) with a further coating layer of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) disposed thereon);
(claim 18) wherein a plating layer (at 386, Fig. 14) is located between the surface (of 356) and the contact surface (358) (as shown in Fig. 14);
(claim 19) An ultrasound treatment tool (100, Fig. 2), comprising: an ultrasound blade (160, Fig. 2; 379, Figs. 11-14) including a treatment portion located at a distal end of the ultrasound blade (160) (as shown in Fig. 2, i.e., upper surface of blade 160 comprises a treatment portion); and a jaw (144, Fig. 2; 356, Figs. 11-14) configured to (i.e., capable of) open and close relative to the treatment portion (as shown in Figs. 12A-12B; [0056]; [0086]), the jaw including: a surface (e.g., upper, exterior surface of clamp arm 356, Fig. 11); and a contact surface (358, Figs. 11-14) facing the ultrasound blade (379) (as shown in Figs. 12A-12B and 14), the contact surface (358) configured to be in contact with the treatment portion when the jaw (356) is closed relative to the treatment portion (as shown in Figs. 12B and 14), wherein the contact surface (358) is formed of a mixed resin, the mixed resin is a mixture of polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) ([0088]; the contact surface 358 expressly disclosed to comprise combinations of materials including polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)); and
(claim 20) wherein the contact surface (358) comprises a plurality of resin layers, the plurality of resin layers includes the contact surface (358), the plurality of resin layers is formed of a resin ([0088]; the contact surface/clamp pad 358 expressly disclosed an embodiment comprising a pad composed of combinations of materials including polyetheretherketone (PEEK) and polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)) with a further coating layer of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) disposed thereon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibner as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Akagane (US 2016/0374744).
Hibner, as applied above, discloses an ultrasonic surgical instrument comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the second resin being a resin having an ether group and a ketone group (such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK)) and a thickness between 5 µm and 15 µm.
However, Akagane teaches (see Fig. 6) a similar ultrasonic surgical instrument comprising an outer coating having a thickness of 10 µm and comprising polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (see Fig. 6; [0045]; [0047]; [0058]) in order to beneficially provide an electrically insulating resin layer that additionally provides for efficient heat insulation ([0045]; [0047]; [0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Hibner to have the second resin incorporate polyetheretherketone (PEEK) with a thickness of 10 µm in order to beneficially provide an electrically insulating resin layer that additionally provides for efficient heat insulation, as taught by Hibner.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 10-11, as the device of Hibner in view of Akagane teaches the same materials within both the first resin layer (i.e., polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)) and the second resin layer (i.e., polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) and polyetheretherketone (PEEK)) as claimed, the same physical characteristics would be provided to the device of Hibner in view of Akagane. Additionally, and/or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the resin layers having the claimed thicknesses and/or mixing ratios, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibner, as applied to claim 1 above.
Hibner, as applied above, discloses an ultrasonic surgical instrument comprising all the limitations of the claim except for wherein the first resin layer has a first thickness, the second resin layer has a second thickness, a total thickness value is a sum of a value of the first thickness and a value of the second thickness, and the second thickness is 1/20 of the total thickness value or more and 3/20 of the total thickness value or less.
With regard to claim 4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the first and second resin layers at the claimed thicknesses, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the embodiment of Figs. 11-14 of Hibner as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the embodiment of Figs. 23A-23B of Hibner.
The embodiment of Figs. 11-14 of Hibner, as applied above, discloses an ultrasonic surgical instrument comprising all the limitations of the claim except for wherein both the jaw and the treatment portion comprise an electrode.
However, the embodiment of Figs. 23A-23B of Hibner teaches a similar ultrasonic surgical instrument comprising both the jaw and the treatment portion including an electrode in order to beneficially deliver RF electrosurgical energy to a surgical site through bipolar operation to generate a tissue sealing effect ([0129]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of the embodiment of Figs. 11-14 of Hibner to have both the jaw and the treatment portion include an electrode in order to beneficially deliver RF electrosurgical energy to a surgical site through bipolar operation to generate a tissue sealing effect, as taught by the embodiment of Figs. 23A-23B of Hibner.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771