DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Claims 1-7 and 10-14 in the reply filed on July 22nd, 2026, is acknowledged.
Applicant argues that the species restriction does not encompass undue search burden (see Applicant remarks filed July 22nd, 2026).
This is not found persuasive because, as stated in the requirement for election/restriction mailed on May 27th, 2026, there is a burden due to searches required by Species IV-VIII as follows:
Species IV-VI require unique text searches for hinge and outer protrusion that form a snap-fit of the label plate.
Species VII-VIII require investigation into CPC areas related to guidewire insertions not covered by catheter connectors/hubs.
Claims 8-10 are also withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 22nd, 2026.
Claims 1-7 and 11-14 are being examined in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “outer shell surface” in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: typographical errors.
Claim 1 recites “configured to be mounted around outer shell surface”. Examiner recommends amending the claim to read “configured to be mounted around an outer shell surface”.
Claim 4 recites “at least one plate-like connecting web the at least one first plate-like leg”. Examiner recommends amending the claim to read “at least one plate-like web connecting the at least one first plate-like leg” for grammatical reasons and to align with the language set forth in the specification in at least [0040] of the current Application’s PG Publication.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “outer shell surface of the catheter connector” and an “outer surface of at least a section of the catheter connector” rendering the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the “outer shell surface” and the “outer surface” are referring to the same structural component of the catheter connector.
Claim 6 recites “a writable or printable material located at the upper side”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All remaining claims are also rejected as they depend from rejected independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “appendage providing a secondary function” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweikert et al. (US 20080051731 A1, herein, Schweikert).
Regarding claim 1, Schweikert discloses a label plate for a catheter connector (“information-bearing articles or devices applicable to flexible tubing, particularly to medical tubing such as catheters”, see para [0009]) comprising a label plate (indicia-bearing device 10 – Fig.1) body configured to be mounted around outer shell surface of the catheter connector (“the device is securable directly to and around the flexible tubing and/or to a clamp member that itself is securable directly to and around the flexible tubing”, see para [0009]), wherein a shape of an inner surface of at least a segment of the label plate body corresponds to a shape of an outer surface of at least a section of the catheter connector (“the device is so shaped and dimensioned to at least partially conform to and to be positioned along one or more outer surfaces of the clamp member”, see para [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, Schweikert discloses the label plate of claim 1, wherein the label plate body (indicia-bearing device 10 – Fig.1) comprises an intermediate space (clearance 24 – Fig.1) configured for exposure of a central portion of the connector (see annotated Fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, Schweikert discloses the label plate of claim 2, wherein the label plate body (indicia-bearing device 10 – Fig.1) comprises a U-shape and the intermediate space is defined in a middle of the U-shape (“separated by a clearance 24 that each include a C-shaped channel 18,20 extending therethrough”, see para [0038], intermediate space in annotated Fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Schweikert discloses the label plate according to claim 3, wherein the U-shape (C-shaped channel 18,20 – Fig.1) comprises at least one first plate-like leg, at least one second plate-like leg (side walls 30,32 – Fig.1), and at least one plate-like connecting web (body 12 – Fig.1) the at least one first plate-like leg and the at least one second plate-like leg (“a pair of side walls 30,32, one on either side of the device and that are joined by the device body 12”, see para [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Schweikert discloses the label plate according to claim 1, wherein the label plate body (indicia-bearing device 10 – Fig.1) is configured to define a form-fitting connection, a force-fitting connection and/or a firmly bonded connection with the catheter connector (“device is so shaped and dimensioned to at least partially conform to and to be positioned along one or more outer surfaces of the clamp member and includes a connection section that self-secures or clips to portions of the framework of the clamp member”, see para [0011]).
Regarding claim 6, Schweikert discloses the label plate according to claim 1, comprising a writable or printable material located at the upper side or outer surface of the label plate body (“each inventive device has at least one outwardly facing surface sufficiently large to contain easily readable indicia or information with”, see para [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Schweikert discloses the label plate according to claim 1, wherein the label plate body (indicia-bearing device 10 – Fig.1) comprises an appendage providing a secondary function (under broadest reasonable interpretation, examiner interprets appendage to be a smaller extension/secondary part attached to a larger main structure hence, a latching arm connected to the device body (“the end of the arm 46 latching to the clamp body at latch 48 to hold it in the clamping state”, see para 0037, Fig.2)).
Regarding claim 12, Schweikert discloses a catheter system, comprising a catheter connector and a label plate (indicia-bearing device 10 – Fig.1) according to claim 1, as recited above.
Regarding claim 13, Schweikert discloses a catheter system comprising a catheter having an elongated, flexible shaft (flexible tubing 38 – Fig.2) and a catheter connector (“the device is securable directly to and around the flexible tubing and/or to a clamp member that itself is securable directly to and around the flexible tubing”, see para [0009]) at the proximal end of the shaft, wherein the system further comprises a label plate (indicia-bearing device 10 – Fig.1) according to claim 1, the label plate being mounted around the catheter connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweikert in view Powell (US 20090264866 A1, herein, Powell).
Regarding claim 11, Schweikert discloses the label plate according to claim 1, as recited above.
Schweikert does not appear to expressly disclose an RFID tag embedded within the label plate body.
Powell teaches an RFID tag (RFID chip 38 – Fig.4) embedded within the label plate body (“as an alternative to the visual display of information on the hub, an RFID (radio frequency identification) microchip may disposed in the hub”, see para [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Schweikert so the label plate body comprises an RFID tag embedded within as taught by Powell to further provide “much more information about the catheter than could be legibly printed on the surface of the hub and can be easily read by an electronic device and displayed” (Powell para [0019]).
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweikert.
Regarding claim 14, the embodiments of Schweikert as depicted in Figs. 1-12 discloses the system of claim 13, as recited above.
The embodiments do not appear to expressly disclose wherein the catheter connector is a Luer connector.
However, the embodiments of Schweikert as depicted in Figs. 14-16 disclose wherein the catheter connector is a Luer connector (“a luer connector (on the left) and a catheter hub (on the right) that joins the extension tube to a catheter”, see para [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the catheter connector disclosed in Schweikert (embodiments depicted in Figs.1-12) with a Luer connector taught by Schweikert (embodiments depicted in Figs. 14-16). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (catheter connector) for another known element (luer connector) in the art to obtain the predictable result of forming a connector for the catheter (see MPEP § 2143.I.B), thus achieving a catheter hub for the label plate to mount on.
Conclusion
/T.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783