DETAILED ACTION
Applicant argument
Applicant’s response to the last Office Action, filed 2/26/2026, has been entered and made of record.Applicant has amended claims 18,20,23,25. Claims 18,20-30 are currently pending.Applicants arguments filed 6/26/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18,20-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhiming et al (CN 110179468) in view of Lidtke et al (US 2014/0276094)
As to claim 18, Zhiming et al. teaches the scanning device configured to analyze an individual's foot or feet, the scanning device comprising:
a support base ( glass plate 122, figure 2)comprising substantially flat upper and lower surfaces ( the support ,The column is installed vertically on the base, including an upper column and a lower column, and the pressure sensor is sandwiched between the upper column and the lower column, paraph[0010])
at least one camera at located at an outer perimeter of the support base(a CCD image sensor 126, figure 2) wherein each camera is configured to move around the outer perimeter while remaining oriented toward a center of the support base ( external parameter calibration method and a multi-dimensional foot feature extraction method; the depth camera external parameter calibration method Include the following steps; The center points of the feature marks are sequentially numbered as j (j=1, 2, ..., m), paragraph[0030] ), a motorized track and a processor operatively coupled to each camera; (Establish a world coordinate system Ow-XYZ with the focal point of the calibration reference line on the upper surface of the carrier pad 121 as the origin. Number the depth cameras 132 sequentially as i (i = 1, 2, 3, 4). The calibration coordinates of each depth camera 132i in the world coordinate system obtained from the camera calibration matrices , paragraph[0080]) . While Zhiming teaches the limitation above , Zhiming fails to teach “and wherein the processor is configured to cause each of the at least one camera to capture images while moving along the motorized track and a processor operatively coupled to each camera, wherein the processor is configured to activate and receive data generated by each camera.“
However, Lidtke et al. teaches the track 46 may be provided circumferentially about the frame 48 and below the upper surface 54 and below the membrane 34. The track 46 may be configured to guide a carrier 58 coupled with the optical scanner 42 to enable the optical scanner to image the entire foot 10 from the side of the foot 10. The movement of the optical scanner 42 about the foot 10 may allow a true three-dimensional image of the foot 10 to be captured ( paragraph [0032]).Lidtke et al. teaches conducting such an orbit or partial orbit, the optical scanner 42 may capture an image or a series of images of the foot 10, from the side of the foot 10, through the membrane 34. The optical scanner 42 may transmit a signal to a computer, which may compile the image or images captured of the foot 10 to create a three-dimensional rendering of the foot 10 as positioned. The three-dimensional rendering of the foot may be replicated, in an embodiment, to create an orthosis for the foot ( paragraph[0033]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the input device and the data interaction of Lidtke in Zhiming et al in order to provide proper soft tissue compression while allowing an optical scanner to visualize the modified topographical skin surface. Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As to claim 20, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 18, further comprising: a pressure panel disposed on the upper surface of the support base(pressure data acquired by each pressure sensor 120-2, paragraph[0081]step Z400), wherein the processor is operatively coupled to the pressure panel and is configured to activate and receive data generated by the pressure panel( The connector 200 controls each component of the foot measuring device 100 to acquire a segment of raw data according to the requirements of the data acquisition command, including: point cloud data and RGB data acquired by each depth camera 132, grayscale image captured by CCD image sensor 126, and pressure data acquired by each pressure sensor 120-2. [0082] Step Z500: Connector 200 uploads the raw data acquired by foot measuring device 100 to terminal device 300).
As to claim 21, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 20, wherein the pressure panel comprises a plurality of pressure sensors arranged in a planar configuration( The data processing module processes and analyzes the raw foot data, reconstructs the user's three-dimensional foot shape, and extracts the characteristic parameters of foot shape and plantar pressure distribution, paragraph[0090]).
As to claim 22, Lditke et al teaches the scanning device of claim 21, wherein each of the plurality of pressure sensors, when the pressure panel is activated, are configured to generate signals representative of underfoot pressure when the individual's foot or feet is/are in contact with the pressure panel, the signals collectively defining a two-dimensional pressure map of the individual's foot or feet( Using image processing techniques (the optical scanner 42 may transmit a signal to a computer, which may compile the image or images captured of the foot 10 to create a three-dimensional rendering of the foot 10 as positioned. The three-dimensional rendering of the foot may be replicated, in an embodiment, to create an orthosis for the foot, paragraph [0033]).
As to claim 23, Lditke et al teaches scanning device of claim 20, wherein the processor is configured to generate a three-dimensional reconstruction( model generation module, 108, figure 1) of an individual's foot or feet based on data captured by the pressure panel ( The track 46 may be configured to guide a carrier 58 coupled with the optical scanner 42 to enable the optical scanner to image the entire foot 10 from the side of the foot 10. The movement of the optical scanner 42 about the foot 10 may allow a true three-dimensional image of the foot 10 to be captured; paragraph[0032]).
As to claim 24, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 20, wherein the processor is configured to transmit data generated by the pressure panel and each camera to a processing server for generating a three-dimensional reconstruction of an individual's foot or feet and/or data descriptive of an orthotic device customized to the individual's anatomy (The data processing module processes and analyzes the raw foot data, reconstructs the user's three-dimensional foot shape, and extracts the characteristic parameters of foot shape and plantar pressure distribution, paragraph[0036-0038]).
As to claim 25, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 20, wherein the processor is configured to capture dynamic gait data of an individual's foot or feet as the individual steps onto and/or off of the pressure panel( The user clicks the start scanning button, and the terminal device responds to the user's operation by sending a data acquisition command to the connector. The connector controls each component of the foot measuring device to acquire 15 seconds of raw foot data according to the requirements of the data acquisition command and sends the raw foot data to the data processing module of the terminal device, paragraph[0035]).
As to claim 26, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 18, wherein the at least one camera comprises no more than three cameras (the depth camera component includes a camera support column and a depth camera, the depth camera is mounted on the camera support column and aligned with the optical pressure distribution measurement stage of the foot measurement device, and the camera support column is mounted on the base, paragraph[0009]).
As to claim 27, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 18, wherein the at least one camera comprises no more than two cameras ( the depth camera component includes a camera support column and a depth camera, the depth camera is mounted on the camera support column and aligned with the optical pressure distribution measurement stage of the foot measurement device, and the camera support column is mounted on the base, paragraph[0009])
As to claim 28, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 18, wherein the at least one camera comprises no more than one camera ( the depth camera component includes a camera support column and a depth camera, the depth camera is mounted on the camera support column and aligned with the optical pressure distribution measurement stage of the foot measurement device, and the camera support column is mounted on the base, paragraph[0009]).
As to claim 29, Zhiming et al teaches the scanning device of claim 18, wherein at least one camera comprises a depth sensor configured to capture depth data during image capture( number of the depth cameras sequentially as i (i = 1, 2, 3, 4); number the center points of each feature marker on the two calibration plates sequentially as j (j = 1, 2, ..., m), and the world coordinates of each feature marker center in the world coordinate system, paragraph[0019]) .
As to claim 30, Lditke et teaches the scanning device of claim 18, wherein the support base has a circular shape (he carrier 58 (and, with it, the optical scanner 42) may orbit at least once about the entire circumference of the track 46, or a subset thereof as is necessary or directed. While conducting such an orbit or partial orbit, the optical scanner 42 may capture an image or a series of images of the foot 10, from the side of the foot 10, through the membrane 34, paragraph[0033])
Contact Information
NANCY . BITAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/NANCY BITAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664