Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in the drawing sheets submitted on 07/24/2024, the figure on page “New Sheet 3/3” should be numbered as “Fig. 4”.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding Specification submitted on 7/24/2024:
Page 3, line 29: “an hollow particle component” should read “a hollow particle component”.
Page 8, line 24: “The compositions of the present disclosure includes one or more…” should read “The compositions of the present disclosure include one or more…”
Page 13, line 16: The space in “modifier s” should be deleted.
Page 21, line 12: “Inventive Examples 4-X”. In the subsequent paragraph, the three inventive examples are still named as Ex. 1-3. The applicant should name these examples differently from those in Table 1 and Table 2. For example, they should be named as Ex. 4-6.
Page 21, line 13: “i.e., Ex. Ex.” should read “i.e., Ex.”
Page 21, lines 13-14: “Comp. Ex. A and B”. The two comparative examples should be named differently from those in Table 1 and Table 2, for example, as “Comp. Ex. C and D”.
Page 22: This table misses its caption. It should be “Table 3”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0307725 A1, published 10/29/2015; hereinafter “Murakami”).
Regarding claim 1, Murakami teaches an ink composition (Abstract), comprising a hollow particle component (resin beads, [0040]; Ropaque Ultra, Example 1, Table 1) ; a first colorant (titanium oxide as pigment, Example 1, Table 1); a viscosity modifier (MOWIPLAS XW330, as a thixotropic agent, Example 1, Table 1, [0036], [0037]); a humectant (ethylene glycol, Example 1, Table 1); and a solvent (water, Example 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 2, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as outlined above and further discloses that the first colorant is present in an amount of about 5 to about 15 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition (titanium oxide, 11 wt%, Example 2, Table 1).
Regarding claim 5, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as outlined above and further discloses that the viscosity modifier is present in an amount of about 1 to about 10 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition (MOWIPLAS XW330, as a thixotropic agent, 2.0 wt%, Example 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 6, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as outlined above and also discloses that the composition further comprises a dispersant present in an amount of about 2 to about 20 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition (Joncryl J-62 as a dispersant, 10.8 wt%, Sample 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 8, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as outlined above and also discloses that the composition is included in an ink storage compartment of a writing utensil ([0043], “it can be filled in the ink reservoir of a marker, pen, etc.”).
Regarding claim 9, Murakami teaches a permanent ink composition ([0014]), comprising a hollow particle component (resin beads, [0040]; Ropaque Ultra, Example 1, Table 1) ; a first colorant (titanium oxide as pigment, Example 1, Table 1); a viscosity modifier (MOWIPLAS XW330, as a thixotropic agent, Example 1, Table 1, [0036], [0037]); a humectant (ethylene glycol, Example 1, Table 1); a solvent (water, Example 1, Table 1) and an optional dispersant (Joncryl J-62 as a dispersant, Sample 1, Table 1). Murakami also teaches that by adding a thixotropic agent, thixotropic property can be added to the ink composition ([0036]). Thixotropic property is a type of shear-thinning property, which refers to a decrease in viscosity with increasing shear rate. Therefore, Murakami teaches the limitation that the composition has a first viscosity at a non-shear state and a second viscosity at a shear state, and wherein the second viscosity is less than the first viscosity.
Regarding claim 10, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 9 as outlined above and further discloses that the first colorant is present in an amount of about 5 to about 15 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition (titanium oxide, 11 wt%, Example 2, Table 1).
Regarding claim 13, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 9 as outlined above and also discloses that the viscosity modifier is present in an amount of about 1 to about 5 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition (MOWIPLAS XW330, as a thixotropic agent, 2.0 wt%, Example 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 14, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 9 as outlined above and also discloses that composition comprises about 2 percent to about 20 weight percent dispersant based on a total weight of the composition (Joncryl J-62 as a dispersant, 10.8 wt%, Sample 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 16, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 9 as outlined above and also discloses that the permanent ink composition is included in an ink storage compartment of a writing utensil ([0043], “it can be filled in the ink reservoir of a marker, pen, etc.”).
Regarding claim 17, Murakami teaches an ink composition (Abstract), comprising a hollow particle component (resin beads, [0040]; Ropaque Ultra, Example 1, Table 1) ; a first colorant (titanium oxide as pigment, Example 1, Table 1); a viscosity modifier (MOWIPLAS XW330, as a thixotropic agent, Example 1, Table 1, [0036], [0037]); a humectant (ethylene glycol, Example 1, Table 1); and a solvent (water, Example 1, Table 1). Murakami also teaches that the permanent ink composition is included in an ink storage compartment of a writing utensil ([0043], “it can be filled in the ink reservoir of a marker, pen, etc.”).
Regarding claim 18, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 17 and also discloses that the composition further comprises a dispersant present in an amount of about 2 to about 20 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition (Joncryl J-62 as a dispersant, 10.8 wt%, Sample 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 19, Murakami teaches all the limitations in claim 17 and also discloses that the viscosity modifier is present in an amount of about 1 to about 5 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition (MOWIPLAS XW330, as a thixotropic agent, 2.0 wt%, Example 1, Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 11, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0307725 A1, published 10/29/2015; hereinafter “Murakami”) in view of Lahr et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0299529 A1, published 09/24/2020; hereinafter “Lahr”).
Regarding claim 3, the disclosure of Murakami is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is incorporated herein by reference. Murakami does not expressly teach the hollow particle component is present in an amount of about 20 to about 40 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lahr teaches an ink composition (Abstract) comprising polymer hollow particles wherein the hollow particle component is present in about 1.0 wt % to about 50 wt %, preferably 10 wt% to about 50 wt%, more preferably 20 wt% to about 50 wt%, and more preferably 30 wt% to about 50 wt%, based on the total weight of the composition (Lahr, [0032]). Specifically, Lahr teaches in an ink composition wherein the hollow particle component is present in amount of 20 wt% based on a total weight of the composition (Lahr, [0048]). Inventive Example 1, Celocor ® AF Opaque Polymer resin (Arkema: 30 wt% hollow spheres in 70 wt% water) 66.8% based on the total weight of the composition. So, hollow spheres wt% = 66.8% * 30% *100% = 20%.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Both Murakami and Lahr are drawn to ink compositions comprising polymer hollow particles. Lahr teaches that the opaque water-based inks including the hollow sphere polymers can match the appearance of opaque inks that include white pigment materials such as titanium dioxide and zinc sulfide (Lahr, [0014]). Advantages provided by the opaque water based inks include significantly reduced ink usage through reduction or elimination of white pigment (e.g., TiO2) content (Lahr, [0016]). Also, Lahr discloses that Inventive Example 1 is comparable to a stored color standard that includes titanium dioxide pigment, which is highly opaque and can hide brown paper stock on which it printed (Lahr, [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate the teachings of Lahr to provide hollow particles in an amount of about 20 to about 40 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition, and to yield a reasonable expectation of success (opacity).
Regarding claim 7, the disclosure of Murakami is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is incorporated herein by reference. Murakami teaches that various dyes can be blended, as necessary, to achieve the intended color (Murakami, [0026]). Murakami does not expressly teach an ink composition further comprising a second colorant having a different color from the first color.
However, Lahr teaches an ink composition comprising a colorant, which may be a colorant (e.g., pigment, dye) that emits color in the visible, infrared, and ultraviolet spectrum and mixtures thereof (Lahr, [0012]). Specifically, Lahr discloses an ink composition, Inventive Example 2 (Lahr, [0051]), which comprises hollow particles (Joncryl 633), a first colorant (C Series Yellow 14), a second colorant (Aquasurf Blue 15:3) and a third colorant (GS-1450 Green). The second and the third colorant have different colors from the first colorant, respectively.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate the teachings of Lahr to include a second colorant, which has a different color from the first colorant, in the ink composition, to achieve the intended color, as recognized by Murakami.
Regarding claim 11, the disclosure of Murakami is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is incorporated herein by reference. Murakami does not expressly teach the hollow particle component is present in an amount of about 20 to about 40 weight percent based on a total weight of the composition. As discussed above in claim 3, the combination of Murakami in view of Lahr teaches all limitations in claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, the disclosure of Murakami is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is incorporated herein by reference. Murakami teaches that various dyes can be blended, as necessary, to achieve the intended color (Murakami, [0026]). Murakami does not expressly teach an ink composition further comprising a second colorant having a different color from the first color. As discussed above in claim 7, the combination of Murakami in view of Lahr teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 20, the disclosure of Murakami is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is incorporated herein by reference. Murakami teaches that various dyes can be blended, as necessary, to achieve the intended color (Murakami, [0026]). Murakami does not expressly teach an ink composition further comprising a second colorant having a different color from the first color. As discussed above in claim 7, the combination of Murakami in view of Lahr teaches all the limitations of claim 20.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0307725 A1, published 10/29/2015; hereinafter “Murakami”) in view of Arisawa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 20190338151 A1, published 11/07/2019; hereinafter “Arisawa”).
Regarding claim 4, the disclosure of Murakami is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is incorporated herein by reference. Murakami discloses that water-soluble organic solvent can be used as an anti-drying agent or wetting agent for the ink (Murakami, [0033]) and the amount of all water-soluble solvent used in the ink composition is 1 to 90 percent by weight, or preferably 5 to 85 percent by weight, relative to all ink composition (Murakami, [0034]). Murakami does not expressly teach the humectant is present in an amount of about 10 to about 20 percent based on a total weight of the composition.
However, Arisawa teaches an ink composition comprising polymer hollow particles (Abstract). The ink composition may contain an organic solvent for suppressing drying or freezing of ink, i.e., a humectant (Arisawa, [0160]), wherein the organic solvent includes glycols such as ethylene glycol (Arisawa, [0162]). The ink composition contains the organic solvent preferably at 5.0 wt% or more and 60.0 wt% or less relative to the total amount of the ink composition (Arisawa, [0163]). Specifically, Arisawa teaches an ink composition Example 1 (Arisawa, [0177]) which comprises ethylene glycol 10.00 wt% and PO20 (nib drying preventing agent, sugar alcohol) 2.00 wt%. Therefore, the total humectant content is 10.00% + 2.00% = 12.00 % based on the total weight of the ink composition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murakami to incorporate the teachings of Arisawa to provide the humectant in an amount of about 10 to about 20 percent based on a total weight of the composition to suppress drying or freezing of ink, as recognized by Arisawa.
Regarding claim 12, the disclosure of Murakami is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is incorporated herein by reference. Murakami does not expressly teach that the humectant is present in an amount of about 10 to about 20 percent based on a total weight of the composition. As discussed above in claim 4, the combination of Murakami in view of Arisawa teaches all the limitations in claim 12.
Conclusion
/HAOPENG WANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763