DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 9, 12, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al (2020/0376347). Claim 1, Hayashi discloses a golf ball comprising a constituent member, wherein at least a part of the constituent member is formed of a cured product of a rubber composition comprising (a) a base rubber containing a natural rubber and/or synthetic rubber, (b) a co-crosslinking agent containing methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt thereof, (c) a crosslinking initiator [0035, 0043, 0050]. The rubber composition further contains an organic sulfur compound [0117]. The rubber composition contains the organic sulfur compound in an amount ranging from 0.1 part by mass to 5 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of (a) the base rubber [0126]. The amount of natural rubber us from 10 mass % to 40 mass % of the base rubber (synthetic is 60 to 90%) [0044]. Claim 4, the organic sulfur compound contains a compound of thiophenols and/or a metal salt thereof and a compound of thiazoles and/or a metal salt thereof [0118]. Claim 8, the synthetic rubber is a high-cis polybutadiene rubber [0043]. Claim 9, the co-crosslinking agent consists of methacrylic acid and/or the metal salt thereof [0050]. Claim 12, Hayashi discloses a one-piece golf ball having a golf ball body, wherein the golf ball body is formed from a rubber composition comprising (a) a base rubber containing a natural rubber, (b) a co-crosslinking agent containing methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt thereof, (c) a crosslinking initiator, and an organic sulfur compound [0035, 0043, 0050, 0133]. The rubber composition contains the organic sulfur compound in an amount ranging from 0.1 part by mass to 5 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of (a) the base rubber [0126]. The amount of natural rubber us from 10 mass % to 40 mass % of the base rubber (synthetic is 60 to 90%) [0044]. Claim 14, the organic sulfur compound contains a compound of thiophenols and/or a metal salt thereof and a compound of thiazoles and/or a metal salt thereof [0118]. Claim 18, the one-piece golf ball has a diameter ranging from 40 mm to 45 mm and a compression deformation amount ranging from 2.0 mm to 6.0 mm when applying a load from an initial load of 98 N to a final load of 1275 N to the one-piece golf ball [0140-0141].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al (2020/0376347). Claims 5 and 15, Hayashi discloses the composition includes two or more organic sulfur compounds such as thiophenols and thiazoles in the amount from 0.1 part by mass to 5 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of (a) the base rubber [0126]. Hayashi does not disclose the amount of the compounds separately. However, varying the amount is within the capabilities of one skilled in the arts. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Claims 21 and 23, Hayashi discloses (b) a co-crosslinking agent containing methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt thereof and two or more organic sulfur compounds such as thiophenols and thiazoles in the amount from 0.1 part by mass to 5 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of (a) the base rubber [0126]. Hayashi does not disclose the amount of the compounds separately. However, varying the amount is within the capabilities of one skilled in the arts. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al (2020/0376347) in view of Cadorniga et al. (6,884,181). Hayashi discloses the composition includes a natural rubber but does not provide the Mooney viscosity. Cadorniga teaches a rubber composition comprising a synthetic rubber and a natural rubber such as CV60, which has a Mooney viscosity of 60 (table 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the rubber for optimum results.
Claim(s) 19-20, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al (2020/0376347) in view of Matsuyama et al. (2013/0005508). Hayashi discloses the composition includes two or more organic sulfur compounds such as thiophenols and thiazoles, but does not disclose thiophenols substituted with a halogen group or 2-mercaptobenzothiazole. Matsuyama teaches thiophenols substituted with a halogen group or 2-mercaptobenzothiazole [0107, 0118]. One of ordinary skill in the art would substitute the organic sulfur compounds as an obvious design choice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that while Hayashi broadly discloses the possible option of employing the combination of a synthetic rubber to 10 to 80 mass % of natural rubber the possibility is not preferred. The argument is not persuasive because Hayashi makes clear the rubber composition includes a natural and/or synthetic rubber [0043]. The synthetic rubber (polybutadiene) is present in the amount of 60 to 90 mass % or based on the base rubber [0044]. The remainder is inherently natural rubber.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
January 5, 2026