DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention A (Claims 1-17) and Species I (Fig.1) in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/20/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/12/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “mounted for suspension” (Claim 1/9/12/15 – see below 35 USC 112 rejection) and “such that electrical contacts of the battery cells are oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells are oriented upwards” (Claim 1/12 – not shown) and “a supporting structure of the motor vehicle” (Claim 3) and “forming a supporting structure of the motor vehicle” (Claim 7), must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1/9/12/15, the claims recite the limitations: “mounted for suspension” which are unclear and therefore render the claims indefinite (see above drawing objection). Appropriate correction is required
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The claim recites the limitations: "and/or” (line 2), which renders the claims indefinite. This renders the claims indefinite, as it is unclear if the combination of limitations is required or optional. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 and 7-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation "a supporting structure of the motor vehicle" and similarly claim 7: “forming a supporting structure of the motor vehicle” which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. The disclosure and Figure 2 point to element 12 as a “supporting structure” but it is still not clear what this limitation provides. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiemann et al. (US 6,569,556 B2) in view of Power et al. (US 9,461,284 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Wiemann discloses: A motor vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 100), comprising: a high-voltage battery (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 6) having: a battery housing (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 2) with a trough defined at least by sidewalls (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 2.1) and a cover to cover the trough at an upper region of the sidewalls (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 3), and a plurality of battery cells (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 6.7) mounted for suspension in the trough (See, e.g. Fig.1-2).
Wiemann fails to explicitly teach: electrical contacts of the battery cells are oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells are oriented upwards
However, Power teaches a similar vehicle battery (See, e.g., Power: Fig.1-8, 100) wherein electrical contacts of the battery cells (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 302+212+214) are oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells are oriented upwards (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 302).
Power teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle battery pack design to provide electrical contacts of the battery cells oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells oriented upwards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery taught by Wiemann modified to provide the electrical contacts of the battery cells oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells oriented upwards in order to provide for proper spatial orientation of the batteries for servicing and/or replacing such as taught by Power, and also for the purpose of conveniently preventing costly battery damage to the connectors being mounted near the lid during service/replacement. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power teaches: wherein the cover is fastened to a supporting structure of the motor vehicle (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2, 101).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power teaches: wherein the cover comprises fastening points to facilitate connection to seat cross-members.
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power teaches: further comprising a plurality of cross-members (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2, 9+10+11), forming a supporting structure of the motor vehicle, arranged in the trough (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power teaches: wherein each battery cell in the plurality of battery cells are mounted for suspension from the cross-members in gaps between adjacent cross-members so that a plurality of parallel rows of battery cells extend between the cross-members (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power teaches: further comprising at least one cooling element arranged between an upper region of the battery cells and the cover (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2, 7).
[Claim 12] Regarding Claim 12, Wiemann discloses: A high-voltage battery for a motor vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 6), the high-voltage battery comprising: a battery housing (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 2) with a trough defined at least by sidewalls (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 2.1) and a cover to cover the trough at an upper region of the sidewalls (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 3.1); and a plurality of battery cells (See, e.g. Fig.1-2, 6.7) mounted for suspension in the trough (See, e.g. Fig.1-2).
Wiemann fails to explicitly teach: electrical contacts of the battery cells are oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells are oriented upwards
However, Power teaches a similar vehicle battery (See, e.g., Power: Fig.1-8, 100) wherein electrical contacts of the battery cells (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 302+212+214) are oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells are oriented upwards (See, e.g. Fig.1-8, 302).
Power teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle battery pack design to provide electrical contacts of the battery cells oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells oriented upwards. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the battery taught by Wiemann modified to provide the electrical contacts of the battery cells oriented downwards and bases of the battery cells oriented upwards in order to provide for proper spatial orientation of the batteries for servicing and/or replacing such as taught by Power, and also for the purpose of conveniently preventing costly battery damage to the connectors being mounted near the lid during service/replacement. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 15] Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power teaches: wherein each battery cell in the plurality of battery cells are mounted for suspension from cross-members of the motor vehicle (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2, 9+10+11) in gaps between adjacent cross-members so that a plurality of parallel rows of battery cells extend between the cross-members (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2).
[Claim 16] Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power teaches: further comprising at least one cooling element arranged between an upper region of the battery cells and the cover (See, e.g. Wiemann: Fig.1-2, 7)..
Claim 2/13, 4, and 6/14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiemann in view of Power and further in view of Mikazuki et al. (US 12,162,341 B2).
[Claim 2/13] Regarding Claim 2/13, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power fails to explicitly teach: wherein the cover forms a floor panel of the motor vehicle.
However, Mikazuki teaches a similar battery (See, e.g., Mikazuki: Fig.1-15, 50) further wherein the cover forms a floor panel of the motor vehicle (See, e.g., Mikazuki: Fig.1-15, 12).
Mikazuki teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle battery pack design to provide wherein the cover forms a floor panel of the motor vehicle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by the combination of Wiemann in view of Power modified to provide wherein the cover forms a floor panel of the motor vehicle such as taught by Mikazuki, for the purpose of conveniently reducing the number of overall components in the vehicle to reduce costs and to further provide greater access to the battery modules for service/replacement. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power fails to explicitly teach: wherein the trough is fastened to lateral sills of the motor vehicle.
However, Mikazuki teaches a similar battery (See, e.g., Mikazuki: Fig.1-15, 50) wherein the battery housing/trough is fastened to lateral sills of the motor vehicle (See, e.g., Mikazuki: Fig.1-15, 22).
Mikazuki teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle battery pack design to provide wherein the trough is fastened to lateral sills of the motor vehicle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by the combination of Wiemann in view of Power modified to provide wherein the trough is fastened to lateral sills of the motor vehicle such as taught by Mikazuki, for the purpose of conveniently attach the battery trough to the rest of the vehicle body/frame in order to provide a secure connection point for the battery during travel/use and in order to prevent inadvertent disconnection during travel/use. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 6/14] Regarding Claim 6/14, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power fails to explicitly teach: wherein the high-voltage battery further has an underride guard plate forming a base to cover the trough at a lower region thereof.
However, Mikazuki teaches a similar battery (See, e.g., Mikazuki: Fig.1-15, 50) wherein the high-voltage battery further has an underride guard plate forming a base to cover the battery at a lower region thereof (See, e.g., Mikazuki: Fig.1-15, 18).
Mikazuki teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle battery pack design to provide wherein the battery with an underride guard plate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by the combination of Wiemann in view of Power modified to provide wherein provide the battery with an underride guard plate such as taught by Mikazuki, for the purpose of conveniently providing extra protection to the battery housing from the roadway in order to prevent costly damage (See, e.g., Mikazuki: Fig.1-15, 18). Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiemann in view of Power and further in view of Ogushi et al. (US 9,038,757 B2).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power fails to explicitly teach: wherein the cover comprises fastening points to facilitate connection to seat cross-members.
However, Ogushi teaches a similar battery housing (See, e.g., Ogushi: Fig.1-5, 40) further wherein the cover comprises fastening points (See, e.g., Ogushi: Fig.1-5, 14+40+28) to facilitate connection to seat cross-members (See, e.g., Ogushi: Fig.1-5, 14+28).
Ogushi teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle battery pack design to provide wherein the cover comprises fastening points to facilitate connection to seat cross-members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by the combination of Wiemann in view of Power modified to provide wherein the cover comprises fastening points to facilitate connection to seat cross-members such as taught by Ogushi, for the purpose of conveniently providing greater structural connection to the vehicle components to provide added strength and security for the battery and cover. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Claim 8/11/17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiemann in view of Power.
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power fails to explicitly teach: wherein the cross-members are integrally formed with the sidewalls and/or the cover.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of the invention, to modify the cross-members and sidewalls and/or cover of Wiemann to be of a unitary construction, as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Applicant should note that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two or more pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. See, e.g., In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."). MPEP2144.04(V). Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 11/17] Regarding Claim 11/17, the combination of Wiemann in view of Power fails to explicitly teach: wherein the sidewalls and the cover are formed in one piece.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of the invention, to modify the sidewalls and cover of Wiemann to be of a unitary construction, as a matter of obvious design choice. Moreover, Applicant should note that it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two or more pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. See, e.g., In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."). MPEP2144.04(V). Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613