Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9-11, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masanao (JP 2003042983).
With respect to claim 1, Masanao discloses a thermal sensor (see [0001] “ The present invention relates to a thermal conductivity detector”) comprising: a supply voltage input configured to receive a supply voltage (element 2, see [0008], “two connection points that are not adjacent to each other are used as power supply terminals, and a constant current is supplied from the constant current source 2 to the connection point”) ; a differential circuit (1, see [0008], “The difference between the potentials V1 and V2 of the remaining two connection points is set as a detection output ΔV”), the differential circuit comprising a first element (R1, see [0008], “R1 is a filament (temperature sensing element)”) configured to provide a first sensing signal (V1), and a first reference element (R4) configured to provide a first reference signal (see [0008] and [1000], reference signal V2) wherein the first element comprises a heating element (R1, see [0008], “ R1 is a filament (temperature sensing element)”) configured to be powered by a constant supply voltage (voltage from ground powers R1 and is a constant supply voltage) from the supply voltage input (supply voltage input would be at 2) ; and wherein the thermal sensor further comprises ; and a controller (3) configured to: obtain a measured supply voltage value, the measured supply voltage value corresponding to a measurement of the supply voltage received by the supply voltage input (at 4, drift connection circuit with the supply voltage as input); obtain a differential measurement between the first sensing signal (V1) and the first reference signal (V2); and determine a sensor output (So) value based on the measured supply voltage value and the differential measurement ([0012]-[0013], “ a corrected output signal So is obtained”).
With respect to claim 4, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, comprising a supply voltage measurement circuit (1), wherein the controller (3) is configured to obtain the measured supply voltage using the supply voltage measurement circuit.
With respect to claim 5, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 4, wherein the supply voltage measurement circuit (1) comprises a potential divider (the arrangement of the resistors R3 and R4 or R2 and R1 form a potential divider).
With respect to claim 6, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 4, wherein the supply voltage measurement circuit (1) comprises at least two resistors (R3 and R4 or R2 and R1) connected in series between the supply voltage input (from 2 at Vo) and ground (at ground).
With respect to claim 7, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, comprising a fixed resistor (R2 or R3, see [0008] “ In the figure, R1 … and constitutes the resistance bridge circuit 1 together with the fixed resistors R2 to R4.”) connected in series with either the first element (R1) or the first reference element (R4).
With respect to claim 9, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first element (R1) and the first reference element (R4) are connected in a bridge configuration (see [0003], “filaments R1 and R2 'together with the other fixed resistors R3 and R4 constitute a resistor bridge circuit 1”).
With respect to claim 10, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 9, wherein the bridge comprises a first bridge fixed resistor (R2) and a second bridge fixed (R3) resistor (R2 or R3, see [0008] “ In the figure, R1 … and constitutes the resistance bridge circuit 1 together with the fixed resistors R2 to R4.”).
With respect to claim 11, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first element (R1) and the first reference element (R4) comprises a resistor.
With respect to claim 18, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, wherein the thermal sensor is configured as a gas sensor, (see [0008], “provided in the flow path of the analysis gas”).
With respect to claim 20, Masanao discloses a method for operating a thermal sensor (see [0001] “ The present invention relates to a thermal conductivity detector”), the method comprising: receiving a supply voltage(element 2, see [0008], “two connection points that are not adjacent to each other are used as power supply terminals, and a constant current is supplied from the constant current source 2 to the connection point”); obtaining a measured supply voltage value (at connection point), the measured supply voltage value corresponding to a measurement of the received supply voltage (from 2); obtaining a differential measurement (S) between a first sensing signal (V1) provided by a first element (R1, see [0008], “R1 is a filament (temperature sensing element)”), and a first reference signal (V2) provided by a first reference element (R4); and determining a sensor output value (So) based on the measured supply voltage value and the differential measurement ([0012]-[0013], “ a corrected output signal So is obtained”).
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978).
With respect to claim 1, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses a thermal sensor comprising: a supply voltage input (at 34) configured to receive a supply voltage ( 25 (power supply) and 34 (receives power supply), see [0026], “ is supplied with power from the power source 25” and [0035] “and connects the output side of the power supply 25 and the A / D converter 34”) ; a differential circuit (8), the differential circuit comprising a first element configured (21) to provide a first sensing signal, and a first reference element (24) configured to provide a first reference signal (at 29) wherein the first element comprises a heating element (a resistor also would be a heating element and would be within 21) configured to be powered by a constant supply voltage (25 would be a constant supply voltage) from the supply voltage input; and wherein the thermal sensor further comprises; and a controller (35;see [0033] “ the DSP 35”) configured to: obtain a measured supply voltage value, the measured supply voltage value corresponding to a measurement of the supply voltage received by the supply voltage input (25 (power supply) and 34 (receives power supply), see [0026], “ is supplied with power from the power source 25” and [0035] “and connects the output side of the power supply 25 and the A / D converter 34”); obtain a differential measurement between the first sensing signal and the first reference signal (28, 29, 30; see[0026], “”); and determine a sensor output value based on the measured supply voltage value and the differential measurement (see [0035] and [0036]).
With respect to claim 3, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first element further comprises a sensing element (21) in thermal contact with the heating element (21 is in thermal contact with 21).
With respect to claim 4, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, comprising a supply voltage measurement circuit (25, 34 and 35; 25 (being the power supply) 34 (A/D converter) measuring and digitizing the), wherein the controller (35 (DSP)) is configured to obtain the measured supply voltage using the supply voltage measurement circuit (35, see [0032], “ performing various arithmetic processing on the measured voltage value”).
With respect to claim 5, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 4, wherein the supply voltage measurement circuit comprises a potential divider (21 and 23 or 22 and 24 are potential dividers) .
With respect to claim 7, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, comprising a fixed resistor (21-24 are fixed resistors and 23 is in series with 21 and 22 is in series with 24) connected in series with either the first element (21) or the first reference element (24).
With respect to claim 9, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first element (24) and the first reference element (21) are connected in a bridge configuration (see [0026], referring to element 8 as “sensor voltage detection bridge circuit 8 ”, 21 and 22 upstream flow rate detection resistors and 23 and 24 downstream flow rate detection resistors ).
With respect to claim 10, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 9, wherein the bridge comprises a first bridge fixed resistor (8, one of 21-24, i.e. 21) and a second bridge fixed resistor (8, different of 21-24, i.e. 23).
With respect to claim 11, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first element (24) and the first reference element (21) comprises a resistor (21-24 are resistors, see [0026]).
With respect to claim 15, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, further comprising: a substrate comprising a cavity; and a dielectric layer disposed over the substrate and the cavity, wherein the dielectric layer comprises at least one dielectric membrane located over the cavity; wherein the first element is on or within the dielectric membrane. (37, see [0026] “provided on a membrane 27 of a predetermined silicon substrate 26”)
With respect to claim 16, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, comprising a second element (23), and a second reference element (22).
With respect to claim 17, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 16, wherein the first element (24), the second element (23), the first reference element (21), and the second reference element (22) are arranged in a bridge configuration (see [0026], referring to element 8 as “sensor voltage detection bridge circuit 8 ”, 21 and 22 upstream flow rate detection resistors and 23 and 24 downstream flow rate detection resistors ). .
With respect to claim 19, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, wherein the thermal sensor is configured as a fluid flow sensor (see [0008], “an air flow meter that can output a highly accurate signal with respect to the true value of the air flow rate.”).
With respect to claim 20, Akitoshi et al. (JP 2010216978) discloses the method for operating a thermal sensor, the method comprising: receiving a supply voltage (25); obtaining a measured supply voltage value (via 34 from A/D conversion) , the measured supply voltage value corresponding to a measurement of the received supply voltage (25); obtaining a differential measurement between a first sensing signal provided by a first element (24), and a first reference signal provided by a first reference element (21); and determining a sensor output value (at 35) based on the measured supply voltage value (from 25) and the differential measurement (from 8) wherein the first element comprises a heating element (21) configured to be powered by a constant supply voltage from the supply voltage input.
The method according to claim 20, wherein the first element further comprises a sensing element (21) in thermal contact with the heating element (21). (Here, 21 senses heat in the nature of resistance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masanao
With respect to claim 8, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein either: the fixed resistor is connected in series with the first reference element, and a fixed resistor resistance , is such that a nominal first element resistance , is equal to a sum of the fixed resistor resistance and a nominal first reference element resistance; or the fixed resistor ,is connected in series with the first element, and the fixed resistor resistance is such that a nominal first reference element resistance is equal to a sum of the fixed resistor resistance and a nominal first element resistance.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select resistor values such the either: the fixed resistor is connected in series with the first reference element, and a fixed resistor resistance , is such that a nominal first element resistance , is equal to a sum of the fixed resistor resistance and a nominal first reference element resistance; or the fixed resistor ,is connected in series with the first element, and the fixed resistor resistance is such that a nominal first reference element resistance is equal to a sum of the fixed resistor resistance and a nominal first element resistance for the purpose of balancing the bridge. (Note: it would also be obvious to select any desired value for each of the resistors as this would be obvious expedient to one of ordinary skill in the art to select desired values for a desired purpose of the user.)
With respect to claim 12, Masanao discloses the thermal sensor according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein at least one of the first element and the first reference element comprises a diode.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change a resistor of the first element or first reference element to a diode as diodes are obvious alternatives to resistors in this circuit configuration. (See for Example Tolliver US 3207984 disclosing in column 2 lines 15-30 “In the compensating network, according to the invention, the diode is in series with the thermistor, whereupon any change in the thermistor resistance with temperature in the compensating network causes an inverse change in current through the diode; in other words, the diode resistance is caused to change with temperature int eh same direction that the thermistor resistance changes. The diode thus augments the resistance versus temperature characteristic of the compensating thermistor and permits greater control over the resistance versus temperature characteristic of the compensating network. In this manner, one can adequately compensate for temperature responsive load resistance changes over a rather large temperature range, regardless of the resistance versus temperature characteristic of the load being compensated.“)
With respect to claim 13, Masanao disclose the thermal sensor according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein at least one of the first element and the first reference element comprises a transistor.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change a resistor of the first element or first reference element to a transistor as transistors are obvious alternatives to resistors in this circuit configuration
With respect to claim 14, Masanao discloses a thermal sensor according to claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the first element and the first reference element are identical.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select identical values for the first element and first reference element for the purpose of balancing the bridge. (Note: it would also be obvious to select any desired value for each of the resistors as this would be obvious expedient to one of ordinary skill in the art to select desired values for a desired purpose of the user.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument that the Masano circuit and the current circuit operate differently, the Examiner points out that regardless of the operation, Masano reads on the claimed invention.
With respect to Akitoshi, applicant argues that Akitoshi does not disclose a heating element configured to be powered by a contest supply (25). The examiner points out that a resistor by its nature is a heating element in that the increase of resistance increases heat through the circuit. As such 21 is not only a sensing circuit but is also a heating element. (Alternatively, 23 would also be a heating element in thermal connection with 21).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849