Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not disclose the rubber layer is not interwoven with the knit.
Claim(s) 1 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamontia et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0108225.
Lamontia discloses a knitted fabric which is bonded to a side wall of a tire, wherein the side wall of the tire can be rubber. See abstract. The knitted fabric can include a cut resistant fiber and an inorganic fiber. See paragraphs 0014-0017. The inorganic fiber can be a metal fiber. See paragraph 0046. The cut resistant yarn and the yarn including the inorganic fiber can be knitted together, have a coating applied to the resulting fabric, and then bonded to the sidewall of a rubber tire. See paragraphs 0066-0069. The layers are independently formed and combined by an adhesive and are not interwoven with each other.
Lamontia does not disclose the increase in modulus of the rubber layer plus the knitted layer relative to the modulus of the rubber layer alone.
However, it would have been obvious to have selected the materials and structure of the knit layer in order to provide the desired degree of reinforcement to the rubber layer.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamontia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FR 3033285, machine translation attached.
Lamontia discloses a structure as set forth above.
Lamontia differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the rubber is unvulcanized.
However, FR ‘285 discloses a tire assembly comprising an elastic knit including a plurality of reinforcing element which form a part of the knit which is bonded to a tire assembly such as a rubber layer. The knit comprises a nonconductive element such as an elastomeric material which can be mixed with other polymeric or natural fibers and a reinforcing element which can be a metal monofilament. The metal monofilament reinforcing element holds the knit column elements together and the knit columns hold the reinforcing elements together. The knit structure is bonded to a surface of an elastomeric material such as rubber used as a tire. See abstract and page 2, second half of the page and page 4, lines 51 and following. The rubber can include a vulcanization system which means that the rubber can be initially unvulcanized. See page 5, lines 72. Note that a knitted material will have some properties of stretchability inherent to the knit structure and FR ‘285 teaches elastomeric yarns can be incorporated to form the loop columns. See page 2, second half of the page.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have bonded the knit of Lamontia to an unvulcanized rubber as taught by FR ‘285 in order to provide an integral structure having a strong bond.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 6/9/26 have been carefully considered and are sufficient to overcome the previous rejection. A new rejection is set forth above in view of the amendments to the claims.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789