Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not disclose the rubber layer being independent of the electrically conductive layer.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is not clear what is meant by the rubber layer being independent of the electrically conductive layer. Does this mean they are not touching, they are not bonded, the rubber has sufficient structure to stand alone, or does it mean that they are different materials? The claimed structure is not clear. Also, there appears to be a type in the final line of the claim where “laying” should be “layer”.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Best et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,342,457.
Best discloses a knit fabric which includes electrically conductive strands and non-electrically conductive strands which is combined with a rubber layer. See col. 1, lines 54-67; col. 2, lines 8-18, lines 29-55. Any knit will inherently have stretchability, due to the structure of a knit fabric. The rubber matrix layer is independent of the fabric since it is a separate material.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al, U.S. Patent No. 6,342,457.
Best discloses a knit fabric which includes electrically conductive strands and non-electrically conductive strands which is combined with a rubber layer. See col. 1, lines 54-67; col. 2, lines 8-18, lines 29-55. Any knit will inherently have stretchability, due to the structure of a knit fabric. The rubber matrix layer is independent of the fabric since it is a separate material.
Best does not disclose the increase in modulus of the rubber layer plus the knitted layer relative to the modulus of the rubber layer alone.
However, it would have been obvious to have selected the materials and structure of the knit layer in order to provide the desired degree of reinforcement to the rubber layer.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR 033285.
FR ‘285 discloses a tire assembly comprising an elastic knit including a plurality of reinforcing element which form a part of the knit which is bonded to a tire assembly such as a rubber layer. The knit comprises a nonconductive element such as an elastomeric material which can be mixed with other polymeric or natural fibers and a reinforcing element which can be a metal monofilament. The metal monofilament reinforcing element holds the knit column elements together and the knit columns hold the reinforcing elements together. The knit structure is bonded to a surface of an elastomeric material such as rubber used as a tire. See abstract and page 2, second half of the page and page 4, lines 51 and following. The rubber can include a vulcanization system which means that the rubber can be initially unvulcanized. See page 5, lines 72. Note that a knitted material will have some properties of stretchability inherent to the knit structure and FR ‘285 teaches elastomeric yarns can be incorporated to form the loop columns. See page 2, second half of the page.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over FR 033285.
FR ‘285 discloses a structure for reinforcing a tire as set forth above.
FR ‘285 does not disclose the increase in modulus of the rubber layer plus the knitted layer relative to the modulus of the rubber layer alone.
However, it would have been obvious to have selected the materials and structure of the knit layer in order to provide the desired degree of reinforcement to the rubber layer.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Best does not disclose a separate elastomeric layer but only include elastomeric fibers. However, Best teaches bonding the knit to an elastomeric matrix which can be rubber. This is equated with being an independent layer. However, if this layer matrix is not considered independent, a new rejection employing FR ‘285 which teaches bonding a knit reinforcement layer which include conductive metal fibers to a tire element which can be unvulcanized.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huss, U.S. Patent No. 500658 discloses a stretchable knit reinforcing fabric for tires.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789