DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandran et al. (US 2020/0380261) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0067785).
Regarding claim 1, Chandran discloses an apparatus (see 100 in fig. 1A) comprising: machine learning (ML) engine circuitry (see 116 in fig. 1A); and a motion unit (see 108 in fig. 1A) comprising circuitry configured to generate an indication of whether the ML engine circuitry should process an input video frame (see 120 and 122 in fig. 1A), based on an analysis of motion characteristics of the input video frame (see 108 in fig. 1A); wherein the machine learning engine circuitry is selectively activated to process the input video frame further, based on the indication (see 120 & 116 in fig. 1A).
Although Chandran discloses wherein when activated the machine learning engine circuitry is configured to generate encoding information for a video encoder based on the input video frame (see 126a in fig. 1A), it is noted that Chandran does not provide the particular wherein the encoding information is an encoding-control information.
However, Zhang discloses a encoding system with machine learning generating encoding information wherein the encoding information is an encoding-control information (e.g. see 116 in fig. 1).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Zhang teachings of quantization parameter estimation into Chandran quantization estimation for the benefit of improving compression efficiency and/or video quality.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Chandran further discloses wherein the motion unit is further configured to identify one or more objects in the input frame based on the motion characteristics (see 108 in fig. 1A; see 213 in fig. 2B), and when activated the ML engine circuitry is configured to execute an ML model on only the one or more objects identified by the motion unit (see 116 in fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Chandran further discloses wherein responsive to receiving an indication that a new object has not been detected in the input video frame and a change of scene has not been detected for the input video frame (see fig. 2E), the input video frame is encoded by the video encoder without use of a ML model (see 118 in fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, the references further discloses wherein the encoding- control information generated by the ML engine circuitry comprises a quantization parameter (QP) map (see Zhang 116 in fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, the references further discloses comprising a downscaling unit configured to downscale the input video frame to generate a downscaled version (e.g. see Chandran ¶ [0012]), the downscaled version being supplied to the ML engine circuitry for generating the encoding-control information when the ML engine circuitry is activated (e.g. see Chandran ¶ [0012] with 116 in fig. 1A; see Zhang 116 in fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Chandran further discloses wherein, when activated, the ML engine circuitry is configured to execute a ML model on only the downscaled version of the input video frame (see 116 in fig. 1A; e.g. see ¶ [0012]).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the references further discloses wherein the indication comprises at least a new object has been detected in the input video frame compared to a reference frame based on motion characteristics derived from motion vectors (see Chandran “New object” in fig. 2D), the indication being used to selectively activate the ML engine circuitry to generate the encoding-control information (see Zhang 116 in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 15, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Piacentino et al. (US 2021/0160422), discloses object and scene change detection.
Conclusion
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485