DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response of February 27, 2026 has been fully considered. No claims have been amended, added, or cancelled and claims 1-20 are pending.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on February 27, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,898,036 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeller (US 2019/0330453).
Regarding claim 2, Zeller teaches a biomass-elastomer composite including an elastomer matrix and a biomass reinforcement distributed through the elastomer matrix, wherein the biomass includes algae and the algae includes protein, ash, and carbohydrate (¶6, 8). The composite also includes a mixing additive selected from the group consisting of a plasticizer (¶8), a compatibilizer (¶9), a vulcanizing agent (¶11), a curing agent (¶11), a crosslinker (¶32), a coupling agent (¶9), an elastomer compound having polar functionalization (¶9), a thermoplastic compound having polar functionalization (¶9), a performance enhancing additive (¶8), and combinations thereof (¶9), wherein the mixing additive is operable to deliver the desired properties of the composite material (¶8). The composite material is used to make solid goods such as shoe soles, grips, automotive parts, hosing, and tires (¶44).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Zeller teaches a solid good with an abrasion resistance as measured by DIN abrasion testing of 80 or 65 mm2 (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Zeller teaches a solid good with a specific gravity of 1.11 or 1.09 g/cc (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Zeller teaches a solid good with a Shore A hardness of 61 or 60 (Fig. 2D).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Zeller teaches a solid good with a tear strength of 66 or 69 kg/cm (Fig. 2D).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 11-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Independent claim 1 is directed to a biomass-elastomer composite comprising an elastomer matrix, a biomass reinforcement distributed through the elastomer matrix, wherein the biomass comprises algae and the algae includes protein, ash, and carbohydrates when distributed into the elastomer matrix, and a mixing additive selected from a list, wherein the mixing additive is sufficient to form a solid good. The closest prior art references of record, Kang (KR 101182251) and Falken et al. (US 2017/0183469), do not explicitly teach that the algae used in the compositions does indeed contain protein, ash, and carbohydrate and that it has not been removed previously. As previously argued by applicant in the parent application, there is evidence provided in each reference that these components have been removed from the algae and that the resulting mixture is structurally different from that claimed. Therefore, claims 1 and 11-20 are allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 is now allowable since the obviousness-type double patenting rejection has been resolved, and that claims 2-10 should also be allowable as they ultimately depend from claim 1. This argument is unpersuasive. As explained in the Office Action of January 30, 2026, this application is a continuation-in-part of Application No. 16/396,370, which has a filing date of April 26, 2019 with claim to a provisional application filed April 27, 2018. In the current claim set, claims 1 and 11-20 are supported by the disclosure of the prior application and therefore are entitled to its filing date of April 27, 2018. However, claims 2-10 are not supported by the disclosure of the prior application. Specifically, in claim 2, the solid good being a fitting, a strap, a building material, or a floor mat is new in this application; and the full ranges claimed for each property in claims 3-10 are new in this application. Therefore, since there is no support in the prior application for claims 2-10, they have the effective filing date of this application which is February 12, 2024. Each of claims 2-10 contain the limitations of claim 1 plus their own limitations, but have an effective filing date of February 12, 2014. It does not matter that they depend from claim 1 for allowability purposes in this specific scenario. Therefore, claims 2-10 remain rejected as set forth above and in the Office Action of January 30, 2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ANGELA C SCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767