DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. 2013/0186951 A1) in view of Hockersmith (U.S. 2007/0025823 A1).
Claim 1, Zhu teaches:
A system for installing a fastener (Zhu, Figs. 5 and 6) to an object (Zhu, Figs. 4 and 5: 30, 34, The threaded shaft 13 of the fastener 10 is fastened to the structural members 30 and 34. Examples of structural members include bridge girders, support beams in buildings, and aircraft structural members (see Zhu, Paragraph [0002]).), the system comprising:
a power tool (Zhu, Fig. 5: 40), the power tool including an onboard wireless receiver (Zhu, Fig. 5: 42, Paragraph [0029], The RFID tag reader 42 generates interrogation signals and receives information from a responding RFID tag 17.);
a fastener (Zhu, Figs. 1, 5, and 6: 10), the fastener including a head (Zhu, Figs. 1 and 5: 12) and a shaft with threads thereon (Zhu, Figs. 1 and 5: 13), the fastener including an electronic module (Zhu, Fig. 1: 17, 18, The combination of RFID chip 17 and antenna 18 and the portion of the fastener to which the RFID chip 17 and antenna 18 are attached, e.g. the head 12, is collectively interpretable as an electronic module of the fastener. Thus, the interior of the fastener that houses the RFID chip 17, the antenna 18, and micro switch 20 is interpreted as being a part of the “electronic module”.) defining an opening therein (Zhu, Fig. 1: 15, Paragraph [0024], The recessed upper surface is an opening for accommodating the RFID chip 17 and the antenna 18.), the electronic module including an on onboard wireless transmitter (Zhu, Fig. 1: 17), the fastener further including an onboard sensor (Zhu, Fig. 1: 20) for sensing a condition of the fastener or at the fastener (Zhu, Paragraph [0026], The microswitch 20 functions as a binary torque value sensor for sensing whether a fastener 10 has been tightened to the correct torque value.); and
the onboard sensor sensing a condition (Zhu, Paragraph [0026], The microswitch 20 senses a torque, which is a condition of the fastener 10.) and wirelessly transmitting to the power tool a condition signal via the onboard wireless transmitter representing the condition (Zhu, Paragraph [0028], The detected torque is stored in the RFID chip 17 and transmitted to the RFID tag reader of the power tool 40.), the power tool wirelessly receiving the condition signal via the onboard wireless receiver (Zhu, Paragraph [0028], The data stored in the RFID chip 17 is received by the RFID reader of the power tool 40.) and using information from the condition signal to control the power tool (Zhu, Paragraph [0030], The power tool 40 uses the unique identification and desired torque value from the fastener 10 to cause the power drive unit 43 to control the driver bit 44 to drive the fastener 10 to the desired torque value. If the state of the microswitch 20 indicates that the torque value is not correct, i.e. the condition signal, the initial installation process, which includes the controlling of the power drive unit 43 and the driver bit 44, can be repeated until the torque value is correct (see Zhu, Paragraph [0031]).);
wherein the fastener includes an portion therein for receiving the threaded shaft (Zhu, Fig. 4, The threaded shank 13 meets the head 12 at the lower portion 25 of the head 12.).
Zhu does not explicitly teach:
The electronic module defining an opening therein for receiving the threaded shaft through the opening to dispose the electronic module between the head and the object.
Hockersmith teaches:
The electronic module defining an opening therein for receiving the threaded shaft through the opening (Hockersmith, Figs. 2 and 3: 38, Paragraph [0016], The load-sensing washer 38 allows the shaft of the clamping fastener 34 to pass therethrough. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would recognize that a “washer” includes an opening to allow the shaft of the fastener 34 to pass therethrough.) to dispose the electronic module between the head and the object (Hockersmith, Figs. 2 and 3: 38, As can be seen in the Figures, the load-sensing washer 38 is disposed between clamping head 40 and both first and second clamping components 30 and 32, i.e. objects.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the fastener in Zhu by integrating the teaching of a load-sensing washer, as taught by Hockersmith.
The motivation would be to detect attachment problems prior to any failure of the system, joint, or component (see Hockersmith, Paragraphs [0004-0005]).
Claim 2, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the onboard wireless receiver is a wireless transceiver and the power tool is capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving information (Zhu, Paragraph [0029], The RFID tag 17 receives interrogation signals from the RFID reader and transmits a response signal to the RFID reader. The RFID reader is thus capable of both transmitting the interrogation signal and receiving the response signal from the RFID tag 17.).
Claim 3, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the onboard wireless transmitter is a wireless transceiver and the fastener is capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving information (Zhu, Paragraph [0029], The RFID tag 17 receives interrogation signals from the RFID reader and transmits a response signal to the RFID reader. The RFID tag is thus capable of both receiving the interrogation signal and transmitting the response signal to the RFID reader.).
Claim 4, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the onboard wireless receiver is a wireless transceiver and the power tool is capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving information (Zhu, Paragraph [0029], The RFID tag 17 receives interrogation signals from the RFID reader and transmits a response signal to the RFID reader. The RFID reader is thus capable of both transmitting the interrogation signal and receiving the response signal from the RFID tag 17.) and wherein the onboard wireless transmitter is a wireless transceiver and the fastener is capable of wirelessly transmitting and receiving information (Zhu, Paragraph [0029], The RFID tag 17 receives interrogation signals from the RFID reader and transmits a response signal to the RFID reader. The RFID tag is thus capable of both receiving the interrogation signal and transmitting the response signal to the RFID reader.).
Claim 5, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless system is an RFID system (Zhu, Paragraph [0029], The system utilizes RFID tags 17 and an RFID tag reader.).
Claim 6, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the onboard sensor senses a physical condition at the fastener (Zhu, Paragraph [0028], A torque of the fastener 10 is a physical condition of/at the fastener.).
Claim 9, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
A method of installing a fastener using the system of claim 4 (Zhu, Figs. 5 and 6), comprising the steps of:
transmitting a first signal from the power tool to the fastener (Zhu, Paragraphs [0028-0029], The interrogation signal from the RFID reader is a first signal.);
receiving the first signal from the power tool at the fastener (Zhu, Paragraphs [0028-0029], The interrogation signal from the RFID reader is received by the RFID tag 17.);
sensing a condition at the fastener and generating a sensed signal therefrom (Zhu, Paragraphs [0028-0029], The sensed torque stored in the RFID chip memory is transmitted by the RFID tag 17, which is functionally equivalent to a sensed signal.);
transmitting the sensed signal to the power tool (Zhu, Paragraphs [0028-0029], The transmitted signal from the RFID tag 17 is transmitted to the RFID reader of the power tool 40.);
using the sensed signal to control an operation of the power tool (Zhu, Paragraph [0030], The power tool 40 uses the unique identification and desired torque value from the fastener 10 to cause the power drive unit 43 to control the driver bit 44 to drive the fastener 10 to the desired torque value. If the state of the microswitch 20 indicates that the torque value is not correct, i.e. the condition signal, the initial installation process, which includes the controlling of the power drive unit 43 and the driver bit 44, can be repeated until the torque value is correct (see Zhu, Paragraph [0031]).).
Claim 10, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 9, wherein the wireless system is an RFID system (Zhu, Paragraph [0029], The system utilizes RFID tags 17 and an RFID tag reader.).
Claim 11, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 9, wherein the onboard sensor senses a physical condition at the fastener (Zhu, Paragraph [0028], A torque of the fastener 10 is a physical condition of/at the fastener.).
Claims 7-8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. 2013/0186951 A1) in view of Hockersmith (U.S. 2007/0025823 A1) in view of Smith et al. (U.S. 7,412,898 B1).
Claims 7 and 12, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claims 1 and 9.
Zhu in view of Hockersmith does not explicitly teach:
Wherein transmission from the fastener to the power tool is based on a passive system which does not require a battery.
Smith teaches:
A passive system which does not require a battery (Smith, Col. 6, Lines 32-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to substitute the RFID tag in Zhu in view of Hockersmith with a passive RFID tag, as taught by Smith.
Such a modification is known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the passive RFID tag in Smith for the RFID tag in Zhu in view of Hockersmith, and such a substitution would produce predictable results.
Claims 8 and 13, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claims 1 and 9.
Zhu in view of Hockersmith does not explicitly teach:
The fastener includes a wirelessly chargeable energy storage device.
Smith teaches:
A wirelessly chargeable energy storage device (Smith, Col. 6, Lines 32-39, The RFID tag is powered via an inductive circuitry that is powered by a signal from the RFID reader. The inductive circuitry is functionally equivalent to a wirelessly chargeable energy storage device.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to substitute the RFID tag in Zhu in view of Hockersmith with a passive RFID tag, as taught by Smith.
Such a modification is known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the passive RFID tag in Smith for the RFID tag in Zhu in view of Hockersmith, and such a substitution would produce predictable results.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (U.S. 2013/0186951 A1) in view of Hockersmith (U.S. 2007/0025823 A1) in view of Hsieh (U.S. 2008/0253858 A1).
Claim 15, Zhu in view of Hockersmith further teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a sensor element configured to detect strain or compression in the electronic module in response to the electronic module being compressed between the head and the object (Hockersmith, Paragraph [0016], The load-sensing washer 38 includes a pressure sensor element 42 such as a pressure transducer or a piezoelectric sensor.).
Zhu in view of Hockersmith does not explicitly teach:
A strain gauge.
Hsieh teaches:
A strain gauge (Hsieh, Fig. 1: 22, Paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the sensor element in Zhu in view of Hockersmith by integrating the teaching of a strain gauge, by simple substitution. Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 16, Zhu in view of Hockersmith, in view of Hsieh further teaches:
The system of claim 15, wherein the electronic module is disc shaped (Hockersmith, Figs. 2 and 3: 38, Paragraph [0016], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for a washer, i.e. load-sensing washer 38, to be disc shaped, e.g. round with a hole in the middle to accommodate the shaft of the fastener 34.).
Claim 17, Zhu in view of Hockersmith, in view of Hsieh further teaches:
The system of claim 16, wherein the electronic module includes at least one projection which houses the strain gauge (Hockersmith, Figs. 2 and 3: 42, Paragraph [0042], In the combination of Zhu in view of Hockersmith, in view of Hsieh, the strain gauge of Hsieh (see Hsieh, Fig. 1: 22), which is placed on a surface of the screw unit 10 of Hsieh, would be placed on the load-sensing washer 38 in Hockersmith, i.e. would be at least one projection. The term projection is interpreted to be equivalent to a bump or raised portion of a surface.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686