DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18/439,267 filed 2/12/2024.
Claims 1-20 presented for examination.
Objections to the claims
Claims 2-5 relate to a convolutional operation, wherein the convolutional operation includes implementing a coarse-grained convolution operation in the Binarized-Weight Neural Networks (BWNN) through leveraging a compute-pixel with a non-volatile weight storage at a sensor side and processing network layers with a bit-wise near-sensor in memory computing unit or a near-sensor processing unit. These features are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form. The culmination of the features cited make it non-obvious.
Allowable claims
Independent Claims 6 and 15 are allowable claims. The closest art found is Jaiswal (US 2021/0264973) that discloses [para.0003] a method for operating an integrated pixel and two-terminal NVM cell and for operating an array of such cells (e.g., to perform deep in-sensor, in-memory computing). A sensor does more than just capture data, it performs part of the computation at the point of sensing, reducing the need to move raw data to a separate processor (a Processing-In-Sensor architecture). Jaiswal fails to teach a network structure with at least four convolutional layers and one Fully Connected (FC) layer with an image input data being processed therein; a non-volatile memory (NVM) element for pre-storing a plurality of pixels from the image input data; wherein, the four convolutional layers include a 1st-layer, a 2nd layer, a 3rd layer and a 4th layer, and the 1st-layer is processed in a Binarized-Weight Neural Network (BWNN); and a Process Near Sensor (PNS) unit to perform a low bit-width coarse-grained convolution on the remaining 2nd layer, 3rd layer and 4th layer. Dependent Claims 7-14 and 16-20 are considered allowable because they further limit their respective independent claims 1, 6 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaiswal et al., Pub No US 2021/0264973 (hereafter Jaiswal).
Regarding Claim 1, Jaiswal discloses a method for a Processing-In-Sensor architecture (PISA) [para.0003: Discloses performing deep in-sensor, in-memory computing (e.g., of neural networks). Thus, a PISA, the sensor does more than just capture data, it performs part of the computation at the point of sensing, reducing the need to move raw data to a separate processor; para.0036: Discloses the sensor pixel itself stores binary weight values directly in memory elements co-located with the sensing photodiode (sensor architecture).], comprising:
inputting data that represents an image into an edge Internet-of-Things (IoT) device [FIG(s).5A, 5B, & 7 and para.0036: Discloses the pixel (element 130) can include a photodiode (element 131), a reset transistor (element 132, a sense node (element 135), and an amplifying transistor (element 133). This shows that the architecture integrates a photodiode (light sensor) that converts image data into an electrical signal at the pixel level, serving as input into the device; and para.0012: Discloses a light sensing process can be performed by exposing the photodiode of the specific cell to light resulting in a second data value being output on the sense node. The sense node outputs a data value after capturing light, which demonstrates how image information is input into the system at the edge device.]; and
enabling integrated sensing and processing of a 1st layer of a Binarized-Weight Neural Networks (BWNN) [para.0026: Discloses in a write functional computing mode, a first data value (e.g., a binary weight value) can be stored in the two-terminal NVM device. Thus, binary weight values of the neural network are directly written into the memory device associated with each pixel; and FIG.1, para.0046: Discloses binary weight values can be stored in the two-terminal NVM devices (element 140) of the cells (element 101). This shows that the binary weights are stored at the cell level, enabling localized computation rather that external processing; and para.0047: Discloses the functional computing mode will be indicative of the result of a dot product computation. Thus, the result of sensing and stored binary weights is a dot product operation, which is the fundamental first-layer operation in a BWNN.] with weights stored in a non-volatile magnetic memory component [para(s).0026, 0032: Discloses the cell can specifically incorporate a two-terminal NVM device (e.g., a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) device. This names MTJ as an example of the two-terminal NVM used to store the binary weights.] for offering energy-efficiency and speed-up at the edge IoT device [para(s).0002, 0026: Discloses processors with hardware-implemented NN's have been developed to increase processing speed. This establishes that the invention aims to accelerate neural network computations, speed benefits; and para.0003: Discloses embodiments of an integrated pixel and a two-terminal non-volatile memory (NVM) cell and embodiments of integrated circuit (IC) structure (i.e., a processing chip) that incorporates an array of such cells for performing deep in-sensor, in-memory computing (e.g., of neural networks). Thus, by integrating sensing and computation, data movement is minimized which improves energy efficiency and supports fast inference at the edge.].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tidwell et al., (US 2011/0015989) – Discloses providing a multiply accumulate circuit. The multiply accumulate circuit receives m one-bit neuron values from a first layer of a neural network system. The multiply accumulate circuit includes m non-volatile memory cells and m current sources (col.4, lines 50-56).
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426