DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on November 25, 2025. Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are amended; claims 14-22 are canceled; and claims 1-13 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couch et al. (U.S. 2021/0276420) in view of Ricci et al. (U.S. 2014/0310739).
With regard to claim 1, Couch teaches a method of monitoring the operation of a work vehicle having a work implement and a display device ([abstract] a work vehicle including a touch screen display), the method comprising:
displaying on the display device a display field (Fig. 2, display device 43 and touch screen 45; Figs. 4-14; [abstract] display a graphical user interface having selectable application icons);
displaying within the display field a graphical user interface including an application launcher icon (Figs. 4-13; [abstract] display a graphical user interface having selectable application icons on one or more overlays);
launching a run page within the graphical user interface upon selecting the application launcher icon (Figs. 4-7; [0040] To change the open applications, the operator presses an application (“app”) launcher icon 208 (see FIG. 4) at block 210);
displaying within the run page a first overlay ([0040] As seen in FIG. 4, the display device 43 displays a touch screen display 45 having a generally rectangular image with a first overlay 212 that is displayed upon selection of the app launcher icon 208), a second overlay ([abstract] Selection of a split screen icon displays a second overlay on a second portion of the display field), and a header ribbon ([0040] The touch screen display includes a title bar 215 to display alphanumeric icons, such as used in a title),
wherein the first overlay covers a first portion of the run page and includes a first currently running vehicle application ([abstract] a work vehicle which one of the overlays covers a first portion of the display field; [0040] the display device 43 displays a touch screen display 45 having a generally rectangular image with a first overlay 212 that is displayed upon selection of the app launcher icon 208… The first overlay 212 partially covers and obscures a part of the default application such that an application portion 214, below the first overlay 212, displays only the portion of the default application that is not covered by the first overlay 212),
wherein the second overlay covers a second portion of the run page and includes a second currently running vehicle application ([abstract] a work vehicle which one of the overlays covers a second portion of the display field; [0048] Selection of the split screen add icon 220 opens up a second portion or second overlay 230 as illustrated in FIG. 5. The second portion 230 includes a plurality of application icons 232… The second overlay 230 includes displayed icons for each of the applications one through eight),
wherein the header ribbon is positioned adjacent to one or more of the first overlay and the second overlay ([0040] The touch screen display includes a title bar 215 to display alphanumeric icons, such as used in a title; [0047] As seen in FIG. 4, the display field displays the launcher icon 208, the title bar 215, the first overlay 212, the application portion 214, and the split screen add icon), the header ribbon including a predetermined application icon cluster ([0040] The first overlay 212 partially covers and obscures a part of the default application such that an application portion 214, below the first overlay 212, displays only the portion of the default application that is not covered by the first overlay 212. The touch screen display includes a title bar 215 to display alphanumeric icons, such as used in a title. In the title bar of FIG. 4 a time is displayed); and
upon selection of one of a predetermined application icon from predetermined application icon cluster (Figs. 4-7; [0041] The application is displayed on the display device 43 once loading is completed, but prior to selection of the launcher icon 208. The graphical user interface 45 includes user selectable features, such as user selectable icons located within a display field having a defined boundary), displaying a third running application covering the first portion ([0043] A second row of icons 218 includes icons for applications five, six, seven, and eight. A third row of application icons includes icons 218 for applications nine, ten, and eleven. While eleven application icons are displayed, other numbers of icons are contemplated), and updating one or more of the second portion and the predetermined application icon cluster ([0043] While eleven application icons are displayed, other numbers of icons are contemplated. In one or more embodiments, the size of each of the individual icons is determined based on the number of accessible icons. For instance, if only three individual icons are available, each of the three individual icons are larger. In other embodiments, the individual icons remain the same size, but the size of the overlay 212 is either reduced or enlarged). However, Couch does not specifically teach:
- automatically updating
Ricci teaches a system and method of providing video streaming for a vehicle occupant [abstract]. Ricci also teaches automatically updating the vehicle display ([0496] A traffic controller 8112 can be any hardware and/or software that can communicate with an automated traffic system and adjust the function of the vehicle 104 based on instructions from the automated traffic system. An automated traffic system is a system that manages the traffic in a given area. This automated traffic system can instruct cars to drive in certain lanes, instruct cars to raise or lower their speed, instruct a car to change their route of travel, instruct cars to communicate with other cars, etc.; [0647] Upon detecting the traffic along the usual route, the vehicle may present the user with alternate route selections, or automatically adjust a route presented to the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the work vehicle display as taught by Couch, with the automatic display of a vehicle display as taught by Ricci, to have achieved a system and method for controlling and maintaining the operation of the work vehicle with a display controller.
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Couch teaches wherein: updating the second portion includes displaying a fourth running application responsive to the third running application ([0043] Selection of the app launcher icon 208 displays the first overlay 212 that includes a plurality of application icons 218 that are selectable by the operator and that are displayed as organized rows and columns. A first row of application icons 218 includes icons for applications one, two, three, and four). However, Couch does not specifically teach:
- automatically updating
Ricci teaches a system and method of providing video streaming for a vehicle occupant [abstract]. Ricci also teaches automatically updating the vehicle display ([0496] A traffic controller 8112 can be any hardware and/or software that can communicate with an automated traffic system and adjust the function of the vehicle 104 based on instructions from the automated traffic system. An automated traffic system is a system that manages the traffic in a given area. This automated traffic system can instruct cars to drive in certain lanes, instruct cars to raise or lower their speed, instruct a car to change their route of travel, instruct cars to communicate with other cars, etc.; [0647] Upon detecting the traffic along the usual route, the vehicle may present the user with alternate route selections, or automatically adjust a route presented to the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the work vehicle display as taught by Couch, with the automatic display of a vehicle display as taught by Ricci, to have achieved a system and method for controlling and maintaining the operation of the work vehicle with a display controller.
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Couch teaches wherein: updating the predetermined application icon cluster with executing at least one or more of de-emphasizing the predetermined application icon ([0043] While eleven application icons are displayed, other numbers of icons are contemplated. In one or more embodiments, the size of each of the individual icons is determined based on the number of accessible icons. For instance, if only three individual icons are available, each of the three individual icons are larger. In other embodiments, the individual icons remain the same size, but the size of the overlay 212 is either reduced or enlarged, removing the predetermined application icon ([0059] The type of press detected includes an application icon press of the top app overlay at block 276, an application icon press of the bottom app overlay 278, a press of the remove split screen icon at block 275; [0060] If the press detected at block 274 is the remove split screen icon at block 275, the process returns to a single application pane at block 292 in which any of the overlays are removed and the currently selected app is displayed at block 294), and introducing an alternative predetermined application icon ([0060] Once the application is closed, the process return to block 210 which determines if the operator presses the app launcher icon; [0061] If two overlays are displayed, such as in FIG. 5, both overlays are removed upon the press detected at block 274 is the app launcher icon). However, Couch does not specifically teach:
- automatically updating
Ricci teaches a system and method of providing video streaming for a vehicle occupant [abstract]. Ricci also teaches automatically updating the vehicle display ([0496] A traffic controller 8112 can be any hardware and/or software that can communicate with an automated traffic system and adjust the function of the vehicle 104 based on instructions from the automated traffic system. An automated traffic system is a system that manages the traffic in a given area. This automated traffic system can instruct cars to drive in certain lanes, instruct cars to raise or lower their speed, instruct a car to change their route of travel, instruct cars to communicate with other cars, etc.; [0647] Upon detecting the traffic along the usual route, the vehicle may present the user with alternate route selections, or automatically adjust a route presented to the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the work vehicle display as taught by Couch, with the automatic display of a vehicle display as taught by Ricci, to have achieved a system and method for controlling and maintaining the operation of the work vehicle with a display controller.
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Couch teaches wherein:
the fourth running application is responsive to a frequency of operational coupling of the third running and the fourth running application ([0043] Selection of the app launcher icon 208 displays the first overlay 212 that includes a plurality of application icons 218 that are selectable by the operator and that are displayed as organized rows and columns. A first row of application icons 218 includes icons for applications one, two, three, and four).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Couch teaches wherein:
wherein the fourth running application is responsive to an operation of the work implement ([0043] Selection of the app launcher icon 208 displays the first overlay 212 that includes a plurality of application icons 218 that are selectable by the operator and that are displayed as organized rows and columns. A first row of application icons 218 includes icons for applications one, two, three, and four).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Couch teaches wherein the display field to be displayed on the display device is user selectable via a user interface associated with the display device (Figs. 4-7; [abstract] display a graphical user interface having selectable application icons on one or more overlays. One of the overlays covers a first portion of the display field and a second portion of the display field displays an application selected by one of the selectable application icons).
With regard to claim 8, Couch teaches a system for controlling a display during the operation of a work vehicle having a work implement ([abstract] a work vehicle including a touch screen display) comprising:
a user interface including a touch screen display (Fig. 2, display device 43 and touch screen 45; Figs. 4-14; [abstract] display a graphical user interface having selectable application icons);
a control module operatively connected to the user interface and to the work implement, wherein the control module includes a processor and a memory ([abstract] a control module having a processor and a memory wherein the processor is configured to execute stored program instructions), wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions and the processor is configured to execute the stored program ([0031] the controller 100, in different embodiments, includes a control module, a computer, computer system, or other programmable devices. In other embodiments, the controller 100 includes one or more processing devices 103 (e.g. microprocessors), having operating logic 104, and an associated memory 106, which can be internal to the processor or external to the processor) instructions to:
display on the touch screen display a display field (Fig. 2, display device 43 and touch screen 45; [0039] The touch screen 45 includes a display field having a perimeter with edges that define the display field; [0047] As seen in FIG. 4, the display field displays the launcher icon 208, the title bar 215, the first overlay 212, the application portion 214, and the split screen add icon);
displaying within the display field a graphical user interface including an application launcher icon (Figs. 4-13; [abstract] display a graphical user interface having selectable application icons on one or more overlays);
launching a run page within the graphical user interface upon selecting the application launcher icon (Figs. 4-7; [0040] To change the open applications, the operator presses an application (“app”) launcher icon 208 (see FIG. 4) at block 210);
displaying within the run page a first overlay ([0040] As seen in FIG. 4, the display device 43 displays a touch screen display 45 having a generally rectangular image with a first overlay 212 that is displayed upon selection of the app launcher icon 208), a second overlay ([abstract] Selection of a split screen icon displays a second overlay on a second portion of the display field), and a header ribbon ([0040] The touch screen display includes a title bar 215 to display alphanumeric icons, such as used in a title) upon selection of the application launcher icon by a user ([0041] The graphical user interface
45 includes user selectable features, such as user selectable icons located within a display field having a defined boundary),
wherein the first overlay covers a first portion of the run page and includes a first currently running vehicle application ([abstract] a work vehicle which one of the overlays covers a first portion of the display field; [0040] the display device 43 displays a touch screen display 45 having a generally rectangular image with a first overlay 212 that is displayed upon selection of the app launcher icon 208… The first overlay 212 partially covers and obscures a part of the default application such that an application portion 214, below the first overlay 212, displays only the portion of the default application that is not covered by the first overlay 212),
wherein the second overlay covers a second portion of the run page and includes a second currently running vehicle application ([abstract] a work vehicle which one of the overlays covers a second portion of the display field; [0048] Selection of the split screen add icon 220 opens up a second portion or second overlay 230 as illustrated in FIG. 5. The second portion 230 includes a plurality of application icons 232… The second overlay 230 includes displayed icons for each of the applications one through eight),
wherein the header ribbon is positioned adjacent to one or more of the first overlay and the second overlay ([0040] The touch screen display includes a title bar 215 to display alphanumeric icons, such as used in a title; [0047] As seen in FIG. 4, the display field displays the launcher icon 208, the title bar 215, the first overlay 212, the application portion 214, and the split screen add icon), the header ribbon including a predetermined application icon cluster ([0040] The first overlay 212 partially covers and obscures a part of the default application such that an application portion 214, below the first overlay 212, displays only the portion of the default application that is not covered by the first overlay 212. The touch screen display includes a title bar 215 to display alphanumeric icons, such as used in a title. In the title bar of FIG. 4 a time is displayed); and
upon selection of one of a predetermined application icons from the predetermined application icon cluster (Figs. 4-7; [0041] The application is displayed on the display device 43 once loading is completed, but prior to selection of the launcher icon 208. The graphical user interface 45 includes user selectable features, such as user selectable icons located within a display field having a defined boundary), displaying a third running application covering the first portion of the run page ([0043] A second row of icons 218 includes icons for applications five, six, seven, and eight. A third row of application icons includes icons 218 for applications nine, ten, and eleven. While eleven application icons are displayed, other numbers of icons are contemplated), and updating one or more of the second portion of the run page and the predetermined application icon cluster ([0043] While eleven application icons are displayed, other numbers of icons are contemplated. In one or more embodiments, the size of each of the individual icons is determined based on the number of accessible icons. For instance, if only three individual icons are available, each of the three individual icons are larger. In other embodiments, the individual icons remain the same size, but the size of the overlay 212 is either reduced or enlarged). However, Couch does not specifically teach:
- automatically updating
Ricci teaches a system and method of providing video streaming for a vehicle occupant [abstract]. Ricci also teaches automatically updating the vehicle display ([0496] A traffic controller 8112 can be any hardware and/or software that can communicate with an automated traffic system and adjust the function of the vehicle 104 based on instructions from the automated traffic system. An automated traffic system is a system that manages the traffic in a given area. This automated traffic system can instruct cars to drive in certain lanes, instruct cars to raise or lower their speed, instruct a car to change their route of travel, instruct cars to communicate with other cars, etc.; [0647] Upon detecting the traffic along the usual route, the vehicle may present the user with alternate route selections, or automatically adjust a route presented to the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the work vehicle display as taught by Couch, with the automatic display of a vehicle display as taught by Ricci, to have achieved a system and method for controlling and maintaining the operation of the work vehicle with a display controller.
With regard to claim 9, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 10, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 12, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 13, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couch et al. (U.S. 2021/0276420) in view of Ricci et al. (U.S. 2014/0310739) and further in view of Tamura et al. (U.S. 2024/0301663).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Couch teaches wherein the predetermined application icons are displayed (Figs. 4-7; [0041] The application is displayed on the display device 43 once loading is completed, but prior to selection of the launcher icon 208. The graphical user interface 45 includes user selectable features, such as user selectable icons located within a display field having a defined boundary). However, Couch does not specifically teach:
- displayed in a first sequential order, the first sequential order updating to a second sequential order based on a frequency of use
Tamura teaches a display control system including a display screen and a display region for displaying the remaining-amount information, which concerns the remaining amount of an object to be monitored that is consumed with the operation of a work machine [abstract]. Tamura also displays in a first sequential order, the first sequential order updating to a second sequential order based on a frequency of use ([0055] the home screen D11 is divided into ten regions in total. Further, the second regions from the top include, in a sequential order from the left, the remaining-amount display region R1, the switching display region R2, and the third region R3. The bottom most region is the fourth region R4. Further, the third regions from the top include, in a sequential order from the left, the fifth region R5, the sixth region R6, and the seventh region R7. The top most regions include, in a sequential order from the left, the eighth region R8, the ninth region R9, and the tenth region R10). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the work vehicle display as taught by Couch and the automatic display of a vehicle display as taught by Ricci, with the sequential order displayed as taught by Tamura, to have achieved a system and method for controlling and maintaining the operation of the work vehicle with a display controller.
With regard to claim 11, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11-25-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the arguments, Applicant argues that the Ricci reference does not teach “automatically updating one or more of the second portion and the predetermined application icon cluster”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant:
The Couch reference teaches a work vehicle system which includes a touch screen display having selectable application icons on one or more overlays (Figs. 4-7; [abstract]). Couch shows a selection of an application icon from an icon cluster in Figures 4-7. The graphical user interface 45 includes an application selector launcher icon 208, which features user selectable icons located within a display field having a defined boundary [0041]. Couch also teaches displaying a third running application covering the first portion ([0043] A second row of icons 218 includes icons for applications five, six, seven, and eight. A third row of application icons includes icons 218 for applications nine, ten, and eleven. While eleven application icons are displayed, other numbers of icons are contemplated), as well as updating one or more of a second portion and icon cluster ([0043] While eleven application icons are displayed, other numbers of icons are contemplated. In one or more embodiments, the size of each of the individual icons is determined based on the number of accessible icons. For instance, if only three individual icons are available, each of the three individual icons are larger. In other embodiments, the individual icons remain the same size, but the size of the overlay 212 is either reduced or enlarged). While the Couch reference teaches a work vehicle system, the Couch reference does not specifically teach automatically updating. The Ricci reference was brought forth to teach this limitation. Ricci provides video streaming for a vehicle occupant [abstract] to create an environment within the vehicle that adds comfort to an individual [0005]. Ricci further teaches that an automated traffic system can manage traffic in a given area and instruct cars to drive in certain lanes, instruct cars to raise or lower speeds, instruct cars to change their route, and instruct cars to communicate with other cars [0496]. A vehicle may also present the user with an alternative route or automatically adjust a route for the user [0647]. Therefore the vehicle can automatically adjust or update to the presented situation or route of travel. By managing a traffic system automatically, the system can be instructed to change certain procedures (automatically updating) routinely based on certain situations. As such, the Ricci reference in addition to the Couch reference, teach the limitations of the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171