DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application is a National Stage application of PCT PCT/US25/15393. Priority to PCT/US25/15393 with a priority date of 11 February 2025 is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs dated 12 February 2024 and 21 July 2025 have been considered and placed in the application file.
Specification - Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should not contain legal language such as comprising. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The sheet or sheets presenting the abstract may not include other parts of the application or other material.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. All of the claims are method claims (1-22), under (Step 1), but under Step 2A all of these claims recite abstract ideas and specifically mental processes—concepts performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion which are generally described as a human visually observing a label to judge the locations and dimensions of empty regions in order to insert content into these empty regions; furthermore these mental processes are more particularly:
Recited in claims 1 as:
generating, from the input image and the input query, a plurality of image tiles…
receiving, from the one or more image analysis models, a plurality of image facts…
generating, using a vision and language model, a response to the input query…
Recited in claim 19 as:
generating, from the input image and the input query, a plurality of image tiles…
generating, using a vision and language model, a response to the input query…
generating a natural language response to the input query…
associating an element of the natural language response with a respective one or more portions of the input image…
It is noted that the above analysis is according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019 and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Consider also that “If a claim recites a limitation that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper, the limitation falls within the mental processes grouping, and the claim recites an abstract idea” as per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B). See also footnotes 14 and 15 of the Federal Register Notice. As detailed above, the steps of generating, modifying, converting, etc. may be practically performed in the human mind with the use of a physical aid such as a pen and paper (marking the label on the package with a pen).
Under Step 2B, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because each of claims 1-22 do not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application. The only additional elements bounding boxes, altering resolution and causing an indication of the respective one or more portions of the input image to be rendered at the client device} are recited at a high level of generality and merely equate to “apply it” or otherwise merely uses a generic computer as a tool to perform an abstract which are not indicative of integration into a practical application as per MPEP 2106.05(f). See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) with respect to Mental Processes: “Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer”. See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)(3) Using a computer as tool to perform a mental process and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(D) as well as the case law cited therein.
In other words, the additional elements and/or are recited at a high level of generality that does not amount to significantly more and/ such that they could practically be performed in the human mind.
For all of the above reasons, taken alone or in combination, claims 1-22 recite a non-statutory mental process.
1st Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2025 0371863 A1, (Hall et al.).
Claim 1
[AltContent: textbox (Hall et al. Fig. 2, showing a query sectioned into sub-images in a text and image feature space.)]
Regarding Claim 1, Hall et al. teach a method implemented by one or more processors ("These models are capable of interpreting and reasoning over both visual and textual inputs, enabling them to perform classification tasks of images," paragraph [0006]), the method comprising:
receiving an input query associated with a client device, the input query comprising an input image and an input text query ("receiving information that defines the scope, criteria, goal, and/or parameters of a domain-specific image diagnostic task. In some embodiments, this information may include a set of possible diagnostic labels, information on suitable or usable imaging modalities or modality specifications ( e.g., resolution, noise ratios, image orientation or perspective, magnification, coloring method, anatomical region, etc.), and task-specific constraints or goals (e.g., diagnostic accuracy thresholds, interpretability requirements)," paragraph [0023]);
generating, from the input image and the input query, a plurality of image tiles, wherein each image tile is a sub-image of the input image ("the system may crop or re-size images to ensure compatible image dimensions, adjust color gamuts and other visual settings for consistency, segment or threshold pixels or voxels according to any of their properties ( e.g., brightness, color channels, similar groupings, etc.), apply noise reduction or contrast enhancement, or extract image tiles or patches," paragraph [0028]);
providing, to one or more image analysis models, the plurality of image tiles ("The Initial Prompt Set of images can be used to serve as an unstructured component of a refined or tuned instruction set to a vision-language model, to serve as a verified set of examples that have been confirmed by a desired human-in-the-loop," paragraph [0036]);
receiving, from the one or more image analysis models, a plurality of image facts, each image fact corresponding to a respective one or more of the image tiles ("generating or validating a System Prompt that provides context and general diagnostic instructions to the vision-language model. The System Prompt may serve as a static or semi-static textual component that defines the diagnostic context, expected output format, and interpretive role of the model during inference," paragraph [0039] where generating includes receiving from a model);
generating, using a vision and language model, a response to the input query based on the input query, the plurality of image tiles, and the plurality of image facts ("instructions for exactly what information the vision-language model should output as well as instructions for how it should handle unclear, ambiguous or marginal cases (e.g., inconsistent or low confidence levels)," paragraph [0044]); and
causing the response to the input query to be rendered at the client device ("The outputs presented to the user may include the candidate image, the predicted diagnostic label(s), and the unstructured textual explanation generated by the model in response to the Prompt Set and System Prompt (see block 114)," paragraph [0061]).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments, because Hall et al. explicitly motivates doing so at least in paragraphs [0010], [0019] and [0135] including “In the foregoing specification, implementations of the disclosure have been described with reference to specific example implementations thereof. It will be evident that various modifications may be made thereto without departing from the broader spirit and scope of implementations of the disclosure” and otherwise motivating experimentation and optimization.
The rejection of method claim 1 above applies mutatis mutandis to the corresponding limitations of method claim 19 while noting that the rejection above cites to both device and method disclosures. Claim 19 is mapped below for clarity of the record and to specify any new limitations not included in claim 1.
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, using the vision and language model or a further vision and language model, one or more search requests based on the input query, the plurality of image tiles, and the plurality of image facts ("The images of the Initial Prompt Set, combined with the structured information ( e.g., labeling and related approaches) and unstructured information, are then transformed into Prompt Set entries to be utilized in an improved review/diagnosis procedure as described below," paragraph [0037]);
providing, to a search engine, the one or more search requests ("The host platform may include, but is not limited to, commercial diagnostic review suites such as Philips IntelliSite Pathology, Leica Aperio eSlide Manager, or Sectra PACS; web-based portals for remote image review; custom-built software applications; or image search engines that support case retrieval and triage," paragraph [0085]); and
receiving, from the search engine, one or more search responses to the one or more search requests ("instructions for exactly what information the vision-language model should output as well as instructions for how it should handle unclear, ambiguous or marginal cases (e.g., inconsistent or low confidence levels)," paragraph [0044]),
wherein generating, using the vision and language model, the response to the input query is further based on the one or more search responses ("The outputs presented to the user may include the candidate image, the predicted diagnostic label(s), and the unstructured textual explanation generated by the model in response to the Prompt Set and System Prompt (see block 114)," paragraph [0061]).
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein generating, from the input image and the input query, the plurality of image tiles comprises: inputting, into the vision and language model, the input image and the input query ("The Initial Prompt Set of images can be used to serve as an unstructured component of a refined or tuned instruction set to a vision-language model, to serve as a verified set of examples that have been confirmed by a desired human-in-the-loop," paragraph [0036]);
processing the input image and the input query using the vision and language model to generate the plurality of image tiles ("the system may crop or re-size images to ensure compatible image dimensions, adjust color gamuts and other visual settings for consistency, segment or threshold pixels or voxels according to any of their properties ( e.g., brightness, color channels, similar groupings, etc.), apply noise reduction or contrast enhancement, or extract image tiles or patches," paragraph [0028]); and
outputting from the vision and language model, the plurality of image tiles ("the system may crop or re-size images to ensure compatible image dimensions, adjust color gamuts and other visual settings for consistency, segment or threshold pixels or voxels according to any of their properties ( e.g., brightness, color channels, similar groupings, etc.), apply noise reduction or contrast enhancement, or extract image tiles or patches," paragraph [0028]).
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein generating, from the input image and the input query, the plurality of image tiles comprises generating, from the input image and the input query, the plurality of image tiles using an object detection model ("The cloud resource may use computer vision techniques like object detection, edge detection, etc. to crop images of individual apples from the iPhone images, and process them via specific instructions to the VLM, then return predicted diagnoses with corresponding cropped individual apple images for the user to confirm," paragraph [0121]).
Claim 5
Regarding claim 5, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein providing, to the one or more image analysis models, the plurality of image tiles comprises: determining, using the vision and language model, a classification for one or more of the plurality of image tiles ("These models are capable of interpreting and reasoning over both visual and textual inputs, enabling them to perform classification tasks of images," paragraph [0006]); and
providing each of the one or more image tiles to a respective one or more image analysis models in a plurality of image analysis models based at least in part on the respective image classification of the tile ("The Initial Prompt Set of images can be used to serve as an unstructured component of a refined or tuned instruction set to a vision-language model, to serve as a verified set of examples that have been confirmed by a desired human-in-the-loop," paragraph [0036]).
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein providing, to the one or more image analysis models, the plurality of image tiles comprises providing the plurality of image tiles to the one or more image analysis models in parallel ("The input monitoring module may optionally operate in parallel with main diagnostic tasks performed by device 202, to evaluate whether the input images, while nominally matching a known diagnostic task," paragraph [0090]).
Claim 7
Regarding claim 7, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of image tiles comprises a plurality of bounding boxes, each bounding box corresponding to a respective one or more objects in the input image ("The VLM may then generate structured outputs according to the System Prompt, including bounding boxes, classification labels, and explanatory captions," paragraph [0125]).
Claim 8
Regarding claim 8, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 7, wherein one or more of the image facts relate to one or more objects in a bounding box of the bounding boxes ("The VLM may then generate structured outputs according to the System Prompt, including bounding boxes, classification labels, and explanatory captions," paragraph [0125]).
Claim 9
Regarding claim 9, Hall et al. teach the method of any of claim 7, wherein one or more of the bounding boxes are rotated bounded boxes ("For example, images may be rotated, mirrored, cropped, brightened/darkened, or otherwise modified in ways that are known not to affect diagnosis/categorization based on the domain of the diagnostic task," paragraph [0069] where rotating an image teaches rotating the bounding box).
Claim 10
Regarding claim 10, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein generating, using the vision and language model, the response to the input query comprises sequentially inputting the plurality of image tiles and respective image facts into the vision and language model ("The module of block 114 may also (e.g., transparently to the user) experiment with random re-ordering/re-sequencing/adjustment of the Prompt Set component to attempt multiple permutations and assess whether doing so meaningfully affects model output," paragraph [0056]).
Claim 11
Regarding claim 11, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein generating, using the vision and language model, the response to the input query comprises inputting the plurality of image tiles and respective image facts into the vision and language model in parallel ("The input monitoring module may optionally operate in parallel with main diagnostic tasks performed by device 202, to evaluate whether the input images, while nominally matching a known diagnostic task," paragraph [0090]).
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: generating, based on one or more of the image facts, one or more sub-tiles of an image tile ("extract image tiles or patches from larger images according to specified positions or content criteria (e.g., excluding blank areas, defining patches by information density, etc.). These preprocessing steps may be performed automatically or based on parameters defined in the task definition object," paragraph [0028]);
providing, to the one or more image analysis models, the one or more sub-tiles ("The Initial Prompt Set of images can be used to serve as an unstructured component of a refined or tuned instruction set to a vision-language model, to serve as a verified set of examples that have been confirmed by a desired human-in-the-loop," paragraph [0036]); and
receiving, from the one or more image analysis models, one or more further image facts, each further image fact corresponding to a respective one or more of the sub-tiles ("generating or validating a System Prompt that provides context and general diagnostic instructions to the vision-language model. The System Prompt may serve as a static or semi-static textual component that defines the diagnostic context, expected output format, and interpretive role of the model during inference," paragraph [0039] where generating includes receiving from a model),
wherein generating, using the vision and language model, the response to the input query is further based on the one or more further image facts ("instructions for exactly what information the vision-language model should output as well as instructions for how it should handle unclear, ambiguous or marginal cases (e.g., inconsistent or low confidence levels)," paragraph [0044]).
Claim 13
Regarding claim 13, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1: wherein generating, using a vision and language model, a response to the input query comprises:
generating a natural language response to the input query ("instructions for exactly what information the vision-language model should output as well as instructions for how it should handle unclear, ambiguous or marginal cases (e.g., inconsistent or low confidence levels)," paragraph [0044]; and
associating an element of the natural language response with a respective one or more portions of the input image, the respective one or more portions of the input image corresponding to portions of the input image relevant to the element of the natural language response ("block 112 may include associating each Prompt Set entry with contextual metadata from the image or task definition object, such as imaging modality, acquisition parameters, or anatomical region," paragraph [0053]);
wherein causing the response to the input query to be rendered at the client device comprises causing the natural language response to the input query to be rendered at the client device ("The outputs presented to the user may include the candidate image, the predicted diagnostic label(s), and the unstructured textual explanation generated by the model in response to the Prompt Set and System Prompt (see block 114)," paragraph [0061]); and
wherein the method further comprises: receiving an indication that the element of the natural language response has been selected at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034]); and
causing an indication of the respective one or more portions of the input image to be rendered at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034] where a prompting a user to select teaches an indication of the element in the response).
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14 Hall et al. teach the method of claim 13, wherein the respective one or more portions of the input image comprise one or more image tiles ("the system may crop or re-size images to ensure compatible image dimensions, adjust color gamuts and other visual settings for consistency, segment or threshold pixels or voxels according to any of their properties ( e.g., brightness, color channels, similar groupings, etc.), apply noise reduction or contrast enhancement, or extract image tiles or patches," paragraph [0028]).
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 14, wherein the indication of the respective one or more portions of the input image comprises one or more bounding boxes, each bounding box corresponding to a respective image tile ("The VLM may then generate structured outputs according to the System Prompt, including bounding boxes, classification labels, and explanatory captions," paragraph [0125]).
Claim 16
Regarding claim 16, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: receiving an indication that one or more of the respective one or more portions of the input image has been selected at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034]); and
causing an indication of the element of the natural language response to be rendered at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034] where a prompting a user to select teaches an indication of the element in the response).
Claim 17
Regarding claim 17, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1: wherein generating, using a vision and language model, a response to the input query comprises:
generating a natural language response to the input query ("instructions for exactly what information the vision-language model should output as well as instructions for how it should handle unclear, ambiguous or marginal cases (e.g., inconsistent or low confidence levels)," paragraph [0044]; and
associating an element of the natural language response with a respective one or more portions of the input image, the respective one or more portions of the input image corresponding to portions of the input image relevant to the element of the natural language response ("block 112 may include associating each Prompt Set entry with contextual metadata from the image or task definition object, such as imaging modality, acquisition parameters, or anatomical region," paragraph [0053]);
wherein causing the response to the input query to be rendered at the client device comprises causing the natural language response to the input query to be rendered at the client device ("The outputs presented to the user may include the candidate image, the predicted diagnostic label(s), and the unstructured textual explanation generated by the model in response to the Prompt Set and System Prompt (see block 114)," paragraph [0061]); and
wherein the method further comprises: receiving an indication that one or more of the respective one or more portions of the input image has been selected at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034]); and
causing an indication of element of the natural language response to be rendered at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034] where a prompting a user to select teaches an indication of the element in the response).
Claim 19
Regarding claim 19, Hall et al. teach a method implemented by one or more processors ("These models are capable of interpreting and reasoning over both visual and textual inputs, enabling them to perform classification tasks of images," paragraph [0006]), the method comprising:
receiving an input query associated with a client device, the input query comprising an input image and an input text query ("receiving information that defines the scope, criteria, goal, and/or parameters of a domain-specific image diagnostic task. In some embodiments, this information may include a set of possible diagnostic labels, information on suitable or usable imaging modalities or modality specifications ( e.g., resolution, noise ratios, image orientation or perspective, magnification, coloring method, anatomical region, etc.), and task-specific constraints or goals (e.g., diagnostic accuracy thresholds, interpretability requirements)," paragraph [0023]);
generating, from the input image and the input query, a plurality of image tiles, wherein each image tile is a sub-image of the input image ("the system may crop or re-size images to ensure compatible image dimensions, adjust color gamuts and other visual settings for consistency, segment or threshold pixels or voxels according to any of their properties ( e.g., brightness, color channels, similar groupings, etc.), apply noise reduction or contrast enhancement, or extract image tiles or patches," paragraph [0028]);
generating, using a vision and language model, a response to the input query based on the input query and the plurality of image tiles ("instructions for exactly what information the vision-language model should output as well as instructions for how it should handle unclear, ambiguous or marginal cases (e.g., inconsistent or low confidence levels)," paragraph [0044]), comprising:
generating a natural language response to the input query based on the input query and the plurality of image tiles ("The outputs presented to the user may include the candidate image, the predicted diagnostic label(s), and the unstructured textual explanation generated by the model in response to the Prompt Set and System Prompt (see block 114)," paragraph [0061]); and
associating an element of the natural language response with a respective one or more portions of the input image, the respective one or more portions of the input image corresponding to portions of the input image relevant to the element of the natural language response ("block 112 may include associating each Prompt Set entry with contextual metadata from the image or task definition object, such as imaging modality, acquisition parameters, or anatomical region," paragraph [0053]);
causing the natural language response to the input query to be rendered at the client device ("The outputs presented to the user may include the candidate image, the predicted diagnostic label(s), and the unstructured textual explanation generated by the model in response to the Prompt Set and System Prompt (see block 114)," paragraph [0061]);
receiving an indication that the element of the natural language response has been selected at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034]); and
causing an indication of the respective one or more portions of the input image to be rendered at the client device ("The outputs presented to the user may include the candidate image, the predicted diagnostic label(s), and the unstructured textual explanation generated by the model in response to the Prompt Set and System Prompt (see block 114)," paragraph [0061]).
Claim 20
Regarding claim 20, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 19, wherein the respective one or more portions of the input image comprise one or more image tiles ("The cloud resource may use computer vision techniques like object detection, edge detection, etc. to crop images of individual apples from the iPhone images, and process them via specific instructions to the VLM, then return predicted diagnoses with corresponding cropped individual apple images for the user to confirm," paragraph [0121]).
Claim 21
Regarding claim 2, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 20, wherein the indication of the respective one or more portions of the input image comprises one or more bounding boxes, each bounding box corresponding to a respective image tile ("The VLM may then generate structured outputs according to the System Prompt, including bounding boxes, classification labels, and explanatory captions," paragraph [0125]).
Claim 22
Regarding claim 22, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 19, wherein the method further comprises: receiving an indication that one or more of the respective one or more portions of the input image has been selected at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034]); and
causing an indication of the element of the natural language response to be rendered at the client device ("In some embodiments, a user may be prompted to participate or aid in the selection of the Active Set. For example, a system operating with process 100 may present a gallery or list of candidate images and allow the user to select images for inclusion based on visual inspection, metadata filters, or textual descriptions," paragraph [0034] where a prompting a user to select teaches an indication of the element in the response).
2nd Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2025 0371863 A1, (Hall et al.) in view of US Patent Publication 2024 0354336 A1, (Gopalkrishna et al.).
Claim 18
Regarding Claim 18, Hall et al. teach the method of claim 1, as noted above.
Hall et al. is not relied on to teach all of a second resolution lower than the first resolution.
[AltContent: textbox (Gopalkrishna et al. Fig. 3, showing mixed text and image queries that change resolutions.)]
However, Gopalkrishna et al. teach wherein receiving the input query associated with a client device comprises: receiving an initial input image that is at a first resolution ("Block 204 describes the reception of the input query. This is the juncture where the system interfaces with users, accepting image submissions for semantic analysis," paragraph [0042]); and
generating the input image from the initial input image, wherein the input image is at a second resolution that is lower than the first resolution ("The preprocessing of these images involves normalization, resolution adjustment, and possibly feature enhancement to optimize them for encoding," paragraph [0042] where resolution adjustment includes lowering resolution).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Hall et al. and Gopalkrishna et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify “Active Prompt Tuning of Vision-Language Models for Human Confirmable Diagnostics from Images” as taught by Hall et al. to use “Multimodal Semantic Analysis and Image Retrieval” as taught by Gopalkrishna et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “Conventional systems and methods also require extensive, accurately labeled datasets to train models for effective search and retrieval. This necessity presents significant challenges, including the need for substantial manual labor to create and maintain these datasets and the difficulty in covering the breadth of semantic nuances across different domains.” as noted by the Gopalkrishna et al. disclosure in paragraph [0004], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher productivity as there is a reasonable expectation that including image data in queries and responses would better respond to queries; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Patent Publication 2024 0160853 A1 to Li et al. discloses a multimodal vision-language model that contains a Generalist Multimodal Transformer capable of complete multiple tasks using the same set of parameters learning from pre-training. The Generalist Multimodal Transformer allows alignment between frozen, unimodal encoders, such as image encoders and large language models. The Generalist Multimodal Transformer eliminates the need for fine-tuning the image encoders and large language models.
Non Patent Publication “A tale of two interfaces: vitrivr at the lifelog search challenge” to Heller et al. discloses two systems for lifelog retrieval: vitrivr and vitrivr-VR, which share a common retrieval model and backend for multi-modal multimedia retrieval.
Conclusion
/Heath E. Wells/Examiner, Art Unit 2664
Date: 2 February 2026