Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160308743A1) in view of 3GPP TS 23.122 V18.3.0 (Pub. Date. 06/2023), herein referred to as TS 23.122, and further in view of 3GPP TS 24.301 V18.3.0 (Pub. Date. 06/2023), herein referred to as TS 24.301.
Regarding claim 1, Alam teaches A communication control apparatus for a vehicle ([0021]: Vehicle 24 may include electronics control inputs, various vehicle sensors 28 , and a number of vehicle system modules (VSMs) 30 such as a telematics unit 32.), a communication device ([0024] : telematics unit 32 utilizes cellular communication thus includes a wireless modem (not shown) for data transmission.); a memory storing at least one instruction ([0024]: one or more digital memory devices 52); and a controller operatively connected with the communication device and the memory ([0025]: Processor 50 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 52, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services. For instance, processor 50 can execute programs or process data.), wherein the at least one instruction is configured to, when executed by the controller, cause the communication control apparatus to ([0025]: Processor 50 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 52, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services.), and transmit update information including a communication state of the communication network to a server (Src4: [0012]: a backend system 16 that includes at least one of a remote server. [0048]: the report may be provided via the network connection 40 from the head unit 34 to the telematics unit 32. Thereafter, the telematics unit may transmit cellularly the report to the backend system.).
Alam does not teach boot the communication device in response to the vehicle being turned on; identify a specified operator corresponding to a current position of the vehicle based on operator list information stored in the memory; attempt a connection with a communication network provided by the specified operator, through the communication device; operate and release a specified operation mode for stopping an operation of the communication device, when receiving a signal including a specified code, after being connected with the communication network; and when the specified operation mode is released.
However, TS 23.122 teaches boot the communication device in response to the vehicle being turned on ([4.4.3.1]: At switch on, the MS selects the registered PLMN or equivalent PLMN. Examiner Note: “switch-on” corresponds to the communication device being powered on. Under BRI, powering a vehicle-mounted communication device when the vehicle is turned on corresponds to the MS being turned-on.); identify a specified operator ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations) corresponding to a current position of the vehicle ([4.4.2]: An MS successfully registers on a PLMN if: an LR request from the MS has been accepted in the registration area of the cell on which the MS is camped (see table 1). Examiner note: An LR request is process by which the MS informs the network of its current location.) based on operator list information stored in the memory ([4.4.3.1.1]: each PLMN/access technology combination in the "User Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology" data file in the SIM); attempt a connection with a communication network provided by the specified operator, through the communication device ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations) through the communication device (Examiner Note: The MS necessarily performs the registration procedure through the communication device.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of TS 23.122 into the method of Alam in order to enhance PLMN selection [TS 23.122: 4.4.3].
Neither Alam nor TS 23.122 teach operate and release a specified operation mode for stopping an operation of the communication device, when receiving a signal including a specified code, after being connected with the communication network; and when the specified operation mode is released.
However, TS 24.301 does teach operate and release a specified operation mode for stopping an operation of the communication device ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346. Examiner note: The assigned back-off timer necessarily specifies a time period during which the UE refrains from initiating further communication procedures with the network.), when receiving a signal including a specified code ([5.5.1.2.5]: the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE), after being connected with the communication network (Examiner note: An RCC connection must necessarily be established before the network can transmit an ATTACH REJECT signal to the UE.); and when the specified operation mode is released ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the combined system as taught of Alam and TS 23.122 with the TS 24.301 standard because Alam discloses using a telematics unit utilizing cellular communication [Alam: [0024]] according to LTE standards, the same standards disclosed by TS 23.122 and TS 24.301.
Regarding claim 2, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1.
TS 23.122 further teaches monitor whether the communication network is abnormal based on a connection, when normally connected with the communication network (Ref 7: [4.4.3.3.1.1]: the MS shall periodically attempt to obtain service on its HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or one of its EHPLMNs (if the EHPLMN list is present) or a higher priority PLMN/access technology combination. Examiner note: The MS must necessarily monitor whether the communication network is abnormal to periodically attempt to obtain service.); identify whether the connection is disconnected, when identifying that an abnormality occurs in the communication network ([3.1]: The MS normally operates on its home PLMN (HPLMN) or equivalent home PLMN (EHPLMN). However, a visited PLMN (VPLMN) may be selected, e.g., if the MS loses coverage.); and attempt a connection with a sub-communication network provided by a sub-operator of the specified operator ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations, if available and, for bullets i, ii, iii, iv, v, allowable, in the following order: i) either the HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or the highest priority EHPLMN that is available (if the EHPLMN list is present)) corresponding to the current position (Ref 7: [4.4.2]: The MS shall perform registration on the PLMN if the MS is capable of services which require registration. In both automatic and manual modes, the concept of registration on a PLMN is used. An MS successfully registers on a PLMN if: an LR request from the MS has been accepted in the registration area of the cell), based on the operator list information, when the connection is lost ([3.1]: The MS normally operates on its home PLMN (HPLMN) or equivalent home PLMN (EHPLMN). However, a visited PLMN (VPLMN) may be selected, e.g., if the MS loses coverage.).
Regarding claim 3, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and claim 2.
TS 23.122 further teaches continuously perform communication based on the connection, based on the connection is not lost ([4.4.3.3.1.1]: the MS shall periodically attempt to obtain service on its HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or one of its EHPLMNs (if the EHPLMN list is present) or a higher priority PLMN/access technology combination.).
Regarding claim 4, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1.
TS 24.301 further teaches wherein the specified code includes at least one of a reject code or a detach code, or any combination thereof ([5.5.1.2.5]: the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE).
Regarding claim 10, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1.
Alam further teaches a vehicle comprising the communication control apparatus of claim 1 ([0021]: Vehicle 24 may include electronics control inputs, various vehicle sensors 28, and a number of vehicle system modules (VSMs) 30 such as a telematics unit 32. [0024]: telematics unit 32 utilizes cellular communication thus includes a wireless modem (not shown) for data transmission. [0025]: Processor 50 executes various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as software or firmware programs stored in memory 52, which enable the telematics unit to provide a wide variety of services.).
Regarding claim 11, Alam teaches transmitting, by the controller, update information ([0006]: report generated by the telematics unit or the mobile device, wherein the generated report is based on performance criteria of the communication network connection) including a communication state of the communication network to a server ([0012]: a backend system 16 that includes at least one of a remote server. [0048]: the report may be provided via the network connection 40 from the head unit 34 to the telematics unit 32. Thereafter, the telematics unit may transmit cellularly the report to the backend system.).
However, Alam does not teach booting, by a controller, a communication device in response to the vehicle being turned on; identifying, by the controller, a specified operator corresponding to a current position of the vehicle based on operator list information stored in a memory; attempting, by the controller, a connection with a communication network provided by the specified operator, through the communication device; operating and releasing, by the controller, a specified operation mode for stopping an operation of the communication device, when receiving a signal including a specified code, after being connected with the communication network, when the specified operation mode is released.
TS 23.11 does teach booting, by a controller, a communication device in response to the vehicle being turned on ([4.4.3.1]: At switch on, the MS selects the registered PLMN or equivalent PLMN. Examiner Note: “switch-on” corresponds to the communication device being powered on. Under BRI, powering a vehicle-mounted communication device when the vehicle is turned on corresponds to the MS being turned-on.); identifying, by the controller, a specified operator ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations) corresponding to a current position of the vehicle ([4.4.2]: An MS successfully registers on a PLMN if: an LR request from the MS has been accepted in the registration area of the cell on which the MS is camped. Examiner note: An LR request is process by which the MS informs the network of its current location.) based on operator list information stored in a memory ([4.4.3.1.1]: each PLMN/access technology combination in the "User Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology" data file in the SIM); attempting, by the controller, a connection with a communication network provided by the specified operator ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations), through the communication device (Examiner Note: The MS necessarily performs the registration procedure through the communication device.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of TS 23.122 into the method of Alam in order to enhance PLMN selection [TS 23.122: 4.4.3].
Neither Alam nor TS 23.122 teach operating and releasing, by the controller, a specified operation mode for stopping an operation of the communication device, when receiving a signal including a specified code, after being connected with the communication network, and when the specified operation mode is released.
TS 24.301 does disclose operating and releasing, by the controller, a specified operation mode for stopping an operation of the communication device ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346. Examiner note: The assigned back-off timer necessarily specifies a time period during which the UE refrains from initiating further communication procedures with the network.), when receiving a signal including a specified code ([5.5.1.2.5]: the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE), after being connected with the communication network (Examiner note: An RCC connection must necessarily be established before the network can transmit an ATTACH REJECT signal to the UE.), and when the specified operation mode is released ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the combined method as taught of Alam and TS 23.122 with the TS 24.301 standard because Alam discloses using a telematics unit utilizing cellular communication [Alam: [0024]] according to LTE standards, the same standards disclosed by TS 23.122 and TS 24.301.
Regarding claim 12, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11.
TS 23.122 also teaches monitoring, by the controller, whether the communication network is abnormal based on a connection, when normally connected with the communication network ([4.4.3.3.1.1]: the MS shall periodically attempt to obtain service on its HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or one of its EHPLMNs (if the EHPLMN list is present) or a higher priority PLMN/access technology combination. Examiner note: The MS must necessarily monitor whether the communication network is abnormal to periodically attempt to obtain service.); identifying whether the connection is disconnected, when identifying that an abnormality occurs in the communication network ([3.1]: The MS normally operates on its home PLMN (HPLMN) or equivalent home PLMN (EHPLMN). However, a visited PLMN (VPLMN) may be selected, e.g., if the MS loses coverage.); and attempting a connection with a sub-communication network provided by a sub-operator of the specified operator ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations, if available and, for bullets i, ii, iii, iv, v, allowable, in the following order: i) either the HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or the highest priority EHPLMN that is available (if the EHPLMN list is present)) corresponding to the current position ([4.4.2]: The MS shall perform registration on the PLMN if the MS is capable of services which require registration. In both automatic and manual modes, the concept of registration on a PLMN is used. An MS successfully registers on a PLMN if: an LR request from the MS has been accepted in the registration area of the cell), based on the operator list information, when the connection is lost ([3.1]: The MS normally operates on its home PLMN (HPLMN) or equivalent home PLMN (EHPLMN). However, a visited PLMN (VPLMN) may be selected, e.g., if the MS loses coverage.).
Regarding claim 13, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11 and claim 12.
TS 23.122 further teaches continuously performing, by the controller, communication based on the connection, based on the connection is not lost ([4.4.3.3.1.1]: the MS shall periodically attempt to obtain service on its HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or one of its EHPLMNs (if the EHPLMN list is present) or a higher priority PLMN/access technology combination.).
Regarding claim 14, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11.
TS 24.301 further teaches wherein the specified code includes at least one of a reject code or a detach code, or any combination thereof ([5.5.1.2.5]: the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE).
Claims 5, 7, 8, 15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160308743A1) in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301, and further in view Reimann et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10764808B2).
Regarding claim 5, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1.
TS 23.122 further teaches attempt a connection with a sub-communication network corresponding to the other section, the sub-communication network being provided by a sub-operator of the specified operator, based on the operator list information ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations, in the following order: i) either the HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or the highest priority EHPLMN that is available (if the EHPLMN list is present)).
TS 24.301 further teaches operate and release the specified operation mode ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346), when identifying that the type changes ([5.5.1.2.5]: the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE).
TS 23.122 in view of TS 24.301 does not teach continuously monitor whether a type of the connection changes, when identifying that the vehicle travels from a specified section to another section, after being connected with the communication network.
However, Reimann does teach continuously monitor whether a type of the connection changes (Col. 1, Lines 61-63: a handover procedure (national roaming) takes place depending on the channel quality and the state of the mobile radio network. Col. 2, Lines 2-5: Then, this subscriber station is forwarded by the mobile network operator to another base station with which he should connect to remain connected to the network.), when identifying that the vehicle travels from a specified section to another section, after being connected with the communication network (Col. 1, Lines 66-67 and Col. 2, Lines 1-2: subscriber station UE (user equipment) moves to the edge of the service area of the associated base station (eNodeB) and moves into the coverage area of an adjacent mobile radio cell.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught by Alam, TS 23.122, and TS 24.301 to incorporate the teachings of Reimann in order to improve the handover process in a mobile network [Reimann: Col. 1, Line 20].
Regarding claim 7, Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and 5.
TS 24.301 further teaches operate and release the operation mode ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346).
TS 23.122 further teaches when identifying that the type changes to a second type including 2nd generation (2G), while performing the connection in a first type based on at least one of 3rd generation (3G), 4th generation (4G), or 5th generation (5G), or any combination thereof ([0059]: When UE moves between an LTE cell and a cell of another standard (for example, a 3rd generation communication technology (3G)/2nd generation communication technology (2G)), the UE in connected mode triggers an inter-radio access technology (Inter-RAT) handover procedure.).
Regarding claim 8, Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and 5.
TS 24.301 further teaches release the specified operation mode ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346).
Alam further teaches transmit the update information ([0006]: report generated by the telematics unit or the mobile device, wherein the generated report is based on performance criteria of the communication network connection) including the communication state of the communication network in the other section to the server ([0012]: a backend system 16 that includes at least one of a remote server. [0048]: the report may be provided via the network connection 40 from the head unit 34 to the telematics unit 32. Thereafter, the telematics unit may transmit cellularly the report to the backend system.).
Regarding claim 15, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11. TS 23.122 also teaches attempting, by the controller a connection with a sub-communication network corresponding to the other section, the sub-communication network being provided by a sub-operator of the specified operator, based on the operator list information ([4.4.3.1.1]: The MS selects and attempts registration on other PLMN/access technology combinations, if available and, for bullets i, ii, iii, iv, v, allowable, in the following order: i) either the HPLMN (if the EHPLMN list is not present or is empty) or the highest priority EHPLMN that is available (if the EHPLMN list is present)). TS 24.301 further teaches operating and releasing, by the controller, the specified operation mode ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346), when identifying that the type changes (5.5.1.2.5]: the MME shall send an ATTACH REJECT message to the UE).
However, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 fail to teach continuously monitoring, by the controller, whether a type of the connection changes, when identifying that the vehicle travels from a specified section to another section, after being connected with the communication network.
Reimann does teach continuously monitoring, by the controller, whether a type of the connection changes (Col. 1, Lines 61-63: a handover procedure (national roaming) takes place depending on the channel quality and the state of the mobile radio network. Col. 2, Lines 2-5: Then, this subscriber station is forwarded by the mobile network operator to another base station with which he should connect to remain connected to the network.), when identifying that the vehicle travels from a specified section to another section, after being connected with the communication network (Col. 1, Lines 66-67 and Col. 2, Lines 1-2: subscriber station UE (user equipment) moves to the edge of the service area of the associated base station (eNodeB) and moves into the coverage area of an adjacent mobile radio cell.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Alam, TS 23.122, and TS 24.301 to incorporate the teachings of Reimann in order to improve the handover process in mobile networking [Reimann: Col. 1, Line 20].
Regarding claim 17, Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11 and 15.
TS 24.301 further teaches operating and releasing, by the controller, the operation mode ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346), and TS 23.122 further teaches when identifying that the type changes to a second type including 2G, while performing the connection in a first type based on at least one of 3G, 4G, or 5G, or any combination thereof ([0059]: When UE moves between an LTE cell and a cell of another standard (for example, a 3rd generation communication technology (3G)/2nd generation communication technology (2G)), the UE in connected mode triggers an inter-radio access technology (Inter-RAT) handover procedure.).
Regarding claim 18, Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11 and 15.
TS 24.301 further teaches releasing, by the controller, the operation mode ([5.5.1.2.5]: network shall set the EMM cause value to #22 "congestion" and assign a value for back-off timer T3346). Alam further teaches transmitting, by the controller, the update information ([0006]: report generated by the telematics unit or the mobile device, wherein the generated report is based on performance criteria of the communication network connection) including the communication state of the communication network in the other section to the server ([0012]: a backend system 16 that includes at least one of a remote server. [0048]: the report may be provided via the network connection 40 from the head unit 34 to the telematics unit 32. Thereafter, the telematics unit may transmit cellularly the report to the backend system.).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160308743A1) in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301, Reimann et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10764808B2), and further in view of Lefebvre et al. (U.S. Patent No. 20220053387A1).
Regarding claim 6, Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and claim 5, but Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 6.
However, Lefebvre does teach identify that the vehicle travels from the specified section to the other section, when it is identified that the vehicle crosses a border based on navigation information ([0056]: The handover processing unit determines, based on the vehicle position information, whether the vehicle 20 has moved to an adjacent partition (region)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught by Alam, TS 23.122, TS 24.301, and Reimann to incorporate the teachings of Lefebvre to enhance the efficiency of handover processing [Lefebvre: [0004]].
Regarding claim 16, Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11 and claim 15, but Alam in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301 and further in view of Reimann does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 16.
However, Lefebvre does teach identifying, by the controller, that the vehicle travels from the specified section to the other section, when it is identified that the vehicle crosses a border based on navigation information ([0056]: The handover processing unit determines, based on the vehicle position information, whether the vehicle 20 has moved to an adjacent partition (region)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined method taught by Alam, TS 23.122, TS 24.301, and Reimann to incorporate the teachings of Lefebvre to enhance the efficiency of handover processing [Lefebvre: [0004]].
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160308743A1) in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301, and further in view Jeong et al. (K.R. Pub. No. 20230152452A).
Note: Please refer to the uploaded translation (titled: KR_translation) for identifying any citations.
Regarding claim 9, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1, but Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9.
However, Jeong teaches receive updated operator list information including the update information based on a specified period from the server ([0073]: the communication device (100) may also obtain information on operator requirements according to PLMN from the vehicle manufacturer's cloud server.) and store the updated operator list information in the memory (Examiner note: PLMN lists are necessarily stored in non-volatile memory on the SIM.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system taught by Alam, TS 23.122, and TS 24.301 to incorporate the teachings of Jeong to enhance communication continuity in mobile networks [Jeong: 0003].
Regarding claim 19, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11, but Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 19.
However, Jeong does teach receiving, by the controller, updated operator list information including the update information based on a specified period from the server and storing, by the controller, ([0073]: the communication device (100) may also obtain information on operator requirements according to PLMN from the vehicle manufacturer's cloud server.) the updated operator list information in the memory (Examiner note: PLMN lists are necessarily stored in non-volatile memory on the SIM.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined method taught by Alam, TS 23.122, and TS 24.301 to incorporate the teachings of Jeong to enhance communication continuity in mobile networks [Jeong: 0003].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20160308743A1) in view of TS 23.122, TS 24.301, and further in view Manalo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20140342732A1).
Regarding claim 20, Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11, but Alam in view of TS 23.122 and further in view of TS 24.301 fail to teach subject matter disclosed in claim 20.
However, Manalo does teach wherein the specified operation mode includes an airplane mode ([0011]: Registration onto a preferred VPLMN is accomplished by turning the cellular radio of the ME off by toggling Airplane Mode ON in the current registered PLMN). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined method taught by Alam, TS 23.122, and TS 24.301 to incorporate the teachings of Manalo to decrease the cellular connection time of UEs [Manalo: 0009].
Conclusion
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479