Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2 line 2, “…with a respective hinge fitting…” should read “…with the respective hinge fitting…”.
In claim 9 line 5, “…the spars…” should read “…the at least three spars…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Townsend et al. (US 2015/0336657) in view of Winkelmann et al. (US 2017/0355441) and Gaw (US 2016/0167092).
Regarding claim 1, Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) a folding wingtip (304) of a wing/wing assembly (300) of an aircraft, comprising:
a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip (clearly seen in figure 3; wing tip has leading and training edges);
a hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404) (Para 0020);
a hinge line (clearly shown in the figure below) passing through the hinge fitting/tip hinge box (404), wherein the folding wingtip (304) is configured to be pivotally connected to a main section/wing body (302) of the wing and wherein the hinge line is a pivot axis (802) for folding the wing tip (304) with respect to the main section/wing body (302) (Para 0018, 0029),
but it is silent about the folding wingtip comprising:
a set of spars extending between a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip;
a respective hinge fitting connected to an inboard end of the each spar of the set of spars; and
a hinge line perpendicular to each of the set of spars.
Winkelmann et al. ‘441 teaches (figures 1-2c) an aircraft wing (9) with a folding wingtip/tip section (13), comprising:
four spars/second support elements (39s) arranged parallel with each other and extending between leading and training edges of the wingtip/tip section (13) (clearly seen in figure 2c) (Para 0061);
a respective hinge fitting/first support element (37) connected to a respective inboard end of each spar/second support element (39) (Para 0061, 0085; portion of a spar/second support element (39) which comes in contact with the hinge fitting/first support element (37) is closer to the aircraft body compared to the outermost edge of the spar/second support element (39)); and
a hinge line/pivot axis (17) passing through a respective hinge fitting/first support element (37) and is perpendicular to each of the at least three spars/second support elements (39) (clearly seen in figure 2c) (Para 0057, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Townsend et al. ‘657 to incorporate the teachings of Winkelmann et al. ‘441 to configure the folding wingtip comprising:
a set of spars extending between a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip;
a respective hinge fitting connected to an inboard end of the each spar of the set of spars; and
a hinge line perpendicular to each of the set of spars (spar is a part of the folding wingtip section extending in a spanwise direction, thus are perpendicular to a hinge line).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce the wing tip and hinge fittings.
Modified Townsend et al. ‘657 is silent about the folding wingtip further comprising:
a set of spars extending through an inboard closeout rib to an outboard closeout rib.
Gaw ‘092 teaches (figures 1-3) an aircraft (100) comprising a folding wing tips (124) wherein the folding tips (124) comprises wing tip spars (216) that runs lengthwise through the folding wing tip portion (202) and a transverse ribs (218) that interconnect the wing tip spars (216) fore to aft in the wing tip portion (202) (Para 0028, 0030). Gaw ‘092 further teaches (figures 1-3) a fixed inboard wing portion (206) comprising wing spars (212) extending through transverse ribs (214) that interconnect the spars fore to aft in the wing structure (Para 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Townsend et al. ‘657 to incorporate the teachings of Gaw ‘092 to configure the folding wingtip further comprising:
a set of spars extending through an inboard closeout rib to an outboard closeout rib.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce the folding wingtip.
Regarding claim 2, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the folding wingtip (304) further comprising:
a latch pin removably engaged with the respective hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404), wherein when the latch pin is engaged with the respective hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404), the folding wingtip cannot pivot about the hinge line (Para 0022).
Regarding claim 3, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the folding wingtip (304) wherein the latch pin moves with respect to the respective hinge fitting in a linear direction parallel with each spar of the set of spars (Para 0022; spars extend in the transverse direction of the aircraft and latch pin extend from the wing body (302) in the transverse direction).
Regarding claim 4, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the folding wingtip (304) wherein the set of spars further comprises:
at least three spars arranged parallel with each other (as modified by Winkelmann et al. ‘441 figure 2c);
Regarding claim 5, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the folding wingtip (304) further comprising:
a set of latch pins, wherein a respective latch pin of the set of latch pins is removably engaged with each respective hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404) (Para 0022).
Regarding claim 6, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the folding wingtip (304) wherein the set of latch pins are evenly distributed in a direction along the hinge line (figure 5 shows evenly distributed apertures (416) which receives latch pins).
Regarding claim 7, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the folding wingtip (304) further comprising:
stiffened panels/fairing connected to the at least three spars, the stiffened panels/fairing forming the leading edge bullnose and the trailing edge wedge of the wingtip section (clearly seen in figure 3; fairing/stiffened panels surround the wing tip comprising at least three spars).
Regarding claim 8, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the folding wingtip (304) wherein a majority of a bending moment of the folding wingtip is carried in the at least three spars (as modified by Winkelmann et al. ‘441; at least three spars/ second support elements (39s) connect the folding wingtip/tip section (13) to the hinge fittings/first support elements (37s), thus a majority of a bending moment is carried in the at least three spars).
Regarding claim 9, Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) an aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) with a folding wingtip (Para 0018), comprising:
a main section/wing body (302) connected to an aircraft (102) (Para 0018);
and
a wingtip section/wing tip (304) pivotally connected to the main section/wing body (302);
the wingtip section comprising:
a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip (clearly seen in figure 3; wing tip has leading and training edges);
a hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404) pivotally connected to the main section/wing body (302) (Para 0020);
and
a hinge line (clearly shown in the figure below) perpendicular to wingtip section/ wing tip (304), wherein the hinge line is a pivot axis (802) for folding the wingtip section/wing tip (304) and hinge fitting/tip hinge box relative to the main section (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0018, 0029),
but it is silent about the aircraft wing comprising:
a main section connected to a fuselage of an aircraft;
and
the wingtip section comprising:
at least three spars arranged parallel with each other, the at least three spars extending between a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip;
a respective hinge fitting connected to a respective inboard end of each spar of the at least three spars, each spar pivotally connected to the main section; and
a hinge line perpendicular to each spar of the at least three spars, wherein the hinge line is a pivot axis for folding the at least three spars.
Winkelmann et al. ‘441 teaches (figures 1-2c) an aircraft wing (9) with a folding wingtip, comprising:
a main/base section (11) connected to a fuselage (5) of an aircraft (1) (Para 0056);
and
a wingtip/tip section (13) connected to the main/base section (11) (Para 0057);
the wingtip/tip section (13) comprising:
at least three spars/second support elements (39s) arranged parallel with each other and extending between leading and training edges of the wingtip/tip section (13) (clearly seen in figure 2c) (Para 0061); and
a respective hinge fitting/first support element (37) connected to a respective inboard end of each spar/second support element (39) of the at least three spars/second support elements (39s) (Para 0061, 0085; portion of a spar/second support element (39) which comes in contact with the hinge fitting/first support element (37) is closer to the aircraft body compared to the outermost edge of the spar/second support element (39)); and
a hinge line/pivot axis (17) passing through a respective hinge fitting/first support element (37) and is perpendicular to each of the at least three spars/second support elements (39) (clearly seen in figure 2c) (Para 0057, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Townsend et al. ‘657 to incorporate the teachings of Winkelmann et al. ‘441 to configure the aircraft wing comprising:
a main section connected to a fuselage of an aircraft;
and
the wingtip section comprising:
at least three spars arranged parallel with each other, the at least three spars extending between a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip;
a respective hinge fitting connected to a respective inboard end of each spar of the at least three spars, each spar pivotally connected to the main section (spars are part of the wingtip section and pivots with the wingtip section); and
a hinge line perpendicular to each spar of the at least three spars, wherein the hinge line is a pivot axis for folding the at least three spars (the at least three spars are part of the wingtip section extending in a spanwise direction, thus are perpendicular to a hinge line).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce the wing tip and hinge fittings.
Modified Townsend et al. ‘657 is silent about the aircraft wing comprising:
the wingtip section comprising:
the at least three spars extending through an inboard closeout rib to an outboard closeout rib.
Gaw ‘092 teaches (figures 1-3) an aircraft (100) comprising a folding wing tips (124) wherein the folding tips (124) comprises wing tip spars (216) that runs lengthwise through the folding wing tip portion (202) and a transverse ribs (218) that interconnect the wing tip spars (216) fore to aft in the wing tip portion (202) (Para 0028, 0030). Gaw ‘092 further teaches (figures 1-3) a fixed inboard wing portion (206) comprising wing spars (212) extending through transverse ribs (214) that interconnect the spars fore to aft in the wing structure (Para 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Townsend et al. ‘657 to incorporate the teachings of Gaw ‘092 to configure the aircraft wing comprising:
the wingtip section comprising:
the at least three spars extending through an inboard closeout rib to an outboard closeout rib.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce the folding wingtip.
Regarding claim 10, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) wherein the hinge line passes through each respective hinge fitting and each respective inboard end of each spar (as modified by Winkelmann et al. ‘441; inboard end of spar overlaps the hinge fitting in the transverse direction of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 11, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) further comprising:
a latch pin removably engaged with the respective hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404), wherein when the latch pin is engaged with the respective hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404), the at least three spars cannot fold about the hinge line (Para 0022).
Regarding claim 12, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) wherein the latch pin moves with respect to the respective hinge fitting in a direction parallel with the at least three spars (Para 0022; spars extend the transverse direction of the aircraft and latch pin extend from the wing body (302) in the transverse direction).
Regarding claim 13, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) further comprising:
a set of latch pins, wherein a respective latch pin of the set of latch pins is removably engaged with each respective hinge fitting/ tip hinge box (404) (Para 0022).
Regarding claim 14, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) wherein the set of latch pins are evenly distributed in a direction along the hinge line (figure 5 shows evenly distributed apertures (416) which receives latch pins).
Regarding claim 15, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) further comprising:
stiffened panels/fairing connected to the at least three spars, the stiffened panels/fairing forming the leading edge bullnose and the trailing edge wedge of the wingtip section (clearly seen in figure 3; fairing/stiffened panels surround the wing tip comprising at least three spars).
Regarding claim 16, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) wherein a majority of a bending moment of the wingtip section is carried in the at least three spars (as modified by Winkelmann et al. ‘441; at least three spars/ second support elements (39s) connect the wingtip/tip section (13) to the hinge fittings/first support elements (37s), thus a majority of a bending moment is carried in the at least three spars).
Regarding claim 17, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) wherein the main section/wing body (302) further comprises a set of parallel beams/body hinge box (402) sized and shaped to fit between the respective hinge fittings/tip hinge box (404), and wherein the hinge line passes through each beam of the set of parallel beams/body hinge box (402) (clearly seen in the figure above).
Regarding claim 18, Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) a method for folding a wingtip (304), comprising:
providing a wingtip section (304) of an aircraft wing/wing assembly (300) pivotally connected to a main section/wing body (302) of the aircraft wing/wing assembly (300), wherein the wingtip section (304) comprises hinge fittings/ tip hinge boxes (404), a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip (clearly seen in figure 3; wing tip has leading and training edges) (Para 0018, 0020),
aligning a hinge line (clearly shown in the figure above) of the wing tip section (304) perpendicular to the wingtip section, wherein the hinge line passes through the hinge fittings (clearly shown in the figure above); and
activating an actuator (430) such that the wingtip section (304) folds about the hinge line (clearly shown in the figure above), wherein the hinge line provides a pivot axis for the wingtip section (304) to rotate relative to the main section/wing body (302) (Para 0024
but it is silent about the method comprising:
wherein the wingtip section comprises at least three spars arranged parallel with each other, the at least three spars extending between a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip and a respective hinge fitting connected to a respective inboard end of each spar of the at least three spars;
aligning a hinge line of the wingtip section perpendicular to the at least three spars of the wingtip section, wherein in hinge line passes through each spar.
Winkelmann et al. ‘441 teaches (figures 1-2c) an aircraft wing (9) with a wingtip/tip section (13) comprising at least three spars/second support elements (39s) arranged parallel with each other and extending between leading and training edges of the wingtip/tip section (13) (clearly seen in figure 2c) (Para 0060-0061); and a respective hinge fitting/first support element (37) connected to a respective inboard end of each spar/second support element (39) of the at least three spars/second support elements (39s) (clearly seen in figure 2c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Townsend et al. ‘657 to incorporate the teachings of Winkelmann et al. ‘441 to configure the method comprising:
wherein the wingtip section comprises at least three spars arranged parallel with each other, the at least three spars extending between a leading edge bullnose of the wingtip and a trailing edge wedge of the wingtip and a respective hinge fitting connected to a respective inboard end of each spar of the at least three spars;
aligning a hinge line of the wingtip section perpendicular to the at least three spars of the wingtip section, wherein in hinge line passes through each spar (the at least three spars are part of the wingtip section, thus are perpendicular to a hinge line; inboard end of spar overlaps the hinge fitting in the transverse direction of the aircraft).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce the wing tip and hinge fittings.
Modified Townsend et al. ‘657 is silent about the method comprising:
the at least three spars extending through an inboard closeout rib to an outboard closeout rib.
Gaw ‘092 teaches (figures 1-3) an aircraft (100) comprising a folding wing tips (124) wherein the folding tips (124) comprises wing tip spars (216) that runs lengthwise through the folding wing tip portion (202) and a transverse ribs (218) that interconnect the wing tip spars (216) fore to aft in the wing tip portion (202) (Para 0028, 0030). Gaw ‘092 further teaches (figures 1-3) a fixed inboard wing portion (206) comprising wing spars (212) extending through transverse ribs (214) that interconnect the spars fore to aft in the wing structure (Para 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Townsend et al. ‘657 to incorporate the teachings of Gaw ‘092 to configure the method comprising:
the at least three spars extending through an inboard closeout rib to an outboard closeout rib.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reinforce the folding wingtip.
Regarding claim 19, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the method wherein the wingtip section (304) has a folded/second position (figure 6) and a deployed/first position (figure 3) (Para 0018), the method further comprising:
securing the wingtip section (304) in the deployed/first position with a latch pin extending in a linear direction parallel with the at least three spars into each respective hinge fitting (Para 0022).
Regarding claim 20, modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches (figures 1-10) the method wherein the wingtip section (304) has a folded/second position (figure 6) and a deployed/first position (figure 3) (Para 0018), the method further comprising:
securing the wingtip section (304) in the deployed position with a set of latch pins engaged with the at least three spars, wherein the set of latch pins are evenly distributed along the hinge line (latch pins engages with the at least three spars via apertures (416s) which are evenly distributed along the hinge line (clearly seen in figure 5)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 16th September 2026, with respect to the amended claim(s) 1, 9 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive, However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as explained in the rejection above.
Applicant's arguments with respect to latch pins in claims 3 and 6 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As explained in the rejection above, latch pins extend from the wing body (302) in the transverse direction to engage with the apertures (416) on the hinge fitting, and in order for latch pins to engage with the apertures (416) on the hinge fitting, the apertures (416) need to be aligned with the latch pins in the transverse direction of the aircraft, and since the hinge fittings are coupled to respective spars, spars are also oriented along the transverse direction during engagement of the latch pins and apertures. Also, since apertures (416) are evenly distributed, the latch pins are also evenly distributed in a direction along the hinge line.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 8 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Modified Townsend et al. ‘657 teaches structural features as claimed, thus modified Townsend et al. ‘657 a majority of a bending moment of the folding wingtip to be carried in the spars.
Conclusion
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642