DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed July 1, 2026. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on Korean Patent Application No. KR10-2023-0094739, filed July 20, 2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
An updated and detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage et al. (US 20180144622; hereinafter Gage, already of record), in view of Higuchi et al. (US 20220013012; hereinafter Higuchi), and further in view of Bueb et al. (US 20230039381; hereinafter Bueb, already of record).
Regarding Claim 1,
Gage teaches
A storage management system (Gage: Abstract) comprising:
a storage manager configured to generate a storage management command based on location data of a car and parking data, (Gage: Paragraph [0015]) the location data of the car including information about a real-time location of the car and the parking data including information about a parking place... (Gage: Paragraph [0015])
a storage inside the car, the storage including a nonvolatile memory device, (Gage: Paragraph [0020]; Non-Transitory Computer Readable Memory 234)
...
Gage does not teach a specific command for performing a storage management command.
However in the same field of endeavor, Higuchi teaches
...
...wherein the storage management command is generated when a distance between a location of the car and the parking place is within a parking radius; (Higuchi: Paragraph [0031], [0036], [0042]) and
a storage inside the car, the storage including a nonvolatile memory device, (Higuchi: Paragraph [0018]; Data Stores 120)
wherein the storage is configured to, in response to receiving the storage management command and before a start of the car is turned off, perform a memory management operation that prevents data loss of the nonvolatile memory device, (Higuchi: Paragraph [0042]; “The parking assistance module(s) 130 can be configured to cause the parking availability data 122 to be updated based on at least one of a parking space of the ego vehicle 200 and the environment data 124. ... In the case where the parking assistance module(s) 130 is powered by a power source within the ego vehicle 200, the parking assistance module(s) 130 can update the parking availability data 122 before the ego vehicle 200 is turned off.”) and
...
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, with the storage management commands of Higuchi, for the benefit of assisting vehicles or vehicle drivers in parking scenarios. (Higuchi: Paragraph [0001])
Gage, in view of Higuchi, does not teach he memory management operation being conducted before power stops being supplied to the system.
However in the same field of endeavor, Bueb teaches
...
wherein the memory management operation comprises at least one of a data refresh operation, a wear leveling operation, or a garbage collection operation. (Bueb: Paragraph [0032]; “In some cases, a memory system controller 115 or a local controller 135 may perform operations (e.g., as part of one or more media management algorithms) for a memory device 130, such as wear leveling, background refresh, garbage collection, scrub, block scans, health monitoring, or others, or any combination thereof.”)
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Kazemi, with the condition to perform the memory management operation before power stops being supplied of Bueb, for the benefit of maintaining their programmed states for extended periods of time even in the absence of an external power source. (Bueb: Paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 2,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Bueb, teaches
The storage management system of claim 1, wherein the storage manager includes:
a telecommunicating circuit configured to receive a telecommunication signal and to generate the location data of the car; (Gage: Paragraph [0018]-[0019])
a parking place setting circuit configured to determine the parking place based on the location data of the car and to generate the parking data; (Gage: Paragraph [0016]; “Additionally, the global positioning system 248 may also provide location information to the controller for determining the location of the vehicle 110.”) and
a management execution circuit configured to generate the storage management command based on the location data of the car and the parking data. (Gage: Paragraph [0039])
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Bueb, as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Kazemi et al. (US 20170358208; hereinafter Kazemi, already of record).
Regarding Claim 3,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Bueb, teaches
The storage management system of claim 2, wherein the telecommunication signal includes a satellite communication signal, (Gage: Paragraph [0030], [0034]) and
...
Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Bueb, does not teach determining a driving condition of a car using satellite communication information.
However in the same field of endeavor, Kazemi teaches
...
wherein the parking place setting circuit is configured to determine the parking place based on satellite communication information, a driving condition of the car, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0022]-[0023] and a parking time. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0034])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Bueb, with the parking place determination of Kazemi for the benefit of automating the process of remembering where a user parked. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0003])
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, and further in view of Kazemi, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kamini et al. (US 20190279509; hereinafter Kamini, already of record).
Regarding Claim 4,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, and further in view of Kazemi, teaches
The storage management system of claim 3,...
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, and further in view of Kazemi, does not teach the GNSS connection and location data generating circuit operation steps.
However in the same field of endeavor, Kamini teaches
...a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver configured to receive the satellite communication signal and to transfer satellite information; (Kamini: Paragraph [0029]) and
a location data generating circuit configured to generate the location data of the car based on the satellite information, (Kamini: Paragraph [0043]) and
wherein the location data of the car includes latitude information and longitude information of the car. (Kamini: Paragraph [0043])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, and further in view of Kazemi, with the location data generation of Kamini for the benefit of increased accuracy in determining the vehicle’s parking location. (Kamini: Paragraph [0029])
Regarding Claim 5,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Kamini, teaches
The storage management system of claim 4, wherein the parking place setting circuit includes:
a driving data generating circuit configured to determine the driving condition of the car as one of a parking state, a driving state, and a stop state, and to generate driving data; (Kazemi: Paragraph [0022]) and
a parking data generator configured to determine, based on the driving data and the location data, the parking time at a location at which the car is in the parking state, and to generate the parking data. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0023])
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Bueb, Kazemi, and Kamini, is the same as stated for Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 6,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, teaches
The storage management system of claim 4, wherein the telecommunicating circuit includes:
a network receiver configured to receive a network communication signal, (Kamini: Paragraph [0043]; GNSS Receiver 94) and
wherein the location data generating circuit is configured to generate the location data of the car based on the satellite information and network information of the network communication signal linked to the car. (Kamini: Paragraph [0043]-[0044])
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Bueb, Kazemi, and Kamini, is the same as stated for Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 7,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, teaches
The storage management system of claim 6, wherein the parking place setting circuit includes:
a driving data generating circuit configured to determine the driving condition of the car as one of a parking state, a driving state, and a stop state, and to generate driving data; (Kazemi: Paragraph [0022]) and
a parking data generator configured to determine, based on the driving data and the location data, the network information of the network communication signal linked at a location at which the car is in the parking state, and to generate the parking data. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0023])
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Bueb, Kazemi, and Kamini, is the same as stated for Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 8,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, teaches
The storage management system of claim 4, wherein the management execution circuit includes:
a parking radius setting circuit configured to set the parking radius with respect to the parking place based on the parking data and to generate parking radius data; (Kazemi: Paragraph [0050], FIG. 7A (Element 701)) and
a management command generating circuit, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0070])
wherein, based on the real-time location of the car being within the parking radius, the management command generating circuit is configured to generate the storage management command based on the parking radius data and the location data of the car. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0050], FIG. 7B (Element 703))
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Bueb, Kazemi, and Kamini, is the same as stated for Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 9,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, teaches
The storage management system of claim 8, wherein the parking data include information about a plurality of locations and a plurality of parking times corresponding to the plurality of locations, respectively, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0034] “...navigation engine 106 can keep a history of parking events in database 110 collected over a period of time. If a pattern is discovered (e.g., a frequency pattern) that the user repeatedly parks at the same general location during, for example, a work week at a specific time or time range (e.g., Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM), then that location may be labeled as the user's known designated parking location at work.”) and
wherein the parking radius setting circuit is configured to set a plurality of parking radiuses based on the plurality of parking times. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0026], [0031], [0044], [0046], [0050]; A parking location with less uncertainty will have a smaller radius. If the first parking even has too much uncertainty (i.e. a larger radius) the system will perform a second location finding attempt to achieve a lower uncertainty (i.e. a smaller radius), where higher confidence level is consistent with the user exiting their vehicle during a parking event).
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Bueb, Kazemi, and Kamini, is the same as stated for Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 10,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, teaches
The storage management system of claim 9, wherein the parking data include a first parking time of a first location and a second parking time of a second location, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0022]-[0023], [0026])
wherein the parking radius setting circuit is configured to, based on the first parking time being longer than the second parking time, set a region having a first radius from the first location as a first parking region and set a region having a second radius from the second location as a second parking region, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0026], [0031], [0044], [0046], [0050]; A parking location with less uncertainty will have a smaller radius. If the first parking even has too much uncertainty (i.e. a larger radius) the system will perform a second location finding attempt to achieve a lower uncertainty (i.e. a smaller radius)) and
wherein a size of the first parking region is larger than a size of the second parking region. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0026], [0031], [0044], [0046], [0050]; A parking location with less uncertainty will have a smaller radius. If the first parking even has too much uncertainty (i.e. a larger radius) the system will perform a second location finding attempt to achieve a lower uncertainty (i.e. a smaller radius), where higher confidence level is consistent with the user exiting their vehicle during a parking event)
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Bueb, Kazemi, and Kamini, is the same as stated for Claim 4 above.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Kamini, as applied to claims 4-10 above, and further in view of Kale et al. (US 20210318942; hereinafter Kale, of record in IDS).
Regarding Claim 11,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, teaches
The storage management system of claim 8,...
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, does not explicitly teach enabling an enablement signal based on a charging level of a battery or a storage management command.
However in the same field of endeavor, Kale teaches
...wherein the management execution circuit includes:
a battery state discriminating circuit configured to generate a first enable signal based on a charging level of a battery of the car, (Kale: Paragraph [0017], [0027]) and
wherein the management command generating circuit is configured to, based on the first enable signal being activated, generate the storage management command. (Kale: Paragraph [0031])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, and even further in view of Kamini, with the enablement signal and memory management operation of Kale for the benefit of providing necessary power to storage systems without powering on the vehicle in order to maintain the storage devices. (Kale: Abstract)
Regarding Claim 12,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, further in view of Kazemi, further in view of Kamini, and further in view of Kale, teaches
The storage management system of claim 8, wherein the management execution circuit includes:
a storage condition discriminating circuit configured to generate a second enable signal based on information about a condition of the storage, (Kale: Paragraph [0017]; “The PMIC then switches off the power to the storage device after a predetermined time (e.g., 10 mins). The PMIC can repeat the cycle again after a preset duration (as long as it has sufficient battery charge).” The information about a condition of the storage is the time since last refresh.) and
wherein the management command generating circuit is configured to, based on the second enable signal being activated, generate the storage management command. (Kale: Paragraph [0017]; Once sufficient time has passed, the system once again performs the refresh operation.)
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Bueb, Kazemi, Kamini, and Kale, is the same as stated for Claim 11 above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Bueb, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kale et al. (US 20210318942; hereinafter Kale, of record in IDS).
Regarding Claim 13,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, teaches
The storage management system of claim 1,...
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, does not explicitly teach a data refresh operation or nonvolatile memory management operation
However in the same field of endeavor, Kale teaches
...wherein the storage includes:
a memory controller configured to perform the memory management operation with respect to the nonvolatile memory device based on the storage management command, (Kale: Paragraph [0051]; PMIC (516)) and
wherein the memory management operation includes the data refresh operation. (Kale: Paragraph [0031])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Bueb, with the memory management operation of Kale for the benefit of providing necessary power to storage systems without powering on the vehicle in order to maintain the storage devices. (Kale: Abstract)
Claim 14-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Bueb.
Regarding Claim 14,
Gage teaches
A storage management system (Gage: Abstract) comprising:
a storage manager configured to generate a storage management command based on location data of a car and parking data, (Gage: Paragraph [0015]) the location data of the car including information about a real-time location of the car and the parking data including information about a parking place; (Gage: Paragraph [0015]) and
a storage inside the car, the storage including a nonvolatile memory device, (Gage: Paragraph [0020]; Non-Transitory Computer Readable Memory 234)
...
Gage does not teach a storage management system based on the location parking areas and the distance of the vehicle from said parking area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Higuchi teaches
...
a storage inside the car, the storage including a nonvolatile memory device, (Higuchi: Paragraph [0018]; Data Stores 120)
...
wherein, based on a plurality of communication signals, the storage manager is configured to:
generate a first storage management command when a distance between a location of the car and the first location is within the first parking radius; (Higuchi: Paragraph [0031], [0042]) and
generate a second storage management command when a distance between the location of the car and the second location is within the second parking radius, (Higuchi: Paragraph [0031], [0036], [0042]) and
wherein the storage is configured to:
...
perform a second memory management operation in response to receiving the second storage management command and before a start of the car is turned off, (Higuchi: Paragraph [0042]; “The parking assistance module(s) 130 can be configured to cause the parking availability data 122 to be updated based on at least one of a parking space of the ego vehicle 200 and the environment data 124. ... In the case where the parking assistance module(s) 130 is powered by a power source within the ego vehicle 200, the parking assistance module(s) 130 can update the parking availability data 122 before the ego vehicle 200 is turned off.”) and
...
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, with the storage management commands of Higuchi, for the benefit of assisting vehicles or vehicle drivers in parking scenarios. (Higuchi: Paragraph [0001])
Gage, in view of Higuchi, does not teach establishing a first and second parking place location and performing memory operations based on the vehicle location and parking place locations.
However in the same field of endeavor, Kazemi teaches
...
wherein the parking place includes a first location and a second location, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0034] ; “...navigation engine 106 can keep a history of parking events in database 110 collected over a period of time. If a pattern is discovered (e.g., a frequency pattern) that the user repeatedly parks at the same general location during, for example, a work week at a specific time or time range (e.g., Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM), then that location may be labeled as the user's known designated parking location at work.”)
wherein the storage manager is configured to set a first parking region of the first location and a second parking region of the second location, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0034] ; “...navigation engine 106 can keep a history of parking events in database 110 collected over a period of time. If a pattern is discovered (e.g., a frequency pattern) that the user repeatedly parks at the same general location during, for example, a work week at a specific time or time range (e.g., Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM), then that location may be labeled as the user's known designated parking location at work.”)
wherein the first parking region is a region within a first parking radius from the first location, and the second parking region is a region within a second parking radius from the second location, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0050], FIG. 7A and 7B)
...
wherein the storage is configured to:
perform a first memory management operation in response to receiving the first storage management command; (Kazemi: Paragraph [0034]; “...navigation engine 106 can keep a history of parking events in database 110 collected over a period of time. If a pattern is discovered (e.g., a frequency pattern) that the user repeatedly parks at the same general location during, for example, a work week at a specific time or time range (e.g., Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM), then that location may be labeled as the user's known designated parking location at work.” The first memory operation is detecting the pattern and labeling the location in memory.) and
...
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, with the parking place determination of Kazemi, for the benefit of automating the process of remembering where a user parked. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0003])
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Kazemi, does not teach the memory management operation being conducted before power stops being supplied to the system.
However in the same field of endeavor, Bueb teaches
...
wherein the first memory management operation and the second memory management operation each comprise at least one of a data refresh operation, a wear leveling operation, or a garbage collection operation. (Bueb: Paragraph [0032]; “In some cases, a memory system controller 115 or a local controller 135 may perform operations (e.g., as part of one or more media management algorithms) for a memory device 130, such as wear leveling, background refresh, garbage collection, scrub, block scans, health monitoring, or others, or any combination thereof.”)
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Kazemi, with the condition to perform the memory management operation before power stops being supplied of Bueb, for the benefit of maintaining their programmed states for extended periods of time even in the absence of an external power source. (Bueb: Paragraph [0004])
Regarding Claim 15,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Bueb, teaches
The storage management system of claim 14, wherein the parking data include a first parking time of a first location and a second parking time of a second location, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0022]-[0023], [0026])
wherein the storage manager is configured to, based on the first parking time being longer than the second parking time, set the region within the first parking radius from the first location as the first parking region and set the region within the second parking radius from the second location as the second parking region, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0023], [0026], [0031], [0034], [0044], [0046], [0050]; A parking location with less uncertainty/higher confidence will have a smaller radius. If the first parking even has too much uncertainty (i.e. a larger radius) the system will perform a second location finding attempt to achieve a lower uncertainty (i.e. a smaller radius)) and
wherein a size of the first parking region is larger than a size of the second parking region. (Kazemi: Paragraph [0023], [0026], [0031], [0034],[0044], [0046], [0050]; A parking location with less uncertainty will have a smaller radius. If the first parking even has too much uncertainty (i.e. a larger radius) the system will perform a second location finding attempt to achieve a lower uncertainty (i.e. a smaller radius, where higher confidence level is consistent with the user exiting their vehicle during a parking event).
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Kazemi, and Bueb, is the same as stated for Claim 14 above.
Regarding Claim 16,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Bueb, teaches
The storage management system of claim 15, wherein the storage includes:
a retention manager configured to perform the first memory management operation based on the first storage management command, (Bueb: Paragraph [0003])
wherein the nonvolatile memory device includes a plurality of memory blocks, (Bueb: Paragraph [0010])
wherein the plurality of memory blocks include a first target block where first data are stored and an empty block, (Bueb: Paragraph [0031]) and
wherein the retention manager is configured to, based on the first memory management operation being performed, copy the first data stored in the first target block to the empty block and perform an erase operation with respect to the first target block. (Bueb: Paragraph [0031])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Kale, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Morita, with the retention manager of Bueb for the benefit of maintaining their programmed states for extended periods of time even in the absence of an external power source. (Bueb: Paragraph [0004])
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Kazemi, and Bueb, is the same as stated for Claim 14 above.
Regarding Claim 17,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Bueb, teaches
The storage management system of claim 15, wherein the storage includes:
a retention manager configured to perform the second memory management operation based on the second storage management command, (Bueb: Paragraph [0003])
wherein the nonvolatile memory device includes a plurality of memory blocks, (Bueb: Paragraph [0010])
wherein the plurality of memory blocks include a first target block where first data are stored, a second target block where second data are stored, and an empty block, (Bueb: Paragraph [0031]) and
wherein the retention manager is configured to, based on the second memory management operation being performed, copy the first data stored in the first target block and the second data stored in the second target block to the empty block and perform an erase operation with respect to the first target block and the second target block. (Bueb: Paragraph [0031])
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Kazemi, and Bueb, is the same as stated for Claim 14 above.
Regarding Claim 18,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, and further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Bueb, teaches
The storage management system of claim 17, wherein the first data include driving data of the car, infotainment information of the car, or information about an operating system program of the car, (Gage: Paragraph [0015]; Driving data is the location where the vehicle has parked.) and
wherein the second data include information for performing the second memory management operation. (Gage: Paragraph [0020])
Regarding Claim 19,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Beub, teaches
A storage management system (Gage: Abstract) comprising:
a storage manager configured to receive a telecommunication signal, (Gage: Paragraph [0030]) to set a parking place based on the telecommunication signal and a driving condition of a car, and to generate parking data; (Kazemi: Paragraph [0022]) and
a storage including a parking data storage space, the parking data storage space configured to store the parking data generated by the storage manager, (Gage: Paragraph [0031])
wherein the storage manager is configured to:
receive the parking data from the parking data storage space; (Gage: Paragraph [0031]) and
generate a storage management command based on the telecommunication signal and the parking data, (Kazemi: Paragraph [0034]; “...navigation engine 106 can keep a history of parking events in database 110 collected over a period of time. If a pattern is discovered (e.g., a frequency pattern) that the user repeatedly parks at the same general location during, for example, a work week at a specific time or time range (e.g., Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM), then that location may be labeled as the user's known designated parking location at work.”) wherein the storage management command is generated when a distance between a location of the car and the parking place is within a parking radius; (Higuchi: Paragraph [0031], [0036], [0042]) and
wherein the storage is configured to, before a start of the car is turned off, perform a memory management operation that prevents data loss, in response to receiving the storage management command. (Higuchi: Paragraph [0042]; “The parking assistance module(s) 130 can be configured to cause the parking availability data 122 to be updated based on at least one of a parking space of the ego vehicle 200 and the environment data 124. ... In the case where the parking assistance module(s) 130 is powered by a power source within the ego vehicle 200, the parking assistance module(s) 130 can update the parking availability data 122 before the ego vehicle 200 is turned off.”)
wherein the memory management operation comprises at least one of a data refresh operation, a wear leveling operation, or a garbage collection operation. (Bueb: Paragraph [0032]; “In some cases, a memory system controller 115 or a local controller 135 may perform operations (e.g., as part of one or more media management algorithms) for a memory device 130, such as wear leveling, background refresh, garbage collection, scrub, block scans, health monitoring, or others, or any combination thereof.”)
The motivation to combine Gage, Higuchi, Kazemi, and Bueb, is the same as stated for Claim 14 above.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Beub, as applied to claims 14-19 above, and further in view of Bedeschi et al. (US 20170243644; hereinafter Bedeschi, already of record).
Regarding Claim 20,
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Beub, teaches
The storage management system of claim 19, comprising:
...
Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Beub, does not teach a system for providing vehicle battery power to a memory storage system for data retention.
However in the same field of endeavor, Bedeschi teaches
...
a battery management system configured to use a battery inside the car to provide power to the storage manager and the storage, (Bedeschi: Paragraph [0023]; “...the system 101 includes a system power supply unit 110 coupled to an external power supply 199, which may be, for example, a 12V automotive battery or a power mains.”)
wherein the battery management system is configured to provide the power for 10 to 20 seconds immediately after the car is turned off. (Bedeschi: Paragraph [0026])
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the storage management system of Gage, in view of Higuchi, further in view of Kazemi, and further in view of Beub, with the battery management system of Bedeschi for the benefit of improved data retention. (Bedeschi: Paragraph [0003]-[0004])
Conclusion
/P.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663