DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the fish bowl cleaner 200 is not shown in Fig. 6 and Fig. 7A. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 7, 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “at one end of the body”, “a hollow portion of the body” and “exposed to the body” in lines 3-6. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “at one end of the hollow body”, a hollow portion of the hollow body” and “exposed to the hollow body” for consistent recitation of claim limitation.
Claim 4 recites “the bottom material discharge port” in lines 5-6 which lacks an antecedent basis. In addition, for clarification purposes, it is respectfully suggested to amend claim 4 as, for example:
Claim 4
The fish bowl cleaner of claim 2, wherein the fluid is moved from the suction port to the water outlet, and there are (i) a second path in which a bottom material is filtered by the bottom material strainer, and only water and contaminants are moved, and (ii) a first path in which the fluid is moved from the suction port to the bottom material discharge port, and unfiltered are simultaneously formed, inside the hollow body.
Claim 7 recites “the bottom material discharge port” in lines 5-6 which lacks an antecedent basis. In addition, for clarification purposes, it is respectfully suggested to amend claim 7 as, for example:
Claim 7
The fish bowl cleaner of claim 3, wherein the fluid is moved from the suction port to the water outlet, and there are (i) a second path in which a bottom material is filtered by the bottom material strainer, and only water and contaminants are moved, and (ii) a first path in which the fluid is moved from the suction port to the bottom material discharge port, and unfiltered are simultaneously formed, inside the hollow body.
Claim 16 recites “the body” in line 2. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “the hollow body” for consistent recitation of claim limitation.
Claim 17 recites “the body” in line 2. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “the hollow body” for consistent recitation of claim limitation.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a means providing power” in line 4 of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regard(s) as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “and the suction port to the discharge port, and unfiltered” in lines 4-5. It is unclear as to what structure/mechanism the term “and the suction port to the discharge port, and unfiltered” is meant to imply.
Claim 9 recites “and the suction port to the discharge port, and unfiltered” in lines 4-5. It is unclear as to what structure/mechanism the term “and the suction port to the discharge port, and unfiltered” is meant to imply.
Claim 12 recites “a connector, the connector” in lines 4-5. This is considered indefinite for the following reason: It is unclear whether the limitation “a connector, the connector” recited in claim 12 is the same or different from “a connector formed at one end of the body” recited in claim 1.
Claim 15 recites “a connector, the connector” in lines 4-5. This is considered indefinite for the following reason: It is unclear whether the limitation “a connector, the connector” recited in claim 15 is the same or different from “a connector formed at one end of the body” recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshihiro (JP 2001157804A, please refer to the attached English translation document, herein “Yoshihiro”).
In regard to claim 1, Yoshihiro discloses a fish bowl cleaner (page 1, Abstract) comprising (pages 1-2; Figs. 1 and 3 of the original Japanese document):
a hollow body including a suction port (the hollow internal space of the fish bowl cleaner in Fig. 1, a suction port at the bottom) and a water outlet (11, Fig. 1);
a connector formed at one end of the body (a portion of the body connecting the hollow body and the electric case 1, Fig. 1), and connected to a means providing power (electric case 1 and motor 2, Fig. 1);
a rotary shaft (3, Fig. 1) extended in a direction of crossing a hollow portion of the body, and at least partially exposed to the body, and rotated by the power (the rotary shaft 3 is powered by a motor 2, Fig. 1); and
one or more propellers (5, Fig. 1) coupled to interlock with the rotary shaft, wherein at least one transports a fluid to the water outlet (11, Fig. 1) through the suction port as the rotary shaft is rotated by the power (page 2, paragraph [0005]).
Yoshihiro discloses every limitation recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihiro (JP 2001157804A, please refer to the attached English translation document, herein “Yoshihiro”).
In regard to claims 2 and 3, Yoshihiro discloses the fish bowl cleaner as set forth above.
Yoshihiro discloses a bottom material strainer (6, Fig. 1) and positioned on a transportation path of the fluid (Fig. 1; page 2, paragraph [0005]).
But Yoshihiro does not explicitly disclose the features of “a bottom material strainer coupled to the rotary shaft to be spaced from an extension direction of the rotary shaft by an angle, and positioned on a transportation path of the fluid” or “a bottom material strainer coupled to interlock with the rotary shaft to be perpendicular to an extension direction of the rotary shaft, and positioned on the transportation path of the fluid” as recited.
However, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the chemical process arts has a degree in chemical engineering or chemistry. One of ordinary skill in the chemical process arts has studied the general principles of chemistry, chemical engineering, and process design. One of ordinary skill in the chemical process arts has studied and practiced specific aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering related to specific processes/apparatus (e.g., contaminant filtering apparatus). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the chemical process arts understands how to apply those general principles to specific processes/apparatus. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the chemical process arts is considered to understand the value of a reference such as Yoshihiro as well as its applicability to the problems related to modify to implement the features “a bottom material strainer coupled to the rotary shaft to be spaced from an extension direction of the rotary shaft by an angle, and positioned on a transportation path of the fluid” or “a bottom material strainer coupled to interlock with the rotary shaft to be perpendicular to an extension direction of the rotary shaft, and positioned on the transportation path of the fluid” as recited.
Therefore, the claimed features “a bottom material strainer coupled to the rotary shaft to be spaced from an extension direction of the rotary shaft by an angle, and positioned on a transportation path of the fluid” or “a bottom material strainer coupled to interlock with the rotary shaft to be perpendicular to an extension direction of the rotary shaft, and positioned on the transportation path of the fluid” would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize fish bowl cleaner activity and utility taking into consideration the operational parameters of the filtering operation (time, temperature, pressure, throughput), the geometry of the bottom material strainer bodies with respect to the rotary shaft, the physical and chemical make-up of the contaminants as well as the nature of the filtered water output.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, such as incorporating dependent claim 4 AND claim 2 into an independent claim 1 as exemplified below.
Allowable Subject Matters
Claims 1-13 in the instant application are allowed if previously presented objection to claims 1 and 4-17, 35 U.S.C. 112(f) issues, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections to claims 6, 9, 12 and 15 are resolved.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: A thorough search for pertinent prior art did not locate any prior art that discloses or suggests the invention recited in claims 4-17. The concept of a fish bowl cleaner comprising:
a hollow body including a suction port and a water outlet;
a connector formed at one end of the body, and connected to a means providing power;
a rotary shaft extended in a direction of crossing a hollow portion of the body, and at least partially exposed to the body, and rotated by the power; and
one or more propellers coupled to interlock with the rotary shaft, wherein at least one transports a fluid to the water outlet through the suction port as the rotary shaft is rotated by the power, and
a bottom material strainer coupled to the rotary shaft to be spaced from an extension direction of the rotary shaft by an angle, and positioned on a transportation path of the fluid (claim 2),
wherein the fluid is moved from the suction port to the water outlet, and a second path in which a bottom material is filtered by the bottom material strainer, and only water and contaminants are moved, and a first path in which the fluid is moved from the suction port to the bottom material discharge port, and unfiltered are simultaneously formed (claim 4), is considered novel.
A closest prior art to Yoshihiro (JP 2001157804A) discloses a fish bowl cleaner (page 1, Abstract) comprising (pages 1-2; Figs. 1 and 3 of the original Japanese document): (i) a hollow body including a suction port (the hollow internal space of the fish bowl cleaner in Fig. 1, a suction port at the bottom) and a water outlet (11, Fig. 1); (ii) a connector formed at one end of the body (a portion of the body connecting the hollow body and the electric case 1, Fig. 1), and connected to a means providing power (electric case 1 and motor 2, Fig. 1); (iii) a rotary shaft (3, Fig. 1) extended in a direction of crossing a hollow portion of the body, and at least partially exposed to the body, and rotated by the power (the rotary shaft 3 is powered by a motor 2, Fig. 1); and (iv) one or more propellers (5, Fig. 1) coupled to interlock with the rotary shaft, wherein at least one transports a fluid to the water outlet (11, Fig. 1) through the suction port as the rotary shaft is rotated by the power (page 2, paragraph [0005]).
Other pertinent prior art to Nagano (US 5,582,719) discloses a filtration system comprising: (i) a housing having an overall surface including a bottom surface, an upper surface and a peripheral wall, with the overall surface being tightly closed, except at the bottom surface and the upper surface, with said bottom surface having an inlet to said housing and said upper surface having an outlet to said housing; (ii) a filter medium disposed within said housing and through which said fluid entering said housing through said inlet passes; (iii) an air jetting portion disposed within said housing at a higher location than said filter medium; and (iv) a propeller fan disposed at an upper portion of said housing and rotated by air which is jetted from said air jetting portion, with said fluid passing through said filter medium exiting said housing through said outlet by means of said propeller fan.
Other pertinent prior art to Yuji (JP 2010-180810 A, please refer to the attached English translation document) discloses a vertical shaft pump including a casing 12 having a suction port 14 opened in a water absorption tank 11 at a lower end side and a main shaft 18 extending in the casing 12 and having an impeller 17 fixed to the lower end side 10, the high pressure water pipe 24 branched from the upper end side of the casing 12 and connected to the distribution part 25, and the horizontal component in the ejection direction on the bottom side of the part branched from the distribution part 25 and disposed in the water absorption tank 11, and a plurality of high-pressure water jet pipes 29 each having a nozzle 26 having high pressure water supplied from the casing 12 through the high-pressure water pipe 24, the distributor 25, and the high-pressure water jet pipe 29. The nozzle 26 is disposed so that the high-pressure water generates a swirling flow around the suction port 14.
Other pertinent prior art to Lee (KR 10-0907912 B1, please refer to the attached English translation document) an apparatus for filtering foreign materials for a water tub includes a housing (100), a suction unit (200), a filtering plate (300), and a circulating unit (400). The housing is made of a transparent material of an octahedral cylindrical form. The housing includes the filtering plate and the circulating unit. The housing includes an inlet in which water is flowed, a storing part in which foreign materials are stored, and a supporting protrusion (130) supporting the housing.
The cited prior arts, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest a fish bowl cleaner comprising: (i) a hollow body including a suction port and a water outlet; (ii) a connector formed at one end of the body, and connected to a means providing power; (iii) a rotary shaft extended in a direction of crossing a hollow portion of the body, and at least partially exposed to the body, and rotated by the power; and (iv) one or more propellers coupled to interlock with the rotary shaft, wherein at least one transports a fluid to the water outlet through the suction port as the rotary shaft is rotated by the power, and (v) a bottom material strainer coupled to the rotary shaft to be spaced from an extension direction of the rotary shaft by an angle, and positioned on a transportation path of the fluid, wherein the fluid is moved from the suction port to the water outlet, and a second path in which a bottom material is filtered by the bottom material strainer, and only water and contaminants are moved, and a first path in which the fluid is moved from the suction port to the bottom material discharge port, and unfiltered are simultaneously formed, as recited in claim 1 of claimed invention.
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772