DETAILED ACTION
A preliminary amendment received on 12/27/2024 amending claims 7, 18, and 20 has been entered by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9/26/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Because claims 19 and 20 use the term “means for”, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification at Fig. 3A and para. 0063 shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations: An apparatus, comprising: a first antenna port; a first set of one or more band filters coupled to the first antenna port; a first set of one or more low noise amplifiers (LNAs) coupled to the first set of one or more band filters, respectively; a second antenna port; a second band filter; a second low noise amplifier (LNA); a first switching device coupled between the second antenna port and the second LNA; and a second switching device coupled between the second antenna port and the second band filter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohlmann et al (US2015/0257022 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Kohlmann teaches an apparatus (Abstract), comprising:
a first antenna port (Fig. 6, Item 310; Para. 0023; the system 300 may include antennas 310, 350, which may correspond to the antennas 210, 212. As another example, the system 300 may include antenna interface circuits 308, 348, which may correspond to the antenna interface circuits 224, 226; i.e. the published Application at para. 0039 states “the RF front end 300 includes multiple antenna feeds for two (or more) antennas (or antenna ports if the antennas are not part of the RF front end as defined)” which would show that antenna and antenna port are synonymous or separate. Fig.6 in Kohlmann shows antenna 310 so the antenna port could be the antenna 310 or it could be in the input to the Antenna Switch 307);
a first set of one or more band filters coupled to the first antenna port (Fig. 6, Items 304..306; Para. 0024; The one or more antenna switches 307 may selectively couple the filters 304, 306 to the antenna 310, and the one or more antenna switches 347 may selectively couple the filters 344, 346 to the antenna 350);
a first set of one or more low noise amplifiers (LNAs) coupled to the first set of one or more band filters, respectively (Fig. 6, Items 312..314; Para. 0024; the receiver 302 includes a low noise amplifier (LNA) 312 and an LNA 314);
a second antenna port (Fig. 6, Item 350; Para. 0023; the system 300 may include antennas 310, 350, which may correspond to the antennas 210, 212);
a second band filter (Fig. 6, Items 344..346; Para. 0024; The one or more antenna switches 307 may selectively couple the filters 304, 306 to the antenna 310, and the one or more antenna switches 347 may selectively couple the filters 344, 346 to the antenna 350);
a second low noise amplifier (LNA) (Fig. 6, Items 352..354; Para. 0027; The receiver 342 may include LNAs 352, 354);
a first switching device coupled between the second antenna port and the second LNA (Fig. 6, Item 604; Para. 0068; The antenna interface circuit 648 may include a bypass path 604 (e.g., a switch), the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346); and
a second switching device coupled between the second antenna port and the second band filter (Fig. 6, Item 347; Para. 0024; the one or more antenna switches 347 may selectively couple the filters 344, 346 to the antenna 350).
Regarding claim 2, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising a control circuit configured to close the first switching device based on a first receive carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Item 604; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065-0068; The antenna interface circuit 648 may include a bypass path 604 (e.g., a switch), the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065; in a carrier aggregation system, if a receive chain allocated to an aggregated carrier is idle during a data reception operation, the receive chain may be used to perform network measurements; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed).
Regarding claim 3, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches wherein based on the first receive carrier aggregation mode: the first set of one or more band filters is configured to filter a first set of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals received via the first antenna port, respectively; the first set of one or more LNAs is configured to amplify the first set of one or more filtered RF signals, respectively; and the second LNA is configured to amplify a second radio frequency (RF) signal received via the second antenna port and the first switching device (Fig. 6, Item 604; Paras. 0016, 0023-0024, and 0065-0068; the receiver 302 includes a low noise amplifier (LNA) 312 and an LNA 314; The antenna interface circuit 648 may include a bypass path 604 (e.g., a switch), the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065; in a carrier aggregation system, if a receive chain allocated to an aggregated carrier is idle during a data reception operation, the receive chain may be used to perform network measurements; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed).
Regarding claim 4, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising a power amplifier (PA), wherein the second band filter is coupled between the PA and the second switching device (Figs. 2-3, Items 242/320; Para. 0017; In the exemplary design shown in FIG. 2, each transmitter 250 includes transmit circuits 252 and a power amplifier (PA) 254; i.e. Fig. 2 shows the PA connected to the Antenna Interface Circuit and Fig. 3 shows the Antenna Interface Circuit includes the band filters).
Regarding claim 5, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to close the second switching device based on a second receive carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Item 604; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065-0068; The antenna interface circuit 648 may include a bypass path 604 (e.g., a switch), the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065; in a carrier aggregation system, if a receive chain allocated to an aggregated carrier is idle during a data reception operation, the receive chain may be used to perform network measurements; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed).
Regarding claim 6, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches wherein based on the second receive carrier aggregation mode: the first set of one or more band filters is configured to filter the first set of one or more RF signals received via the first antenna port, respectively; the first set of one or more LNAs is configured to amplify the first set of one or more filtered RF signals, respectively; and the second band filter is configured to filter a third radio frequency (RF) signal generated by the PA for transmission via the second antenna port (Fig. 6, Item 604; Paras. 0016, 0023-0024, and 0065-0068; the receiver 302 includes a low noise amplifier (LNA) 312 and an LNA 314; The antenna interface circuit 648 may include a bypass path 604 (e.g., a switch), the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065; in a carrier aggregation system, if a receive chain allocated to an aggregated carrier is idle during a data reception operation, the receive chain may be used to perform network measurements; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed).
Regarding claim 7, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising: a third switching device including a first terminal coupled to an input of the second LNA, a second terminal coupled to the first switching device, and a third terminal; and a fourth switching device including a first terminal coupled to the second band filter, a second terminal coupled to the third terminal of the second switching device, and a third terminal coupled to an output of the PA; wherein the control circuit is configured to: couple the first terminal to the second terminal of the third switching device based on the first receive carrier aggregation mode; and couple the first terminal to the third terminal of the fourth switching device based on the second receive carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Item 604; Paras. 0016, 0023-0024, and 0065-0068; the receiver 302 includes a low noise amplifier (LNA) 312 and an LNA 314; The antenna interface circuit 648 may include a bypass path 604 (e.g., a switch), the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065; in a carrier aggregation system, if a receive chain allocated to an aggregated carrier is idle during a data reception operation, the receive chain may be used to perform network measurements; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed).
Regarding claim 8, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising: a first antenna coupled to the first antenna port; and a second antenna coupled to the second antenna port (Fig. 6, Item 310; Para. 0023; the system 300 may include antennas 310, 350, which may correspond to the antennas 210, 212. As another example, the system 300 may include antenna interface circuits 308, 348, which may correspond to the antenna interface circuits 224, 226; i.e. Fig.6 in Kohlmann shows an antenna connected to the input of the Antenna Switch 307, which could be the antenna port).
Regarding claim 9, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising a set of one or more switching devices coupled between the first antenna port and the first set of one or more band filters, respectively (Fig. 6, Item 307; Para. 0024; The one or more antenna switches 307 may selectively couple the filters 304, 306 to the antenna 310, and the one or more antenna switches 347 may selectively couple the filters 344, 346 to the antenna 350).
Regarding claim 10, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising one or more frequency downconverting stages coupled to the first set of one or more LNAs and the second LNA (Figs. 2-3, Items 254; Paras. 0017-0018; The description below assumes that receiver 230 pa is the selected receiver. Within receiver 230 pa, an LNA 240 pa amplifies the input RF signal and provides an output RF signal. Receive circuits 242 pa downconvert the output RF signal from RF to baseband, amplify and filter the downconverted signal, and provide an analog input signal to data processor 280).
Regarding claim 11, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising a power amplifier (PA) coupled to the first set of one or more band filters (Figs. 2-3, Items 242/320; Para. 0017; In the exemplary design shown in FIG. 2, each transmitter 250 includes transmit circuits 252 and a power amplifier (PA) 254; i.e. Fig. 2 shows the PA connected to the Antenna Interface Circuit and Fig. 3 shows the Antenna Interface Circuit includes the band filters).
Regarding claim 12, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising: a power amplifier (PA); and a second set of one or more band filters coupled between the PA and the first antenna port (Figs. 2-3, Items 242/320; Para. 0017; In the exemplary design shown in FIG. 2, each transmitter 250 includes transmit circuits 252 and a power amplifier (PA) 254; i.e. Fig. 2 shows the PA connected to the Antenna Interface Circuit and Fig. 3 shows the Antenna Interface Circuit includes the band filters, which is then coupled to the antenna port).
Regarding claim 13, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches wherein the second band filter is coupled between the second switching device and the second LNA (Fig. 6, Items 352..354; Para. 0027; The receiver 342 may include LNAs 352, 354).
Regarding claim 14, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising a control circuit configured to open the second switching device and close the first switching device so that a radio frequency (RF) signal received via the second antenna port is provided to the second LNA while bypassing the second band filter (Fig. 6, Item 604; Para. 0068; The antenna interface circuit 648 may include a bypass path 604 (e.g., a switch), the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346).
Regarding claim 15, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising: a third band filter; a third low noise amplifier (LNA); a third switching device coupled between the first antenna port and the third LNA; and a fourth switching device coupled between the first antenna port and the third band filter (Figs. 6-7; Para. 0077; the antenna interface circuit 748 includes a filter 704, a filter 706, switching and selection logic 712, the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346. The antenna interface circuit 748 may be coupled to the antenna 350 and may be responsive to signals sent via the wireless network 392. The antenna interface circuit 308 may include the one or more antenna switches 307 and the filters 304, 306. The antenna interface circuit 308 may be coupled to the antenna 310 and may be responsive to signals sent via the wireless network 390).
Regarding claim 16, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising: a power amplifier (PA); a third band filter; a fourth band filter; a third switching device coupled between the PA and the second, third, and fourth band filters, respectively; a fourth switching device coupled between the third band filter and the second antenna port; and a fifth switching device coupled between the fourth band filter and the second antenna port (Figs. 2-3 and 6-7; Paras. 0017 and 0077; In the exemplary design shown in FIG. 2, each transmitter 250 includes transmit circuits 252 and a power amplifier (PA) 254; i.e. Fig. 2 shows the PA connected to the Antenna Interface Circuit and Fig. 3 shows the Antenna Interface Circuit includes the band filters; the antenna interface circuit 748 includes a filter 704, a filter 706, switching and selection logic 712, the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346. The antenna interface circuit 748 may be coupled to the antenna 350 and may be responsive to signals sent via the wireless network 392. The antenna interface circuit 308 may include the one or more antenna switches 307 and the filters 304, 306. The antenna interface circuit 308 may be coupled to the antenna 310 and may be responsive to signals sent via the wireless network 390).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Kohlmann teaches an method/apparatus (Abstract), comprising:
receiving a first set of one or more radio frequency (RF) signals via a first antenna port in accordance with a first or second carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Item 310; Paras. 0016, 0023, and 0065; the system 300 may include antennas 310, 350, which may correspond to the antennas 210, 212. As another example, the system 300 may include antenna interface circuits 308, 348, which may correspond to the antenna interface circuits 224, 226; in a carrier aggregation system, if a receive chain allocated to an aggregated carrier is idle during a data reception operation, the receive chain may be used to perform network measurements; i.e. the published Application at para. 0039 states “the RF front end 300 includes multiple antenna feeds for two (or more) antennas (or antenna ports if the antennas are not part of the RF front end as defined)” which would show that antenna and antenna port are synonymous or separate. Fig.6 in Kohlmann shows antenna 310 so the antenna port could be the antenna 310 or it could be in the input to the Antenna Switch 307. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed);
filtering the first set of one or more RF signals in accordance with the first or second carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Items 304..306; Para. 0024; The one or more antenna switches 307 may selectively couple the filters 304, 306 to the antenna 310, and the one or more antenna switches 347 may selectively couple the filters 344, 346 to the antenna 350; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed);
amplifying the first set of one or more filtered RF signals in accordance with the first or second carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Items 312..314; Para. 0024; the receiver 302 includes a low noise amplifier (LNA) 312 and an LNA 314; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed);
receiving a second RF signal via a second antenna port in accordance with the first carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Item 350; Para. 0023; the system 300 may include antennas 310, 350, which may correspond to the antennas 210, 212; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed);
receiving a second RF signal via a second antenna port in accordance with the first carrier aggregation mode (Fig. 6, Items 344..346; Para. 0024; The one or more antenna switches 307 may selectively couple the filters 304, 306 to the antenna 310, and the one or more antenna switches 347 may selectively couple the filters 344, 346 to the antenna 350; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed); and
amplifying the filter-bypassed second RF signal in accordance with the first carrier aggregation mode (receiving a second RF signal via a second antenna port in accordance with the first carrier aggregation mode; i.e. Based on whether the aggregated carrier is idle or not will determine whether the signal is received or a network measurement is performed).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Kohlmann teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kohlmann further teaches further comprising: generating a third RF signal in accordance with the second carrier aggregation mode; filtering the third RF signal in accordance with the second carrier aggregation mode; and providing the filtered third RF signal to the second antenna port in accordance with the second carrier aggregation (Figs. 2-3 and 6-7; Paras. 0017 and 0077; In the exemplary design shown in FIG. 2, each transmitter 250 includes transmit circuits 252 and a power amplifier (PA) 254; i.e. Fig. 2 shows the PA connected to the Antenna Interface Circuit and Fig. 3 shows the Antenna Interface Circuit includes the band filters; the antenna interface circuit 748 includes a filter 704, a filter 706, switching and selection logic 712, the one or more antenna switches 347, and the filters 344, 346. The antenna interface circuit 748 may be coupled to the antenna 350 and may be responsive to signals sent via the wireless network 392. The antenna interface circuit 308 may include the one or more antenna switches 307 and the filters 304, 306. The antenna interface circuit 308 may be coupled to the antenna 310 and may be responsive to signals sent via the wireless network 390).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474