Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the future cleaning cycle" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 4 to depend from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1A2) as being anticipated by Renaud et al., US 2014/0263087 (Renaud).
Regarding claim 1, Renaud discloses an automatic swimming pool cleaner (abstract, REF 100, fig. 1) comprising a controller (see “processing device”, ¶ 0008) configured to:
Analyze input (vision, turbidity, etc. sensor data, ¶ 0008) related to a pool system; and
Define a future cleaning cycle (see “cleaning modes or path”, ¶ 0038) comprising a trigger (see “upon identifying debris”, ¶ 0009) based on the input, wherein the input comprises pool dirtiness (¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 2, Renaud discloses a cleaner further configured to define a future cleaning cycle without receiving a cleaning order from a user (see “upon identifying debris”, ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 3, Renaud discloses a cleaner further configured to perform the future cleaning cycle based on occurrence of the trigger (see “upon identifying debris”, ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 4, Renaud discloses a cleaner wherein the trigger to perform the future cleaning cycle comprises a pool dirtiness level (¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 5, Renaud is relied upon in the rejection of claims 1-4 set forth above. Renaud further discloses a method of automatically scheduling cleaning cycles for an automatic swimming pool cleaner, the method comprising analyzing an input related to a pool system and defining by the cleaner, a future cleaning cycle comprising a trigger as a cycle parameter based on the input (¶ 0008-0009).
Regarding claim 6 Renaud discloses a method further comprising causing the cleaner to perform the future cleaning cycle based on an occurrence of the trigger (¶ 0009).
Regarding claims 7-8, Renaud discloses a method further comprising defining an additional cycle parameter for the future cleaning cycle based on the input, wherein the additional cycle parameter comprises a cleaning pattern (see “cleaning modes or path”, ¶ 0038).
Regarding claim 9, Renaud discloses a method wherein the input comprises a pool dirtiness level (¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 10, Renaud discloses a method further comprising receiving the input from a user (see “for programming the docking station and/or the swimming pool cleaner”, ¶ 0007 and 0032).
Regarding claim 11, Renaud discloses a method further comprising receiving the input from at least one sensor or camera (see “vision system”, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 12, Renaud discloses a method further comprising providing the defined future cleaning cycle to a user (¶ 0032).
Regarding claim 13, Renaud discloses a method further comprising receiving supplemental input from a user after defining the future cleaning cycle and modifying the future cleaning cycle based on the supplemental input (see “manually control the position and/or the cleaning function of the cleaner”, ¶ 0032).
Regarding claim 14, Renaud discloses a method wherein the trigger for starting the future cleaning cycle comprises a pool dirtiness level (¶ 0009).
Regarding claims 15-20, Renaud is relied upon in the rejection of claims 5-14, where a non-transitory computer readable medium (¶ 0029) comprises the instructions for performing the method recited in claims 5-14.
Conclusion
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779