Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 02/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81. Accordingly, the drawings are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted on 02/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “currently non-gated” is unclear. Which should be considered the full period the detector is non-gated?
Claims 8-13 are rejected due to claim dependency.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “currently non-gated” is unclear. See discussion of claim 2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hu et al. (CN 112946666 A, “Hu1”).
Regarding claim 1, Hu1 teaches a detection system, comprising a
transmitter (Para [0030], Fig 2, where the transmitting module 30 is used to emit a signal beam);
a receiver (Para [0030], Fig 2, where the receiving module 40 is used to receive the echo beam from a target);
a first scanner (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a first for transmitting light, and that first surface is a first scanner); and
a second scanner (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that second surface is a second scanner), wherein
the transmitter is configured to transmit signal light (Para [0030], Fig 2, where the transmitting module 30 is used to emit a signal beam);
the first scanner is configured to reflect the signal light from the transmitter (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a first for transmitting light, and that transmitting surface is a first scanner);
the second scanner is configured to reflect a received echo signal to the receiver, and the echo signal comprises reflected light obtained by reflecting the signal light by at least one target (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner);
the receiver is configured to receive the echo signal (Para [0030], Fig 2, where the receiving module 40 is used to receive the echo beam from a target); and
an included angle between a first normal vector of a first reflective surface of the first scanner and a second normal vector of a second reflective surface of the second scanner is a first angle, the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface are adjacent reflective surfaces, an included angle between an optical axis of the transmitter and an optical axis of the receiver is a second angle, and both the first angle and the second angle are greater than 0 degrees (Para [0031] and [0034]-[0037], Fig 3 and 4, where the transmitting and the receiving surfaces of the reflecting module 20 are each one of side surfaces of rotating prism 21 and because they are adjacent sides have normal vectors greater than 0 degrees. The optical axes of the transmitting module 30 and receiving module 40 are greater than 0 as they are opposite the rotating prism 21).
Regarding claim 4, Hu1 teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the first scanner and the second scanner share a first scanning axis (Para [0039], Fig 4, where signal beam is parallel to the horizontal plane and therefore the scanning axis, and the prism that is perpendicular to the horizontal plane has adjacent surfaces and therefore share the horizontal plane that is the scanning axis); and
the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface are adjacent in a direction parallel to the first scanning axis (Para [0039], Fig 4, where signal beam is parallel to the horizontal plane and therefore the scanning axis, and the prism that is perpendicular to the horizontal plane has adjacent surfaces and therefore adjacent parallel the first scanning axis).
Regarding claim 15, Hu1 teaches a terminal device, comprising a detection system, wherein the detection system comprises a transmitter (Hu1, Para [0030], Fig 2, where the transmitting module 30 is used to emit a signal beam);
a receiver (Hu1, Para [0030], Fig 2, where the receiving module 40 is used to receive the echo beam from a target);
a first scanner (Hu1, Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a first for transmitting light, and that first surface is a first scanner); and
a second scanner (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that second surface is a second scanner), wherein
the transmitter is configured to transmit signal light (Para [0030], Fig 2, where the transmitting module 30 is used to emit a signal beam);
the first scanner is configured to reflect the signal light from the transmitter (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a first for transmitting light, and that transmitting surface is a first scanner);
the second scanner is configured to reflect a received echo signal to the receiver, and the echo signal comprises reflected light obtained by reflecting the signal light by at least one target (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner);
the receiver is configured to receive the echo signal (Para [0030], Fig 2, where the receiving module 40 is used to receive the echo beam from a target); and
an included angle between a first normal vector of a first reflective surface of the first scanner and a second normal vector of a second reflective surface of the second scanner is a first angle, the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface are adjacent reflective surfaces, an included angle between an optical axis of the transmitter and an optical axis of the receiver is a second angle, and both the first angle and the second angle are greater than 0 degrees (Para [0031] and [0034]-[0037], Fig 3 and 4, where the transmitting and the receiving surfaces of the reflecting module 20 are each one of side surfaces of rotating prism 21 and because they are adjacent sides have normal vectors greater than 0 degrees. The optical axes of the transmitting module 30 and receiving module 40 are greater than 0 as they are opposite the rotating prism 21).
Regarding claim 16, Hu1 teach a detection control method, wherein the method comprises:
controlling a transmitter to transmit signal light (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where via the control module the transmitting module 30 is used to emit a signal beam);
controlling a first scanner to reflect the signal light from the transmitter (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where via the control module emitting light the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a first for transmitting light, and that transmitting surface is a first scanner); and
controlling a second scanner to reflect a received echo signal to a receiver, wherein the echo signal comprises reflected light obtained by reflecting the signal light by at least one target (Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where via the control module receiving light the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner); and
an included angle between a first normal vector of a first reflective surface of the first scanner and a second normal vector of a second reflective surface of the second scanner is a first angle, the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface are adjacent reflective surfaces, an included angle between an optical axis of the transmitter and an optical axis of the receiver is a second angle, and both the first angle and the second angle are greater than 0 degrees (Para [0031] and [0034]-[0037], Fig 3 and 4, where via the control module transmitting and receiving light the transmitting and the receiving surfaces of the reflecting module 20 are each one of side surfaces of rotating prism 21 and because they are adjacent sides have normal vectors greater than 0 degrees. The optical axes of the transmitting module 30 and receiving module 40 are greater than 0 as they are opposite the rotating prism 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-9, 11-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu1 in view of Okada et al. (EP 3859378 A1, "Okada”).
Regarding claim 2, Hu1 teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a detector, and the echo signal comprises a first echo signal (Hu1, Para [0030], Fig 2, where the receiving module 40 is used to receive the echo beam from a target);
the second scanner is configured to reflect the first echo signal to the receiver (Hu1, Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner for being received by receiving module 20), .
However, Hu1 does not teach
the receiver is configured to propagate the first echo signal to a first area of the detector or an area outside the detector, and the first area is a currently non-gated area in the detector.
.
On the other hand, Okada teaches the receiving of a signal outside of a gated detector after being reflected from a target (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 5, where the first echo signal is formed on spot SB which is outside the activated detector 33a3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection system of Hu1 in view of Okada, by using a switching unit with activated switching elements to switch electromagnetic waves to a first or second state and therefore and progress in a direction toward a non-gated element. (Okada, Para [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Hu1 teaches the system according to claim 1.
the second scanner comprises any one of the following: a mirror, a swing mirror, and a MEMS mirror (Hu1, Para [0050]-[0051], Fig 2, where the receiving mirror group in between photodetector 41 and reflecting module 20 is a part of the second scanner).
However, Hu1 does not teach wherein the first scanner comprises any one of the following: a rotation mirror, a swing mirror, and a micro electro- mechanical system (MEMS) mirror.
On the other hand, Okada teaches the use of a MEMS mirror in a transmitting scanner to change the direction of electromagnetic waves (Okada, Para [0081], Fig 4, where the scanner 20 consists of MEMS mirror to change the direction of the electromagnetic waves).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection system of Hu1 in view of Okada, by using a MEMS mirror to polarize electromagnetic waves in a direction (Okada, Para [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Hu1 in view of Okada teaches the system according to claim 2, wherein the transmitter comprises a light source array, and the detector comprises a pixel array (Okada, Para [0018], Fig 1 and 4-5, where the radiation region 11, comprises an VCSEL light source array and the detector 30 an arrangement of switching elements in switching unit 33 as disclosed in Para [0034]); and
The light source array gates light sources in a time division manner by column, and the pixel array gates pixels in a time division manner by column (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 1 and 5, where the spots SA to SD may be along direction D for light emitted along that longitudinal axis and therefore may be activated like switching element 33a3 in a column).
Regarding claim 9, Hu1 in view of Okada teaches the system according to claim 8, wherein the first area of the detector is at least one column of non-gated pixels, and a second area of the detector is at least one column of gated pixels (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 1 and 5, where the spots SA to SD may be along direction E for light emitted orthogonal to longitudinal axis D along axis E and therefore may be non-activated like switching element 33a in a row).
Regarding claim 11, Hu1 in view of Okada teaches the system according to claim 2, wherein the transmitter comprises a light source array, and the detector comprises a pixel array (Okada, Para [0018], Fig 1 and 4-5, where the radiation region 11, comprises an VCSEL light source array and the detector 30 an arrangement of switching elements in switching unit 33 as disclosed in Para [0034]); and
the light source array gates light sources in a time division manner by row, and the pixel array gates pixels in a time division manner by row (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 1 and 5, where the spots SA to SD may be along direction D for light emitted orthogonal to longitudinal axis D along axis E and therefore may be activated like switching element 33a3 in a row).
Regarding claim 12, Hu1 in view of Okada teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the first area of the detector is at least one row of non-gated pixels, and a second area of the detector is at least one row of gated pixels (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 1 and 5, where the spots SA to SD may be along direction E for light emitted orthogonal to longitudinal axis D along axis E and therefore may be non-activated like switching element 33a in a row).
Regarding claim 17, Hu1 teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein the echo signal comprises a first echo signal; and
the controlling the second scanner to reflect the received echo signal to the receiver comprises (Hu1, Para [0030], Fig 2, where the receiving module 40 is used to receive the echo beam from a target):
controlling the second scanner to reflect the first echo signal to the receiver (Hu1, Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner for being received by receiving module 20),
However, Hu1 does not teach
On the other hand, Okada teaches the receiving of a signal outside of a gated detector after being reflected from a target (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 5, where the first echo signal is formed on spot SB which is outside the activated detector 33a3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection control method of Hu1 in view of Okada, by using a switching unit with activated switching elements to switch electromagnetic waves to a first or second state and therefore and progress in a direction toward a non-gated element. (Okada, Para [0006]).
Claims 3, 10, 13-14, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu et al. (WO 2021143665 A1, “Hu2”)
Regarding claim 3, Hu1 teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a detector, (Hu1, Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner for being received by receiving module 20);
However, Hu1 does not teach, and the echo signal comprises a second echo signal;
the receiver is configured to propagate the second echo signal to a second area of the detector, and the second area is a currently gated area in the detector; and
the detector is configured to perform optical-to-electrical conversion on the second echo signal to obtain an electrical signal, and the electrical signal is used to determine association information of the second target.
On the other hand, Okada teaches the reflection of electromagnetic waves on a gated detector (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 5, where the second echo signal is formed on spot SA which is a part of the activated detector 33a3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection system of Hu1 in view of Okada, by using a switching unit with activated switching elements to switch electromagnetic waves to a first or second state and therefore and progress in a direction toward a gated element. (Okada, Para [0006]).
However, Hu1 in view of Okada still does not teach,
the detector is configured to perform optical-to-electrical conversion on the second echo signal to obtain an electrical signal, and the electrical signal is used to determine association information of the second target.
On the other hand, Hu2 teaches multiple echo signals from a multi-angled emitter (Hu2, Para [0069]-[0071], Fig 7 where the emitters 62 by rotating prism 51 emits multiple laser beams such that the corresponding receivers 64 can receiving detection signals at different angles and resultingly different targets, and therefore teach second echo signals) and a processor that obtains data from the processing of data (Hu2, Para [0080], Fig 11 where the main control board 57 has a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) to process the echo signals to obtain result data).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the detection system of Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 by using a multi-angled emission to generate a second echo signal to improve measurement accuracy (Hu2, Para [0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Hu1 in view of Okada teaches the system according to claim 8, wherein the first angle (Hu1, Para [0031] and [0034]-[0037], Fig 3 and 4, where the transmitting and the receiving surfaces of the reflecting module 20 are each one of side surfaces of rotating prism 21 and because they are adjacent sides have normal vectors greater than 0 degrees. The optical axes of the transmitting module 30 and receiving module 40 are greater than 0 as they are opposite the rotating prism 21)
However, Hu1 does not teach
On the other hand, Hu2 teaches an increased scanning and therefore angular resolution when compared to a first angle (Hu2, Para [0068], Fig 7, where the beams reflected onto Okada, Fig 5, longitudinal spots SA to SD have an increased number of beams and resultingly have an increased scanning resolution. Therefore the angular resolution is also increased).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection control method of Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 by using an angled scanning unit to increase resolution and to improve measurement accuracy (Hu2, Para [0069]).
Regarding claim 13, Hu1 in view of Okada teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the first angle (Hu1, Para [0031] and [0034]-[0037], Fig 3 and 4, where the transmitting and the receiving surfaces of the reflecting module 20 are each one of side surfaces of rotating prism 21 and because they are adjacent sides have normal vectors greater than 0 degrees. The optical axes of the transmitting module 30 and receiving module 40 are greater than 0 as they are opposite the rotating prism 21)
However, Hu1 in view of Okada does not teachis greater than or equal to a second angular resolution of the system, and the second angular resolution is an angular resolution of the system in a direction corresponding to a row of the pixel array.
Regarding claim 14, Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 teaches the system according to claim 3, wherein the system further comprises a processor; and
the processor is configured to : receive the electrical signal from the detector, and determine the association information of the second target based on the electrical signal (Hu2, Para [0080], Fig 11 where the main control board 57 has a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) to process the echo signals to obtain result data).
On the other hand, Hu2 teaches an increased scanning and therefore angular resolution when compared to a first angle (Hu2, Para [0068], Fig 7, where the beams reflected onto Okada, Fig 5, horizontal spots SA to SD have an increased number of beams and resultingly have an increased scanning resolution. Therefore the angular resolution is also increase).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection control method of Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 by using an angled scanning unit to increase resolution and to improve measurement accuracy (Hu2, Para [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, Hu1 in view of Okada teaches the method according to claim 16,
the controlling the second scanner to reflect the received echo signal to the receiver comprises (Hu1, Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner for being received by receiving module 20):
controlling the second scanner to reflect the (Hu1, Para [0030]-[0031], Fig 2, where the reflecting module 20 includes two or more reflecting surfaces, a second for receiving light, and that receiving surface is a second scanner for being received by receiving module 20); and
the method further comprises:
controlling the detector to gate a second area (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 5, where the second echo signal is formed on spot SA which is a part of the activated detector 33a3),
However Hu1 in view of Okada does not teach, ; and
wherein the gated second area is used to perform optical-to-electrical conversion on the received second echo signal, to obtain an electrical signal, and the electrical signal is used to determine association information of the second target.
On the other hand, Hu2 teaches multiple echo signals from a multi-angled emitter (Hu2, Para [0069]-[0071], Fig 7 where the emitters 62 by rotating prism 51 emits multiple laser beams such that the corresponding receivers 64 can receiving detection signals at different angles and resultingly different targets, and therefore teach second echo signals) and a processor that obtains data from the processing of data (Hu2, Para [0080], Fig 11 where the main control board 57 has a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) to process the echo signals to obtain result data).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection control method of Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 by using a multi-angled emission to generate a second echo signal to improve measurement accuracy (Hu2, Para [0069]).
Regarding claim 19, Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the detector comprises a pixel array (Okada, Para [0018], Fig 1 and 4-5, where the radiation region 11, comprises an arrangement of switching elements in switching unit 33 as disclosed in Para [0034]); and
the controlling the detector to gate the second area comprises (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 5, where the second echo signal is formed on spot SA which is a part of the activated detector 33a3):
controlling the pixel array to gate the second area by column (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 1 and 5, where the spots SA to SD may be along direction D for light emitted along that longitudinal axis and therefore may be activated like switching element 33a3 in a column).
Regarding claim 20, Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the transmitter comprises a light source array (Okada, Para [0018], Fig 1 and 4-5, where the radiation region 11, comprises a VCSEL light source array); and
the controlling the transmitter to transmit the signal light comprises (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 5, where the second echo signal is formed on spot SA which is a part of the activated detector 33a3):
controlling the light source array to gate light sources in a time division manner by column (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 1 and 5, where the spots SA to SD may be along direction D for light emitted along that longitudinal axis and therefore may be activated like switching element 33a3 in a column).
Regarding claim 20, Hu1 in view of Okada and Hu2 teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein the transmitter comprises a light source array (Okada, Para [0018], Fig 1 and 4-5, where the radiation region 11, comprises a VCSEL light source array); and
the controlling the transmitter to transmit the signal light comprises (Hu1, Para [0030], Fig 2, where the transmitting module 30 is used to emit a signal beam):
controlling the light source array to gate light sources in a time division manner by column (Okada, Para [0037], Fig 1 and 5, where the spots SA to SD may be along direction D for light emitted along that longitudinal axis and therefore may be activated like switching element 33a3 in a column).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu1 in view of Hu2
Regarding claim 5, Hu1 teaches the system according to claim 1,
the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface are adjacent in a direction parallel to the second scanning axis or in a direction parallel to the third scanning axis (Hu1, Para [0039], Fig 4, where signal beam is parallel to the horizontal plane and therefore the scanning axis, and the prism that is perpendicular to the horizontal plane has adjacent surfaces and therefore adjacent parallel the first scanning axis).
However, Hu1 does not teach wherein a scanning axis of the first scanner is a second scanning axis, a scanning axis of the second scanner is a third scanning axis, and a direction of the second scanning axis is parallel to a direction of the third scanning axis, or an extension line of the second scanning axis coincides with an extension line of the third scanning axis
On the other hand, Hu2 teaches a shared rotation axis by differing scanners with parallel scanning axis by a transmitter and receiver (Hu2, Para [0069]-[0071], Fig 6 and 7, where the rotation axis prism 51 is shared by scanners 41 and 42 and the emitters 62 scan in a horizontal direction (second scanning axis) and the receivers 64 correspond with the emitter to achieve a receiving horizontal field of view scanning (third scanning axis). Therefore horizontal direction is the shared extension line of the third scanning axis)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection system of Hu1 in view of Hu2 by making a transmitter and receiver have parallel scanning axes to improve measurement accuracy and reduce costs (Hu2, Para [0069]-[0071]).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu1 in view of Wang et al. (CN 106019293 A, “Wang”)
Regarding claim 6, Hu1 teaches the system according to claim 1.
However, Hu1 does not teach wherein the second angle is twice the first angle.
On the other hand Wang teaches an angle between a transmitter and emitter that can be set with reference to scanners (Wang, Para [0039], Fig 2B, where the angle between laser emitter 2 and receiver 3 is approximately between 3-5 degrees, and can be set to be twice that of the angle between scanners) (See MPEP 2144.05.I)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the detection system of Hu1 in view of Wang by angling the transmitter and receiver to decrease the size of a laser scanning rangefinder (Wang, Para [0006]).
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645