CTNF 18/439,470 CTNF 101803 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12 February 2024 and 10 November 2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the body of Claim 3 contains a ")" in the last sentence, this is likely a typographical error . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 23 recites the limitation a first secondary outlet in the body of the claim. However, Claim 15, for which Claim 23 is dependent upon, already recites a first secondary outlet. It is unclear if this is a new recitation, or if this is meant to refer to the first secondary outlet of Claim 15. Please amend the claim to reflect the Applicant’s intention. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting this to read “a first secondary outlet”. Should this intend to refer to the structure introduced in Claim 15, then an example edit, per the Examiner’s suggestion, include: “ the first secondary outlet”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-16, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshitaka et al (JP 2008094618 A), herein after referred to as "Yoshitaka", in view of Chan et al (US 20220153451 A1), herein after referred to as "Chan" . Regarding Claim 1, Yoshitaka discloses a quality control structure (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 1, lines 11-21 in view of Annotated Figures 1(D) and 2, wherein an “undersized part 7 falls out of the discharge port 22” of the supply passage 25; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 10, lines 7-10 in view of Annotated Figures 1(D) and 1(E), wherein a discharge passage 6 with an undersized nut discharge section 20 is provided with a height clearance such that “height H of an undersized nut is 1 mm lower than the height H of a normal nut, so this height difference is used to preemptively eliminate undersized nuts”) of an automated fastening machine (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 15, lines 28-30 in view of Annotated Figure 2, wherein a sensor 34 provides a signal to an air nozzle 32 to inject compressed air into the supply passage 25 to deliver a nut 7 to a target location), the quality control structure comprising: an elongate body (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 2, wherein discharge passage 6, discharge pipe 2, and the supply hose 24 is an elongate body) defining a passageway (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 1(D), 1(E), and 2, wherein a passageway for a nut 7 to travel along is disclosed) and comprising one or more walls configured so that properly sized nuts are urged against one of the one or more walls when passing through the passageway (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 20-22 in view of Annotated Figures 1(C), 5(A), and 5(B), wherein it is disclosed, "When the vibrations from the parts feeder 1 are applied to the discharge pipe 2 and the outlet 22, the nut 7 moves while rubbing against the guide wall 27 due to the inclination angle θ2"; see also Yoshitaka, Annotated Figures 1(B) and 1(E), wherein the nut 7, if properly sized, is urged against the passage wall of the undersized nut discharge section 20 in the discharge passage 6; see also Yoshitaka, Annotated Figure 1(A), wherein the nut 7 is urged against the groove wall 12), wherein the one of the one or more walls define a secondary outlet that is configured to restrict passage of the properly sized nuts through the secondary outlet and permit passage of undesirable structures through the secondary outlet (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 30-31 in view of Annotated Figure 5(A), wherein an “undersized nut 7 falls into the discharge port 22 from one side, i.e., the opening edge 28, and is removed”; see also Yoshitaka, Page 10, lines 9-13 in view of Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein an undersized nut discharge section 20 comprising a gauge opening 18 is provided a regulated height such that “undersized nut 7 can pass through, but a normal nut 7 cannot”). Yoshitaka does not disclose collars . PNG media_image1.png 422 659 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 327 544 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 378 669 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 917 1105 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image5.png 348 752 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 480 1132 media_image6.png Greyscale PNG media_image7.png 574 878 media_image7.png Greyscale PNG media_image8.png 512 669 media_image8.png Greyscale However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Chan discloses collars (Chan: see Paragraph [0040], wherein a “fastener 102 includes bolt 108 and collar 110”). Chan discloses systems and methods “for inspecting installation of a fastener” (Chan: see Abstract), with the system provided having a “fastener installation system 120 is configured to install fastener 102” where fasteners 102 is bolts 108 and collars 110 (Chan: see Paragraph [0040]), and fastener installation system 120 comprises offset collar installer 124 (Chan: see Paragraph [0044]). Here, the offset collar installer 124 has an example implementation identified in FIG. 5 for an offset swage assembly 310 (Chan: see Paragraph [0100] in view of FIG. 5). Offset swage assembly 310 includes “collar holder 500, collar swage 502”, and a magazine 504 for collars (Chan: see Paragraph [0114]), and tube 506 to connect the supply of collars in magazine 504 to collar holder 500 for installation (Chan: see Paragraph [0115]). Yoshitaka discloses “a parts feeding device and feeding method that ensures the discharge of undersized parts and allows for smooth feeding by adequately following pressure fluctuations in the feeding passage” (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 1, lines 11-13), comprising a quality control structure to determine whether an appropriately sized nut is present within the passageway. Yoshitaka also discloses a parts feeder 1 that “has a circular vibrating bowl 3” (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 8, line 16 in view of Annotated Figure 1(D)) which functions as a supply for nuts 7 to be collected in, and “a nut supply device 37” which “uses a retractable supply rod 38 to pierce the threaded hole 9 of the nut 7” to “supply it to the fixed electrode 39 of the electric resistance welding” (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 16, lines 22-23) which functions as an installation tool. Lastly, the aforementioned elongated body comprising the discharge passage 6, discharge pipe 2, and supply hose 24 It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have swapped the fasteners (i.e. “components such as projection nuts”, see Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 2, lines 2-3), disclosed in Yoshitaka’s apparatus, with the collars, disclosed in Chan’s apparatus. One would be motivated to do this in support of accomplishing a specific industry task requiring collars for fasteners as opposed to nuts, such as for use when assembling aircraft, as suggested by Chan (Chan: see Paragraph [0003]). Should a specific industry application require collars for use in the parts feeder disclosed by Yoshitaka, it would require little effort to swap out the projection nuts for collars, and to size the corresponding structures of the apparatus for the newly introduced collars. The Examiner wishes to notify the Applicant that, while prior art has been provided pertaining to Chan and the disclosed collars, the invention being recited in Claim 1 is a quality control structure, whereas collars are articles being worked upon by the quality control structure. MPEP 2115 recites, “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)”. Regarding Claim 2, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 1, wherein the one of the one or more walls comprises a lip that at least partially defines and extends along the secondary outlet (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 1-3 in view of Annotated Figures 5(A) and 5(B), wherein “guide surfaces 26 for sliding a normal-sized nut 7 are provided on both sides of the discharge port 22”) and that is configured to engage the properly sized collars as the properly sized collars pass through the passageway (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 17-31 in view of Annotated Figures 5(A) and 5(B), wherein the dimensions of the discharge port 22 that define a properly sized components and remove improperly sized components are disclosed, with specific dimensions such as “width W2 of the guide surface 26” being disclosed). Regarding Claim 3, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses an automated fastening machine (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 15, lines 28-30 in view of Annotated Figure 2, wherein a sensor 34 provides a signal to an air nozzle 32 to inject compressed air into the supply passage 25 to deliver a nut 7 to a target location), comprising: a supply for properly sized collars (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 8, lines 28-29 in view of Annotated Figure 6(A), wherein “various types of parts feeders can be used for this parts feeder 1, such as one that sends parts from a delivery pipe 2 of a vibrating bowl 3"); an installation tool configured to operatively install the properly sized collars (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 16, lines 22-25 in view of Annotated Figures 1(D) and 3(A), wherein “this nut supply device 37 uses a retractable supply rod 38 to pierce the threaded hole 9 of the nut 7 and supply it to the fixed electrode 39 of the electric resistance welding” and “the movable electrode 41 is positioned coaxially with the fixed electrode 39”); and the quality control structure of claim 1 positioned to receive the properly sized collars and the undesirable structures from the supply and to deliver only the properly sized collars toward the installation tool (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figures 1(E), 4(A), and 5(A), wherein various quality control structures such as the undersized nut discharge section 20, discharge port 22, and check gauge 15 can be used to receive properly sized nuts and undesirable structures from the supply, and deliver properly sized nuts based on the check being performed (i.e. checking the height of the nut or width of the nut) towards the installation tool). PNG media_image9.png 511 839 media_image9.png Greyscale PNG media_image10.png 346 713 media_image10.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 4, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the automated fastening machine of claim 3, further comprising a collection structure positioned to collect the undesirable structures as they exit the quality control structure (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 10, lines 14-15 in view of Annotated Figure 1(D), wherein a sealed receiving box 19 receives undersized nuts 7 from the undersized nut discharge section 20 of the discharge passage 6; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 10, lines 22-25 in view of Annotated Figure 1(A), wherein the “right-hand diagram of (A)” discloses a nut having a correct size but incorrectly inverted orientation that will slide off of the discharge passage 6 and into a “receiving box 14 attached to the bowl 3”). Regarding Claim 5, Yoshitaka discloses a quality control structure (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 1, lines 11-21 in view of Annotated Figures 1(D) and 2, wherein an “undersized part 7 falls out of the discharge port 22” of the supply passage 25; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 10, lines 7-10 in view of Annotated Figures 1(D) and 1(E), wherein a discharge passage 6 with an undersized nut discharge section 20 is provided with a height clearance such that “height H of an undersized nut is 1 mm lower than the height H of a normal nut, so this height difference is used to preemptively eliminate undersized nuts”) of an automated fastening machine (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 15, lines 28-30 in view of Annotated Figure 2, wherein a sensor 34 provides a signal to an air nozzle 32 to inject compressed air into the supply passage 25 to deliver a nut 7 to a target location) for transporting properly sized nuts from a supply of the properly sized nuts toward an installation tool (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 8, lines 28-29, wherein “various types of parts feeders can be used for this parts feeder 1, such as one that sends parts from a delivery pipe 2 of a vibrating bowl 3”; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 16, lines 22-25 in view of Annotated Figure 1(D), wherein the delivery pipe 2 (discharge pipe 2) connects to supply hose 24 which feeds nuts 7 towards the nut supply device 37, as indicated by the supply of readily available nuts 7 stacked within the nut supply device 37 of Annotated Figure 1(D)) and for removing undesirable structures from the supply of the properly sized nuts (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 1, lines 20-21, wherein “the undersized part 7 falls out of the discharge port 22”), the quality control structure comprising: an elongate body defining a passageway (see Annotated Figure 1(D) and 2, wherein the discharge passage 6, discharge pipe 2, and supply hose 24 constitute an elongate body which nuts travel through as a passageway) , an inlet to the passageway sized to receive the properly sized nuts (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 10, lines 3-5 and 20-21 in view of Annotated Figure 6(A), wherein the discharge passage 6 has an entrance between the bowl 3 and the vibration excitation case 4, and “the discharge passage 6 is formed by the surface of an elongated, arc-shaped plate 11, which is inclined so that its outer circumference is lower and welded to the peripheral wall plate 13 of the bowl 3” which urges improperly sized nuts to be removed from the passageway through the undersized nut discharge section 20, and by use of the groove 12 for when the nut has an improper orientation) , a primary outlet from the passageway sized to dispense the properly sized nuts (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 15, lines 28-30 in view of Annotated Figure 1(D), wherein the area where the nut supply device 37 and supply hose 24 are in physical contact with each other is the primary outlet, and it is designed to receive the properly sized nuts that pass by the sensor 34 after having been subjected to the sizing checks of the undersized nut discharge section 20, groove 12 area, check gauge 15, and discharge port 22) , and one or more secondary outlets from the passageway between the inlet and the primary outlet, wherein the one or more secondary outlets are sized to dispense the undesirable structures and restrict passage of the properly sized nuts (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 30-31, wherein the discharge port 22 is disclosed such that “the undersized nut 7 falls into the discharge port 22 from one side, i.e., the opening edge 28, and is removed”; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 10, lines 7-13, wherein the undersized nut discharge section 20 has a gauge opening 18 “with a regulated height is provided in a part of the peripheral wall plate 13, so that an undersized nut 7 can pass through, but a normal nut 7 cannot”) ; wherein the quality control structure is configured to be operatively installed with the one or more secondary outlets positioned vertically below directly adjacent regions of the passageway (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 14, lines 5-8 in view of Annotated Figure 6(A), wherein the “bowl 3 is installed in a nearly horizontal position, and the delivery pipe 2 is also positioned nearly horizontally or with a slight downward slope” such that the “intersection angle θ3 is 10 degrees”). Yoshitaka does not disclose collars . However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Chan discloses collars (Chan: see Paragraph [0040], wherein a “fastener 102 includes bolt 108 and collar 110”). Chan discloses systems and methods “for inspecting installation of a fastener” (Chan: see Abstract), with the system provided having a “fastener installation system 120 is configured to install fastener 102” where fasteners 102 is bolts 108 and collars 110 (Chan: see Paragraph [0040]), and fastener installation system 120 comprises offset collar installer 124 (Chan: see Paragraph [0044]). Here, the offset collar installer 124 has an example implementation identified in FIG. 5 for an offset swage assembly 310 (Chan: see Paragraph [0100] in view of FIG. 5). Offset swage assembly 310 includes “collar holder 500, collar swage 502”, and a magazine 504 for collars (Chan: see Paragraph [0114]), and tube 506 to connect the supply of collars in magazine 504 to collar holder 500 for installation (Chan: see Paragraph [0115]). Yoshitaka discloses “a parts feeding device and feeding method that ensures the discharge of undersized parts and allows for smooth feeding by adequately following pressure fluctuations in the feeding passage” (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 1, lines 11-13), comprising a quality control structure to determine whether an appropriately sized nut is present within the passageway. Yoshitaka also discloses a parts feeder 1 that “has a circular vibrating bowl 3” (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 8, line 16 in view of Annotated Figure 1(D)) which functions as a supply for nuts 7 to be collected in, and “a nut supply device 37” which “uses a retractable supply rod 38 to pierce the threaded hole 9 of the nut 7” to “supply it to the fixed electrode 39 of the electric resistance welding” (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 16, lines 22-23) which functions as an installation tool. Lastly, the aforementioned elongated body comprising the discharge passage 6, discharge pipe 2, and supply hose 24 transports the nut 7 between the supply and installation tool, and offers a quality control structure within the passageway to eliminate improperly sized nuts (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 30-31 and Page 10, lines 9-13). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have swapped the fasteners (i.e. “components such as projection nuts”, see Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 2, lines 2-3), disclosed in Yoshitaka’s apparatus, with the collars, disclosed in Chan’s apparatus. One would be motivated to do this in support of accomplishing a specific industry task requiring collars for fasteners as opposed to nuts, such as for use when assembling aircraft, as suggested by Chan (Chan: see Paragraph [0003]). Should a specific industry application require collars for use in the parts feeder disclosed by Yoshitaka, it would require little effort to swap out the projection nuts for collars, and to size the corresponding structures of the apparatus for the newly introduced collars. The Examiner wishes to notify the Applicant that, while prior art has been provided pertaining to Chan and the disclosed collars, the invention being recited in Claim 5 is a quality control structure, whereas collars are articles being worked upon by the quality control structure. MPEP 2115 recites, “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)”. Regarding Claim 6, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 5, wherein each of the one or more secondary outlets has a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 12-14 and 17-19, and Page 9, lines 20-27 in view of Figure 3B of the application, wherein the discharge port 22 has a length of discharge port L3 functioning as a secondary-outlet length of 40.5mm, a passage width W1 functioning as a secondary-outlet width of 9.5mm, and the length L1 of the main body 8 functioning as a diameter of a properly sized collar with a value of 12mm, thus fulfilling the requirements of having a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 9, lines 20-27, Page 10, lines 7-10, and Page 11, lines 4-5 in view of Figure 3B of the application and Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the gauge opening 18 has a secondary-outlet length is seen as greater than the spacing L2 of the welding projection of a properly sized nut with a dimension of 13.3mm, a secondary-outlet width dimension dependent upon the height of the gauge opening 18 which is disclosed as being between 5mm and 6mm, and the length L1 of the main body 8 functioning as a diameter of a properly sized collar with a value of 12mm, thus fulfilling the requirements of having a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars). Regarding Claim 7, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 5, wherein the elongate body comprises: a first floor that faces the passageway and along which the properly sized collars are configured to roll or slide (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 5A, wherein the guide wall 27 of the elongate body faces the passageway and supports properly sized collars as they slide against it) ; and a first side wall comprising a first-side-wall outer face that faces away from the passageway and a first-side-wall inner face that faces the passageway and extends from the first floor (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 5(A) and 5(B), wherein a lip defined by width of guide surfaces W2 is a first side wall, and the first-side-wall inner face is the guide surface 26 while the first-side-wall outer face is the underside of plate 23) ; wherein a first secondary outlet of the one or more secondary outlets extends through the first side wall (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 13, lines 15-19 in view of Annotated Figures 5(A), 5(B), and 5(C), wherein the discharge port is disclosed to extend through the first side wall, wherein the inner surface 45 defines the extension of the discharge port 22 through the bottom plate 23). PNG media_image11.png 372 662 media_image11.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 8, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 7, wherein the first-side-wall inner face comprises a first-side-wall lip extending along the first secondary outlet opposite the first floor (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 1(C), 5(A), and 5(B), wherein at least one of the lips is physically located in the opposite corner of the passage to the guide wall 27, and at the side closest to the peripheral wall plate 13). Regarding Claim 9, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 7, wherein each of the one or more secondary outlets has a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 12-14 and 17-19, and Page 9, lines 20-27 in view of Figure 3B of the application, wherein the discharge port 22 has a length of discharge port L3 functioning as a secondary-outlet length of 40.5mm, a passage width W1 functioning as a secondary-outlet width of 9.5mm, and the length L1 of the main body 8 functioning as a diameter of a properly sized collar with a value of 12mm, thus fulfilling the requirements of having a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 9, lines 20-27, Page 10, lines 7-10, and Page 11, lines 4-5 in view of Figure 3B of the application and Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the gauge opening 18 has a secondary-outlet length is seen as greater than the spacing L2 of the welding projection of a properly sized nut with a dimension of 13.3mm, a secondary-outlet width dimension dependent upon the height of the gauge opening 18 which is disclosed as being between 5mm and 6mm, and the length L1 of the main body 8 functioning as a diameter of a properly sized collar with a value of 12mm, thus fulfilling the requirements of having a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars); and wherein the first-side-wall inner face has a first-side-wall maximum inner-face width that is greater than the secondary-outlet width (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 12-14 and 17-19, and Page 9, lines 20-27 in view of Figure 3B of the application, wherein the discharge port 22 has a first-side-wall maximum inner-face width that is the width of the upper plate 31 which, based on Annotated Figure 5(A), is the summation of the dimensions of W1 (9.5mm) and the value of the W2 (2mm) dimension multiplied by two to account for the two guide surfaces 26 of the passage, which results in a value of 13.5mm which is greater than the secondary-outlet width of 9.5mm). Regarding Claim 10, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 7, wherein the elongate body further comprises: a second floor that faces the passageway and along which the properly sized collars are configured to roll or slide (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 10, lines 18-19 in view of Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the second floor is the plate material 11 which faces internally towards the nut, such that the plate acts as a surface on which the nut slides across); and a second side wall comprising a second-side-wall outer face that faces away from the passageway and a second-side-wall inner face that faces the passageway and extends from the second floor (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein a second side wall is the unlabeled wall having the gauge opening 18 present on its face, the second-side-wall outer face is the externally-facing wall of the gauge opening 18 wall, the second-side-wall inner face is oriented such that it is facing towards the direction of the peripheral wall plate 13, and the second side wall is shown to extend from the plate material 11 which functions as the second floor); wherein a second secondary outlet of the one or more secondary outlets extends through the second side wall (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the second secondary outlet is the gauge opening 18). Regarding Claim 11, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 10, wherein the second-side-wall inner face comprises a second-side-wall lip extending along the second secondary outlet opposite the second floor (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the second-side-wall lip is the wall section above the gap of the gauge opening 18; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 10, lines 18-19 in view of Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the second floor is the plate material 11 which faces internally towards the nut, such that the plate acts as a surface on which the nut slides across). Regarding Claim 12, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 10, wherein each of the one or more secondary outlets has a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 12, lines 12-14 and 17-19, and Page 9, lines 20-27 in view of Figure 3B of the application, wherein the discharge port 22 has a length of discharge port L3 functioning as a secondary-outlet length of 40.5mm, a passage width W1 functioning as a secondary-outlet width of 9.5mm, and the length L1 of the main body 8 functioning as a diameter of a properly sized collar with a value of 12mm, thus fulfilling the requirements of having a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars; see also Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 9, lines 20-27, Page 10, lines 7-10, and Page 11, lines 4-5 in view of Figure 3B of the application and Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the gauge opening 18 has a secondary-outlet length is seen as greater than the spacing L2 of the welding projection of a properly sized nut with a dimension of 13.3mm, a secondary-outlet width dimension dependent upon the height of the gauge opening 18 which is disclosed as being between 5mm and 6mm, and the length L1 of the main body 8 functioning as a diameter of a properly sized collar with a value of 12mm, thus fulfilling the requirements of having a secondary-outlet length and a secondary-outlet width that is less than the secondary-outlet length and that is less than a diameter of the properly sized collars); and wherein the second-side-wall inner face has a second-side-wall maximum inner-face width that is greater than the secondary-outlet width (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, see Annotated Figure 1(E), wherein the second-side-wall inner face is the lip above the gauge opening 18, and the second-side-wall maximum inner-face width is the opposite wall of the gauge opening 18 that is closest to the peripheral wall plate 13, which is visually larger than the inner lip and dimensionally is larger as well since the second-side-wall maximum inner-face width is the summation of the second-side-wall inner face and the secondary-outlet width dimensions). Regarding Claim 13, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 10, wherein the second floor is not coextensive with the first floor, and wherein the second-side-wall inner face is not coextensive with the first-side-wall inner face (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figures 5(A) and 1(E), wherein the first floor, identified as the guide wall 27 of discharge pipe 2, and the second floor, identified as plate material 11 of discharge passage 6, are not coextensive with each other as they exist on adjacent passageway wall inner-faces; see Yoshitaka, in further view of Annotated Figures 5(A) and 1(E), wherein the second-side-wall inner face is identified as the lip above the gauge opening 18, and the first-side-wall inner face is identified as guide surface 26, neither of which are coextensive with each other as they are on nearly opposite passage corners with respect to the elongated body of the quality control structure). Regarding Claim 14, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 10, wherein the second-side-wall inner face is opposite the first-side-wall inner face relative to the passageway (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figures 5(A) and 1(E), wherein the second-side-wall inner face is identified as the lip above the gauge opening 18, and the first-side-wall inner face is identified as guide surface 26, both of which are on nearly opposite passage corners with respect to the elongated body of the quality control structure). However, Modified Yoshitaka does not directly disclose the second floor is opposite the first floor relative to the passageway. However, pursuant of MPEP 2144.04-VI-C, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have rearranged the elongate body such that the second floor is opposite the first floor relative to the passageway , because the particular placement of the second floor or the first floor was a matter of design choice, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). For instance, the elongate body of the supply hose 24 has a bend such that a nut 7, which previously traveled along the equivalent of the bottom plate 23 of Annotated Figure 2, now travels along the equivalent of the upper plate 31. Rearranging the location of a pre-existing secondary outlet, or adding an additional secondary outlet such that an additional floor that is opposite the first floor or second floor, would be a matter of design choice. As evidenced by the lack of criticality within the specification describing the number of secondary outlets, i.e. “ one or more secondary outlets ” and “ any number of secondary outlets 30 may be utilized with a quality control structure 12, including three or more secondary outlets 30” (see Specification, Page 6, line 2 and lines 12-14), it can be deduced that a third secondary outlet positioned within the supply hose 24, or a rearranging of at least one of the pre-existing secondary outlets such that the first floor and second floor are opposite of each other, would not have modified the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Furthermore, having a second floor that is not opposite the first floor would still perform the same functions, as evidenced by the orientation of the gauge opening 18 and discharge port 22 disclosed by Yoshitaka in Annotated Figures 1(E) and 2, and thus would have predictable results within a reasonable expectation of success, with the same advantageous benefits of one or more secondary outlets of Modified Yoshitaka. Regarding Claim 15, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 5, wherein the passageway has a longitudinal axis (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 22, lines 25-26, wherein “the vibration direction of the parts feeder 1 and the longitudinal direction of the discharge port 22 intersect in a virtually horizontal virtual plane”) ; and wherein the elongate body comprises an inlet region defining the inlet (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 6(A), wherein the discharge passage 6 has an entrance in the bowl 3 that functions as the inlet, and the surrounding arc-shaped discharge passage 6 surrounding the vibration excitation case 4 is the inlet region) , a primary outlet region defining the primary outlet (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 1(D) and 3(A), wherein the area where the nut supply device 37 and the supply hose 24 contact is the primary outlet, and the associated region following the primary outlet where the nuts 7 stack for ready use by the supply rod 38, and where the exhaust port 44 is present, is the primary outlet region) , and a first secondary-outlet region that defines a first secondary outlet of the one or more secondary outlets (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 11, lines 23-24, wherein ” t he internal passage between this supply pipe 2 and the synthetic resin supply hose 24 connected to it constitutes the supply passage 25", and also functions as the first secondary-outlet region; see also Yoshitaka, Annotated Figure 2 and 3(A), wherein the first secondary-outlet region as a first secondary outlet, i.e. the discharge port 22) . Regarding Claim 16, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 15, wherein the longitudinal axis curves (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 22, lines 25-26, wherein “the vibration direction of the parts feeder 1 and the longitudinal direction of the discharge port 22 intersect in a virtually horizontal virtual plane”; see also Annotated Figures 1(D), 3(A), and 6(A), wherein the supply hose 24 curves, and thus the longitudinal axis, at the specific area of analysis when observing the cross-section of the supply hose 24, can be considered curved with respect to the original horizontal virtual plane). Regarding Claim 21, Yoshitaka in view of Chan discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 15, wherein the elongate body comprises: a first floor that faces the passageway and along which the properly sized collars are configured to roll or slide (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 20, lines 31-32 in view of Annotated Figure 5(A), wherein the first floor is the guiding wall 27, as disclosed, “as the nut 7 approaches the discharge port 22, it moves while rubbing against the guide wall 27 due to the inclination of the discharge pipe 2"); and a first side wall comprising a first-side-wall outer face that faces away from the passageway and a first-side-wall inner face that faces the passageway and extends from the first floor (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 5(A) and 5(B), wherein a lip, defined by the width of guide surfaces W2, is a first side wall, and further comprises a first-side-wall outer face on the underside of bottom plate 23, and a first-side-wall inner face functioning as the guide surface 26 where it comes in contact with a nut 7); wherein a first secondary outlet of the one or more secondary outlets extends through the first side wall (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figures 5(B) and 5(C), wherein the discharge port 22 extends through the first side wall, and wherein an inner surface 45 defines the extension of the discharge port through the bottom plate 23). Modified Yoshitaka does not disclose wherein the first floor twists within the first secondary-outlet region from proximate the inlet region toward the primary outlet region. However, pursuant of MPEP 2144.04-IV-B, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have changed the shape such that the first floor twists within the first secondary-outlet region from proximate the inlet region toward the primary outlet region , since it has been held that, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant, a configuration was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In view of Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 20, lines 1-8, and in further view of and Annotated Figure 3(A), it has already been noted that the discharge port 22 could be made of a synthetic resin supply hose 24, which would decrease the rigidity of the supply hose 24 itself, and increase the risk of bending or buckling at the outlet 22. For this reason, Yoshitaka discloses utilizing their rigid discharge pipe 2 (see Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 20, lines 6-8). However, there is no criticality expressed within the specification for needing the configuration wherein the first floor to twists within the first secondary-outlet region from proximate the inlet region toward the primary outlet region. This is supported by the Specification reciting, “ in some examples, the first floor 38 twists within the first secondary-outlet region 68 from proximate the inlet region 64 toward the primary outlet region 66 ” (see Specification, Page 8, lines 10-11), and later reciting “ and in some such examples, the second floor 50 similarly twists ” (see Specification, Page 8, lines 11-12), wherein no criticality is expressed in needing the floor to twist for the quality control structure to function adequately . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17-20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshitaka et al (JP 2008094618 A), herein after referred to as "Yoshitaka", in view of Chan et al (US 20220153451 A1), herein after referred to as "Chan", and in further view of Billiard et al (US 10875134 B2), herein after referred to as “Billiard” . Regarding Claim 17, Yoshitaka in view of Chan disclose the claimed invention above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka discloses the quality control structure of claim 15, wherein the longitudinal axis is straight (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 20, lines 1-8, wherein the discharge pipe 2 is rigid metal for this embodiment). Modified Yoshitaka does not disclose the longitudinal axis is straight within with inlet region and curves within the first secondary-outlet region . However, in an alternate embodiment, Yoshitaka discloses the longitudinal axis curves within the first secondary-outlet region (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 20, lines 1-8, wherein the discharge port was made of the same synthetic resin as the supply hose 24 which resulted in the rigidity of the supply hose 24 decreasing, and an increased risk of bending or buckling at the outlet 22, but otherwise was functional). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the structure of the discharge pipe 2 with the synthetic resin material that the supply hose 24 is made from as to foster increased flexibility for a quality control structure when operating in more narrow industrial environments. While the noted drawbacks primarily emphasis the risk of the discharge pipe 2 bending, and also the difficulties in managing pressure fluctuations within the hose (see Yoshitaka, English Translation, Page 20, lines 1-8), environments that offer narrow spaces for a quality control structure to operate in, and primarily rely on gravity assisted feeding of collars to an installation tool as opposed to pressurized blasts of air, would find such modifications an improvement, and thus someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would make such an improvement. Modified Yoshitaka still does not disclose the longitudinal axis is straight within with inlet region. However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Billiard discloses disclose the longitudinal axis is straight within with inlet region (Billiard: see Col. 4, line 37, and lines 48-52 in view of FIG. 1, wherein inlet 132 is a straight component for washers 116 to travel along). Both Modified Yoshitaka and Billiard disclose an apparatus for which fasteners travel upon, and wherein properly sized fasteners are filtered. Modified Yoshitaka discloses this through “a parts feeding device and feeding method that ensures the discharge of undersized parts and allows for smooth feeding by adequately following pressure fluctuations in the feeding passage” (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 1, lines 11-13). Billiard discloses this through “a washer dispensing system includes a retaining bin that is configured to receive washers within a washer-retaining chamber” which uses a vibration motor to move washers towards a discharge chute with “resilient stops 160 and 162”, wherein said resilient stops have a spring 166 extending into the washer delivery channel 128 that can be configured to “stop washers 116 of a particular diameter” (Billiard: see Col. 6, lines 19-37 in view of FIGS. 6 and 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus disclosed by Modified Yoshitaka to have included a retaining bin for receiving collars from the bowl 3 with a straight chute inlet instead of an open arc-shaped discharge passage 6 incorporated onto the case of the vibration excitation case 4 where minimal control is had over the rate in which collars are delivered. One would be motivated to do this for the benefits of having increased control over the delivery rate of collars into the retaining bin. Having a separate bin with a separate vibratory motor allows an operator “to control the vibration motor 142 to ensure a desired delivery rate of the washers 116 into the bin outlet 122”, thus offering increased control, and furthermore can rely on gravity instead to deliver collars down a passage (Billiard: see Col. 5, lines 27-32), which is a benefit for embodiments of Modified Yoshitaka where narrow space for implementation might require steep sliding angles for a collar to travel along. The result of this modification is a more controlled entrance of collars from the bowl 3, with bowl 3 having its own vibration excitation unit, that feeds collars into a retaining bin near the entrance of the discharge passage 6 seen in Annotated Figure 6(A). By limiting the flow of collars, users have increased control over the undesirable structures sorting speed. Regarding Claim 18, Yoshitaka in view of Chan, and in further view of Billiard, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 17, wherein the elongate body further comprises a second secondary-outlet region that defines a second secondary outlet of the one or more secondary outlets (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figures 1(D) and 1(E), wherein the second secondary-outlet region is discharge passage 6, and more specifically the undersized nut discharge section 20, while the secondary outlet is the gauge opening 18) ; and wherein the longitudinal axis curves within the second secondary-outlet region (see Annotated Figure 1(D), wherein the retaining bin disclosed by Modified Yoshitaka will feed a controlled rate of collars into the discharge passage 6, and the discharge passage 6 is arc-shaped, notably having an arc-shape over the undersized nut discharge section 20) . Regarding Claim 19, Yoshitaka in view of Chan, and in further view of Billiard, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 17, wherein the longitudinal axis is straight within the primary outlet region (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 1(D), wherein the longitudinal axis seen in the nut supply device 37 where the supply hose 24 contacts is a straight line, and is the primary outlet region) . Regarding Claim 20, Yoshitaka in view of Chan, and in further view of Billiard, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 19. Modified Yoshitaka, in the current embodiment, does not disclose wherein the longitudinal axis within the inlet region is parallel to or colinear with the longitudinal axis within the primary outlet region. However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Chan discloses wherein the longitudinal axis within the inlet region is parallel to or colinear with the longitudinal axis within the primary outlet region (Chan: see Paragraphs [0114-0115] in view of FIGs. 3 and 5, wherein the point of contact between tube 506 and magazine 504 functions as an inlet, and collar holder 500 is a component of the offset swage assembly 310 which functions as a primary outlet region, both of which appear parallel with respect to the z-axis 322 of FIG. 3) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the disclosed parallel longitudinal axis with respect to a z-axis by Chan with the Modified Yoshitaka as the collars delivered to the nut supply device 37 in Annotated Figures 1(D) and 3(A) do not appear to have any retaining mechanism to keep them from traveling against the flow of collars (i.e. up the supply hose 24 and towards the opposite direction of flow of collars). Keeping a vertically-aligned inlet region and primary outlet region will help gravity act upon the travel of the collar, and keep already delivered collars within the nut supply device 37. Regarding Claim 23, Yoshitaka in view of Chan, and in further view of Billiard, discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Modified Yoshitaka further discloses the quality control structure of claim 15, wherein the elongate body comprises: a first floor that faces the passageway and along which the properly sized collars are configured to roll or slide (Yoshitaka: see English Translation, Page 20, lines 31-32 in view of Annotated Figure 5(A), wherein the first floor is the guide wall 27, as disclosed “as the nut 7 approaches the discharge port 22, it moves while rubbing against the guide wall 27 due to the inclination of the discharge pipe 2”) ; and a first side wall comprising a first-side-wall outer face that faces away from the passageway and a first-side-wall inner face that faces the passageway and extends from the first floor (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 5(A) and 5(B), wherein a lip defined by width of guide surface W2, is a first side wall, further comprising a first-side-wall outer face on the underside of the bottom plate 23, and a first-side-wall inner face functioning as the guide surface 26, of which the lip extends from the guide wall 27); wherein a first secondary outlet of the one or more secondary outlets extends through the first side wall (Yoshitaka: see Annotated Figure 5(B) and 5(C), wherein the discharge port 22 extends through the first side wall, guide surface 26, and wherein inner surface 45 defines the extension of the discharge port 22 through the bottom plate 23); and wherein the first-side-wall inner face ramps toward the longitudinal axis away the first secondary outlet opposite the inlet region (Billiard: see Col. 6, lines 40-47, wherein “the delivery end 134 may include a lower catch at a distal edge that stops the washers 116 over the recessed opening 136” and “in at least one other embodiment, interior surfaces of the side rails 126 may taper down towards the delivery end 134 to stop the washers 116 over the recessed opening 136”). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JON M HEGEMIER whose telephone number is (571)467-6405. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00-5:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached at 313-446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JON M HEGEMIER/Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 11 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 12 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 13 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 14 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 15 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 16 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 17 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 18 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 19 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 20 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 21 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 22 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 23 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 24 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 25 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 26 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 27 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 28 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 29 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 30 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/439,470 Page 31 Art Unit: 3723