2. This Office Action is an answer to RCE filed on 2/26/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, wherein claims 1-6, 9-17, 19, and 20 are amended.
Response
Since applicant amends pending claims’ limitations in this RCE, the examiner withdraws prior grounds of rejections (12/31/2025); therefore, arguments for the prior grounds of rejections are moot; new grounds of rejections are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
4. Claims 1-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster et al (US Pub 20230119659 A1 – hereafter Foster’659), in view of Zeytoojian (US Pat. 5610586 A).
A. Per claims 1, 9: Applicant claims a method and its implemented system on a vehicle (in pending claim 11, (an EV encompasses a lightweight utility vehicle (LUV) or an open cabin vehicle (OCV)) since applicant claims similar functionalities of these vehicles), wherein these vehicle comprises an onboard controller (as suggested by Zeytoojian) , comprising:
- automatically and remotely detect detecting operation of EVs/LUVs/OCVs within a site defined by a geographic boundary using geo-positioning system (GPS) data (see Zeytoojian FIG. 1A,, 1H, col. 8 lines 61-67, see Foster’659 para. [0067]);
automatically detecting by a fleet management system (see Zeytoojian FIG.4; see Foster’659 para. [0075]-[0077]) operation of the vehicle -and ceasing for making updates/corrections (e.g., “YOU ARE ENTERING A RESTRICTED AREA PLEASE DEPART” see Zeytoojian FIG. 4),
Foster’659 does not disclose that the site has a governing body associated therewith for establishing regulations regarding operation of the golf cart within the site; however, Zeytoojian suggests that feature, see Zeytoojian FIG. 4, col. 3 lines 22-28, col. 8 lines 61-67, and col.9 lines 40-50).
Foster’659 does not disclose about detecting a referenced area/region/zone; however, Zeytoojian teaches that feature, see Zeytoojian FIGs 1A, 4, and col. 3 lines 22-28) within a site defined by a geographic boundary (e.g., using receiving antenna 20a/20b on cart 224 to alert when closely to a boundary, (see Zeytoojian FIGs 1F, 4);
Foster’659 also suggests about accessing from a database associated with the fleet management system operational characteristics associated with the site (see Foster’659 para. [0291], wherein the operational characteristics comprise rules/regulations while operating a vehicle ((see Foster’659 para. [0084]) and
wirelessly communicating by the fleet management system to the onboard controller the providing to the vehicle operational characteristics associated with the site (see Foster’659 para. [0081], see Zeytoojian FIGs 1F, 4 – a driver takes control of the vehicle);
providing to the vehicle operational characteristics associated with the site (e.g., disclosing a max speed limit within the site on a monitoring screen from a database, (see Zeytoojian col. 8 lines 61-67, and col. 18 lines 25-45).wherein the onboard controller causes” the vehicle to operate in accordance with the operational characteristics (e.g., a communication frequency or a moving speed in a specific zone) while the vehicle remains within the site (e.g., disclosing a max speed limit within the site, this number would be used as advised, see Foster’659 para. [0069], [0287] and see Zeytoojian col. 8 lines 61-67).
Foster’659 and Zeytoojian do not disclose that vehicle is an OCV or a lightweight utility vehicle (LUV); however, applicant further defines an OCV/a LUV is an EV golf cart taught by Zeytoojian FIG 1A (see applicant’s pending claims 2, and 11); therefore, Zeytoojian and Foster’659 suggests that idea (i.e., an autonomous vehicle is a golf-cart, see Foster’659, para. [0288]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Foster’659 with Zeytoojian to clearly identify a geographic boundary of the site with antennas to guarantee the electronic communications between the fleet of golf carts and a communication center are kept within the restrict area 122 (see Zeytoojian col. 15 lines 48-57 )
B. Per claims 2 3: Zeytoojian also suggests the OCV comprises a golf cart and the site comprises at least one of a golf course and a different site/residential neighborhood (see Zeytoojian FIG. 1F ref. 224, and FIG. 4)
C. Per dependent claim 3: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 1 are incorporated:
Foster’659 also discloses a fleet of OCV, using for a certain type of conditions (see Foster’659 para. [0083]).
D. Per dependent claim 4: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 1 are incorporated:
Foster’659 also suggests about updating the vehicle operational characteristics associated with the site (e.g., updating a map information, see Foster’659 para. [0193]).
Foster’659 and Zeytoojian also suggest about wirelessly communicating providing the updated vehicle operational characteristics associated with the site to the vehicle (see Foster’659 para. [0064], see Zeytoojian FIG. 4).
E. Per dependent claim 5: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 4 are incorporated:
Foster’659 also suggests about updating, the onboard controller ceases controlling operation of the OCV by the driver operating the OCV in accordance with the operational characteristics while the OCV remains within the site and instead controls operation of the OCV by the driver in accordance with the updated operational characteristics while the OCV remains within the site (e.g., “to adjust the heading of autonomous vehicle 105 in an autonomous mode or in a driver-controlled mode.” see Foster’659 para. [0067]).
F. Per claim 6: Foster’965 also suggests that the data updating occurs automatically throughout operation of the vehicle (see Foster’659, para.[0011], see Zaeytoonjian FIG. 4).
Foster’965 fails to disclose that the data updating occurs periodically; however, Zaeytoonjian suggests that updating fashion (see Zaeytoonjian col. 24 lines 14-25).
5. Claims 7-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster’659, in view of Zeytoojian, and in view of Abir et al (US 20220299593 A1 – hereafter Abir’593).
A. Per dependent claim 7: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 4 are incorporated:
Foster’659 and Zeytoojian, do not suggest about using AI; however Abir’593 suggests that the updating is performed using artificial intelligence (e.g., training a machine learning model, see Abir’593 claim 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Foster’659 with Zeytoojian, and with Abir’593 to use AI to recognize and using quicker accurate data in operating a fleet of OCV.
B. Per dependent claim 8: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 4 are incorporated:
Foster’965 also suggests that data updating is performed manually by an operator for a particular site (see Foster’965 para. [0062]).
6. Claims 11-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foster’659, in view of Zeytoojian, and in view of Bluethmann et al (US Pub. 20150083508 A1).
A. Per claims 11, and 16: The rationales and references for rejections of claim 1 are incorporated.
Foster’659 and Zeytoojian do not disclose about a passenger seating area; and
a canopy disposed over the passenger seating area (e.g., a seating area on an EV cover w/ 4 sticks); however, Bluethmann suggests those ideas (see Bluethmann, Fig. 1 ref. 26, and paragraphs [0021], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Foster’659 in view of Zeytoojian, in view of Bluethmann’508 with a passenger seating area on a golf cart, having a canopy over the passenger seating area to increase a passenger’s level of comfortability of a golf cart against different inclement weather.
B. Per dependent claim 12: Foster’659 and Zeytoojian also suggest a fleet of golf carts operating on a site/(a golf court) (see Foster’659 para. [0288], see Zeytoojian FIG. 1H, 4).
C. Per dependent claim 13: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 11 are incorporated:
Foster’659 and Zeytoojian suggests a vehicle to receive additional operational characteristics from the fleet management system, wherein the additional operational characteristics are associated with an identity of the EV (e.g., identifying a vehicle see Foster’650 claims 13, 19 , or see Zeytoojian col.5 lines30- 45) and wherein the onboard controller further causes the EV to operate in accordance with the additional operational characteristics while the EV remains within the site (e.g., updated data are exchanged to transmit and to receive via reference 370, see Foster’659, FIG. 3, para.[0294], and see Zeytoojian FIG. 1H, 4),
D. Per dependent claim 14: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 11 are incorporated:
Applicant claims that the governing body comprises a first governing body, and the geographic boundary comprises a first geographic boundary, wherein when the EV ceases operation within the first site and begins operation within a second site defined by a second geographic boundary and having a second governing body associated therewith for establishing regulations regarding operation of the EV within the second site, the onboard controller is further configured to receive from the fleet management
Zeytoojian suggests there are different sites (internal, and external sites) obviously having different governing bodies (see Zeytoojian col. 9 lines 40-50 and FIG. 1A).
E. Per dependent claim 16: The claimed limitations are similar to limitations of claims 11, and 14; therefore, similar rationales and references are also applied for an obvious rejection.
F. Per dependent claim 17: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 11 are incorporated:
Zeytoojian suggests about automatically detect at least one of an identity of the EV ;
access from the database second operational characteristics associated with the at least
one of the detected identity of the EV and the detected type of the EV; and
wirelessly communicate to the onboard computer of the EV data comprising a different operational characteristics (e.g., an alarm status, see Zeytoojian FIG. 1F, 1H, 4)..
G. Per dependent claim 18: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 16 are incorporated:
The claimed limitations are similar to limitations of claim 8; therefore, similar rationales and references are also applied for an obvious rejection.
H. Per dependent claim 19: The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 16 are incorporated:
Foster’965 also suggests that the data updating occurs automatically throughout operation of the vehicle (see Foster’659, para.[0011], see Zaeytoonjian FIG. 4).
Foster’965 fails to disclose that the data updating occurs periodically; however, Zaeytoonjian suggests that updating fashion (see Zaeytoonjian col. 24 lines 14-25).
Claim Objections
7. Per dependent claims 10, and 15: Foster’659 and Zeytoojian do not disclose that the operational characteristics comprise a maximum vehicle speed, vehicle battery charge characteristics, vehicle battery discharge characteristics, inertial measurement unit characteristics, data privacy requirements, a motor controller software version, and smart regeneration characteristics.
Pending claims 10, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. Pending claims 1-9, 11-14, 16-20 are rejected; claims 10, and 15 are objected because they are dependent of a rejected claim.
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Cuong H Nguyen whose telephone number is (571) 272-6759 (email address is cuong.nguyen@uspto.gov). The examiner can normally be reached on M - F: 10:30AM- 6:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, BENDIDI RACHID can be reached on (571) 272-4896. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only, For more information about the PAIR system, see https//ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll- free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CUONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664