This action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/22/26.
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagasaka et al. (2012/0061117).
Regarding claim 1, Nagasaka discloses an accessory configured to fix to a hand-held power tool, the hand-held power tool (1) directly coupled to a battery pack (15) which powers to a drive motor (as sown in Fig. 6) of the hand-held power tool, the accessory comprising: a battery protection element (50; Fig. 3) configured to enclose the battery pack, arranged on with the battery pack directly coupled to the hand-held power tool, at least in sections, and to protect the battery in the event of impact pulses occurring (as best shown in Figs. 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 2, Nagasaka discloses wherein the accessory further comprising: a base body (i.e. bottom portion) configured integrally with the battery protection element (Figs. 2, 7, 10).
Regarding claim 3, Nagasaka discloses wherein the battery protection element (50) comprises plastic (par. 41).
Regarding claims 4-7, 12 and 17, Nagasaka discloses wherein the battery protection element (50) forms a trough-shaped receptacle configured to receive the battery pack arranged on the hand-held power tool (Fig. 4); and forms a plate-shaped protective body (Figs. 7 and 10; e.g. the base is formed of walls and or plates); a base body connected to the battery protection element via a detachable connection (57).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 14, Nagasaka discloses a power tool system comprising: a hand-held power tool having a drive motor (Fig. 6) and on which a battery pack (15) for supplying power to the drive motor is arranged; and an accessory (50) comprising a battery protection element configured to enclose the battery pack arranged on the hand-held power tool at least in sections and to protect the battery in the event of impact pulses occurring, wherein each of the battery pack (15) and the accessory (50) are configured to be coupled to the hand-held power tool independently of the other of the battery pack and the accessory (Figs. 3-6); the protection element has a side wall and a bottom surface (Figs. 3-4); wherein the battery protection element is configured as a dust collection container; wherein the hand-held power tool is an impact/drilling machine or hammer drill (par. 71).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka et al. (2012/0061117).
Regarding claim 8, Nagasaka discloses an accessory, as disclosed above, comprising a base body (base body walls as shown in Figs. 7 and 10) and protection element (50 made of plastic), but fails to disclose wherein the base body comprises a first material and the battery protection element comprises a second material that is different from the first material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the protection element and the base body from different materials as a matter of routine engineering design choice and material selection according to the different functions and mechanical requirements of the components. The material of the battery protection element could be selected to provide suitable impact resistance, rigidity, abrasion resistance, and protection of the battery, while the material of the base body could independently be selected based on considerations such as weight, manufacturability, structural support, and cost. Thus, selecting different known materials for the battery protection element and the base body according to the respective requirements of those components would have involved no more than the predictable use of known materials according to their established properties and would have yielded the predictable result of providing each component with properties suitable for its intended function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE LOPEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731