DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1a. Claims 1, 4, 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20230262758).
1b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Kim discloses a method for performing sending in WLAN network.
1c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses:
A method for wireless communication (Figs 3-4, 9 and 11, WLAN Sensing operations), comprising:
Sending, by a first device (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Initiator), a first request frame (Fig 11, NDPA, Null Data Packet Announcement; NDP 1, Null Data Packet; see: [0136] An existing NDPA frame or a trigger frame may be used as a sensing initiation frame, and an NDP frame may be used as a sensing frame) to a second device (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder; see: [0109] For example, the initiator may transmit a sensing initiation frame, and may transmit a sensing frame (i.e., NDP1) after transmitting the sensing initiation frame),
the first request frame (Fig 11, NDPA or NDP 1) being configured to request establishing (see: [0108] Referring to FIG. 11, the initiator may request channel measurement information from the responder every sensing frame (i.e., NDP frame) transmission) a measurement of target type (Table 2, Measurement Types and Parameters);
wherein the first request frame (Fig 11, NDPA or NDP 1) comprises at least one of following:
first indication information (see: [0196] For example, the sensing initiation frame may further include information related to how many subcarriers the channel state information is measured in), configured to indicate a type of to-be-established measurement (Table 2, Measurement Types and Parameters; see: [0108] Referring to FIG. 11, the initiator may request channel measurement information from the responder every sensing frame (i.e., NDP frame) transmission);
second indication information (see: [0106] … Information on a specific number of times may be additionally included in the session initiation frame), configured to indicate measurement setup request information (see: [0106] … Feedback may be channel measurement information for a specific number of NDPs or average channel measurement information for a specific number of NDP transmissions) corresponding to sensing responder(s) participating in the measurement (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder);
or third indication information, configured to indicate a method used by the second device to process measurement result(s) reported by the sensing responder(s) and/or parameters used by the second device to process the measurement result(s) reported by the sensing responder(s) (Fig 4, Reporting; see: [0201] The WLAN Sensing initiator may transmit a sensing initiation frame for initiation of sensing. The sensing initiation frame may include information on a STA participating in sensing as a responder (e.g., AID, STA ID, etc.), sensing duration, number of times of sensing, feedback method, frequency of feedback, and information related to sensing information and feedback);
wherein the first indication information (see: [0196] For example, the sensing initiation frame may further include information related to how many subcarriers the channel state information is measured in) is configured to indicate establishment of a Trigger Based (TB) measurement (see: [0136] An existing NDPA frame or a trigger frame may be used as a sensing initiation frame, and an NDP frame may be used as a sensing frame; Examiner’s Note: NDPA or Trigger frames are used to trigger measurements).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses:
Receiving (Fig 11, Feedback), by the first device (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Initiator), a first response frame (Fig 11, Feedback) sent by the second device (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder);
the first response frame (Fig 11, Feedback) comprising measurement setup response information (Fig 4, Setup; see: [0094] … the feedback method can be specified in explicit, implicit, or hybrid form by an indicator. …. For example, a 2-bit indicator may have values such as “00” (explicit feedback), “01” (implicit feedback), “10” (hybrid feedback), and “11” (reserved). Examiner’s Note: the feedback method is part of the response information as implied) of at least one sensing responder (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder);
and/or measurement setup response information of the second device (Fig 4, Setup; see: [0094] … the feedback method can be specified in explicit, implicit, or hybrid form by an indicator. …. For example, a 2-bit indicator may have values such as “00” (explicit feedback), “01” (implicit feedback), “10” (hybrid feedback), and “11” (reserved). Examiner’s Note: the feedback method is part of the response information as implied) of at least one sensing responder (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses:
wherein the measurement setup response information (Fig 4, Setup) of the second device (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder) comprises at least one of following:
whether the second device agrees to establish the measurement,
a reason code of the second device disagreeing to establish the measurement,
measurement setup identifier (ID), a type of the measurement determined to establish by the second device,
or a method determined by the second device to process a measurement result(s) reported by the sensing responder(s) (Fig 4, Reporting; see: [0201] The WLAN Sensing initiator may transmit a sensing initiation frame for initiation of sensing. The sensing initiation frame may include information on a STA participating in sensing as a responder (e.g., AID, STA ID, etc.), sensing duration, number of times of sensing, feedback method, frequency of feedback, and information related to sensing information and feedback).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses:
wherein the first device is a station (STA) device (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Initiator), and the second device is an Access Point (AP) device (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder; see: Fig3; [0031] For example, the STAs 110 and 120 may serve as an AP or a non-AP).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses:
wherein the measurement of target type is a Trigger Based (TB) measurement (Fig 11; see: [0136] An existing NDPA frame or a trigger frame may be used as a sensing initiation frame, and an NDP frame may be used as a sensing frame).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 2-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230262758) in view of Chitrakar (US 20230319877 A1).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Kim discloses a method for performing sending in WLAN network.
Chitrakar discloses a method for WLAN sending for channel measurements.
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses:
wherein the measurement setup request information (Fig 4, Setup; see: [0196] For example, the sensing initiation frame may further include information related to how many subcarriers the channel state information is measured in) corresponding to the sensing responder(s) (Fig 11, WLAN Sensing Responder) comprises at least one of following:
role information of the sensing responder(s) in the measurement,
report type information (see: [0004] … The sensing initiation frame may include information related to a feedback method and feedback frequency) of how the sensing responder(s) report the measurement result(s) (see: [0106] … Feedback may be channel measurement information for a specific number of NDPs or average channel measurement information for a specific number of NDP transmissions)
or measurement threshold information.
Kim does not disclose role.
Further, Chitrakar discloses role information:
role information of the sensing responder(s) in the measurement (Fig 9, WLAN sensing capabilities in Response frame 906; Table 1; see: [0062] … In particular, a capability bit may indicate that the 11bf device is: (i) a sensing requester, i.e. a device capable of requesting another device to transmit sounding PPDUs and providing channel measurement results to higher layer application; (ii) a sensing responder, i.e. a device capable of acting as a WLAN Sensing Responder and can transmit sounding PPDU(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Kim’s method for performing sending in WLAN network with Chitrakar’s method for WLAN sending for channel measurements with the motivation being to provide use cases that do not require high resolution sensing (Chitrakar, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim does not disclose role information.
However, Chitrakar discloses role information.
wherein the role information (Fig 9, WLAN sensing capabilities in Response frame 906; Table 1; see: [0062] … In particular, a capability bit may indicate that the 11bf device is: (i) a sensing requester, i.e. a device capable of requesting another device to transmit sounding PPDUs and providing channel measurement results to higher layer application; (ii) a sensing responder, i.e. a device capable of acting as a WLAN Sensing Responder and can transmit sounding PPDU(s)) of the sensing responder(s) (Fig 10, Responder 1004) in the measurement comprises at least one of following:
whether a sensing responder (Fig 10, Responder 1004) is used as a sensing receiver in the measurement (see: [0062] … In particular, a capability bit may indicate that the 11bf device is: ….. (ii) a sensing responder, i.e. a device capable of acting as a WLAN Sensing Responder and can transmit sounding PPDU(s))
or whether a sensing responder (Fig 10, Responder 1004) is used as a sensing transmitter in the measurement (see: [0062] … In particular, a capability bit may indicate that the 11bf device is: (i) a sensing requester, i.e. a device capable of requesting another device to transmit sounding PPDUs and providing channel measurement results to higher layer application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Kim’s method for performing sending in WLAN network with Chitrakar’s method for WLAN sending for channel measurements with the motivation being to provide use cases that do not require high resolution sensing (Chitrakar, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses:
wherein the measurement setup response information of (Fig 4, Setup; see: [0196] For example, the sensing initiation frame may further include information related to how many subcarriers the channel state information is measured in) the sensing responder comprises at least one of following:
a reason code of the sensing responder disagreeing to participate in the measurement,
role information of the sensing responder in the measurement,
report type information (Fig 4, Setup; see: [0094] … the feedback method can be specified in explicit, implicit, or hybrid form by an indicator. …. For example, a 2-bit indicator may have values such as “00” (explicit feedback), “01” (implicit feedback), “10” (hybrid feedback), and “11” (reserved) of how the sensing responder reports a measurement result (see: [0094] … the feedback method can be specified in explicit, implicit, or hybrid form by an indicator. …. For example, a 2-bit indicator may have values such as “00” (explicit feedback), “01” (implicit feedback), “10” (hybrid feedback), and “11” (reserved). Examiner’s Note: the feedback method is part of the response information as implied);
or measurement threshold information.
Kim does not disclose role information.
Further, Chitrakar discloses role information:
role information of the sensing responder in the measurement (Fig 9, WLAN sensing capabilities in Response frame 906; Table 1; see: [0062] … In particular, a capability bit may indicate that the 11bf device is: (i) a sensing requester, i.e. a device capable of requesting another device to transmit sounding PPDUs and providing channel measurement results to higher layer application; (ii) a sensing responder, i.e. a device capable of acting as a WLAN Sensing Responder and can transmit sounding PPDU(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Kim’s method for performing sending in WLAN network with Chitrakar’s method for WLAN sending for channel measurements with the motivation being to provide use cases that do not require high resolution sensing (Chitrakar, [0004]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim does not disclose this claim.
However, Chitrakar discloses:
wherein the measurement setup ID is generated by the second device (Fig 21B; see: [0132] … The Request frame 2112 may specifies IDs of STA3, STA4 and transmission parameters to be used by the Response PPDUs; Examiner’s Note: the responder generates response IDs based on the request frame IDs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Kim’s method for performing sending in WLAN network with Chitrakar’s method for WLAN sending for channel measurements with the motivation being to provide use cases that do not require high resolution sensing (Chitrakar, [0004]).
Regarding Claims 10-18, the claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1-9, and are rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claims 19-20, the claims disclose similar features as of Claims 1-2, and are rejected accordingly. Further, Claims 19-20 perform the same operations of claims 1-2, but are performed by a receiver.
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473