Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 8, “the extending portion” lacks antecedent basis. It will be assumed this is referring to the first body. The reference to the extending portion in line 9 will also be assumed to be referring to the first body. Also in line 8, “the receiving portion” lacks antecedent basis. Furthermore, in line 13, “the engagement portion” lacks antecedent basis, and it will be assumed this is referring to the second engagement portion.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 9A shows multiple views, of parts of the assembly being arranged into a final assembly, combined into a single view. These should be labeled separately and not have an arrow therebetween.
Figure 9C shows two views, including a magnification view. These should be separately labeled.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3, 5, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 11 – 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684 in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0357717 (“Hendricks”).
Hendricks teaches a multi part artificial tree which includes first and second trunk section, with a first trunk section having a handle 112 which is rotatable with respect to the first trunk section as seen in Figure 2. It would have been obvious to include a handle as taught by Hendricks because the handle can be used to safely manipulate the trunk and move between a stowed position and a locked position during assembly of the tree.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684 in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,209,546 (“Gibboney”).
Claim 4 claims the first and second electrical contacts, but does not claim one or more first and second wires in electrical communication with the respective contacts. However, Gibboney teaches a tree coupler system with rotating first and second connectors having first and second contacts, where first and second wires (38/48) are in electrical communication with the first and second contacts. It would have been obvious to provide wires in communication with the contacts because wires are a useful and cost effective way to connect to the various electrical elements spread out away from the connector contacts along the tree body.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684 in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,209,546 (“Gibboney”) and U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0256898 (“Oceguda Gallaga”).
The wires at least partially disposed within their respective trunk sections is not claimed. However, Oceguda Gallaga teaches wires 500 which are engaged to contacts of a coupling member on an end of a trunk, and teaches disposing at least a partial section of the wires within the trunk (see Figs. 2A – 2CD). It would have been obvious to dispose the wires in their respective trunks as taught by Oceguda Gallaga because this protects the wires within the body of the trunk as they are extended to other parts of the tree assembly.
Claims 15 – 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 19 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,684. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gibboney.
Regarding claim 1, Gibboney discloses a coupler system for an artificial tree, the coupler system comprising:
a first coupler (18) comprising:
a first body (the housing of 24) having an outer diameter (see portion 70 having outer diameter, Fig. 7);
a first plurality of electrical contacts (78) affixed to the first body; and
a first engagement portion (68);
a second coupler (14) comprising:
a second body (housing of 14) having an inner diameter (see inner diameter of portion 32, Fig. 7), the inner diameter being greater than the outer diameter of the first body portion such that a receiving portion can receive at least a portion of the first body (see Figs. 3 – 4 and 9);
a second plurality of electrical contacts (76) affixed to the second body; and
a second engagement portion (64);
wherein the coupler system is configured such that when the first coupler engages the second coupler, the first engagement portion engages the engagement portion thereby causing the first coupler to rotate relative the second coupler until each electrical contact of the first plurality of electrical contacts aligns with a respective electrical contact of the second plurality of electrical contacts (see the abstract and Figs. 4 – 7).
Regarding claim 2, Gibboney discloses a first trunk section (20) comprising: the first coupler (18 is upon 20, see Fig. 4); and a first end (end of 20); and a second trunk section (16) comprising: the second coupler (14 is upon 16, see Fig. 4); and a second end (the end of 16).
Regarding claim 13, Gibboney discloses wherein each electrical contact of the first plurality of electrical contacts is in electrical communication with one or more first wires (48) and each electrical contact of the second plurality of electrical contacts is in electrical communication with one or more second wires (38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibboney in view of Hendricks.
Regarding claims 11 – 12, Gibboney does not disclose wherein the first trunk section further comprises a handle, and wherein the handle is rotatable with respect to the first trunk section.
However, Hendricks teaches a multi part artificial tree which includes first and second trunk section, with a first trunk section having a handle 112 which is rotatable with respect to the first trunk section as seen in Figure 2. It would have been obvious to include a handle as taught by Hendricks because the handle can be used to safely manipulate the trunk and move between a stowed position and a locked position during assembly of the tree.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibboney in view of Oceguda Gallaga.
Regarding claim 14, Gibboeny does not disclose wherein the one or more first wires are at least partially disposed within the first trunk section and the one or more second wires are at least partially disposed within the second trunk section.
However, Oceguda Gallaga teaches wires 500 which are engaged to contacts of a coupling member on an end of a trunk, and teaches disposing at least a partial section of the wires within the trunk (see Figs. 2A – 2CD). It would have been obvious to dispose the wires in their respective trunks as taught by Oceguda Gallaga because this protects the wires within the body of the trunk as they are extended to other parts of the tree assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harshman discloses a camming connector with a slot.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831