This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/439,539 filed on 02/12/2024.
Claims 1-11, 12-18, 19-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO ( US 20250310070, hereinafter, CAO’s 070 ) in view of HE et al. ( US 20260019221, hereinafter, HE’s 221 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20250310070 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation ( activate the TCI state ) [see Paragraph 0088 & 0089 ] information associated with identifying a set of carriers ( set of component carriers , CC list ) , wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values ( the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of a mTRP mode, or a sTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0103 – 0107 ]
(receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers, wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ] ;
However, US 20250310070, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, does not explicitly teach a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode of the carrier.
US 20260019221, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (set of component carriers) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier (maintained TCI states of the carrier ) [see Figure 5B and Paragraphs 0047 & 0045 & 0044 ] , and a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode of the carrier (communication configuration associated with sTRP mode, mTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0054 ], the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value (the TRP mode being based at least in part a sTRP mode, mTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0054 ] , of the set of TRP mode values [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0010 & 0011 & 0018 & 0026 & 0048 & 0049 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 ].
Thus, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20250310070 in view of US 20260019221 because US 20260019221 suggests that it is able to support the exponential growth in mobile data traffic in 5G and to enhance the coverage, the wireless devices access networks composed of mTRPs (e.g., macro-cells, small cells, pico-cells, femto-cells, remote radio heads, relay nodes, etc.).
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: receive radio resource control signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of carriers to the set of TRP mode values (wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: receive radio resource control signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of carriers to the set of TRP mode values ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the set of carriers includes a set of component carriers or a set of bandwidth parts ( wherein the set of carriers includes a set of component carriers or a set of bandwidth parts ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of: a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode, or a single-TRP (sTRP) mode ( wherein the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of: a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode, or a single-TRP (sTRP) mode ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state (wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the set of carriers maps to the set of TRP mode values based at least in part on a TCI configuration (wherein the set of carriers maps to the set of TRP mode values based at least in part on a TCI configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 12, US 20250310070 teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
Transmit transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation ( activate the TCI state ) [see Paragraph 0088 & 0089 ] information associated with identifying a set of carriers ( set of component carriers , CC list ) , wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values ( the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of a mTRP mode, or a sTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0103 – 0107 ]
(receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers, wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ] ;
However, US 20250310070, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, does not explicitly teach a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode of the carrier.
US 20260019221, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (set of component carriers) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier (maintained TCI states of the carrier ) [see Figure 5B and Paragraphs 0047 & 0045 & 0044 ] , and a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode of the carrier (communication configuration associated with sTRP mode, mTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0054 ], the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value (the TRP mode being based at least in part a sTRP mode, mTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0054 ] , of the set of TRP mode values [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0010 & 0011 & 0018 & 0026 & 0048 & 0049 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 ].
Thus, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20250310070 in view of US 20260019221 because US 20260019221 suggests that it is able to support the exponential growth in mobile data traffic in 5G and to enhance the coverage, the wireless devices access networks composed of mTRPs (e.g., macro-cells, small cells, pico-cells, femto-cells, remote radio heads, relay nodes, etc.).
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: transmit radio resource control signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of carriers to the set of TRP mode values (wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: transmit radio resource control signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of carriers to the set of TRP mode values) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 14, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the set of carriers includes a set of component carriers or a set of bandwidth parts ( wherein the set of carriers includes a set of component carriers or a set of bandwidth parts ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 15, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of: a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode, or a single-TRP (sTRP) mode ( wherein the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of: a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode, or a single-TRP (sTRP) mode ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 16, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state ( wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 17, US 20250310070 further teaches wherein the set of carriers maps to the set of TRP mode values based at least in part on a TCI configuration ( wherein the set of carriers maps to the set of TRP mode values based at least in part on a TCI configuration ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ].
Regarding to the claim 19, US 20250310070 teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment ( UE ), comprising:
Receiving transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation ( activate the TCI state ) [see Paragraph 0088 & 0089 ] information associated with identifying a set of carriers ( set of component carriers , CC list ) , wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values ( the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of a mTRP mode, or a sTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0103 – 0107 ]
(receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers, wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values ) [see Paragraphs 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0096 & 0098 & 0099 & 0100 & 0103 & 0105 & 0107 & 0108 & 0110 & 0111 & 0113 & 0114 & 0140 & 0160 & 0177 & 0178 & 0180 & 0181 & 0186 & 0190 & 0194 & 0196 & 0200 & 0238 & 0239 & 0253 & 0257 & 0261 & 0277 & 0278 & 0292 & 0296 ] ;
However, US 20250310070, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, does not explicitly teach a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode of the carrier.
US 20260019221, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (set of component carriers) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier (maintained TCI states of the carrier ) [see Figure 5B and Paragraphs 0047 & 0045 & 0044 ] , and a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode of the carrier (communication configuration associated with sTRP mode, mTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0054 ], the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value (the TRP mode being based at least in part a sTRP mode, mTRP mode ) [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0054 ] , of the set of TRP mode values [see Paragraphs 0008 & 0009 & 0010 & 0011 & 0018 & 0026 & 0048 & 0049 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 ].
Thus, it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20250310070 in view of US 20260019221 because US 20260019221 suggests that it is able to support the exponential growth in mobile data traffic in 5G and to enhance the coverage, the wireless devices access networks composed of mTRPs (e.g., macro-cells, small cells, pico-cells, femto-cells, remote radio heads, relay nodes, etc.).
Regarding to the claim 20, US 20250310070 further teaches receiving radio resource control signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of carriers to the set of TRP mode values (receiving RRC signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of component carriers such first CC supports a sTRP transmission mode, the second CC supports an sDCI-mTRP transmission mode, the third CC supports an mDCI-mTRP transmission mode) [see Paragaraphs 0101 & 0100 & 0099 ].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of the one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier, or a quantity of control resource set pool indices of the one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on: a quantity of configured control resource set pool indices of the TCI state of the carrier.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the MAC control element type corresponds to a quantity of TCI codepoints or a quantity of TCI states activatable by a MAC control element configuring the carrier.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of the one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier, or a quantity of control resource set pool indices of the one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412