This office action is in response to the amendment filed 07/08/2026.
Claims 1-5, 9, 11, 12-16,19-20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non Final Rejection on 04/08/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 9, 11, 12-16,19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 12, 15-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. ( US 20260019221, hereinafter, HE’s 221 ), and in view of ZHANG et al. ( US 20240048318, hereinafter, ZHANG’s 318 ) .
Regarding to the claim 1, HE’s 221 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers (component carrier group) [see Paragraph 0006] (the system is configured to indicate or determine that each activated joint/DL/UL TCI state corresponds to the first or second joint/DL/UL TCI state within a full set TCI-states. In addition, this document describes how to efficiently support a component carrier (CC) group-based TCI-state indication for CCs with mixed sTRP and mTRP modes) ,
wherein the set of carriers ( CC list ) maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode ( sTRP and mTRP) values based at least in part on a configuration
(a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group.
The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC) [see Paragraph 0050 ]
( A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’) ( [0049] A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’ includes of a mix of sDCI-based mTRP and mDCI-based MTRP CC(s). The network can support the following reference CC configurations. A first configuration (configuration #1) specifies that one of CCs with sDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC. A second configuration (configuration #2) specifies that one of CCs with mDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC.) [see Paragraph 0049] [also see the paragraphs 0047-0050 ] ;
communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (CC list ) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier ([0047] FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE. The current full set of TCI states 510 includes TCI states {1, 1, 2, and 2}) [see Paragraph 0047] , and
a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode (sTRP mode or multi-TRP mode) of the carrier, the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value, of the set of TRP mode values
( [0009] In accordance with one aspect of the present disclosure, an example process includes receiving, at a user equipment (UE), configuration data including a component carrier (CC) list for a cell group, the CC list specifying a reference cell and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) specifying one or more TCI states for the reference cell, wherein the other cells in the CC list are configured to use the one or more TCI states specified for the reference cell. The process includes selecting, by the UE, in accordance with the configuration data, a transmission and reception point (TRP) mode of the UE, the TRP mode being a single TRP (sTRP) mode or a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode. The process includes transmitting, by the UE to a cell of the wireless communications network, data based on the selected TRP mode, the cell of the wireless communication network also operating in the TRP mode.) [see Paragraph 0009] ,
Wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on at least one of :
A quantity of the one or more maintained TCI states ( FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE) [see paragraph 0044]; or
A quantity of control resource set pool indices of the one or more maintained states of the carrier ( a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group. The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ can update the second TCI state of the other CCs in the group. In a second option, RRC signaling is used to indicate which of the two TCI-states on the reference CC is used. In case of the first configuration, the ‘first’ or ‘second’ TCI-state is configured to update the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ and TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ on an sDCI-based mTRP CC, and vice versa (as described previously). In case of the second configuration, the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ or specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ is used to update ‘the first’ or ‘the second’ TCI-state on an mDCI-based mTRP CC ) [see Paragraph 0047].
However, HE’s 221 does not explicitly teach TCI configuration.
ZHANG’s 318, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values based at least in part on a TCI configuration [see Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of HE’s 221 in view of ZHANG’s 318 because ZHANG’s 318 suggests that in comparison with the existing wireless networks, next generation systems and wireless communication techniques need to provide support for an increased number of users and devices.
Regarding to the claim 4, HE’s 221 further teaches wherein the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of: a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode, or a single-TRP (sTRP) mode [see Paragraphs 0047-0050 ] [also see the paragraphs 0009 & 0054].
Regarding to the claim 5, HE’s 221 further teaches wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state (wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state) [see Paragraph 0023].
Regarding to the claim 12, HE’s 221 teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively to:
Transmit transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers (component carrier group) [see Paragraph 0006] (the system is configured to indicate or determine that each activated joint/DL/UL TCI state corresponds to the first or second joint/DL/UL TCI state within a full set TCI-states. In addition, this document describes how to efficiently support a component carrier (CC) group-based TCI-state indication for CCs with mixed sTRP and mTRP modes) ,
wherein the set of carriers ( CC list ) maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode ( sTRP and mTRP) values based at least in part on a configuration
(a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group.
The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC) [see Paragraph 0050 ]
( A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’) ( [0049] A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’ includes of a mix of sDCI-based mTRP and mDCI-based MTRP CC(s). The network can support the following reference CC configurations. A first configuration (configuration #1) specifies that one of CCs with sDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC. A second configuration (configuration #2) specifies that one of CCs with mDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC.) [see Paragraph 0049] [also see the paragraphs 0047-0050 ] ;
communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (CC list ) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier ([0047] FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE. The current full set of TCI states 510 includes TCI states {1, 1, 2, and 2}) [see Paragraph 0047] , and
a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode (sTRP mode or multi-TRP mode) of the carrier, the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value, of the set of TRP mode values
( [0009] In accordance with one aspect of the present disclosure, an example process includes receiving, at a user equipment (UE), configuration data including a component carrier (CC) list for a cell group, the CC list specifying a reference cell and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) specifying one or more TCI states for the reference cell, wherein the other cells in the CC list are configured to use the one or more TCI states specified for the reference cell. The process includes selecting, by the UE, in accordance with the configuration data, a transmission and reception point (TRP) mode of the UE, the TRP mode being a single TRP (sTRP) mode or a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode. The process includes transmitting, by the UE to a cell of the wireless communications network, data based on the selected TRP mode, the cell of the wireless communication network also operating in the TRP mode.) [see Paragraph 0009] ,
Wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on at least one of :
A quantity of the one or more maintained TCI states ( FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE) [see paragraph 0044]; or
A quantity of control resource set pool indices of the one or more maintained states of the carrier ( a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group. The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ can update the second TCI state of the other CCs in the group. In a second option, RRC signaling is used to indicate which of the two TCI-states on the reference CC is used. In case of the first configuration, the ‘first’ or ‘second’ TCI-state is configured to update the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ and TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ on an sDCI-based mTRP CC, and vice versa (as described previously). In case of the second configuration, the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ or specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ is used to update ‘the first’ or ‘the second’ TCI-state on an mDCI-based mTRP CC ) [see Paragraph 0047].
However, HE’s 221 does not explicitly teach TCI configuration.
ZHANG’s 318, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values based at least in part on a TCI configuration [see Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of HE’s 221 in view of ZHANG’s 318 because ZHANG’s 318 suggests that in comparison with the existing wireless networks, next generation systems and wireless communication techniques need to provide support for an increased number of users and devices.
Regarding to the claim 15, HE’s 221 further teaches wherein the set of TRP mode values includes at least one of: a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode, or a single-TRP (sTRP) mode [see Paragraphs 0047-0050 ] [also see the paragraphs 0009 & 0054].
Regarding to the claim 16, HE’s 221 further teaches wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state (wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state) [see Paragraph 0023].
Regarding to the claim 19, HE’s 221 teaches a method of wireless communications performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
HE’s 221 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers (component carrier group) [see Paragraph 0006] (the system is configured to indicate or determine that each activated joint/DL/UL TCI state corresponds to the first or second joint/DL/UL TCI state within a full set TCI-states. In addition, this document describes how to efficiently support a component carrier (CC) group-based TCI-state indication for CCs with mixed sTRP and mTRP modes) ,
wherein the set of carriers ( CC list ) maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode ( sTRP and mTRP) values based at least in part on a configuration
(a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group.
The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC) [see Paragraph 0050 ]
( A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’) ( [0049] A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’ includes of a mix of sDCI-based mTRP and mDCI-based MTRP CC(s). The network can support the following reference CC configurations. A first configuration (configuration #1) specifies that one of CCs with sDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC. A second configuration (configuration #2) specifies that one of CCs with mDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC.) [see Paragraph 0049] [also see the paragraphs 0047-0050 ] ;
communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (CC list ) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier ([0047] FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE. The current full set of TCI states 510 includes TCI states {1, 1, 2, and 2}) [see Paragraph 0047] , and
a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode (sTRP mode or multi-TRP mode) of the carrier, the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value, of the set of TRP mode values
( [0009] In accordance with one aspect of the present disclosure, an example process includes receiving, at a user equipment (UE), configuration data including a component carrier (CC) list for a cell group, the CC list specifying a reference cell and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) specifying one or more TCI states for the reference cell, wherein the other cells in the CC list are configured to use the one or more TCI states specified for the reference cell. The process includes selecting, by the UE, in accordance with the configuration data, a transmission and reception point (TRP) mode of the UE, the TRP mode being a single TRP (sTRP) mode or a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode. The process includes transmitting, by the UE to a cell of the wireless communications network, data based on the selected TRP mode, the cell of the wireless communication network also operating in the TRP mode.) [see Paragraph 0009] ,
Wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on at least one of :
A quantity of the one or more maintained TCI states ( FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE) [see paragraph 0044]; or
A quantity of control resource set pool indices of the one or more maintained states of the carrier ( a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group. The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ can update the second TCI state of the other CCs in the group. In a second option, RRC signaling is used to indicate which of the two TCI-states on the reference CC is used. In case of the first configuration, the ‘first’ or ‘second’ TCI-state is configured to update the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ and TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ on an sDCI-based mTRP CC, and vice versa (as described previously). In case of the second configuration, the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ or specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ is used to update ‘the first’ or ‘the second’ TCI-state on an mDCI-based mTRP CC ) [see Paragraph 0047].
However, HE’s 221 does not explicitly teach TCI configuration.
ZHANG’s 318, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values based at least in part on a TCI configuration [see Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of HE’s 221 in view of ZHANG’s 318 because ZHANG’s 318 suggests that in comparison with the existing wireless networks, next generation systems and wireless communication techniques need to provide support for an increased number of users and devices.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 13, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. ( US 20260019221, hereinafter, HE’s 221 ), and in view of ZHANG et al. ( US 20240048318, hereinafter, ZHANG’s 318 ), and further in view of KANG et al. ( US 20230199528, hereinafter, KANG’s 528 ) .
Regarding to the claim 2, HE’s 221 and ZHANG’s 318 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, HE’s 221 does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: receive radio resource control signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of carriers to the set of TRP mode values.
KANG’s 528, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to: receive radio resource control signaling including a bitmap identifying a mapping of the set of carriers to the set of TRP mode values [see Paragraphs 0250 & 0261 & 0298 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( HE’s 221 and ZHANG’s 318), and further in view of KANG’s 528 because KANG’s 528 suggests that when a beam failure occurs in a specific resource group or a plurality of resource groups, a method and apparatus for performing a beam failure recovery operation may be provided.
Regarding to the claim 3, HE’s 221 and ZHANG’s 318 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, HE’s 221 does not explicitly teach wherein the set of carriers includes a set of component carriers or a set of bandwidth parts.
KANG’s 528, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the set of carriers includes a set of component carriers or a set of bandwidth parts [see Paragraphs 0250 & 0261 & 0298 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( HE’s 221 and ZHANG’s 318), and further in view of KANG’s 528 because KANG’s 528 suggests that when a beam failure occurs in a specific resource group or a plurality of resource groups, a method and apparatus for performing a beam failure recovery operation may be provided.
Regarding to the claim 13, claim 13 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 2, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 3, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 20, claim 20 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 2, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. ( US 20260019221, hereinafter, HE’s 221 ), and in view of Zhu et al. ( US 20240276491, Provisional Application Number 63451425 ) .
Regarding to the claim 9, HE’s 221 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers (component carrier group) [see Paragraph 0006] (the system is configured to indicate or determine that each activated joint/DL/UL TCI state corresponds to the first or second joint/DL/UL TCI state within a full set TCI-states. In addition, this document describes how to efficiently support a component carrier (CC) group-based TCI-state indication for CCs with mixed sTRP and mTRP modes) ,
wherein the set of carriers ( CC list ) maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode ( sTRP and mTRP) values based at least in part on a configuration
(a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group.
The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC) [see Paragraph 0050 ]
( A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’) ( [0049] A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’ includes of a mix of sDCI-based mTRP and mDCI-based MTRP CC(s). The network can support the following reference CC configurations. A first configuration (configuration #1) specifies that one of CCs with sDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC. A second configuration (configuration #2) specifies that one of CCs with mDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC.) [see Paragraph 0049] [also see the paragraphs 0047-0050 ] ;
communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (CC list ) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier ([0047] FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE. The current full set of TCI states 510 includes TCI states {1, 1, 2, and 2}) [see Paragraph 0047] , and
a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode (sTRP mode or multi-TRP mode) of the carrier, the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value, of the set of TRP mode values
( [0009] In accordance with one aspect of the present disclosure, an example process includes receiving, at a user equipment (UE), configuration data including a component carrier (CC) list for a cell group, the CC list specifying a reference cell and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) specifying one or more TCI states for the reference cell, wherein the other cells in the CC list are configured to use the one or more TCI states specified for the reference cell. The process includes selecting, by the UE, in accordance with the configuration data, a transmission and reception point (TRP) mode of the UE, the TRP mode being a single TRP (sTRP) mode or a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode. The process includes transmitting, by the UE to a cell of the wireless communications network, data based on the selected TRP mode, the cell of the wireless communication network also operating in the TRP mode.) [see Paragraph 0009] ,
Wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on
A quantity of configured control resource set pool indices of the TCI state of the carrier ( a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group. The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ can update the second TCI state of the other CCs in the group. In a second option, RRC signaling is used to indicate which of the two TCI-states on the reference CC is used. In case of the first configuration, the ‘first’ or ‘second’ TCI-state is configured to update the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ and TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ on an sDCI-based mTRP CC, and vice versa (as described previously). In case of the second configuration, the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ or specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ is used to update ‘the first’ or ‘the second’ TCI-state on an mDCI-based mTRP CC ) [see Paragraph 0047].
However, HE’s 221 does not explicitly teach activated TCI codepoint type .
( US 20240276491, Provisional Application Number 63451425 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values based at least in part on an activated TCI codepoint type [see Paragraphs 0639 & 0644 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of HE’s 221 in view of US 20240276491 because US 20240276491 suggests that in comparison with the existing wireless networks, next generation systems and wireless communication techniques need to provide support for an increased number of users and devices.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HE et al. ( US 20260019221, hereinafter, HE’s 221 ), and in view of GUAN et al. ( US 20260039439, hereinafter, GUAN ’s 439 ) .
receive transmission configuration indicator (TCI) activation information associated with identifying a set of carriers (component carrier group) [see Paragraph 0006] (the system is configured to indicate or determine that each activated joint/DL/UL TCI state corresponds to the first or second joint/DL/UL TCI state within a full set TCI-states. In addition, this document describes how to efficiently support a component carrier (CC) group-based TCI-state indication for CCs with mixed sTRP and mTRP modes) ,
wherein the set of carriers ( CC list ) maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode ( sTRP and mTRP) values based at least in part on a configuration
(a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group.
The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC) [see Paragraph 0050 ]
( A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’) ( [0049] A CC list 610 configured by ‘simultaneousTCI-UpdateList’ includes of a mix of sDCI-based mTRP and mDCI-based MTRP CC(s). The network can support the following reference CC configurations. A first configuration (configuration #1) specifies that one of CCs with sDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC. A second configuration (configuration #2) specifies that one of CCs with mDCI-based mTRP is indicated as reference CC.) [see Paragraph 0049] [also see the paragraphs 0047-0050 ] ;
communicate on a carrier, of the set of carriers (CC list ) , using a TCI state of the carrier, of one or more maintained TCI states of the carrier ([0047] FIG. 5B shows an example of a current full set of TCI-states 510 maintained by a UE. The current full set of TCI states 510 includes TCI states {1, 1, 2, and 2}) [see Paragraph 0047] , and
a communication configuration associated with a TRP mode (sTRP mode or multi-TRP mode) of the carrier, the TRP mode being based at least in part on a TRP mode value, of the set of TRP mode values
( [0009] In accordance with one aspect of the present disclosure, an example process includes receiving, at a user equipment (UE), configuration data including a component carrier (CC) list for a cell group, the CC list specifying a reference cell and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) specifying one or more TCI states for the reference cell, wherein the other cells in the CC list are configured to use the one or more TCI states specified for the reference cell. The process includes selecting, by the UE, in accordance with the configuration data, a transmission and reception point (TRP) mode of the UE, the TRP mode being a single TRP (sTRP) mode or a multi-TRP (mTRP) mode. The process includes transmitting, by the UE to a cell of the wireless communications network, data based on the selected TRP mode, the cell of the wireless communication network also operating in the TRP mode.) [see Paragraph 0009] ,
Wherein the TRP mode of the carrier is based at least in part on
A quantity of configured control resource set pool indices of the TCI state of the carrier ( a rule is hard-encoded in specification. The first TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ can update the first TCI state of the other CCs in the group. The second TCI state of sDCI-based mTRP is mapped to the indicated TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1.’ Conversely, when the mDCI-based mTRP is the reference CC, the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ can update the second TCI state of the other CCs in the group. In a second option, RRC signaling is used to indicate which of the two TCI-states on the reference CC is used. In case of the first configuration, the ‘first’ or ‘second’ TCI-state is configured to update the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ and TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ on an sDCI-based mTRP CC, and vice versa (as described previously). In case of the second configuration, the TCI-state specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=0’ or specific to the ‘coresetPoolIndex=1’ is used to update ‘the first’ or ‘the second’ TCI-state on an mDCI-based mTRP CC ) [see Paragraph 0047].
However, HE’s 221 does not explicitly teach activated medium access control (MAC) control element.
GUAN ’s 439, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the set of carriers maps to a set of transmit receive point (TRP) mode values based at least in part on an activation medium access control (MAC) control element type [see Paragraphs 0074 & 0078 & 0132 & 0204].
wherein the MAC control element type corresponds to a quantity of TCI codepoints or a quantity of TCI states activatable by a MAC control element configuring the carrier (a quantity of TCI states activatable by a MAC control element configuring the carrier) [see Paragraphs 0074 & 0078 & 0132 & 0204].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of HE’s 221 in view of GUAN ’s 439 because GUAN ’s 439 suggests that extending unified TCI framework to support MTRP is in the scope. In RAN1 109e meeting, the discussion is further extended to Rel-18 MTRP scheme(s) with STxMP (if STxMP is supported).
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412