DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 15-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,583,287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed device of claims 1- 5 and 15-17 is obviously capable of performing the steps of using the first energy applicator and the second energy applicator having a pulsed biphasic electric current having a current density in a range of 0.1 mA/cm2 to 30 mA/cm2 for treatment as claimed in claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,583,287.
Claims 1-6, 15, 16 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,458,307. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed device of claims 1-6, 15, 16 and 17 is obviously capable of performing the steps of using the first energy applicator having a frequency in a range of 100kHz to 3.5MHz and the second energy applicator having an electric current with a frequency range of 0.1 Hz to 200 Hz of energy to stimulate a muscle for treatment as claimed in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,458,307.
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,623,083. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed device of claims 1-12 and 15-20 is obviously capable of comprising the first energy applicator having a frequency in a range of 100kHz to 3.5MHz, and a temperature in a range of 30 0C to 50 0C, and the second energy applicator having an electric current with a frequency range of 0.1 Hz to 200 Hz of energy to stimulate a muscle for treatment as claimed in claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,623,083.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,821. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently claimed device of claims 1-20 is obviously capable of comprising the first energy applicator having a frequency in a range of 100kHz to 3.5MHz, and a temperature in a range of 30 0C to 50 0C, and the second energy applicator having an electric current with a frequency range of 0.1 Hz to 200 Hz of energy to stimulate a muscle for treatment as claimed in claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,896,821.
The time duration in present claim 15 is being interpreted as an obvious intended use limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being by Harris (US 2007/0161479).
Regarding claim 1, Harris discloses a device for a treatment of a patient, comprising:
a first applicator (heating pads) configured to be in a stationary position by strapping to the back of the knee during a treatment and to be attached to a body part of the patient by a flexible belt comprising the strapping or by an adhesive material, a heating pad strapped to the back of the knee, see paragraph [0047],
wherein the first applicator is configured to provide a first treatment energy to
heat tissue of the body part of the patient, see paragraph [0047];
a second applicator 36 configured to be in a stationary position during the
treatment and to be attached to the body part of the patient, see paragraph [0026],
wherein the second applicator is configured to provide a second treatment
energy to stimulate a muscle of the body part of the patient, see paragraph [0047]; and
a control unit 12 configured to control the first treatment energy and the second
treatment energy.
Regarding claim 2, Harris discloses the first applicator and the second applicator are configured to treat different treatment areas of the body part simultaneously, see paragraph [0047].
Regarding claim 3, Harris discloses a user interface 50 configured to allow an operator of the device 10 to change or set up parameters of the first treatment energy and the second treatment energy during the treatment, see paragraph [0035].
Regarding claim 15, Harris discloses device for a treatment of a patient, comprising:
an applicator comprising heating pads is configured to be in a stationary position during a treatment session and to be attached to a body part of the patient by a flexible belt comprising strapping or by an adhesive material, the applicator comprising:
a treatment energy source (heating pads) configured to provide:
a first treatment energy to heat tissue within the body part of the patient, and a second treatment energy 36 to stimulate a muscle of the body part of the patient, see paragraph [0047]; and
a control unit 12 configured to control the first treatment energy and the second treatment energy,
wherein the treatment session lasts for a duration in a range of 5 minutes to 40 minutes, see paragraph [0058].
Regarding claim 16, Harris discloses a user interface configured 50 to allow an operator of the device to select partially predetermined treatment protocol and to change or set up parameters of the first treatment energy and the second treatment energy during the treatment,
wherein the control unit 12 is configured to provide the treatment based on the selected partially predetermined treatment protocol, see paragraph [0035].
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
1/17/2026