DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 2/12/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the driving range of claim 4 and the terminal unit overlapping the first lens in a direction along the optical axis of claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishimasa US 20130155529 (hereinafter “Ishimasa”).
Regarding claim 1, Ishimasa teaches a lens apparatus comprising:
a holding frame (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 402) configured to hold a first lens (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 402 holding 401);
a driving unit (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 404, 507) configured to drive the holding frame (402) in a direction along an optical axis (Ishimasa para. 0031); and
a mount (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 509 which connects to a holder for 604, see also para. 0034) configured to mount the lens apparatus on an imaging apparatus (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 509, 601, 604, see also para. 0034),
wherein, when the lens apparatus is viewed from the direction along the optical axis, at least a part of the driving unit (404, 507) is disposed inside a circumscribed circle of the first lens (401) having a non-circular shape (Ishimasa fig. 6 - shows 401b which at least part of 404 is disposed within), and
wherein a part of the first lens (401) is disposed at a location that overlaps an object-side end surface of the mount (see annotated and cropped Ishimasa fig. 1 below – black arrow shows that part of 401 overlaps an object-side surface of the holder for 604, which is the object-side surface of the mount) or is disposed closer to an image plane than the object-side end surface of the mount in the direction along the optical axis.
Regarding claim 2, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1, and Ishimasa further teaches wherein at least a part of the driving unit (404, 507) overlaps the first lens (401) in the direction along the optical axis (Ishimasa fig. 6 – 404 overlaps part of the cutout of 401).
Regarding claim 3, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1, and Ishimasa further teaches wherein at least a part of the driving unit (404, 507) is disposed closer to an image plane than the object-side end surface of the mount in the direction along the optical axis (see cropped annotated Ishimasa fig. 1 above – shows that 404 is closer to the image plane than the indicated object-side end surface of the mount).
Regarding claim 4, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1, and Ishimasa further teaches wherein at least a part of a driving range of the holding frame (402) overlaps the object-side end surface of the mount (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 402 holding 401 is driven to move along the optical axis, where it would overlap the indicated object-side end surface of the mount in the direction of the optical axis) or is closer to the image plane than the object-side end surface of the mount in the direction along the optical axis.
Regarding claim 5, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1, and Ishimasa further teaches comprising a board configured to electrically connect to the driving unit (see annotated Ishimasa fig. 6 below with the board labeled, since the board is connected to 402 which is driven by 404, the board would be electrically connected to 404),
wherein an outer circumference of the first lens includes a first area inside the circumscribed circle (Ishimasa fig. 6 – circumscribed area is shown as dotted line around 401 including shaded areas 401b, all of which would be the first area),
wherein the first area includes a first part area and a second part area (see annotated Ishimasa fig. 6 below), and
wherein, when the lens apparatus is viewed from the direction along the optical axis, at least a part of the driving unit (404, 507) is disposed in the first part area (Ishimasa annotated fig. 6 above – shows part of the driving unit 404 disposed within the labeled first part area), and at least a part of the board is disposed in the second part area (see Ishimasa fig. 6 below with the board labeled in the second part area).
Regarding claim 6, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 5, and Ishimasa further teaches
wherein the first area includes a third part area and a fourth part area (see annotated Ishimasa fig. 6 below), and
wherein, when the lens apparatus is viewed from the direction along the optical axis, at least a part of the board is disposed in the third part area and the fourth part area (see annotated Ishimasa below, where the labeled board would be partly in the third and fourth part areas).
Regarding claim 7, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 5, and Ishimasa further teaches wherein at least a part of a driving range of the holding frame (402) overlaps the board in the direction along the optical axis (Ishimasa fig. 6 - since the driving range is along the optical axis, 402 would overlap the above labeled board since it is disposed on 402).
Regarding claim 10, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1, and Ishimasa further teaches comprising a second lens having a non-circular shape (Ishimasa fig. 1-2, 5 – 201 has a non-circular shape),
wherein an outer circumference of the second lens (201) includes a second area inside a circumscribed circle centered on the optical axis (Ishimasa fig. 5 – 201a, see also para. 0041-0042), and
wherein the second lens (201) is disposed on the image plane side or an object side with respect to the first lens (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 201 is disposed on the object side of 401).
Regarding claim 11, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 10, and Ishimasa further teaches wherein at least a part of the driving unit (404, 507) overlaps the second area in the direction along the optical axis (Ishimasa fig. 5 – 404 and 404a are within 201a).
Regarding claim 14, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 10, and Ishimasa further teaches wherein the non-circular shape of the second lens (201) obtained by cutting out a part of a lens surface that does not contribute to image forming on a light receiving surface of the imaging apparatus (Ishimasa para. 0042 – the notch 201a excludes the used region of 201).
Regarding claim 17, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1, and Ishimasa further teaches wherein the non-circular shape of the first lens (401) obtained by cutting out a part of a lens surface that does not contribute to image forming on a light receiving surface of the imaging apparatus (Ishimasa para. 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 18, Ishimasa teaches a lens apparatus comprising:
a first lens (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 201);
a holding frame (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 402) configured to hold a lens different from the first lens (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 402 which holds 401);
a driving unit (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 404, 507) configured to drive the holding frame (402) in a direction along an optical axis (Ishimasa para. 0031); and
a mount (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 509 which connects to a holder for 604, see also para. 0034) configured to mount the lens apparatus on an imaging apparatus (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 509, 601, 604, see also para. 0034),
wherein, when the lens apparatus is viewed from the direction along the optical axis, at least a part of the driving unit (404, 507) is disposed inside a circumscribed circle of the first lens (201) having a non-circular shape (Ishimasa fig. 5 – 404 and 404a are within a circumscribed circle of 201 which includes notch 201a), and
wherein a part of the first lens (201) is disposed at a location that overlaps an object-side end surface of the mount (see annotated Ishimasa fig. 1 below, where the object-side end surface of the mount is labeled and the black line shows how 201 overlaps) or is disposed closer to an image plane than the object-side end surface of the mount in the direction along the optical axis.
Regarding claim 19, Ishimasa teaches an imaging apparatus comprising:
a lens apparatus (Ishimasa fig. 1 – lens barrel not including ); and
an image sensor (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 601) configured to receive light from the lens apparatus (Ishimasa para. 0034), wherein the lens apparatus includes:
a holding frame (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 402) configured to hold a first lens (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 402 holding 401);
a driving unit (Ishimasa fig. 1 - 404, 507) configured to drive the holding frame (402) in a direction along an optical axis (Ishimasa para. 0031); and
a mount (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 509 which connects to a holder for 604, see also para. 0034) configured to mount the lens apparatus on an imaging apparatus (Ishimasa fig. 1 – 509, 601, 604, see also para. 0034),
wherein, when the lens apparatus is viewed from the direction along the optical axis, at least a part of the driving unit (404, 507) is disposed inside a circumscribed circle of the first lens (401) having a non-circular shape (Ishimasa fig. 6 - shows 401b which at least part of 404 is disposed within), and
wherein a part of the first lens (401) is disposed at a location that overlaps an object-side end surface of the mount (see annotated and cropped Ishimasa fig. 1 below – black arrow shows that part of 401 overlaps an object-side surface of the holder for 604, which is the object-side surface of the mount) or is disposed closer to an image plane than the object-side end surface of the mount in the direction along the optical axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimasa as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Nuno et. al US 20080117527 (hereinafter “Nuno”).
Regarding claim 8, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1.
Ishimasa does not specify wherein the first lens is a plastic lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Nuno teaches wherein the first lens is a plastic lens (Nuno para. 0373) for the purpose of having an aspheric surface (Nuno para. 0373). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plastic lens as taught by Nuno in the lens apparatus of Ishimasa in order to have an aspheric surface (Nuno para. 0373).
Regarding claim 9, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1.
Ishimasa does not specify wherein the first lens is an aspherical lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Nuno teaches wherein the first lens is an aspherical lens (Nuno para. 0373) for the purpose of improving downsizing while keeping preferable aberration correction (Nuno para. 0372). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plastic lens as taught by Nuno in the lens apparatus of Ishimasa in order to improve downsizing while keeping preferable aberration correction (Nuno para. 0372).
Regarding claim 12, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 10.
Ishimasa does not specify wherein the second lens is a plastic lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Nuno teaches wherein the second lens is a plastic lens (Nuno para. 0373) for the purpose of having an aspheric surface (Nuno para. 0373). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plastic lens as taught by Nuno in the lens apparatus of Ishimasa in order to have an aspheric surface (Nuno para. 0373).
Regarding claim 13, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 10.
Ishimasa does not specify wherein the second lens is an aspherical lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Nuno teaches wherein the second lens is an aspherical lens (Nuno para. 0373) for the purpose of improving downsizing while keeping preferable aberration correction (Nuno para. 0372). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plastic lens as taught by Nuno in the lens apparatus of Ishimasa in order to improve downsizing while keeping preferable aberration correction (Nuno para. 0372).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimasa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishikawa US 20020080500 (hereinafter “Ishikawa”).
Regarding claim 15, Ishimasa teaches the lens apparatus according to claim 1.
Ishimasa does not teach comprising a terminal unit configured to electrically connect to the imaging apparatus, wherein at least a part of the terminal unit overlaps the first lens in the direction along the optical axis, however Ishimasa does teach that the disclosed apparatus may include a CPU or MPU (Ishimasa para. 0048).
In the same field of endeavor, Ishikawa teaches comprising a terminal unit (Ishikawa fig. 1 – 16, see also para. 0034) configured to electrically connect to the imaging apparatus (Ishikawa para. 0034),
wherein at least a part of the terminal unit (16) overlaps the first lens in the direction along the optical axis (Ishikawa fig. 1 – 16 overlaps all lenses in the disclosed lens barrel) for the purpose of conducting communication and receiving power form the camera (Ishikawa para. 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal unit as taught by Ishikawa in the lens apparatus of Ishimasa in order to conduct communication and receive power form the camera (Ishikawa para. 0034).
Regarding claim 16, Ishimasa and Ishikawa teach the lens apparatus according to claim 15, and Ishikawa further teaches wherein at least a part of the driving unit (Ishikawa fig. 1 – 2a, 5, 7, 7a, see also para. 0031) overlaps the terminal unit (16) in the direction along the optical axis (Ishikawa fig. 1 – 16 overlaps with 7a, 2a, and 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ishimasa US Patent 8,837,061, patent of Ishimasa US 20130155529;
Ishikawa US Patent 6,429,980, patent of Ishikawa US 20020080500.
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872