Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 14, 22, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harashima et al (US 2019/0071773) in view of Yang et al (US 2019/0385862).
Regarding Claim 1, Harashima discloses, discloses wafer processing and film forming (semi-batch type film forming apparatus is provided, par. 6; workpiece W has, for example, a disc shape like a wafer, par. 37) comprising:
a susceptor having a first surface and opposed second surface, arranged to hold a workpiece with a first face of the workpiece exposed and a second face of the workpiece in thermal contact with the first surface of the susceptor, as a susceptor and workpiece assembly (susceptor 32 is heated by induction heating by the coil 20. When the susceptor 32 is heated, the rotation stage 30, the holder 40, and the plurality of workpieces W are heated by, for example, radiation from the susceptor 32. That is, the susceptor 32 is configured to heat the rotation stage 30, the holder 40, and the plurality of workpieces W from the four surfaces, par. 44; fig. 3);
at least one induction coil arranged to receive the susceptor holding the workpiece with the at least one induction coil in wraparound arrangement to the susceptor and workpiece assembly (coil 20 is wound around the outer circumference of the container 12. The coil 20 is connected to a high-frequency power supply 22. When a high frequency wave from the high-frequency power supply 22 is supplied to the coil 20, the susceptor (to be described later) is heated by the induced current. The coil 20 constitutes an induction heating mechanism which is a heating mechanism according to the embodiment, par. 32; figs. 2-3);
at least one gas supply arranged to disperse cooling gas to the susceptor and workpiece assembly (gas source GS6 is a source of a cooling gas, for example, a source of rare gas such as Ar gas, par. 33; flow rate controller FC6 is connected to the gas line GL2, and the gas line GL2 supplies a cooling gas to a space S2 of the space S provided by the container 12, par. 34).
Harashima does not explicitly disclose the apparatus includes a gas nozzle and is operable to perform a sequence of cycles of heating and cooling operations on the susceptor and workpiece assembly, cycling the workpiece to and from a first temperature of about 800 °C-1100 °C and a second temperature of about 1400 °C-2500 °C, each heating operation of about one second and each cooling operation of about one second, through inductive coupling of the at least one induction coil to the susceptor for each heating operation and through at least convective heat removal by cooling gas dispersion of the at least one gas nozzle for each cooling operation.
Yang discloses, An apparatus, comprising: a susceptor having a first surface and opposed second surface (Fig 6 shows a susceptor 612 having a first and second surface), arranged to hold a workpiece (workpiece 614) with a first face of the workpiece exposed (device side surface 616 is exposed. See Fig 6) and a second face of the workpiece in thermal contact with the first surface of the susceptor, as a susceptor and workpiece assembly (Fig 6 shows the opposite side being in thermal contact with the substrate 612);
at least one induction coil 630 arranged to receive the susceptor holding the workpiece
at least one gas nozzle arranged to disperse cooling gas to the susceptor and workpiece assembly; and
the apparatus operable to perform a sequence of cycles of heating and cooling operations on the susceptor and workpiece assembly, cycling the workpiece to and from a first temperature and a second temperature each heating operation of about one second and each cooling operation of about one second, through inductive coupling of the at least one induction coil to the susceptor for each heating operation and through at least convective heat removal by cooling gas dispersion of the at least one gas nozzle for each cooling operation. (The device cycles the workpiece between a first and second higher temperature for about one second, with a cooling operation in between each cycle. See Paragraphs [0052]-[0053])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Yang to provide the apparatus operable to perform a sequence of cycles of heating and cooling operations on the susceptor and workpiece assembly, cycling the workpiece to and from a first temperature and a second temperature each heating operation of about one second and each cooling operation of about one second, through inductive coupling of the at least one induction coil to the susceptor for each heating operation and through at least convective heat removal by cooling gas dispersion of the at least one gas nozzle for each cooling operation for performing multiple heating cycles in the same chamber for faster processing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Yang to provide the first temperature of about 800 °C-1100 °C and a second temperature of about 1400 °C-2500 °C, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Harashima discloses, regarding claims 2-3, a gas nozzle GL1 supplies gas to the space S1 across the first surface of the workpiece and the second surface of the susceptor. (See Paragraph [0034] and Fig 3) Regarding claim 8, Figs show the inductor having four or five coils. Regarding claim 10, Fig 3 shows a recess in the susceptor for holding the workpiece.
Regarding Claim 14, 22, Harashima discloses, discloses wafer processing and film forming (semi-batch type film forming apparatus is provided, par. 6; workpiece W has, for example, a disc shape like a wafer, par. 37) comprising:
a susceptor having a first surface and opposed second surface, arranged to hold a workpiece with a first face of the workpiece exposed and a second face of the workpiece in thermal contact with the first surface of the susceptor, as a susceptor and workpiece assembly (susceptor 32 is heated by induction heating by the coil 20. When the susceptor 32 is heated, the rotation stage 30, the holder 40, and the plurality of workpieces W are heated by, for example, radiation from the susceptor 32. That is, the susceptor 32 is configured to heat the rotation stage 30, the holder 40, and the plurality of workpieces W from the four surfaces, par. 44; fig. 3);
at least one induction coil arranged to receive the susceptor holding the workpiece with the at least one induction coil in wraparound arrangement to the susceptor and workpiece assembly (coil 20 is wound around the outer circumference of the container 12. The coil 20 is connected to a high-frequency power supply 22. When a high frequency wave from the high-frequency power supply 22 is supplied to the coil 20, the susceptor (to be described later) is heated by the induced current. The coil 20 constitutes an induction heating mechanism which is a heating mechanism according to the embodiment, par. 32; figs. 2-3);
at least one gas supply arranged to disperse cooling gas to the susceptor and workpiece assembly (gas source GS6 is a source of a cooling gas, for example, a source of rare gas such as Ar gas, par. 33; flow rate controller FC6 is connected to the gas line GL2, and the gas line GL2 supplies a cooling gas to a space S2 of the space S provided by the container 12, par. 34).
Harashima does not explicitly disclose the apparatus includes a gas nozzle and is operable to perform a sequence of cycles of heating and cooling operations on the susceptor and workpiece assembly, cycling the workpiece to and from a first temperature of about 800 °C-1100 °C and a second temperature of about 1400 °C-2500 °C, each heating operation of about one second and each cooling operation of about one second, through inductive coupling of the at least one induction coil to the susceptor for each heating operation and through at least convective heat removal by cooling gas dispersion of the at least one gas nozzle for each cooling operation.
Yang discloses, An apparatus, comprising: a susceptor having a first surface and opposed second surface (Fig 6 shows a susceptor 612 having a first and second surface), arranged to hold a workpiece (workpiece 614) with a first face of the workpiece exposed (device side surface 616 is exposed. See Fig 6) and a second face of the workpiece in thermal contact with the first surface of the susceptor, as a susceptor and workpiece assembly (Fig 6 shows the opposite side being in thermal contact with the substrate 612);
at least one induction coil 630 arranged to receive the susceptor holding the workpiece
at least one gas nozzle arranged to disperse cooling gas to the susceptor and workpiece assembly; and
the apparatus operable to perform a sequence of cycles of heating and cooling operations on the susceptor and workpiece assembly, cycling the workpiece to and from a first temperature and a second temperature each heating operation of about one second and each cooling operation of about one second, through inductive coupling of the at least one induction coil to the susceptor for each heating operation and through at least convective heat removal by cooling gas dispersion of the at least one gas nozzle for each cooling operation. (The device cycles the workpiece between a first and second higher temperature for about one second, with a cooling operation in between each cycle. See Paragraphs [0052]-[0053])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Yang to provide the apparatus operable to perform a sequence of cycles of heating and cooling operations on the susceptor and workpiece assembly, cycling the workpiece to and from a first temperature and a second temperature each heating operation of about one second and each cooling operation of about one second, through inductive coupling of the at least one induction coil to the susceptor for each heating operation and through at least convective heat removal by cooling gas dispersion of the at least one gas nozzle for each cooling operation for performing multiple heating cycles in the same chamber for faster processing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Yang to provide the first temperature of about 800 °C-1100 °C and a second temperature of about 1400 °C-2500 °C, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Harashima discloses, regarding claims 2-3, a gas nozzle GL1 supplies gas to the space S1 across the first surface of the workpiece and the second surface of the susceptor. (See Paragraph [0034] and Fig 3) Regarding claim 17, 25, Figs show the inductor having four or five coils. Regarding claim 18, 26, Fig 3 shows a recess in the susceptor for holding the workpiece.
Claim(s) 6-7, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harashima et al (US 2019/0071773) in view of Yang et al (US 2019/0385862) and Li et al (US 2019/0335548).
The teachings of Harashima have been discussed above. Harashima fails to disclose the susceptor comprises a tungsten plate or graphite.
Li discloses a susceptor have a tungsten plate. (See Paragraph [0061]) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Li to provide the susceptor comprises a tungsten plate or graphite for a more even temperature distribution and for withstanding extremely high temperatures. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 4, 11-13, 19-21, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harashima et al (US 2019/0071773) in view of Yang et al (US 2019/0385862) and Panagopoulos et al (US 2021/0104414).
The teachings of Harashima have been discussed above. Harashima fails to disclose the at least one nozzle comprises stainless steel; a vessel having a chamber, wherein the at least one nozzle comprises first and second nozzles in opposed arrangement relative to the chamber and the at least one induction coil; at least one outlet nozzle.
Panagopoulos discloses an apparatus having an induction coil (paragraph [0093]), a chamber 922 where there are a first and second nozzle 942, either one could be considered an outlet nozzle. (See Fig 9 and Paragraph [0100]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Panagopoulos to provide the first and second nozzles in the chamber for cooling the substrate; the stainless steel nozzle since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 5, 15, 23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harashima et al (US 2019/0071773) in view of Yang et al (US 2019/0385862) and Schonhoff et al (US 2022/0281154).
The teachings of Harashima have been discussed above. Harashima fails to disclose the at least one nozzle comprises an air blade.
Schonhoff discloses, a nozzle being an air blade for directing gas over the full width of a surface. (See Paragraph [0028]) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Schonhoff to provide the air blade for directing the cooling gas across the entire width of the surface of the susceptor or workpiece.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harashima et al (US 2019/0071773) in view of Yang et al (US 2019/0385862) and Chakrapani et al (US 2014/0370717).
The teachings of Harashima have been discussed above. Harashima fails to disclose the coil comprises a pancake coil. However, Chakrapani discloses using an induction coil in a wafer processing system where the coil is a spiral or pancake. (See Paragraph [0085]) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Harashima in view of Chakrapani to provide the pancake coil as Chakrapani discloses these are obvious variants for an induction coil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/28/2026