DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to application amendments filed on 11-17-2025.
2. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 11 are independent. This action was filed on 2-12-2024.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered, however upon further consideration of the prior art and the claimed limitation, they were not persuasive.
A. The Double Patenting Rejection (page 10) for Claims 1 - 20 is maintained due to the lack of filing and approval for a Terminal Disclaimer (TD). A TD was filed but was not approved.
B. Applicant argues on page 11 of Remarks: ... Bishop does not teach "resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses initializing a parameter that is incremented and incrementing the parameter from time to time (time based update). When the parameter reaches a maximum value then the parameter is reset. The situation (updating) occurs from time to time which is analogous to a time interval. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
C. Applicant argues on page 12 of Remarks: ... Lee's "resetting" mechanism is fundamentally different from the claimed "resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses initializing a parameter that is incremented and incrementing the parameter from time to time (time based update). When the parameter reaches a maximum value then the parameter is reset. The situation (updating) occurs from time to time which is analogous to a time interval. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
D. Applicant argues on page 13 of Remarks: ... there is no explanation provided that shows how "determining a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping" equates to "resetting, at periodic time intervals. the assignment of the random object values to the characters".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses mapping a set of random numbers to a character string (analogous to encoding a character string to a set of random numbers). Encoding a particular set of characters to a particular set of numbers generates a mapping mechanism between character strings and strings of numbers. (see Lee col 4, lines 21-30: item identification system maps this random numeric values into a character string; the length of the character string is determined by the user or software developer; to increase the length of the character string, the item identification system invokes the random number generator multiple times and appends the consecutive random numbers together; these appended random numbers are then mapped into a character string; the item identification system continues to invoke the random number generator until a desired character string length is achieved; col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping, language protocol))
Lee discloses initializing a parameter that is incremented and incrementing the parameter from time to time (time based update). When the parameter reaches a maximum value then the parameter is reset. The situation (updating) occurs from time to time which is analogous to a time interval. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
E. Applicant argues on page 13 of Remarks: ... The Office action has failed to demonstrate how Lee's resetting of global variables for item identification is the same as "resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses initializing a parameter that is incremented and incrementing the parameter from time to time (time based update). When the parameter reaches a maximum value then the parameter is reset. The situation (updating) occurs from time to time which is analogous to a time interval. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
F. Applicant argues on page 14 of Remarks: ... Bishop and Lee fails to teach or suggest "a randomized language protocol from a data set array wherein the randomized language protocol comprises random object values, and the randomized language protocol creates a unique language between the first device and the second device" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 language discloses a set of random objects (numbers) utilized as a mapping to a predefined character string. Lee discloses the generation of a protocol utilized to encode and decode messages transferred between networked connected systems. Lee discloses a mapping between a set of random numbers and a string of characters. (see Lee col 4, lines 21-30: item identification system maps this random numeric values into a character string; the length of the character string is determined by the user or software developer; to increase the length of the character string, the item identification system invokes the random number generator multiple times and appends the consecutive random numbers together; these appended random numbers are then mapped into a character string; the item identification system continues to invoke the random number generator until a desired character string length is achieved; col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping, language protocol))
F. Applicant argues on page 14 of Remarks: ... This is fundamentally different from the claimed randomized language protocol that creates a unique language between devices.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses a mapping between a set of parameters (random numbers) and a character string. A different set of numbers mapped to a particular character string results in a different version of encoding and decoding. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
G. Applicant argues on page 15 of Remarks: ... This is fundamentally different from "a randomized language protocol" that "creates a unique language between the first device and the second device" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 language discloses a set of random objects (numbers) utilized as a mapping to a predefined character string. Lee discloses the generation of a protocol utilized to encode and decode messages transferred between networked connected systems. Lee discloses a mapping between a set of random number and a string of characters. (see Lee col 4, lines 21-30: item identification system maps this random numeric values into a character string; the length of the character string is determined by the user or software developer; to increase the length of the character string, the item identification system invokes the random number generator multiple times and appends the consecutive random numbers together; these appended random numbers are then mapped into a character string; the item identification system continues to invoke the random number generator until a desired character string length is achieved; col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping, language protocol))
H. Applicant argues on page 15 of Remarks: .. .. Neither Bishop's message encryption system nor Lee's item identification system teaches or suggests this concept of creating a unique shared language protocol between communicating devices ...
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 language discloses a set of random objects (numbers) utilized as a mapping to a predefined character string. Lee discloses the generation of a protocol utilized to encode and decode messages transferred between networked connected systems. Lee discloses a mapping between a set of random number and a string of characters. (see Lee col 4, lines 21-30: item identification system maps this random numeric values into a character string; the length of the character string is determined by the user or software developer; to increase the length of the character string, the item identification system invokes the random number generator multiple times and appends the consecutive random numbers together; these appended random numbers are then mapped into a character string; the item identification system continues to invoke the random number generator until a desired character string length is achieved; col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping, language protocol))
I. Applicant argues on page 16 of Remarks: ... The combination fails to teach the claimed bilateral agreement process where two devices cooperate to establish pointer arrays before message transformation.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bishop discloses cooperation between network-connected devices to agree to a particular mapping. (see Bishop paragraph [0032], lines 5-11: the organizer, to contact everyone and propose meeting parameters; the organizer must then await responses from each, determine whether they all agree; repeated until a common set of parameters found to which all participants agree)
J. Applicant argues on page 16-17 of Remarks: ... Bishop's predetermined key exchange during registration is fundamentally different from the claimed real-time agreement on pointer arrays that map random object values to characters for message encryption. Lee's unilateral random number generation for object identification does not suggest the claimed cooperative pointer array establishment between communicating devices ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 language discloses a set of random objects (numbers) utilized as a mapping to a predefined character string. Lee discloses the generation of a protocol utilized to encode and decode messages transferred between networked connected systems. Lee discloses a mapping between a set of random number and a string of characters. (see Lee col 4, lines 21-30: item identification system maps this random numeric values into a character string; the length of the character string is determined by the user or software developer; to increase the length of the character string, the item identification system invokes the random number generator multiple times and appends the consecutive random numbers together; these appended random numbers are then mapped into a character string; the item identification system continues to invoke the random number generator until a desired character string length is achieved; col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping, language protocol))
And, Bishop discloses cooperation between network-connected devices to agree to a particular mapping. (see Bishop paragraph [0032], lines 5-11: the organizer, to contact everyone and propose meeting parameters; the organizer must then await responses from each, determine whether they all agree; repeated until a common set of parameters found to which all participants agree)
K. Applicant argues on page 17 of Remarks: ... Claims 2-10 and 12-20 depend from claims 1 and 11 respectively and are allowable for the same reasons as their respective independent claims.
Responses to arguments against the independent claims also answer arguments against the associated dependent claims.
L. Applicant argues on page 17 of Remarks: ... "resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses initializing a parameter that is incremented and incrementing the parameter from time to time (time based update). When the parameter reaches a maximum value then the parameter is reset. The situation (update) occurs from time to time which is analogous to a time interval. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
M. Applicant argues on page 18 of Remarks: ... "resetting, at periodic time
intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses initializing a parameter that is incremented and incrementing the parameter from time to time (time based update). When the parameter reaches a maximum value then the parameter is reset. The situation (update) occurs from time to time which is analogous to a time interval. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
N. Applicant argues on page 18 of Remarks: ... none of the cited references teach or suggest the dynamic protocol versioning ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. There is no claim language analogous to “dynamic protocol versioning” within the claimed invention. The term “dynamic” does not occur in the claim language or the Specification. Lee discloses a mapping between a set of parameters (random numbers) and a character string. A different set of numbers mapped to a particular character string results in a different version of encoding and decoding. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
O. Applicant argues on pages 18-19 of Remarks: ... "resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses initializing a parameter that is incremented and incrementing the parameter from time to time (time based update). When the parameter reaches a maximum value then the parameter is reset. The situation (update) occurs from time to time which is analogous to a time interval. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
P. Applicant argues on page 19 of Remarks: ... none of the cited references teach or suggest the dynamic protocol versioning ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. There is no claim language analogous to “dynamic protocol versioning” within the claimed invention. The term “dynamic” does not occur in the claim language or the Specification. Lee discloses a mapping between a set of parameters (random numbers) and a character string. A different set of numbers mapped to a particular character string results in a different version of encoding and decoding. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
5. Initially it should be noted that the present application is a continuation application of application 17/151086, now Patent No. 11,956,352, having the same inventive entity. The Assignee in both applications is the same. The entire disclosures of the instant application and the patent are identical.
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,956,352. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1, 11 of the instant application (18/439687) are almost the same as Patent (11,956,352) Claims 1, 11. Claim 1 of the 11,956,352 Patent as shown in the table below contains every element of Claim 1 of the instant application and as such the difference is not enough to distinguish the two claims. Claims 1, 11 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim, if the later claim is unpatentable over the earlier claim.
Application 18/439687
Claim 1
Patent (11,956,352)
Claim 1
“a first device and a second device cooperating and generating a randomized language protocol from a data set array wherein the randomized language protocol comprises random object values, and the randomized language protocol creates a unique language between the first device and the second device”
“in response to accepting the invitation, the first and second devices cooperating and generating a randomized language protocol from a data set array wherein the randomized language protocol comprises random object values and alphanumeric characters, and the randomized language protocol creates a unique language between the first device and the second device”
“assigning the random object values to characters” and ““generating an array of pointers in the data set array pointing from the assigned random object values to the characters”
“assigning the random object values to the alphanumeric characters” and “generating an array of pointers in the data set array pointing from the assigned random object values to the alphanumeric characters”
“agreeing between the first device and the second device on the array of pointers pointing from the assigned random object values to the characters” and “receiving, from an input, a communication message at the first device”
“agreeing between the first device and the second device on the array of pointers pointing from the assigned random object values to the alphanumeric characters” and “receiving, from an input, a communication message at the first device”
“transforming the communication message into an encrypted message comprising the assigned random object values” and “transmitting the encrypted message to the second device” and “transmitting the encrypted message to the second device”
“transforming the communication message into an encrypted message comprising the assigned random object values; transmitting the encrypted message to the second device” and “transmitting the encrypted message to the second device”
“at the second device, looking up the pointers in the data set array in response to a receipt of the transmitted encrypted message” and “translating, using the randomized language protocol, the encrypted message into a decrypted version of the communication message”
“at the second device, looking up the pointers in the data set array in response to a receipt of the transmitted encrypted message” and “translating, using the randomized language protocol, the encrypted message into a decrypted version of the communication message”
“resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters”
“resetting at random time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the alphanumeric characters and generating a different version of the randomized language protocol during communications between the first device and the second device”
“generating a different version of the randomized language protocol using the reset assignment of the random object values to the characters, during communications between the first device and the second device, wherein the first device and the second device both have access to the different version of the randomized language protocol”
“resetting at random time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the alphanumeric characters and generating a different version of the randomized language protocol during communications between the first device and the second device”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 11, 12, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop, JR et al. (US PGPUB No. 20040148356, referred to as “Bishop”) in view of Lee (US Patent No. 6,381,629).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, Bishop discloses a time randomizing interface protocol language encryption method and a computer program product for generating time randomizing interface protocol language encryption, comprising:
d) agreeing between the first device and the second device on the array of pointers pointing from the assigned random object values to the characters; (see Bishop paragraph [0032], lines 5-11: the organizer, to contact everyone and propose meeting parameters; the organizer must then await responses from each, determine whether they all agree; repeated until a common set of parameters found to which all participants agree)
e) receiving, from an input, a communication message at the first device; (see Bishop paragraph [0108], lines 1-10: message is prepared for relaying to the recipient (receiving input); original end-to-end package (header without Bcc: list, end-to-end encryption key, content, and sender's signature) is signed with the decryption/signature key Trusted Courier uses for communication with the recipient's Agent; ready to be relayed, the signed package is wrapped in a message from Trusted Courier to the recipient's Agent); paragraph [0104], lines 9-11: Trusted Courier at this point, constructs, encrypts, and signs a message to the sender acknowledging receipt of the message; (user receiving input to message initiation))
f) transforming the communication message into an encrypted message comprising the assigned random object values; (see Bishop paragraph [0102], lines 1-9: after encrypting, original message body is protected, but so is the original message header; with multiple signatures imbedded in the message at this point, message can be authenticated both to Trusted Courier, and to receiving Agent; paragraph [0108], lines 1-10: message is prepared for relaying to the recipient; original end-to-end package (header without Bcc: list, end-to-end encryption key, content, and sender's signature) is signed with the decryption/signature key Trusted Courier uses for communication with the recipient's Agent; ready to be relayed, the signed package is wrapped in a message from Trusted Courier to the recipient's Agent)
g) transmitting the encrypted message to the second device; (see Bishop paragraph [0108], lines 1-10: message is prepared for relaying to the recipient (message transmitted to recipient); original end-to-end package (header without Bcc: list, end-to-end encryption key, content, and sender's signature) is signed with the decryption/signature key Trusted Courier uses for communication with the recipient's Agent; ready to be relayed, the signed package is wrapped in a message from Trusted Courier to the recipient's Agent)
h) at the second device, looking up the pointers in the data set array in response to a receipt of the transmitted encrypted message; (see Bishop paragraph [0112], lines 1-4: assuming the message either was not refused or not given an opportunity to be refused, the receiving Agent will proceed to decrypt the message content using the key, and present it to the user) and
i) translating, using the randomized language protocol, the encrypted message into a decrypted version of the communication message. (see Bishop paragraph [0112], lines 1-4: assuming the message either was not refused or not given an opportunity to be refused, the receiving Agent will proceed to decrypt the message content using the key, and present it to the user)
Bishop does not specifically disclose for a) generating a randomized language protocol from a data set array wherein the randomized language protocol comprises random object values, and the randomized language protocol creates a unique language between first device and second device, and for b) assigning random object values to characters, and for c) generating an array of pointers in data set array pointing from assigned random object values to characters, and for j) resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of random object values to characters, and for k) generating a different version of randomized language protocol using reset assignment of the random object values to the characters.
However, Lee discloses:
a) a first device and a second device cooperating and generating a randomized language protocol from a data set array wherein the randomized language protocol comprises random object values, and the randomized language protocol creates a unique language between the first device and the second device; (see Lee col 4, lines 21-30: item identification system maps this random numeric values into a character string; the length of the character string is determined by the user or software developer; to increase the length of the character string, the item identification system invokes the random number generator multiple times and appends the consecutive random numbers together; these appended random numbers are then mapped into a character string; the item identification system continues to invoke the random number generator until a desired character string length is achieved; col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping, language protocol))
b) assigning the random object values to characters; (see Lee col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping))
c) generating an array of pointers in the data set array pointing from the assigned random object values to the characters; (see Lee col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (multiple random numbers; characters mapping)) and
j) resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of the random object values to the characters; (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (periodically, processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping)) and
k) generating a different version of the randomized language protocol using the reset assignment of the random object values to the characters, during communications between the first device and the second device, wherein the first device and the second device both have access to the different version of the randomized language protocol. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (determine a different version or set of random numbers to characters mapping))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for a) generating a randomized language protocol from a data set array wherein the randomized language protocol comprises random object values, and the randomized language protocol creates a unique language between first device and second device, and for b) assigning random object values to characters, and for c) generating an array of pointers in data set array pointing from assigned random object values to characters, and for j) resetting, at periodic time intervals, the assignment of random object values to characters, and for k) generating a different version of randomized language protocol using reset assignment of the random object values to the characters as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from a system that enables increased security by utilizing a mapping table utilized in the cryptographic processing of messages. (see Lee col 6, lines 4-9)
Furthermore, for Claim 11, Bishop discloses wherein the computer program product comprising, one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media, the program instructions performing operations. (see Bishop paragraph [0160], lines 1-7: devices such as cellular phones, which may be programmable to run (execute) enhanced software applications but generally have less computing capability than larger and more-expensive personal computers and PDAs; paragraph [0167], lines 1-10: Agent is supported by its own Programmable Computing Platform, which provides the usual processing and memory capabilities; (computing system indicates a processor coupled to a memory for instruction storage and loading))
Regarding Claims 2, 12, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the assignment of the random object values to the characters is performed for a single character on a reset. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution)
Regarding Claims 4, 14, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 11.
Bishop does not specifically disclose for a) receiving a request to reset the randomized language protocol, and for b) resetting the assignment of the random object values to the characters and generating different version of the randomized language protocol in response to the request to reset the randomized protocol language.
However, Lee discloses:
a) receiving a request to reset the randomized language protocol from the first device to the second device or from the second device to the first device; (see Lee col 1, 26-31: client computer will request data stored in data sources from a Web server computer, at which Web server software resides. The Web server software interacts with an interface connected to, for example, a Database Management System ("DBMS"), which is connected to the data sources; (request for perform an action; processing reset)) and
b) resetting the assignment of the random object values to the characters and generating the different version of the randomized language protocol in response to the request to reset the randomized protocol language. (see Lee col 5, lines 45-59: when the item identification system starts up (processing reset), the item identification system initializes the global variable to zero; the item identification system increments the global variable until the global variable reaches its maximum length; when the global variable satisfies a pre-defined criteria such as, reaching a maximum length, its value is reset to zero; in an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the pre-defined criteria is satisfied when a process terminates its execution; (resetting assignments generates a new version))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for a) receiving a request to reset the randomized language protocol, and for b) resetting the assignment of the random object values to the characters and generating different version of the randomized language protocol in response to the request to reset the randomized protocol language as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from a system that enables increased security by utilizing a mapping table utilized in the cryptographic processing of messages. (see Lee col 6, lines 4-9)
Regarding Claims 6, 16, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the characters comprise a word, phrase, or sentence.
Bishop does not specifically disclose for a) a pointer index value for each pointer pointing to the word, phrase, or sentence; and b) during translating using pointer index value to determine word, phrase, or sentence in communication message.
However, Lee discloses:
a) a pointer index value for each pointer pointing to the word, phrase, or sentence; and b) during the step of translating the encrypted message, using the pointer index value to determine the word, phrase, or sentence in the decrypted version of the communication message. (see Lee col 4, lines 21-30: item identification system maps this random numeric value into a character string (word, phrase, or sentence); the length of the character string is determined by the user or software developer; to increase the length of the character string, the item identification system invokes the random number generator multiple times and appends the consecutive random numbers together; these appended random numbers are then mapped into a character string (word, phrase, sentence); the item identification system continues to invoke the random number generator until a desired character string length is achieved; col 6, lines 4-9: represents the item identification system invoking the random number generator; the item identification system then receives a random number from the random number generator as represented by block; block represents the item identification system mapping the random number into a character; (random number to character mapping); (random numbers associated with a character string analogous to a “word”, “phrase”, or “sentence))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for a) a pointer index value for each pointer pointing to the word, phrase, or sentence; and b) during translating using pointer index value to determine word, phrase, or sentence in communication message as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Lee for the benefits achieved from a system that enables increased security by utilizing a mapping table utilized in the cryptographic processing of messages. (see Lee col 6, lines 4-9)
8. Claims 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop in view of Lee and further in view of Clark (US PGPUB No. 20160142374) and Smith et al. (US PGPUB No. 20080016192).
Regarding Claims 3, 13, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 11.
Bishop does not specifically disclose for a) identifying a termination of a first session of communication; b) identifying a second session of communication (established).
However, Clark discloses:
a) identifying a termination of a first session of communication between the first device and the second device; b) identifying a second session of communication between the first device and the second device. (see Clark paragraph [0004]: systems and methods are described for establishing a secure communication session between two mobile devices, or a mobile device and landline using 3G/4G, Wi-Fi, or the like to act as the communication session carrier only. A communication session is established in the form of voice, video or SMS (text) communication signals. The secure communication session uses a virtual private network (VPN) installed on a local network device or a virtual server at the local area network (LAN) level, and a locally installed private branch exchange (PBX) configured on the same network device to establish, maintain and terminate a communication session.) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for a) identifying a termination of a first session of communication; b) identifying a second session of communication as taught by Clark. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Clark for the flexibility of system that enables the establishment and termination communication sessions for enabling communications between network-connected nodes within a network environment. (see Clark paragraph [0004])
Bishop does not specifically disclose for c) retrieving language protocol or different version of language protocol for use in second session of communication.
However, Smith discloses:
c) retrieving the randomized language protocol or the different version of the language protocol for use in the second session of communication between the first device and the second device. (see Smith paragraph [0036]: determines whether the data server 1, 42, is operational to determine a communication protocol for communicating with the administrative scheduler 54 (decision step 415). If yes, the remote administrator 52 selects a query language protocol (step 420) for communicating with the administrative scheduler 54 on the data server 1, 42 and accesses the task modules using query language.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for c) retrieving randomized language protocol or different version of language protocol for use in second session of communication as taught by Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Smith for the flexibility of a system that enables the selection of a language protocol for use within a communications session. (see Smith paragraph [0036])
Bishop discloses randomized language protocol as stated above.
9. Claims 5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop in view of Lee and further in view of Shaltiel et al. (US PGPUB No. 20170005954).
Regarding Claims 5, 15, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the communication message is speech-based and the method further comprises:
b) transforming the text into the encrypted message comprising the assigned random object values. (see Bishop paragraph [0102], lines 1-9: after encrypting, original message body is protected, but so is the original message header; with multiple signatures imbedded in the message at this point, message can be authenticated both to Trusted Courier, and to receiving Agent; paragraph [0108], lines 1-10: message is prepared for relaying to the recipient; original end-to-end package (header without Bcc: list, end-to-end encryption key, content, and sender's signature) is signed with the decryption/signature key Trusted Courier uses for communication with the recipient's Agent; ready to be relayed, the signed package is wrapped in a message from Trusted Courier to the recipient's Agent)
Bishop does not specifically disclose for a) converting the speech-based communication message into text.
However, Shaltiel discloses:
a) converting the speech-based communication message into text. (see Shaltiel paragraph [0065]: server 202 may further include a speech-to-text interface (not shown) operative to convert voice messages into email messages.; (convert speech to text))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for a) converting the speech-based communication message into text as taught by Shaltiel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Shaltiel for the flexibility of a system that enables conversion of messages from one format to a second format such as conversion of speech to test within a cloud-based environment. (see Shaltiel paragraph [0065])
10. Claims 7 - 10, 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop in view of Lee and further in view of Liu et al. (US PGPUB No. 20200134218).
Regarding Claims 7, 17, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 11.
Bishop does not specifically disclose the array of pointers pointing from the assigned random object values to the characters is stored in a cloud-based network.
However, Liu discloses wherein the array of pointers pointing from the assigned random object values to the characters is stored in a cloud-based network accessed by the first device and the second device. (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6: virtual storage container may communicate with the virtual storage mapper (analogous to cloud storage), which may communicate with the access control layer, to distribute the data blocks of the file across the clouds in accordance with the allocation algorithm applicable to the file; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19: method of shuffling data blocks of files stored through the storage system; each file may be associated with a shuffling algorithm, which defines how or how often, or both, the data blocks of the file are shuffled among the clouds; shuffling algorithm may determine how to reassign data blocks to clouds and may also establish a schedule or other shuffling criteria to initiate reassignment; a shuffling algorithm may indicate that the location of each data block is to be chosen at random from the clouds with space available to hold the data block)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for the array of pointers pointing from the assigned random object values to the characters is stored in a cloud-based network as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Liu for the benefits achieved from a system that enables added security by the randomization of data block storage within a cloud-based environment. (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19)
Regarding Claims 8, 18, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 7 and the computer program product of claim 17.
Bishop does not specifically disclose storing data blocks comprising portions of the data set array in random locations of cloud-based network.
However, Liu discloses wherein further comprising storing data blocks comprising portions of the data set array in random locations of the cloud-based network. (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6: virtual storage container may communicate with the virtual storage mapper (cloud storage), which may communicate with the access control layer, to distribute the data blocks of the file across the clouds in accordance with the allocation algorithm applicable to the file; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19: method of shuffling data blocks of files stored through the storage system; each file may be associated with a shuffling algorithm, which defines how or how often, or both, the data blocks of the file are shuffled among the clouds; shuffling algorithm may determine how to reassign data blocks to clouds and may also establish a schedule or other shuffling criteria to initiate reassignment; a shuffling algorithm may indicate that the location of each data block is to be chosen at random from the clouds with space available to hold the data block)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for storing data blocks comprising portions of the data set array in random locations of cloud-based network as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Liu for the benefits achieved from a system that enables added security by the randomization of data block storage within a cloud-based environment. (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19)
Regarding Claims 9, 19, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 8 and the computer program product of claim 18.
Bishop does not specifically disclose generating array of pointers (first, second array) comprising random locations of cloud-based network and stored data blocks in random locations.
However, Liu discloses wherein further comprising generating another array of pointers comprising the random locations of the cloud-based network and the stored data blocks in the random locations. (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6: virtual storage container may communicate with the virtual storage mapper (cloud storage), which may communicate with the access control layer, to distribute the data blocks of the file across the clouds in accordance with the allocation algorithm applicable to the file; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19: method of shuffling data blocks of files stored through the storage system; each file may be associated with a shuffling algorithm, which defines how or how often, or both, the data blocks of the file are shuffled among the clouds; shuffling algorithm may determine how to reassign data blocks to clouds and may also establish a schedule or other shuffling criteria to initiate reassignment; a shuffling algorithm may indicate that the location of each data block is to be chosen at random from the clouds with space available to hold the data block)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for generating array of pointers (first, second array) comprising random locations of cloud-based network and stored data blocks in random locations as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Liu for the benefits achieved from a system that enables added security by the randomization of data block storage within a cloud-based environment. (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19)
Regarding Claims 10, 20, Bishop-Lee discloses the method of claim 9 and the computer program product of claim 19.
Bishop does not specifically disclose for a) downloading another array of pointers comprising random locations and stored data blocks in the random locations, and for b) recombining stored data blocks in response to receipt of transmitted encrypted message.
However, Liu discloses:
a) downloading the another array of pointers comprising the random locations of the cloud-based network and the stored data blocks in the random locations; (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6: virtual storage container may communicate with the virtual storage mapper, which may communicate with the access control layer, to distribute the data blocks of the file across the clouds in accordance with the allocation algorithm applicable to the file; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19: method of shuffling data blocks of files stored through the storage system; each file may be associated with a shuffling algorithm, which defines how or how often, or both, the data blocks of the file are shuffled among the clouds; shuffling algorithm may determine how to reassign data blocks to clouds and may also establish a schedule or other shuffling criteria to initiate reassignment; a shuffling algorithm may indicate that the location of each data block is to be chosen at random from the clouds with space available to hold the data block) and
b) recombining stored data blocks from the seed data set array in response to the receipt of the transmitted encrypted message. (see Liu paragraph [0070], lines 1-4: the virtual storage mapper may aggregate the data blocks (recombining) to form the file, for instance, according to a recombination algorithm indicated in the file structure)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bishop for a) downloading another array of pointers comprising random locations and stored data blocks in the random locations, and for b) recombining stored data blocks in response to receipt of transmitted encrypted message as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Liu for the benefits achieved from a system that enables added security by the randomization of data block storage within a cloud-based environment. (see Liu paragraph [0063], lines 1-6; paragraph [0072], lines 1-19)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CJ/
February 23, 2026
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436