DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 19-20 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 1-2 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID” because neither Bonge nor Parvaneh discloses the use of an RFID reader that is transmitted externally along with two additional health and activity characteristics, one of which is generated via a radar-based sensor and Hill discloses a conventional RFID reader coupled to a collar, it does not contemplate gathering and sending additional health and activity characteristics.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 06/02/2025, the rejection relied upon the combination of Bonge and Parvaneh to disclose various types of sensing information are detected and transmitted to a monitoring system to determine activities/health conditions of an animal (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The specific inputs and outputs of the animal-worn device allow for the functionality of these different embodiments, and any of the different inputs and outputs may be combined in the animal-worn device depending on the needs of the human operator. For example, a pet owner desiring to train his pet may only require animal-worn device with inputs and outputs that provide such functionality, whereas another pet owner desiring to train her pet and to monitor the health and fitness of her animal may require the inputs and outputs related to training and to monitor health and fitness and Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4) including radar ([0006]: an efficient approach is needed to evaluate human physical activities and postures of a subject using a wearable sensor, to detect when the wearable sensor is not being worn, and to detect and verify a fall event using the wearable sensor, [0022]: Notably, ambient sensors contemplated by the present teachings include, but are not limited to various pressure sensors, including for collector sensors, such as piezoelectric sensors, microphones, RADAR sensors and light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. As will be appreciated, these ambient sensors can readily determine the location of a user, as well as changes in location of the user. Further, these ambient sensors may determine user's posture (e.g., standing, lying prone or supine, walking, sitting, sleeping), [0028]: the database 150 may store one or more models for activity and posture recognition as well as fall detection. Generally, each of the models is trained based on training data acquired by a sensor mounted on the chest of training subjects, or a simulation of the same, and [0050]: the displayed information may include any combination of the subject's name, address and/or present location, severity of pain being experienced by the subject (e.g., according to a predetermined scale), heart rate information, severity of the fall (e.g., according to a predetermined scale) based at least in part of the pain level and the heart rate information, the name and contact information of the subject's caregiver(s), and associated medical history of the subject) sensing information (Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4), the combination of Bonge and Parvaneh does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID; the first datum, including the unique ID.
Further, Hill discloses wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the RFID transceiver 211: For example, upon wakeup, the microcontroller 206 activates RFID transceiver 211 which sends an activation signal to RFID antenna 205 via connecting cable 213. This activation signal causes RFID antenna 205 to emit a magnetic field 212 which in turn inductively powers microchip 202) and bearing a unique ID (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the RFID transceiver 211: For example, upon wakeup, the microcontroller 206 activates RFID transceiver 211 which sends an activation signal to RFID antenna 205 via connecting cable 213. This activation signal causes RFID antenna 205 to emit a magnetic field 212 which in turn inductively powers microchip 202); the first datum, including the unique ID (Hill: Abstract, [0028], and FIG. 1: The microchip can be activated and scanned for its internally stored unique identification code by a reader device. The temperature sensing microchip is physically identical to a conventional identification microchip and can include a temperature sensor. The microchips can transmit identification and temperature data when activated, either automatically or in response to a scan tool utilized to read the microchip. Identification and temperature scanning is useful to animal healthcare specialists and can also be informative to pet owners as a means to monitor animal health and welfare).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the animal control system of Bonge and Parvaneh to include wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID; the first datum, including the unique ID, as suggested by Hill. The motivation for this is to receive sensing information by an animal wearable device to determine conditions of the animal based on its identification (Hill: [0039]: By capturing and conveying data records that include identification and temperature data, multiple animals can be tracked and monitored. The time/date and environmental temperature data sent from electronic assembly 201 can be used to develop temperature profiles via user application algorithms that in turn provide alerts to the pet owner when the animal temperature deviates from a normal or user specified temperature range).
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonge, Jr. et al. (Bonge – US 2016/0021506 A1) in view of Parvaneh et al. (Parvaneh – US 2021/0052198 A1) and further in view of Hill et al. (Hill – US 2016/0120154 A1).
As to claim 1, Bonge discloses an animal monitoring system comprising:
a collar (Bonge: [0048] and FIG. 1-6 the animal worn device 1);
a monitor unit (Bonge: [0080] and FIG. 9 the casing 41) coupled to the collar (Bonge: [0058]-0059], [0062]-[0063], [0065], [0068], [0078]-[0082], and FIG. 7 the main processor 18: FIG. 7 also shows that the animal-worn device 1 includes a battery array 29 to provide power to the animal-worn device 1. Typically, the operating voltage required by commercially available microprocessors, such as may be used as the main processor 18, is lower than that required for other outputs employed by the animal-worn device 1);
a first sensor and a second sensor coupled to the collar (Bonge: FIG. 7 the vibration sensor 19, the temperature sensor 20, the accelerometer 21, the microphone 22, the audio recorder 23, the heart rate monitor 24, the magnetometer 25, the GPS locator 26, the auxiliary radio receiver 27, the photosensor 28, the conductivity sensor 29, the humidity sensor 107, the water sensor 109, and the camera 110), wherein the first sensor is configured to obtain a first datum associated with a first health and activity characteristic and the second sensor is configured to obtain a second datum associated with a second health and activity characteristic (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The specific inputs and outputs of the animal-worn device allow for the functionality of these different embodiments, and any of the different inputs and outputs may be combined in the animal-worn device depending on the needs of the human operator. For example, a pet owner desiring to train his pet may only require animal-worn device with inputs and outputs that provide such functionality, whereas another pet owner desiring to train her pet and to monitor the health and fitness of her animal may require the inputs and outputs related to training and to monitor health and fitness),
wherein the animal monitoring system is configured to transmit the first datum and the second datum to an external system via a wireless network (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082]-[0091], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 9-10, and FIG. 24: As shown in FIG. 10, the animal-worn device 1 may include at least one temperature sensor 20 placed at the back side of the casing 41 to measure the animal's 3 body temperature. Additionally, at least one microphone 22 may be included to detect audible sounds uttered by the animal 3, by a human or other sounds from the environment. The heart rate monitor 24 may be included to detect the animal's 3 pulse rate by emitting light from a light source 47 and detecting the backscattering with light detectors 45 and 46 using a known process whereby blood vessels that contain a higher volume of blood absorb more light of certain frequencies than do blood vessels containing less blood. As blood pulses through the veins of the animal 3, backscattered light of certain frequencies will be detected with varying amplitude, the rise or fall of amplitude following the pulse rate of the animal 3 yielding a pulse rate equal to the heart rate of the animal 3. The resulting heart rate may be transmitted to the wireless mobile device 4 or stored in the main processor 18 for transmission at a later time. The heart rate of the animal 3 may be used by the wireless mobile device 4 in executing applications relating to the health and fitness of the animal 3).
Bonge does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID;
a radar-based sensor configured to obtain a third datum associated with a third health and activity characteristic; wherein the animal monitoring system is configured to transmit the first datum, including the unique ID, the second datum, and the third datum to an external system via a wireless network.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of an animal to implement a radar-based sensor configured to obtain a third datum associated with a third health and activity characteristic;
wherein the animal monitoring system is configured to transmit the first datum, the second datum, and the third datum to an external system via a wireless network, as suggested by Parvaneh, which discloses a radar-based sensor (Parvaneh: [0022] the remote or ambient sensors) configured to obtain a third datum associated with a third health and activity characteristic (Parvaneh: [0022] the remote or ambient sensors: The data may be collected by the wearable sensor 110 itself, as well as by remote sensors (not shown) at various remote locations on the body 105 or ambient sensors around the room apart from the wearable sensor 110, the remote sensors being in communication with the wearable sensor 110 through wireless and/or wired connections. Notably, ambient sensors contemplated by the present teachings include, but are not limited to various pressure sensors, including for collector sensors, such as piezoelectric sensors, microphones, RADAR sensors and light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. As will be appreciated, these ambient sensors can readily determine the location of a user, as well as changes in location of the user. Further, these ambient sensors may determine user's posture (e.g., standing, lying prone or supine, walking, sitting, sleeping));
wherein the animal monitoring system is configured to transmit the first datum, the second datum, and the third datum to an external system via a wireless network (Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: Additional information regarding the heart rate, the heart rate variability, and/or the heart rate quality may be communicated to the monitoring system as well. The transmitted information may assessed by an agent or caregiver who accesses the monitoring system, and depending on the level of estimated pain and severity of the fall, interventional actions may be employed accordingly (e.g., dispatch of emergency care). In addition, a message may be generated and delivered to the caregiver notifying them of the fall and subsequent physiological health and pain level. The information may also be stored for assessment of the health of the subject 106, which may be used over time for diagnostic purposes and early detection of mental/physical conditions (e.g., finding correlations between frequency and severity of falls and various medical conditions, such as diabetes and dementia). The information also may be used for prioritizing users according to need (i.e., fallen users with high pain levels) in the waiting list of the emergency dispatch center).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Bonge and Parvaneh, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the animal control system of Bonge to include a radar-based sensor configured to obtain a third datum associated with a third health and activity characteristic;
wherein the animal monitoring system is configured to transmit the first datum, the second datum, and the third datum to an external system via a wireless network, as suggested by Parvaneh. The motivation for this is to selectively implement appropriate information collected by an animal wearable device to determine conditions of the animal.
The combination of Bonge and Parvaneh discloses various types of sensing information are detected and transmitted to a monitoring system to determine activities/conditions of an animal (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The specific inputs and outputs of the animal-worn device allow for the functionality of these different embodiments, and any of the different inputs and outputs may be combined in the animal-worn device depending on the needs of the human operator. For example, a pet owner desiring to train his pet may only require animal-worn device with inputs and outputs that provide such functionality, whereas another pet owner desiring to train her pet and to monitor the health and fitness of her animal may require the inputs and outputs related to training and to monitor health and fitness and Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4) including radar ([0006]: an efficient approach is needed to evaluate human physical activities and postures of a subject using a wearable sensor, to detect when the wearable sensor is not being worn, and to detect and verify a fall event using the wearable sensor, [0022]: Notably, ambient sensors contemplated by the present teachings include, but are not limited to various pressure sensors, including for collector sensors, such as piezoelectric sensors, microphones, RADAR sensors and light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. As will be appreciated, these ambient sensors can readily determine the location of a user, as well as changes in location of the user. Further, these ambient sensors may determine user's posture (e.g., standing, lying prone or supine, walking, sitting, sleeping), [0028]: the database 150 may store one or more models for activity and posture recognition as well as fall detection. Generally, each of the models is trained based on training data acquired by a sensor mounted on the chest of training subjects, or a simulation of the same, and [0050]: the displayed information may include any combination of the subject's name, address and/or present location, severity of pain being experienced by the subject (e.g., according to a predetermined scale), heart rate information, severity of the fall (e.g., according to a predetermined scale) based at least in part of the pain level and the heart rate information, the name and contact information of the subject's caregiver(s), and associated medical history of the subject) sensing information (Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4), the combination of Bonge and Parvaneh does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID; the first datum, including the unique ID.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of an animal to implement wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID; the first datum, including the unique ID, as suggested by Hill, which discloses wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the RFID transceiver 211: For example, upon wakeup, the microcontroller 206 activates RFID transceiver 211 which sends an activation signal to RFID antenna 205 via connecting cable 213. This activation signal causes RFID antenna 205 to emit a magnetic field 212 which in turn inductively powers microchip 202) and bearing a unique ID (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the RFID transceiver 211: For example, upon wakeup, the microcontroller 206 activates RFID transceiver 211 which sends an activation signal to RFID antenna 205 via connecting cable 213. This activation signal causes RFID antenna 205 to emit a magnetic field 212 which in turn inductively powers microchip 202); the first datum, including the unique ID (Hill: Abstract, [0028], and FIG. 1: The microchip can be activated and scanned for its internally stored unique identification code by a reader device. The temperature sensing microchip is physically identical to a conventional identification microchip and can include a temperature sensor. The microchips can transmit identification and temperature data when activated, either automatically or in response to a scan tool utilized to read the microchip. Identification and temperature scanning is useful to animal healthcare specialists and can also be informative to pet owners as a means to monitor animal health and welfare).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the animal control system of Bonge and Parvaneh to include wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID; the first datum, including the unique ID, as suggested by Hill. The motivation for this is to receive information sensing by an animal wearable device to determine conditions of the animal.
As to claim 2, Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the animal monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the external system is a client device (Bonge: [0048]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0082]-[0104], FIG. 1-5 the wireless mobile device 4, FIG. 23, and FIG. 27: FIG. 1 shows the animal-worn device 1 wirelessly paired to the wireless mobile device 4 via a direct, point-to-point connection. The animal-worn device 1 may be affixed by means of flexible strap 2 to an animal 3. The wireless mobile device 4 wirelessly paired to the animal-worn device 1 may be a so-called smart phone or tablet with the capability of executing preprogramed applications. Currently, the predominant devices with this capability utilize the iOS operating system proprietary to Apple Corporation or the Android operating system proprietary to Google. Other currently available operating systems include Blackberry and Windows. The current embodiment requires that the wireless mobile device 4 be capable of executing a pre-programmed application and be capable of wirelessly communicating with an external device and Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: As discussed above, the one or more monitoring systems may include an emergency dispatch center (e.g., a 911 call center), a PERS service center, and/or a computer, cellular phone, or other networked device of a caregiver. In addition, the subject may be prompted to contact the monitoring system themselves, again enabling commencement of responsive action).
As to claim 3, Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill disclose the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the animal monitoring system of claim 2, wherein the client device is a cell phone (Bonge: [0048]-[0056], [0058]-[0060], [0082]-[0104], FIG. 1-5 the wireless mobile device 4, FIG. 23, and FIG. 27: FIG. 1 shows the animal-worn device 1 wirelessly paired to the wireless mobile device 4 via a direct, point-to-point connection. The animal-worn device 1 may be affixed by means of flexible strap 2 to an animal 3. The wireless mobile device 4 wirelessly paired to the animal-worn device 1 may be a so-called smart phone or tablet with the capability of executing preprogramed applications. Currently, the predominant devices with this capability utilize the iOS operating system proprietary to Apple Corporation or the Android operating system proprietary to Google. Other currently available operating systems include Blackberry and Windows. The current embodiment requires that the wireless mobile device 4 be capable of executing a pre-programmed application and be capable of wirelessly communicating with an external device and Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: As discussed above, the one or more monitoring systems may include an emergency dispatch center (e.g., a 911 call center), a PERS service center, and/or a computer, cellular phone, or other networked device of a caregiver. In addition, the subject may be prompted to contact the monitoring system themselves, again enabling commencement of responsive action).
As to claim 4, Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the animal monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the external system is a server (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3: Once this connection is established, microcontroller 206 transmits captured data stored in memory 207. Other stored data that are not indicated as having been previously transmitted can also be sent as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications of embodiments of the invention. Once data record conveyance has occurred and confirmed, microcontroller 206 places the electronic assembly 201 in a low power dormant state, and awaits countdown to the next activation event. It should be noted that the data can be transmitted to any device, such as a base station or data server system, as appropriate to the requirements of specific applications of embodiments of the invention).
As to claim 6, Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the animal monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the second health and activity characteristic comprises one of an animal’s heart rate (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: the animal-worn device 1 may include a heart rate monitor 24 to aid in monitoring the health of the animal 3 and may be used to assist the human user in properly exercising the animal 3. The heart rate monitor 24 may be integrated into the animal-worn device 1 or may be a separate external device to be worn by the animal 3, for example, as a harness and Parvaneh: [0019]-[0020], [0022], [0031], [0035]-[0039], [0046]-[0050], [0054], [0058]-[0059], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: the detected heart sounds are processed to determine heart related information, including heart rate, heart rate variability and/or heart sound quality, based on the detected heart sounds. As discussed above, the heart related information may be determined through auditory-accelerometric detection using the acquired auditory and/or accelerometric signals components corresponding to the two part rhythm of the heart sounds (S1-S2 heart sounds), for example, in order to extract S1 and S2 from the heart sounds. Inter-distance between consecutive S1s may then be extracted as the heart rate, and the heart rate variability may be determined by monitoring the extracted heart rate over a period of time, and identifying changes to the heart rate), an animal’s respiratory rate, an animal’s activity level (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], [0112], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, FIG. 24 and FIG. 26: the tandem exercise data array 104 may include statistics and information regarding the tandem exercise routine, such as the time elapsed and the activity being performed (e.g., running, biking, hiking or walking), the distance traveled, the current pace, the average pace, the heart rate, the percentage of heart rate relative to maximum heart rate, the calories burned and the exercise level for both the animal 3 and the human 68), an animal’s temperature (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0055], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The animal-worn device 1 may include a temperature sensor 20 capable of measuring an ambient environmental temperature and/or the animal's 3 body temperature), an animal’s blood oxygen level, an animal’s electrocardiogram, an animal’s blood glucose level, an animal’s step count, an animal’s caloric expenditure, an animal’s sleep pattern, and an animal’s location (Bonge: [0004], [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0055], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: In a further embodiment, the accelerometer 21 may be used in conjunction with a GPS locator 26 and a gyroscope 109 to determine the location of the animal-worn transceiver 1 to a high degree of accuracy, especially when the main processor 18 is enhanced with software that uses data from the accelerometer 21 and the gyroscope 109 to compensate for GPS location error. Another embodiment uses the accelerometer 21 as a pedometer by detecting the movements of the animal-worn transceiver 1 along the vertical axis that are generated as the animal 3 takes steps).
As to claim 7, Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill disclose the limitations of claim 6 further comprising the animal monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the third health and activity characteristic comprises one of an animal’s radar-cross section, an animal’s shape, an animal’s orientation, an animal’s posture (Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: The data may be collected by the wearable sensor 110 itself, as well as by remote sensors (not shown) at various remote locations on the body 105 or ambient sensors around the room apart from the wearable sensor 110, the remote sensors being in communication with the wearable sensor 110 through wireless and/or wired connections. Notably, ambient sensors contemplated by the present teachings include, but are not limited to various pressure sensors, including for collector sensors, such as piezoelectric sensors, microphones, RADAR sensors and light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. As will be appreciated, these ambient sensors can readily determine the location of a user, as well as changes in location of the user. Further, these ambient sensors may determine user's posture (e.g., standing, lying prone or supine, walking, sitting, sleeping)), an animal’s emotion, an animal’s activity, an animal’s position, an animal’s heart rate, an animal’s respiratory rate, an animal’s activity level, an animal’s temperature, an animal’s blood oxygen level, an animal’s electrocardiogram, an animal’s blood glucose level, an animal’s step count, an animal’s caloric expenditure, an animal’s sleep pattern, and an animal's location (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: the animal-worn device 1 may include a heart rate monitor 24 to aid in monitoring the health of the animal 3 and may be used to assist the human user in properly exercising the animal 3. The heart rate monitor 24 may be integrated into the animal-worn device 1 or may be a separate external device to be worn by the animal 3, for example, as a harness and Parvaneh: [0019]-[0020], [0022], [0031], [0035]-[0039], [0046]-[0050], [0054], [0058]-[0059], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: the detected heart sounds are processed to determine heart related information, including heart rate, heart rate variability and/or heart sound quality, based on the detected heart sounds. As discussed above, the heart related information may be determined through auditory-accelerometric detection using the acquired auditory and/or accelerometric signals components corresponding to the two part rhythm of the heart sounds (S1-S2 heart sounds), for example, in order to extract S1 and S2 from the heart sounds. Inter-distance between consecutive S1s may then be extracted as the heart rate, and the heart rate variability may be determined by monitoring the extracted heart rate over a period of time, and identifying changes to the heart rate).
As to claim 9, Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the animal monitoring system of claim 1, further comprising a Bluetooth communication module (Bonge: [0003], [0006], [0011], [0048], [0050], [0056], [0082], [0084], [0101], [0105], and FIG. 7 the wireless protocol processor 16: FIG. 3 shows an example of the animal-worn device 1 communicating with the personal computer 5 via a protocol such as Bluetooth. This is advantageous since many commercially available personal computing devices include wireless capability, such as Bluetooth. The personal computer 5 communicates with other devices such as the wireless mobile device 4 via routers 7 and 8 and the internet. It is common for computing devices to connect to the internet wirelessly using the WiFi protocol. In a further embodiment, the animal-worn device 1 may use a low energy communication protocol, such as Bluetooth low energy BLE, while devices such as the personal computer 5 and the wireless mobile device 4 may take advantage of higher data rates from a more energy consumptive communication protocol, such as WiFi and Parvaneh: Abstract, [0027], [0039], and FIG. 1: Additionally, the communication interface 145 may implement a TCP/IP stack for communication according to the TCP/IP protocols, enabling wireless communications in accordance with various standards for local area networks, such as Bluetooth (e.g., IEEE 802.15) and Wifi (e.g., IEEE 802.11), and/or wide area networks, for example. Various alternative or additional hardware or configurations for the communication interface 145 will be apparent).
As to claim 10, Bonge, Parvaneh, and Hill disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the animal monitoring system of claim 1, further comprising an implantable temperature sensor (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the microchip 102: This electronic assembly 201 can powered from battery 203, and is designed to remain predominantly in a very low power consuming dormant state except when scanning the microchip 202 and when transmitting identification and temperature data) configured to be read by the first sensor (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the RFID transceiver 211: Microchip 202 returns a signal to the microcontroller via RFID antenna 205, connecting cable 213, and RFID transceiver 211, where the signal includes identification and/or temperature data. Microcontroller 206 creates a data record consisting of the identification and temperature data acquired from microchip 202, current time and date information acquired from RTCC 210, and local environmental temperature data acquired from temperature sensor 209, and stores this composite data record in memory 207. Microcontroller 206 then activates RF transmitter 208 and establishes a connection with a remote device (e.g. a smartphone or scan tool) using RF antenna 204).
As to claim 11, Bonge discloses an animal monitoring system comprising:
a collar (Bonge: [0048] and FIG. 1-6 the animal worn device 1);
a monitor unit (Bonge: [0080] and FIG. 9 the casing 41) coupled to the collar (Bonge: [0058]-0059], [0062]-[0063], [0065], [0068], [0078]-[0082], and FIG. 7 the main processor 18: FIG. 7 also shows that the animal-worn device 1 includes a battery array 29 to provide power to the animal-worn device 1. Typically, the operating voltage required by commercially available microprocessors, such as may be used as the main processor 18, is lower than that required for other outputs employed by the animal-worn device 1);
a first sensor and a second sensor coupled to the collar (FIG. 7 the vibration sensor 19, the temperature sensor 20, the accelerometer 21, the microphone 22, the audio recorder 23, the heart rate monitor 24, the magnetometer 25, the GPS locator 26, the auxiliary radio receiver 27, the photosensor 28, the conductivity sensor 29, the humidity sensor 107, the water sensor 109, and the camera 110),
wherein the first sensor is configured to obtain a plurality of first data associated with a first health and activity characteristic and the second sensor is configured to obtain a plurality of second data associated with a second health and activity characteristic (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The specific inputs and outputs of the animal-worn device allow for the functionality of these different embodiments, and any of the different inputs and outputs may be combined in the animal-worn device depending on the needs of the human operator. For example, a pet owner desiring to train his pet may only require animal-worn device with inputs and outputs that provide such functionality, whereas another pet owner desiring to train her pet and to monitor the health and fitness of her animal may require the inputs and outputs related to training and to monitor health and fitness),
a controller (FIG. 7 the main processor 18) configured to the process the plurality of first data and generate a first alert associated with the first health and activity characteristic (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The specific inputs and outputs of the animal-worn device allow for the functionality of these different embodiments, and any of the different inputs and outputs may be combined in the animal-worn device depending on the needs of the human operator. For example, a pet owner desiring to train his pet may only require animal-worn device with inputs and outputs that provide such functionality, whereas another pet owner desiring to train her pet and to monitor the health and fitness of her animal may require the inputs and outputs related to training and to monitor health and fitness), and wherein the controller is configured to the process the plurality of second data and generate a second alert associated with the second health and activity characteristic (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The specific inputs and outputs of the animal-worn device allow for the functionality of these different embodiments, and any of the different inputs and outputs may be combined in the animal-worn device depending on the needs of the human operator. For example, a pet owner desiring to train his pet may only require animal-worn device with inputs and outputs that provide such functionality, whereas another pet owner desiring to train her pet and to monitor the health and fitness of her animal may require the inputs and outputs related to training and to monitor health and fitness), and
wherein the animal monitoring system is configured to transmit at least one of the first alert, the second alert, and the third alert to an external system via a wireless network (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082]-[0091], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 9-10, and FIG. 24: As shown in FIG. 10, the animal-worn device 1 may include at least one temperature sensor 20 placed at the back side of the casing 41 to measure the animal's 3 body temperature. Additionally, at least one microphone 22 may be included to detect audible sounds uttered by the animal 3, by a human or other sounds from the environment. The heart rate monitors 24 may be included to detect the animal's 3 pulse rate by emitting light from a light source 47 and detecting the backscattering with light detectors 45 and 46 using a known process whereby blood vessels that contain a higher volume of blood absorb more light of certain frequencies than do blood vessels containing less blood. As blood pulses through the veins of the animal 3, backscattered light of certain frequencies will be detected with varying amplitude, the rise or fall of amplitude following the pulse rate of the animal 3 yielding a pulse rate equal to the heart rate of the animal 3. The resulting heart rate may be transmitted to the wireless mobile device 4 or stored in the main processor 18 for transmission at a later time. The heart rate of the animal 3 may be used by the wireless mobile device 4 in executing applications relating to the health and fitness of the animal 3).
Bonge does not explicitly disclose
wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID;
a radar-based sensor configured to obtain a plurality of third data associated with a third health and activity characteristic;
the first data, including the unique ID, and
wherein the controller is configured to process the plurality of third data and generate a third alert associated with the third health and activity characteristic.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of an animal to implement a radar-based sensor configured to obtain a plurality of third data associated with a third health and activity characteristic; and wherein the controller is configured to process the plurality of third data and generate a third alert associated with the third health and activity characteristic, as suggested by Parvaneh, which discloses a radar-based sensor (Parvaneh: [0022] the remote or ambient sensors) configured to obtain a third data associated with a third health and activity characteristic (Parvaneh: [0022] the remote or ambient sensors: The data may be collected by the wearable sensor 110 itself, as well as by remote sensors (not shown) at various remote locations on the body 105 or ambient sensors around the room apart from the wearable sensor 110, the remote sensors being in communication with the wearable sensor 110 through wireless and/or wired connections. Notably, ambient sensors contemplated by the present teachings include, but are not limited to various pressure sensors, including for collector sensors, such as piezoelectric sensors, microphones, RADAR sensors and light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. As will be appreciated, these ambient sensors can readily determine the location of a user, as well as changes in location of the user. Further, these ambient sensors may determine user's posture (e.g., standing, lying prone or supine, walking, sitting, sleeping)); and wherein the controller ([0025] and FIG. 1 the processor 120: the memory 130 may store instructions for execution by the processor 120 and/or data upon with the processor 120 may operate) is configured to process the plurality of third data and generate a third alert associated with the third health and activity characteristic (Parvaneh: [0019]-[0020], [0022], [0031], [0035]-[0039], [0046]-[0050], [0054], [0058]-[0059], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: The data may be collected by the wearable sensor 110 itself, as well as by remote sensors (not shown) at various remote locations on the body 105 or ambient sensors around the room apart from the wearable sensor 110, the remote sensors being in communication with the wearable sensor 110 through wireless and/or wired connections. Notably, ambient sensors contemplated by the present teachings include, but are not limited to various pressure sensors, including for collector sensors, such as piezoelectric sensors, microphones, RADAR sensors and light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. As will be appreciated, these ambient sensors can readily determine the location of a user, as well as changes in location of the user. Further, these ambient sensors may determine user's posture (e.g., standing, lying prone or supine, walking, sitting, sleeping))
wherein the animal monitoring system is configured to transmit the first datum, the second datum, and the third datum to an external system via a wireless network (Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: Additional information regarding the heart rate, the heart rate variability, and/or the heart rate quality may be communicated to the monitoring system as well. The transmitted information may assessed by an agent or caregiver who accesses the monitoring system, and depending on the level of estimated pain and severity of the fall, interventional actions may be employed accordingly (e.g., dispatch of emergency care). In addition, a message may be generated and delivered to the caregiver notifying them of the fall and subsequent physiological health and pain level. The information may also be stored for assessment of the health of the subject 106, which may be used over time for diagnostic purposes and early detection of mental/physical conditions (e.g., finding correlations between frequency and severity of falls and various medical conditions, such as diabetes and dementia). The information also may be used for prioritizing users according to need (i.e., fallen users with high pain levels) in the waiting list of the emergency dispatch center).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Bonge and Parvaneh, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the animal control system of Bonge to include a radar-based sensor configured to obtain a plurality of third data associated with a third health and activity characteristic; and wherein the controller is configured to process the plurality of third data and generate a third alert associated with the third health and activity characteristic, as suggested by Parvaneh. The motivation for this is to selectively implement appropriate information collected by an animal wearable device to determine conditions of the animal.
The combination of Bonge and Parvaneh discloses various types of sensing information are detected and transmitted to a monitoring system to determine activities/conditions of an animal (Bonge: [0010], [0016]-[0017], [0061]-[0072], [0082], [0109], FIG. 7, FIG. 10, and FIG. 24: The specific inputs and outputs of the animal-worn device allow for the functionality of these different embodiments, and any of the different inputs and outputs may be combined in the animal-worn device depending on the needs of the human operator. For example, a pet owner desiring to train his pet may only require animal-worn device with inputs and outputs that provide such functionality, whereas another pet owner desiring to train her pet and to monitor the health and fitness of her animal may require the inputs and outputs related to training and to monitor health and fitness and Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4) including radar ([0006]: an efficient approach is needed to evaluate human physical activities and postures of a subject using a wearable sensor, to detect when the wearable sensor is not being worn, and to detect and verify a fall event using the wearable sensor, [0022]: Notably, ambient sensors contemplated by the present teachings include, but are not limited to various pressure sensors, including for collector sensors, such as piezoelectric sensors, microphones, RADAR sensors and light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensors. As will be appreciated, these ambient sensors can readily determine the location of a user, as well as changes in location of the user. Further, these ambient sensors may determine user's posture (e.g., standing, lying prone or supine, walking, sitting, sleeping), [0028]: the database 150 may store one or more models for activity and posture recognition as well as fall detection. Generally, each of the models is trained based on training data acquired by a sensor mounted on the chest of training subjects, or a simulation of the same, and [0050]: the displayed information may include any combination of the subject's name, address and/or present location, severity of pain being experienced by the subject (e.g., according to a predetermined scale), heart rate information, severity of the fall (e.g., according to a predetermined scale) based at least in part of the pain level and the heart rate information, the name and contact information of the subject's caregiver(s), and associated medical history of the subject) sensing information (Parvaneh: Abstract, [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0044]-[0048], [0050], [0055], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4), the combination of Bonge and Parvaneh does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID; the first datum, including the unique ID.
However, it has been known in the art of monitoring conditions of an animal to implement wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal and bearing a unique ID; the first datum, including the unique ID, as suggested by Hill, which discloses wherein the first sensor is an RFID sensor configured to interface with an RFID chip implanted in an animal (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the RFID transceiver 211: For example, upon wakeup, the microcontroller 206 activates RFID transceiver 211 which sends an activation signal to RFID antenna 205 via connecting cable 213. This activation signal causes RFID antenna 205 to emit a magnetic field 212 which in turn inductively powers microchip 202) and bearing a unique ID (Hill: Abstract, [0029]-[0032], [0035]-[0040], and FIG. 1-3 the RFID transceiver 211: For example, upon wakeup, the microcontroller 206 activates RFID transceiver 211 which sends an activation signal to RFID antenna 205 via connecting cable 213. This activation signal causes RFID antenna 205 to emit a magnetic field 212 which in turn inductively powers microchip 202); the first datum, including the unique ID (Hill: Abstract, [0028], and FIG. 1: The microchip can be activated and scanned for its internally stored unique identification code by a reader device. The temperature sensing microchip is physically identical to a conventional identification microchip and can include a temperature sensor. The microchips can transmit identification and temperature data when activated, either automatically