FINAL ACTION
This Office Action is FINAL.
This office action is in responsive to communication(s):
Amendment filed on 3/6/2026.
Application filed on 2/12/2024 with effective filing date of 5/6/2019 based on parent application 16/582500 (now abandoned), and provisional applications 62/843967, 62/855891.
The status of the claims is summarized as below:
Claims 1-2, 4-14 are pending.
Claims 1, 13, and 14 are independent claims.
In the amendment, claims 1, 4-8, 11, 13-14 are amended.
Claim 3 has been canceled.
The objection to the specification title is respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment to the specification filed on 3/6/2026.
The claim objections to claims 3-8, 11 are respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the amendment made to claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11, 13-14, and the cancellation of claim 3 in the amendment filed on 3/6/2026.
The objection to the specification title is respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment to the specification filed on 3/6/2026.
The objections to claims 3-8, 11 are respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are directed to newly amended language which is now rejected in light of newly cited art Adams.
Specification
The objection to the specification title is respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment to the specification filed on 3/6/2026.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 3-8, 11 are respectfully withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Acton et al. (US Pub 20180139314, hereinafter Acton), in view of Kraft (US Pub 20020168964, hereinafter Kraft), and Adams et al. (US Pub 20070106728, hereinafter Adams).
Per claim 1, Acton teaches:
An electronic device, comprising: (abstract; Fig. 13 shows a computing device);
a display device; (Fig. 13 monitor 1344);
one or more communication devices; (Fig. 13 network adapter 1356; also see Fig. 15 radio interface 1510);
one or more processors; and (Fig. 13 processing unit 1304);
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (Fig. 13 memory 1306, HD 1314);
receiving, via the one or more communication devices, a first message; ([0064-0065] Fig. 3 shows a messaging client interface with a plurality of exchanged messages, including a message received from the sender on the last line (a first message));
subsequent to receiving the first message, receiving a request to display the first message; and ([0066, 0068] Fig. 3 shows a UI that was invoked for displaying the received message);
in response to receiving the request to display the first message:
([0069-0071] Fig. 4A)
the first message; and ([0069-0071] Fig. 4A shows the received first message on the last bubble line);
a visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user; and ([0069-0071] Fig. 4A shows a contact number change notification 420);
the first message without displaying the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user. ([0064-0066] Fig. 3 shows the received message without any notification of changes).
Although Acton teaches displaying a notification when there is updated phone number of a user from an existing messaging thread ([0069-0071] Fig. 4A), but Acton does not explicitly teach a determination of prompting criteria that would determine whether or not to display a visual indication.
However, Kraft teaches a method of displaying prompt for updated contact information with incoming calls:
in accordance with a determination that a set of prompting criteria is satisfied for a first contactable user, wherein the set of prompting criteria includes a first prompting criterion that is satisfied when updated contact information corresponding to the first contactable user has been received, ([0072-0073, 0075] Fig. 7 shows from step 110 to 122, when receiving a call, either calling name from the CLI (calling line identification), if available, is displayed, or the name label/tag found in the phone book/contacts is displayed; at step 123, it’s determined whether the received calling information includes any sub-elements that are different from what’s stored in the phonebook (first prompting criterion of updated contact information), if yes, at step 124, the method prompts the user to save the new elements);
the first message; and ([0072-0073] Fig. 7 shows at step 117, the calling note (first message) along with phonebook name is displayed)
a visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user; and (Fig. 9 top shows a prompt (visual indication) that new/updated user data is available, subsequent prompt allows the user to select and save new elements);
in accordance with a determination that the set of prompting criteria is not satisfied for the first contactable user, displaying, on the display device: ([0072-0073]Fig. 7 shows at step 123, if no new sub-elements from the user/contact information element are found from the received call, then the phone returns to idle mode at 119, and no prompt is displayed);
the first message without displaying the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user. ([0072-0073] Fig.7 shows at step 122-123, when no new sub-elements from the received user information element are found, the phone merely displays the calling note including the phonebook name at step 117, and returns to idle at 119, without displaying the prompt to save new elements at 124).
detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user; and ([0083-0084] Fig. 9 top display shows prompting interface from step 120 and 124 of Fig. 7, where user can select “save” to activate the updating of the contact information);
in response to detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user: ([0083-0085] user can select “save” in Fig. 9 to update contact information, where the user can create a new entry in the phonebook if no phonebook record is present for the received phone number);
in accordance with a determination that the first contactable user does not correspond to an existing entry in a set of contactable users associated with a user of the electronic device, ([0085] if no phone book record is present on the received phone number, the user may create such a record based on the received calling information).
Kraft and Acton are analogous art because Kraft also teaches updating contact information when communicating with another user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in art before the effective filing date, having the teachings of Acton and Kraft before him/her, to modify the teachings of Acton to include the teachings of Kraft so received user information can be compared with the existing contact/phonebook entry to determine changes to prompt the user for updating. One would be motivated to make the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would not only alert the user of any changes to the existing contact, but also provide the user with options to update the changes based on user selection, which would give users more options in terms what specific contact information to update while enhancing user experiences.
However, Acton-Kraft do not explicitly teach displaying a prompt for creating a new entry for the contact information if the updated contact information does not correspond to an existing entry in an existing list of contacts. Adams teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first contactable user does not correspond to an existing entry in a set of contactable users associated with a user of the electronic device, displaying a selectable option to create a new entry in the set of contactable users associated with the user of the electronic device for the first contactable user using the updated contact information. ([0062-0063] Fig. 6-7: Fig. 7 shows a flowchart where step 703 shows that a determination is made on if the address information from the message is contained in an existing contact record in the address book, if the address information is not contained in the existing address book, prompt 610 from Fig. 6 is presented to the user on the display screen for adding a new contact record).
Adams and Acton-Kraft are analogous art because Adams also teaches a method for updating contact information after receiving messages. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in art before the effective filing date, having the teachings of Adams and Acton-Kraft before him/her, to modify the teachings of Adams to include the teachings of Acton-Kraft so that different prompts are presented to the user for updating existing record and adding new entry to the record. One would be motivated to make the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would present users with different prompt options alerting users of the differentiation between new and existing updated contact information and corresponding different interfaces/processes for adding new contact information and updating existing contact information, and thereby providing a more effective way for updating/adding contact information automatically and saving user’s time (Adams [0004-0006, 0042]).
Per claim 2, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the set of prompting criteria includes a second prompting criterion that is satisfied when the first message is a part of a messaging conversation in which the first contactable user is a participant. (Acton: [0066, 0068-0070] Fig. 4A shows a second prompting criterion of - the first message being a part of a messaging conversation in which the sender is a participant – is satisfied, where the contact number change notification is displayed in the conversation interface).
Per claim 4, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user; and (Kraft: [0083] Fig. 9 shows the prompt (visual indication) when updated info is available for a contact that corresponds to step 120 and 124 from Fig. 7);
in response to detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user: (Kraft [0084] user can select “save” to activate the updating process through Fig. 9);
in accordance with a determination that the first contactable user corresponds to an existing entry in a set of contactable users associated with a user of the electronic device (Kraft Fig. 7 shows steps 112, 122-124 determines new sub-elements of a contact are found for an existing entry in the phonebook) and that the received updated contact information includes a revised graphical representation of the first contactable user and a revised name for the first contactable user, (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9 shows title and graphics are among the elements of a contact that can be updated) displaying a plurality of selectable options that include two or more of: (Kraft Fig. 9 middle display shows 2 or more options);
a selectable option to update the existing entry in the set of contactable users associated with the user of the electronic device with the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user and the revised name of the first contactable user, (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9 shows an option to update “All” options of the contact which includes graphics, name, title, ring tune);
a selectable option to update the existing entry in the set of contactable users associated with the user of the electronic device with the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user without updating the existing entry with the revised name of the first contactable user, and (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9 shows an option to update “Graphics” of a contact, where each option needs to be selected/saved individually without affecting another option such as title);
a selectable option to update the existing entry in the set of contactable users associated with the user of the electronic device with the revised name of the first contactable user without updating the existing entry with the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9 shows an option to update “Title” of a contact, where each option needs to be selected and saved individually).
Per claim 5, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user; and (Kraft: [0083] Fig. 9 shows the prompt (visual indication) when updated info is available for a contact that corresponds to step 120 and 124 from Fig. 7);
in response to detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user: (Kraft [0084] user can select “save” to activate the updating process through Fig. 9);
in accordance with a determination that the first contactable user corresponds to an existing entry in a set of contactable users associated with a user of the electronic device and that the received updated contact information includes a revised graphical representation of the first contactable user without including a revised name for the first contactable user, updating the existing entry with the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user. (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9 shows an option to update “Graphics” of a contact, where each option needs to be selected/saved individually without affecting another option such as title; hence when change only include graphics element, the user can choose to save only graphics element without impacting other fields such as name/title).
Per claim 6, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
the one or more programs further including instructions for:
detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user; and (Kraft: [0083] Fig. 9 shows the prompt (visual indication) when updated info is available for a contact that corresponds to step 120 and 124 from Fig. 7);
in response to detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user: (Kraft [0084] user can select “save” to activate the updating process through Fig. 9);
in accordance with a determination that the first contactable user corresponds to an existing entry in a set of contactable users associated with a user of the electronic device and that the received updated contact information includes a revised name for the first contactable user without including a revised graphical representation of the first contactable user, updating the existing entry with the revised name of the first contactable user. (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9 shows an option to update “Title” of a contact, where each option needs to be selected/saved individually without affecting another option such as graphics; hence when change only include name/title element, the user can choose to save only name/title element without impacting other fields such as graphics).
Per claim 7, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the received updated contact information includes a revised graphical representation of the first contactable user, (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9 middle shows graphics as part of the user/contact information, where it can be individually updated) and wherein the first contactable user corresponds to an existing entry in a set of contactable users associated with a user of the electronic device, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (Kraft: [0083] Fig. 9 shows the prompt when updated info is available for a contact that corresponds to step 124 from Fig. 7 when the user corresponds to an existing entry in the phonebook);
receiving user input to update the existing entry using the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user; and (Kraft [0085-0086] Fig. 9: user can select individually element such as “graphics” to update the individual element);
in response to receiving the user input to update the existing entry using the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user:
updating the existing entry in the set of contactable users associated with the user of the electronic device using the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user; and (Kraft [0075, 0084-0087] Fig. 7 shows step 125 where existing entry in phonebook is updated with new sub-element, including graphics of the user; Kraft [0014-0015] graphics element can be icon or animation);
displaying a selectable affordance that, if selected, enables the electronic device to automatically update the graphical representation for the first contactable user in the future. (Kraft [0098] “auto-save” functionality can be turned on to automatically updates the elements in step 123 of Fig. 7 for existing entries in phonebook).
Per claim 8, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the updated contact information includes a revised name of the first contactable user or a revised graphical representation of the first contactable user, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (Acton [0066, 0069] Fig. 3 shows thread information on top which includes user’s name, avatar and phone number on top of the messaging thread; Kraft [0083-0087] Fig. 9 shows updated information may be graphics, title, etc.);
updating a set of contactable users associated with a user of the electronic device with the revised name of the first contactable user or the revised graphical representation of the first contactable user; and (Acton [0063-0064] the message exchange can be one-on-one, or group threads, where more than one users is updated with the revised contact information; Kraft [0084-0087] Fig. 9 elements of user contacts can be compared to existing phonebook entry and updated, including title, graphics, ring tone, etc.);
wherein the contact information in the set of contactable users associated with the user of the electronic device, including the revised name or the revised graphical representation, is available to a plurality of applications of the electronic device. (Acton [0031-0032] messaging system is available to not only messaging application, but also other communication tasks such as audio/video calls, VoIP, online gaming, etc.).
Per claim 10, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the first message is received in a conversation that includes the first contactable user and a second contactable user, and wherein the electronic device has received updated contact information for the first contactable user and updated contact information for the second contactable user, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (Acton [0064] Fig. 3: the message thread can be a group threads including more than two users, where the feature of updating contact information also applies to group thread when more than one users have updated information such as phone number);
detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user; and (Acton [0069-0071] Fig. 4A shows a notification at the bottom when first user has updated phone number);
in response to detecting activation of the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user, displaying: (Kraft [0083-0086] Fig. 9 shows prompt the user can activate to save new contact information);
a second visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user, wherein the second visual indication includes a visual representation of at least a portion of the received updated contact information for the first contactable user; and (Kraft [0083-0086] Fig. 9 second display further shows a list of all of contact information that can be updated in response to selection/activation to update);
a third visual indication that updated contact information is available for the second contactable user, wherein the third visual indication includes a visual representation of at least a portion of the received updated contact information for the second contactable user. (Acton [0064] the same notification method applies to group thread, where it’s obvious more than one notifications can be displayed concurrently in a group thread when more than one user have updated information; Acton Fig. 4A shows visual indication includes at least a portion of the received contact information such as updated phone number).
Per claim 11, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the updated contact information of the first contactable user includes information corresponding to an avatar (Acton [0066] Fig. 3: the thread information includes user information such as name, avatar, phone number).
Per claim 12, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the visual indication that updated contact information is available for the first contactable user is displayed concurrently with a visual representation of at least a portion of a messaging conversation that includes a plurality of messages, the plurality of messages including a second message transmitted to the first contactable user and a third message received from the first contactable user. (Acton [0072-0077] Fig. 4C shows the notification that the user has updated phone number is displayed with the messaging conversation interface, along with additional message transmitted to the updated user, and a third message received from the updated user).
Per claim 13, claim 13 is a medium claim (Acton Fig. 13 memory 1306 1314) that includes limitations that are substantially the same as claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
Per claim 14, claim 14 is a method claim that includes limitations that are substantially the same as claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Acton, in view of Kraft, Adams, and Jain et al. (US Pub 20140254434, from IDS, hereinafter Jain).
Per claim 9, Acton-Kraft-Adams teach all the limitations of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the electronic device is associated with a user, the one or more programs further including instructions for: (Acton: [0063-0064] Fig. 3 shows one-on-one thread between a user of the device and another user);
in response to receiving the request to display the first message: (Acton: Fig. 3 shows a list of received messages including last entry (first message) which was received and displayed in response);
But Acton-Kraft-Adams do not explicitly teach: “in accordance with a determination that a set of sharing criteria is not satisfied for the first contactable user, the set of sharing criteria including a first sharing criterion that is satisfied when the first contactable user corresponds to an approved recipient: concurrently displaying, with the first message, an indication that updated contact information of the user of the electronic device is available to be transmitted to the first contactable user”.
However, Jain teaches:
in accordance with a determination that a set of sharing criteria is not satisfied for the first contactable user, the set of sharing criteria including a first sharing criterion that is satisfied when the first contactable user corresponds to an approved recipient: ([0054-0055] when the first and second user contact each other via heterogeneous communication method, i.e. user 1 via cellular phone number, user 2 via VoIP, (user 2 is not an approved recipient from the same cellular network), the users may be prompted to share contact information);
concurrently displaying, with the first message, an indication that updated contact information of the user of the electronic device is available to be transmitted to the first contactable user. ([0055] user 1 and 2 may be prompted to share their own contact information with the other party as shown in Fig. 7; [0058-0059] exchange of contact information may happen over other communication session such as email/text message where previous communications may already exist).
Jain and Acton-Kraft-Adams are analogous art because Jain also teaches exchanging updated contact information during communication sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in art before the effective filing date, having the teachings of Acton-Kraft-Adams and Jain before him/her, to modify the teachings of Acton-Kraft-Adams to include the teachings of Jain so that user may be prompted to share its own contact information when others are not approved recipient. One would be motivated to make the combination, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would provide users with options to make their own decision on whether to share its own contact information with the other party and what specific information to share, thereby providing users with options when the other party is not a recognized/approved party.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Patents & Publications
US 20150189484 A1
LONG; Jiejun
Updating method for contact information involves determining that field that meets contact information field determination condition is contained in short message and extracting field from short message
Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support by shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections, See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/PHOEBE X PAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/IRETE F EHICHIOYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2179