This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/439,738 filed 02/12/2024.
Claims 1-9, 10-14, 15-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/12/2024, 02/18/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: “ A tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium” should be replaced by ---- A non-transitory computer-readable medium ----. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-6, 9, 10, 11-14, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POLAGANGA et al. ( US 20230413266, hereinafter, POLAGANGA’s 266 ) in view of FUKURA et al. ( US 20210144586, hereinafter, FUKURA’s 586 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20230413266 allocate a first portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)) to a first channel of a first cellular type ( LTE or NR service) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ];
Allocate a second portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)) to a second channel of a second cellular type ((Cat-M1 IoT ) service ) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ];
Transmit or receive first data via the first portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), transmit or receive second data via the second portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), or both ( Transmit or receive first data via the first portion of the the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS), transmit or receive second data via the second portion of the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), or both ) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach the satellite.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive a request to communicate via a satellite band (receive a request to communicate via a satellite band) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20230413266 and US 20210144586 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach wherein the first channel is shifted away from an edge of the satellite band.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the first channel is shifted away from an edge of the satellite band (wherein the first channel is shifted away from an edge of the satellite band ) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20230413266 further teaches wherein the first cellular type is New Radio ( wherein the first cellular type is New Radio) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20230413266 and US 20210144586 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach wherein the second channel is disposed at an edge of the satellite band.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the second channel is disposed at an edge of the satellite band ( wherein the second channel is disposed at an edge of the satellite band ) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20230413266 further teaches wherein the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ( wherein the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20230413266 further teaches wherein the second cellular type comprises LTE Category M1 or LTE Narrowband Internet of Things ( wherein the second cellular type comprises LTE Category M1 or LTE Narrowband Internet of Things) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20230413266 and US 20210144586 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to allocate the first channel based on a carrier center frequency range.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to allocate the first channel based on a carrier center frequency range ( wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to allocate the first channel based on a carrier center frequency range ) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 10, US 20230413266 teaches a method comprising:
receiving, via a receiver of the user equipment, an indication of the band ( portion of frequency values of the dynamic spectrum sharing ) , the band ( portion of frequency values of the dynamic spectrum sharing ) comprising a first portion of a first cellular type ( LTE or NR service) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ] and a second portion of a second cellular type ( Cat-M1 IoT service ) (receiving, via a receiver of the user equipment, an indication of the band, the band comprising a first portion of a first cellular type and a second portion of a second cellular type) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ];
transmitting or receiving first data via the first portion of the band, transmitting or receiving second data via the second portion of the band, or both (transmitting or receiving first data via the first portion of the band, transmitting or receiving second data via the second portion of the band, or both) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach the satellite.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmitting, via a transmitter of user equipment, a request to communicate via a satellite band (transmitting a request to communicate via a satellite band) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20230413266 and US 20210144586 teach the limitations of the claim 10 above.
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach wherein a first edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the satellite band, and a second edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the first portion.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein a first edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the satellite band, and a second edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the first portion ( wherein a first edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the satellite band, and a second edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the first portion ) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 12, US 20230413266 further teaches wherein the first cellular type comprises New Radio and the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ( wherein the first cellular type comprises New Radio and the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20230413266 further teaches transmitting or receiving the first data and transmitting or receiving the second data during a first time period ( transmitting or receiving the first data and transmitting or receiving the second data during a first time period ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 14, US 20230413266 further teaches transmitting or receiving the first data during a first time period and transmitting or receiving the second data during a second time period ( transmitting or receiving the first data during a first time period and transmitting or receiving the second data during a second time period ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 15, US 20230413266 teaches an electronic device comprising: a transmitter; a receiver; and processing circuitry coupled to the transmitter and the receiver, the processing circuitry configured to:
send an indication of the band ( portion of the dynamic spectrum sharing ) , the band ( portion of the dynamic spectrum sharing ) comprising a first portion of a first cellular type ( LTE or NR service) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ] and a second portion of a second cellular type (Long-Term Evolution (LTE)) (sending an indication of the band, the band comprising a first portion of a first cellular type and a second portion of a second cellular type) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ];
send or receive first data via the first portion of the band, send or receive second data via the second portion of the band, or both ( send or receive first data via the first portion of the band, send or receive second data via the second portion of the band, or both) [ see Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 ].
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach the satellite.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive a request to communicate via a satellite band ( receive a request to communicate via a satellite band) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 16, US 20230413266 and US 20210144586 teach the limitations of the claim 15 above.
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach wherein the second portion is disposed at an edge of the satellite band and the first portion is not disposed at the edge of the satellite band.
US 20210144586, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the second portion is disposed at an edge of the satellite band and the first portion is not disposed at the edge of the satellite band ( wherein the second portion is disposed at an edge of the satellite band and the first portion is not disposed at the edge of the satellite band ) [see Paragraphs 0022 & 0023].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230413266 in view of US 20210144586 because US 20210144586 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POLAGANGA et al. ( US 20230413266, hereinafter, POLAGANGA’s 266 ) in view of FUKURA et al. ( US 20210144586, hereinafter, FUKURA’s 586 ), and further in view of Zhou et al. ( US 20220150713, hereinafter, Zhou’s 713 ).
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20230413266 and US 20210144586 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US 20230413266 does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to align a first set of resource blocks of the first channel and a second set of resource blocks of the second channel.
US 20220150713, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to align a first set of resource blocks of the first channel and a second set of resource blocks of the second channel ( wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to align a first set of resource blocks of the first channel and a second set of resource blocks of the second channel ) [see Paragraphs 0063 & 0065 & 0066 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230413266 and US 20210144586), and further in view of US 20220150713 because US 20220150713 suggests that The subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20230413266 further teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to execute dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) operations between the first channel and the second channel based on the alignment ( wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to execute dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) operations between the first channel and the second channel based on the alignment ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to identify a first set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values based on a first switching point, and identify a second set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values based on a second switching point.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412