This office action is in response to the amendment filed 05/26/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5-16, and 18-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-16, and 18-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim 18 depends on the cancelled claim 17. Clarification and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim 20 depends on the cancelled claim 17. Clarification and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11-14, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POLAGANGA et al. ( US 20230413266, hereinafter, POLAGANGA’s 266 ) in view of CHAKRABORTY et al. ( US 20240356634, hereinafter, CHAKRABORTY’s 634 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, POLAGANGA’s 266 teaches allocate a first portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)) to a first channel of a first cellular type ( NR service) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ];
Allocate a second portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)) to a second channel of a second cellular type ((LTE Cat-M1 ) service ) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ];
Transmit or receive first data via the first portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), transmit or receive second data via the second portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), or both ( Transmit or receive first data via the first portion of the the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS), transmit or receive second data via the second portion of the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), or both ) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
However, POLAGANGA’s 266 does not explicitly teach the satellite.
CHAKRABORTY’s 634 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receive a request to communicate via a satellite band (receive a request to communicate via a satellite band) [see Paragraph 0039 ] ([0039] Continuing, method 900 comprises, at 910, communicating a network join request on the control plane over the narrowband communication channel between the satellite and the endpoint. Further, method 900 comprises, at 912, communicating a network join response on the control plane after communicating the network join request on the control plane.) [also see the paragraph 0037] ;
Allocate a first portion (Narrowband communication channels 816, 818 ) of the satellite band to a first channel (Narrowband communication channels 816, 818 ), the first channel (Narrowband communication channels 816, 818 ) being shift away from an edge of the satellite band [see Figure 8];
Allocate a second portion (Broadband communication channel 808, 822) of the satellite band to a second channel (Broadband communication channel 808, 822) , the second channel (Broadband communication channel 808, 822) being disposed at the edge of the satellite band [see Figure 8]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of POLAGANGA’s 266 in view of CHAKRABORTY’s 634 because CHAKRABORTY’s 634 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 3, POLAGANGA’s 266 further teaches wherein the first cellular type is New Radio ( wherein the first cellular type is New Radio) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20230413266 further teaches wherein the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ( wherein the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20230413266 further teaches wherein the second cellular type comprises LTE Category M1 or LTE Narrowband Internet of Things ( wherein the second cellular type comprises LTE Category M1 or LTE Narrowband Internet of Things) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 9, POLAGANGA’s 266 and CHAKRABORTY’s 634 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, POLAGANGA’s 266 does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to allocate the first channel based on a carrier center frequency range.
CHAKRABORTY’s 634 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to allocate the first channel based on a carrier center frequency range ( wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to allocate the first channel based on a carrier center frequency range ) [see Paragraphs 0037 & 0038 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of POLAGANGA’s 266 in view of CHAKRABORTY’s 634 because CHAKRABORTY’s 634 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 10, POLAGANGA’s 266 teaches a method comprising:
receiving, via a receiver of the user equipment, an indication of the band ( portion of frequency values of the dynamic spectrum sharing ) , the band ( portion of frequency values of the dynamic spectrum sharing ) comprising a first portion of a first cellular type ( LTE or NR service) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ] and a second portion of a second cellular type ( Cat-M1 IoT service ) (receiving, via a receiver of the user equipment, an indication of the band, the band comprising a first portion of a first cellular type and a second portion of a second cellular type) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ];
transmitting or receiving first data via the first portion of the band, transmitting or receiving second data via the second portion of the band, or both (transmitting or receiving first data via the first portion of the band, transmitting or receiving second data via the second portion of the band, or both) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
However, However, POLAGANGA’s 266 does not explicitly teach the satellite.
CHAKRABORTY’s 634 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmitting, via a transmitter of user equipment, a request to communicate via a satellite band) [see Paragraph 0039 ] ( [0039] Continuing, method 900 comprises, at 910, communicating a network join request on the control plane over the narrowband communication channel between the satellite and the endpoint. Further, method 900 comprises, at 912, communicating a network join response on the control plane after communicating the network join request on the control plane.) [also see the paragraph 0037] ;
The satellite band comprising a first portion (Broadband communication channel 808, 822) disposed at an edge of the satellite band and a second portion (narrow band communication channel 816, 818 ) not disposed at the edge of the satellite band [see Figure 8].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of POLAGANGA’s 266 in view of CHAKRABORTY’s 634 because CHAKRABORTY’s 634 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 11, POLAGANGA’s 266 and CHAKRABORTY’s 634 teach the limitations of the claim 10 above.
However, POLAGANGA’s 266 does not explicitly teach wherein a first edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the satellite band, and a second edge of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the first portion.
CHAKRABORTY’s 634, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein a first edge of the second portion (broadband communication channel 808) is disposed at an edge of the satellite band, and a second edge (broadband communication channel 822) of the second portion is disposed at an edge of the first portion [see Figure 8] [also see the Paragraph 0039 & 0037].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of POLAGANGA’s 266 in view of CHAKRABORTY’s 634 because CHAKRABORTY’s 634 suggests that the subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 12, POLAGANGA’s 266 further teaches wherein the first cellular type comprises New Radio and the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ( wherein the first cellular type comprises New Radio and the second cellular type comprises Long-Term Evolution (LTE) ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 13, POLAGANGA’s 266 further teaches transmitting or receiving the first data and transmitting or receiving the second data during a first time period ( transmitting or receiving the first data and transmitting or receiving the second data during a first time period ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Regarding to the claim 14, POLAGANGA’s 266 further teaches transmitting or receiving the first data during a first time period and transmitting or receiving the second data during a second time period ( transmitting or receiving the first data during a first time period and transmitting or receiving the second data during a second time period ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POLAGANGA et al. ( US 20230413266, hereinafter, POLAGANGA’s 266 ) in view of CHAKRABORTY et al. ( US 20240356634, hereinafter, CHAKRABORTY’s 634 ) , and further in view of Zhou et al. ( US 20220150713, hereinafter, Zhou’s 713 ).
Regarding to the claim 7, POLAGANGA’s 266 and CHAKRABORTY’s 634 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, POLAGANGA’s 266 does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to align a first set of resource blocks of the first channel and a second set of resource blocks of the second channel.
Zhou’s 713 , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to align a first set of resource blocks of the first channel and a second set of resource blocks of the second channel ( wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to align a first set of resource blocks of the first channel and a second set of resource blocks of the second channel ) [see Paragraphs 0063 & 0065 & 0066 ] ([0048] FIG. 4 shows an example of how physical resource blocks can be jointly allocated between a new radio cell site and an LTE cell site in a dynamic spectrum sharing environment. In FIG. 4, the NR physical resource blocks are shown as unshaded blocks, while the LTE physical resource blocks are shown as shaded, per reporting period. As depicted, the total number of physical resource blocks is never exceeded, and the number allocated to each cell site for any given reporting period can vary, based on the current NR and LTE cell conditions that result in computed relative NR and LTE PRB allocations as described herein. Note that the entire carrier bandwidth (up to the physical resource blocks limit) is shown as being allocated for each reporting period in the example of FIG. 4.) .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (POLAGANGA’s 266 and CHAKRABORTY’s 634 ), and further in view of Zhou’s 713 because Zhou’s 713 suggests that The subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 8, POLAGANGA’s 266 further teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to execute dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) operations between the first channel and the second channel based on the alignment ( wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to execute dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) operations between the first channel and the second channel based on the alignment ) [see Paragraphs 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Claim 13 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ on a condition that the channel quality of the cell is more than the threshold and a configuration for the MBS session is available, maintaining the RRC inactive state, on a condition that the channel quality of the cell is more than the threshold and the configuration for the MBS session is unavailable, switching to the RRC connected state
” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 13.
Regarding to the claim 21, POLAGANGA’s 266 and CHAKRABORTY’s 634 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, POLAGANGA’s 266 does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to receive the request to communicate via the satellite band from a user equipment.
CHAKRABORTY’s 634, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to receive the request to communicate via the satellite band from a user equipment [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0039 & 0037 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (POLAGANGA’s 266 and CHAKRABORTY’s 634 ), and further in view of Zhou’s 713 because Zhou’s 713 suggests that The subject application relates to wireless communications systems in general, and more particularly to New Radio (NR) including fifth generation (5G) cellular wireless communications systems and/or other next generation networks, in which dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) (also referred to as Long Term Evolution (LTE) LTE-NR coexistence, or LNC), allows for deployment in overlapping spectrum.
Regarding to the claim 22, POLAGANGA’s 266 further teaches wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to transmit the first data to or receive the first data from the user equipment via the first portion (NR channel ) of the satellite band using the non-terrestrial network (NR ) , transmit the first data to or receive the second data from the user equipment via the second portion (NR channel ) of the satellite band using the non-terrestrial network see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the instructions are “ allocate the first portion of the satellite band to the first channel of the first cellular type based on a carrier frequency range associated with a set of allowed maximum power reduction values”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 16, 18, 19, 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 15 is allowed over the prior art or record since the cited reference taken individually or in combination fails to particular disclose the following limitations: “ identify a first set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values based on a first switching point associated with a first cellular type and a first portion of the satellite band, identify a second set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values associated with the satellite band based on a second switching point associated with a second cellular type and a second portion of the satellite band ” and in combination with other limitations recited as specified in claim 15.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is consider pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
POLAGANGA’s 266 (US 20240356634) teaches allocate a first portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)) to a first channel of a first cellular type ( NR service);
Allocate a second portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)) to a second channel of a second cellular type ((LTE Cat-M1 ) service ) ; Transmit or receive first data via the first portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), transmit or receive second data via the second portion of the band ( the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), or both ( Transmit or receive first data via the first portion of the the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS), transmit or receive second data via the second portion of the Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS)), or both ) [see Paragraph 0019 & 0040 and Figure 5 ], but does not disclose “ identify a first set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values based on a first switching point associated with a first cellular type and a first portion of the satellite band, identify a second set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values associated with the satellite band based on a second switching point associated with a second cellular type and a second portion of the satellite band”.
CHAKRABORTY’s 634 ( US 20240356634) teaches receive a request to communicate via a satellite band , The satellite band comprising a first portion (Broadband communication channel 808, 822) disposed at an edge of the satellite band and a second portion (narrow band communication channel 816, 818 ) not disposed at the edge of the satellite band [see Figure 8 and Paragraphs 0037 & 0039 ], but does not disclose “ identify a first set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values based on a first switching point associated with a first cellular type and a first portion of the satellite band, identify a second set of allowed additional maximum power reduction values associated with the satellite band based on a second switching point associated with a second cellular type and a second portion of the satellite band”.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412