DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: DE 102019127583 A1) in view of Matsumoto (US Patent No.: 9030062).
For claim 1, Engelhardt et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: at least one inner sheet package (reference numeral 13, figure 1) arranged on a rotor shaft (reference numeral 22, figure 2) defining a rotor longitudinal axis (see figures 1, 2); buried magnets (reference numeral 4) arranged radially around the at least one inner sheet package (reference numeral 13, see figures 1, 2), which are arranged in a radial direction between the inner sheet package (reference numeral 13) and correspondingly arranged outer sheet packages (reference numeral 23, see figures 1, 2) and are fixed by a casting compound (i.e. Engelhardt et al. disclose the encapsulation/casting mold/potting material, see translation of Engelhardt et al., Description, paragraph [0008]); a plurality of surface magnets (reference numeral 14) arranged on the outer sheet packages (see figures 1, 2), wherein each surface magnet (reference numeral 14) forms a rotor pole in conjunction with a respective outer sheet package (reference numeral 23) of the outer sheet packages on which it is arranged and at least one of the buried magnets (i.e. each rotor pole formed by the combination of the surface magnet 14, outer sheet package 23, and buried magnet 4, see figures 1, 2). Engelhardt et al. however do not specifically disclose at least one cooling channel extending along the rotor longitudinal axis being arranged in at least one of the inner or outer sheet packages and being sealed by a casting compound in a medium-tight manner against the at least one of the inner or outer sheet packages in which it is located.
Having a cooling channel formed in the rotor package and sealed by casting compound is a known skill as exhibited by Matsumoto which discloses a cooling channel (reference numeral 28, figures 1, 3) formed in the rotor (reference numeral 21) and sealed by a resin component (reference numeral 51, see figures 1, 3), which would teach the sealing by the casting compound in a medium-tight manner against the at least one of the inner or outer sheet packages in which it is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling channel and the sealing by casting compound as disclosed by Matsumoto for the inner or outer sheet packages of Engelhardt et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsubara et al. (US Patent No.: 8080908).
For claim 2, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto disclose the claimed invention except for the cooling channel being configured to direct a cooling liquid from a first balancing disk to a second balancing disk of the rotor, wherein the first and second balancing disks are arranged on two opposite end faces of the rotor. Matsubara et al. disclose the cooling channel (reference numeral 26, figure 5) being configured to direct a cooling liquid from a first balancing disk (reference numeral 14a) to a second balancing disk (reference numeral 14b) of the rotor (see figure 5), wherein the first and second balancing disks (reference numerals 14a, 14b) are arranged on two opposite end faces of the rotor (see figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second balancing disk as disclosed by Matsubara et al. for the rotor and cooling channel of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flow of cooling means within the device.
For claim 3, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto and Matsubara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first balancing disk comprising a cooling channel inlet, which is configured to receive a cooling liquid and to direct it into the at least one cooling channel, and the second balancing disk comprising a cooling channel outlet, which is configured to collect the cooling liquid from the cooling channel to discharge it from the rotor. Matsubara et al. disclose the first balancing disk (reference numeral 14a) comprising a cooling channel inlet (reference numerals 25, 31 in first balancing disk 14a, figure 5), which is configured to receive a cooling liquid and to direct it into the at least one cooling channel (reference numeral 26, figure 5), and the second balancing disk (reference numeral 14b) comprising a cooling channel outlet (reference numeral 31 in second balancing disk 14b, see figure 5), which is configured to collect the cooling liquid from the cooling channel (reference numeral 26) to discharge it from the rotor (see figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet in the first balancing disk and the outlet in the second balancing disk as disclosed by Matsubara et al. for the first and second balancing disks of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto and Matsubara et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flow of cooling means within the device.
For claim 4, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto and Matsubara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the rotor comprising at least two cooling channels and the first balancing disk comprising a cooling channel inlet, configured to receive and direct a cooling liquid into at least one cooling channel, and a cooling channel outlet, configured to collect the cooling liquid from one of the at least two cooling channels to discharge it from the rotor, and wherein the second balancing disk comprises a cooling liquid guide, which is configured to transfer the cooling liquid from one of the at least two cooling channels to another of the at least two cooling channels of the rotor. Matsubara et al. disclose the rotor comprising at least two cooling channels (reference numerals 23a, 23b, 27, see figure 12) and the first balancing disk (reference numeral 14a) comprising a cooling channel inlet (reference numerals 25, 31 in first balancing disk 14a, see figure 12), configured to receive and direct a cooling liquid into at least one cooling channel (reference numerals 23a, 23b, 27, see figure 12), and a cooling channel outlet (reference numeral 35, see figure 12), configured to collect the cooling liquid from one of the at least two cooling channels (reference numerals 23a, 23b, 27) to discharge it from the rotor (see figure 12), and wherein the second balancing disk (reference numeral 14b) comprises a cooling liquid guide (reference numeral 31 in second balancing disk 14b, figure 12), which is configured to transfer the cooling liquid from one of the at least two cooling channels (reference numerals 23a, 23b) to another of the at least two cooling channels of the rotor (see cooling channel 27, figure 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling channel inlet and outlet for the first balancing disk and to have the cooling liquid guide for the second balancing disk as disclosed by Matsubara et al. for the first and second balancing disks of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto and Matsubara et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flow of cooling means within the device.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Malmberg (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2007/0228858 A1).
For claim 5, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto disclose the claimed invention except for the at least one cooling channel being arranged in at least one of the outer sheet packages. Forming channels in the outer sheet package would merely involve having holes in the outer sheet package which is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Malmberg (reference numeral 24, see figure 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hole in the outer sheet package as disclosed by Malmberg for the outer sheet packages of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function in the device.
For claim 6, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto disclose the claimed invention except for the at least one cooling channel being arranged in the at least one inner sheet package. Forming channels in the inner sheet package would merely involve having holes in the inner sheet package which is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Malmberg (reference numeral 10, see figure 1), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hole in the inner sheet package as disclosed by Malmberg for the inner sheet packages of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function in the device.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishikuma et al. (Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 2012139074 A).
For claim 7, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto disclose the claimed invention except for the at least one cooling channel being arranged in the casting compound for fixing the buried magnets. Nishikuma et al. disclose the at least one cooling channel (reference numerals 63, 83, figures 8, 10) being arranged in the casting compound (reference numeral 62, 82, figures 8, 10) for fixing the buried magnets (reference numeral 41, see figures 8, 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling channel in the casting compound as disclosed by Nishikuma et al. for the buried magnets of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function in the device.
For claim 8, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto disclose the claimed invention except for the casting compound in the at least one cooling channel having a thickness of between 0.2 mm and 0.5 mm. Having a particular thickness for the casting compound would merely involve changing the size/shape of the compound which is a known skill as exhibited by Nishikuma et al. (see figures 8, 10, casting compound 62, 82), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size/shape of the casting compound as disclosed by Nishikuma et al. for having a particular thickness within the cooling channel of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function in the device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dums et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0328641 A1).
For claim 9, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto disclose the claimed invention except for the at least one cooling channel in at least one sheet package of the inner and outer sheet packages having a symmetrical trapezoidal cross-section, wherein one side of the trapezoid is smaller than the other. Having a particular shape for the cooling channel is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Dums et al. (reference numeral 7, see figures 2, 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a particular shape as disclosed by Dums et al. so that the cooling channel would have a shape such as a symmetrical trapezoidal cross-section for Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function in the device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tardy et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2022/0399770 A1).
For claim 10, Engelhardt et al. disclose providing at least one inner sheet package (reference numeral 13) and providing outer sheet packages (reference numeral 23, see figures 1, 2); arranging the at least one inner sheet package (reference numeral 13) and outer sheet packages (reference numeral 23) together with buried magnets (reference numeral 4) and surface magnets (reference numeral 14) on a rotor shaft (reference numeral 22, figure 2) such that the buried magnets (reference numeral 4) are positioned between the at least one inner sheet package (reference numeral 13) and the outer sheet packages (reference numeral 23) and the surface magnets (reference numeral 14) are arranged on the outer sheet packages (reference numeral 23, see figures 1, 2); and fixing the buried magnets (reference numeral 4) with a casting compound (i.e. Engelhardt et al. disclose the encapsulation/casting mold/potting material, see translation of Engelhardt et al., Description, paragraph [0008]). Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto however do not specifically disclose cutting out at least one cooling channel in the at least one inner sheet package and/or the outer sheet packages, such that the cooling channel, when assembled, directs a cooling medium from an end face of the rotor to an opposite end face of the rotor; and lining the at least one cooling channel with the casting compound. Forming the channel by cutting is a known skill as exhibited by Tardy et al. (see paragraph [0051]), and Matsumoto already disclose the cooling channel having the lining with casting compound (reference numeral 51, see figures 1, 3), which when applied to the rotor of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto would teach cutting out at least one cooling channel in the at least one inner sheet package and/or the outer sheet packages, such that the cooling channel, when assembled, directs a cooling medium from an end face of the rotor to an opposite end face of the rotor; and lining the at least one cooling channel with the casting compound. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cutting of the channel as disclosed by Tardy et al. and the lining with casting compound as disclosed by Matsumoto for the cooling channel of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling within the device.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto and Tardy et al. as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Nishikuma et al. (Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 2012139074 A).
For claim 11, Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto and Tardy et al. disclose the claimed invention except for forming a further cooling channel in the casting compound for fixing the buried magnets. Nishikuma et al. disclose a cooling channel (reference numerals 63, 83, see figures 8, 10) being arranged in the casting compound (reference numerals 62, 82) for fixing the buried magnets (reference numeral 41, see figures 8, 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cooling channel in the casting compound as disclosed by Nishikuma et al. for the buried magnets of Engelhardt et al. in view of Matsumoto and Tardy et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling function in the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of cooling passage configurations: US 11469635 B2 (Dums; Karl et al.), US 10020706 B2 (Kobes; Michael et al.), US 20210273506 A1 (MASUKO; Tomoki et al.), US 20200366173 A1 (Walisko; David et al.), US 20180375395 A1 (YAMAGISHI; Yoshitada), US 20160261158 A1 (HORII; Masaki et al.), US 20140091651 A1 (Dorfstatter; Pirmin et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834