DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinohara et al. (US 2019/0191385).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 17, Shinohara teaches a method comprising: identifying a set of devices at a location (Paragraph 0010….the wireless communication device present within a communication area (location)), the set of devices connected to a WiFi network (Paragraphs 0033…..each access point (AP) 10 and a centralized management device 20 are configured to possibly exchange pieces of information with each other through their respective information signal input/output units 11 and 21);
collecting, according to a time period, data associated with each of the devices in the set of devices, the collected data (Paragraph 0007…..a technology is disclosed that suppresses the interference with each other on the same channel using pieces of information of interference signal that are collected from a plurality of wireless communication devices);
analyzing the collected data (Paragraph 0013……the centralized management device is configured to include an information collection unit that collects interference power level information including received power levels from neighboring access points being a source that causes interference to the access points, a received power level from each station being a destination of the access points, and transmission power level information including a transmission power level of the access points, and a control value decision unit that decides an interference detection threshold and a transmission power level in the access points according to an acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity and an estimated value of throughput that are computed (analyze), from the collected information, based on an interference relationship, and that notifies the decided interference detection threshold and the decided transmission power level as control values to the access points), and determining, based on the analysis, available frequency attributes and maximum permissible transmit power attributes for the set of devices (Paragraph 0043….the acquisition frequency (frequency attributes) of transmission opportunity for which is determined as being above a threshold (Yes in S15), a transmission power level is temporarily decided in such a manner that the transmission power level for the AP is lowered and thus in such a manner that acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for a neighboring AP is increased and an interference power level for the AP is decreased when concurrent transmission is performed (S16a). If the interference detection threshold is controlled in conjunction with the transmission power level, a prescribed interference detection threshold is also set at the same time (S17a). That is a CCA threshold which can be obtained according to the transmission power level, and that control of the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold is also assumed in the present invention. Furthermore, at this time, a maximum value or a minimum value that is determined according to laws and regulations, or specifications, is also considered and values that run counter to these are not selected);
determining, based on the determined available frequency attributes, an interference threshold for the location (Paragraph 0043….the acquisition frequency (frequency attributes) of transmission opportunity for which is determined as being above a threshold (Yes in S15), a transmission power level is temporarily decided in such a manner that the transmission power level for the AP is lowered and thus in such a manner that acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for a neighboring AP is increased and an interference power level for the AP is decreased when concurrent transmission is performed (S16a). If the interference detection threshold is controlled in conjunction with the transmission power level, a prescribed interference detection threshold is also set at the same time (S17a). That is a CCA threshold which can be obtained according to the transmission power level, and that control of the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold is also assumed in the present invention. Furthermore, at this time, a maximum value or a minimum value that is determined according to laws and regulations, or specifications, is also considered and values that run counter to these are not selected);;
determining, based on the determined interference threshold, power levels for each of the set of devices (Paragraph 0046…..the acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for which is below the threshold (No in S15), the interference detection threshold is increased, the interference detection threshold is temporarily decided in such a manner that the interference detection threshold is increased and thus in such a manner that the acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity is increased (S16b). Furthermore, as illustrated in FIG. 4, if the transmission power level is controlled in conjunction with the interference detection threshold, a prescribed transmission power level is also set (S17b)); and
establishing network connectivity for each of the set of devices based on the determined power levels for each of the set of devices (Paragraph 0020…….. a wireless communication method of a system that includes a plurality of access points interfering with each other, a plurality of stations being connected to the access points, and a centralized management device being connected to the access points, in which the centralized management device controls a transmission power level and an interference detection threshold for the access points, in which the centralized management device collects interference power level information including received power levels form neighboring access points being a source that causes interference to the access points, a received power level from each station being a destination of the access points, and transmission power level information including a transmission power level of the access points, and decides an interference detection threshold and a transmission power level in the access points according to an acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity and an estimated value of throughput that are computed).
Regarding claim 2, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: executing dynamic power control (DPC) operations to detect interference sources on the WiFi network (Paragraph 0041……In FIGS. 3 and 4, the centralized management device first makes a connection and collects information from a control-target AP (S11). Next, acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for each AP is calculated according to an interference relationship between each of the APs, an interference power level or the like of a neighboring wireless communication station……Paragraph [0049] teaches a processing procedure in Step S14 is repeated a plurality of times whenever needed. For example, in a process of selecting control values for all APs, the processing procedure may be repeated until it is determined that a change from a current control value is not made (dynamic power control as it is repeated and evolves over time)), wherein the interference threshold is determined based on the DPC operations (Paragraph 0041……In FIGS. 3 and 4, the centralized management device first makes a connection and collects information from a control-target AP (S11). Next, acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for each AP is calculated according to an interference relationship between each of the APs, an interference power level or the like of a neighboring wireless communication station……Paragraph [0049] teaches a processing procedure in Step S14 is repeated a plurality of times whenever needed. For example, in a process of selecting control values for all APs, the processing procedure may be repeated until it is determined that a change from a current control value is not made (dynamic power control as it is repeated and evolves over time)); and
assigning power levels based on the DPC operations which enable monitoring of the WiFi network (Paragraph 0041……In FIGS. 3 and 4, the centralized management device first makes a connection and collects information from a control-target AP (S11). Next, acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for each AP is calculated according to an interference relationship between each of the APs, an interference power level or the like of a neighboring wireless communication station……Paragraph [0049] teaches a processing procedure in Step S14 is repeated a plurality of times whenever needed. For example, in a process of selecting control values for all APs, the processing procedure may be repeated until it is determined that a change from a current control value is not made (dynamic power control as it is repeated and evolves over time)).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the set of devices comprises an access point device and a plurality of a user devices Paragraph 0020…….. a wireless communication method of a system that includes a plurality of access points interfering with each other, a plurality of stations (user devices) being connected to the access points).
Regarding claim 5, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving, by the access point device, requests from the plurality of user devices (Paragraph 0034….. an access control unit 15 that performs access control using CSMA/CA (receives requests and manages response) is connected to the wireless signal transmitting/receiving unit 14. Paragraph 0038….. In FIG. 2, a plurality of APs, an AP 1, an AP 2, and an AP 3 are connected to the centralized management device 20, and an STA 1, an STA 2, and an STA 3 that are destinations, respectively, of the AP 1, the AP 2, and the AP 3, are connected. A connection for information signal transfer between the centralized management device 20 and each of the AP 1 to AP 3 is indicated by a solid line. Furthermore, a connection between each of the AP 1 to AP 3 and each of the STA 1 to STA 3 that are destinations, respectively, of the AP 1 to AP 3 is indicated by a solid-line arrow. Moreover, an interference signal is between each of the APs or between an AP and an STA other than the destination of the AP, and a connection therebetween is indicated by a broken line); and
communicating, according to the time period (Paragraph 0018….. when lowering the transmission power level of the access point, the control value decision unit is configured to set as a reference a received power level from an access point which is higher than the interference detection threshold, among the received power levels observed by the access point…….Paragraph [0059]…. Among the selected APs, an AP in which a difference between each interference detection threshold and the received power level is minimized at a current point in time is decided (time period), the difference between each interference detection threshold and the received power level for the AP is computed, and the computed difference is set to be the control value at which the transmission power level is lowered), responses to each of the plurality of user devices (Paragraph 0035…. the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold that are set for the AP 10 are transmitted from the wireless signal transmitting/receiving unit 14 to a station (STA) that is under the control thereof, which is not illustrated, and a transmission power level and an interference detection threshold of the STA are controlled).
Regarding claim 6, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the collection of data is based on the requests and responses (Paragraph 0033…… In FIG. 1, each access point (AP) 10 and a centralized management device 20 are configured to possibly exchange pieces of information with each other through their respective information signal input/output units 11 and 21. For example, the centralized management device 20 transmits a control signal for collecting information from the AP 10, or a control signal for changing an interference detection threshold or a transmission power level of the AP 10, to the AP 10. The AP 10 transmits received power levels that are collected from a wireless signal transmitting/receiving unit 14 and a received power level information collecting unit 12, to a centralized management device 20).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the collected data comprises information related to at least one of signal strength, channel occupancy, noise level, interference detection, channel quality metrics, network load and traffic analysis and real time conditions (Paragraph [0007]….. a technology is disclosed that suppresses the interference with each other on the same channel using pieces of information of interference signal that are collected from a plurality of wireless communication devices, and control is possible that improves frequency utilization efficiency of an entire wireless communication system).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the available frequency attributes and maximum permissible transmit power attributes for the set of devices are determined for each of the set of devices (Paragraph 0035…... the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold that are set for the AP 10 are transmitted from the wireless signal transmitting/receiving unit 14 to a station (STA) that is under the control thereof, which is not illustrated, and a transmission power level and an interference detection threshold of the STA are controlled….. Paragraph 0038….. In FIG. 2, a plurality of APs, an AP 1, an AP 2, and an AP 3 are connected to the centralized management device 20, and an STA 1, an STA 2, and an STA 3 that are destinations, respectively, of the AP 1, the AP 2, and the AP 3, are connected. A connection for information signal transfer between the centralized management device 20 and each of the AP 1 to AP 3 is indicated by a solid line. Furthermore, a connection between each of the AP 1 to AP 3 and each of the STA 1 to STA 3 that are destinations, respectively, of the AP 1 to AP 3 is indicated by a solid-line arrow. Moreover, an interference signal is between each of the APs or between an AP and an STA other than the destination of the AP, and a connection therebetween is indicated by a broken line….Paragraph [0043]…… that is a CCA threshold which can be obtained according to the transmission power level, and that control of the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold is also assumed in the present invention. Furthermore, at this time, a maximum value or a minimum value that is determined according to laws and regulations, or specifications, is also considered and values that run counter to these are not selected).
Regarding claims 9, 16, and 20, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: aggregating the available frequency attributes and maximum permissible transmit power attributes for the set of devices for each of the set of devices (Paragraph 0067…. in deciding the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold, a Particle Swarm Optimization (PSO), which is a many-valued variable optimization method that aims at optimization while sharing pieces of information on an entire group (aggregate) on an individual basis. In the case of application to the present invention, search performance can be improved by adjusting a parameter of the PSO based on the acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity. Paragraph [0068] ….. In FIG. 7, information collection and pre-MCS optimization are performed (S31), and calculation of the acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity and the estimated value of throughput is performed (S32). It is noted that these processing operations are the same as those in Steps S11, S12, and S18 in FIGS. 3 to 6. Next, for example, an evaluation function value that is used for the PSO is calculated from throughput or result of computation that is based on the throughput (S33), the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold if the evaluation function value is optimal are recorded (S34)); and
performing the interference threshold determination based on the aggregated available frequency attributes and maximum permissible transmit power attributes for the set of devices (Paragraph 0043…. that is a CCA threshold which can be obtained according to the transmission power level, and that control of the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold is also assumed in the present invention. Furthermore, at this time, a maximum value or a minimum value that is determined according to laws and regulations, or specifications, is also considered and values that run counter to these are not selected….. Paragraph [0068] ….. the acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for which is high, a coefficient of an amount of change in each of the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold is set to be a value that is lower than a reference value, thereby narrowing a search range, and for an AP, the acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for which is low, the coefficient is set to be a value that is higher than the reference value, thereby broadening the search range (S35). Next, the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold for each AP are updated using a coefficient (weight) that is decided based on a PSO technique (S36). The above-described processing is repeated until an ending condition is satisfied (S37). As the ending condition, a case where improvements in the acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity and the throughput are almost converged, and the like are used).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, Shinohara teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, by the access point device, requests from the plurality of user devices (Paragraph 0034….. an access control unit 15 that performs access control using CSMA/CA (receives requests and manages response) is connected to the wireless signal transmitting/receiving unit 14. Paragraph 0038….. In FIG. 2, a plurality of APs, an AP 1, an AP 2, and an AP 3 are connected to the centralized management device 20, and an STA 1, an STA 2, and an STA 3 that are destinations, respectively, of the AP 1, the AP 2, and the AP 3, are connected. A connection for information signal transfer between the centralized management device 20 and each of the AP 1 to AP 3 is indicated by a solid line. Furthermore, a connection between each of the AP 1 to AP 3 and each of the STA 1 to STA 3 that are destinations, respectively, of the AP 1 to AP 3 is indicated by a solid-line arrow. Moreover, an interference signal is between each of the APs or between an AP and an STA other than the destination of the AP, and a connection therebetween is indicated by a broken line); and
communicate, according to the time period (Paragraph 0018….. when lowering the transmission power level of the access point, the control value decision unit is configured to set as a reference a received power level from an access point which is higher than the interference detection threshold, among the received power levels observed by the access point…….Paragraph [0059]…. Among the selected APs, an AP in which a difference between each interference detection threshold and the received power level is minimized at a current point in time is decided (time period), the difference between each interference detection threshold and the received power level for the AP is computed, and the computed difference is set to be the control value at which the transmission power level is lowered), responses to each of the plurality of user devices (Paragraph 0035…. the transmission power level and the interference detection threshold that are set for the AP 10 are transmitted from the wireless signal transmitting/receiving unit 14 to a station (STA) that is under the control thereof, which is not illustrated, and a transmission power level and an interference detection threshold of the STA are controlled), wherein the collection of data is based on the requests and responses (Paragraph 0033…… In FIG. 1, each access point (AP) 10 and a centralized management device 20 are configured to possibly exchange pieces of information with each other through their respective information signal input/output units 11 and 21. For example, the centralized management device 20 transmits a control signal for collecting information from the AP 10, or a control signal for changing an interference detection threshold or a transmission power level of the AP 10, to the AP 10. The AP 10 transmits received power levels that are collected from a wireless signal transmitting/receiving unit 14 and a received power level information collecting unit 12, to a centralized management device 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US 2019/0191385) in view of Siomina et al. (US 2014/0286219).
Regarding claim 3, Shinohara teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: adjusting the power levels based on the monitoring and the interference threshold (Paragraph 0020….. a wireless communication method of a system that includes a plurality of access points interfering with each other, a plurality of stations being connected to the access points, and a centralized management device being connected to the access points, in which the centralized management device controls a transmission power level and an interference detection threshold for the access points, in which the centralized management device collects interference power level information including received power levels form neighboring access points being a source that causes interference to the access points, a received power level from each station being a destination of the access points, and transmission power level information including a transmission power level of the access points, and decides an interference detection threshold and a transmission power level in the access points according to an acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity and an estimated value of throughput that are computed), fails to teach wherein the adaption of the power levels comprises predicting interference patterns and proactively adjusting the power levels based on the predicted interference patterns.
However, in related art, Siomina teaches wherein the adaption of the power levels comprises predicting interference patterns and proactively adjusting the power levels based on the predicted interference patterns (Paragraph 0212….the radio network operation task may be a task selected from the group comprising: interference estimation, interference prediction, path loss estimation, uplink power control, building up assistance data, informing a wireless device 102 of a transmit power of the assisting network node 104,108, adjusting at least one transmit power related to the performing network node 106,108, configuring at least one signal transmitted by the performing network node 106,108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Siomina’s teaching about wherein the adaption of the power levels comprises predicting interference patterns and proactively adjusting the power levels based on the predicted interference patterns with Shinohara’s invention in order to increase the performance of the wireless system by improving control of the power level.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Shinohara teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: execute dynamic power control (DPC) operations to detect interference sources on the WiFi network (Paragraph 0041……In FIGS. 3 and 4, the centralized management device first makes a connection and collects information from a control-target AP (S11). Next, acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for each AP is calculated according to an interference relationship between each of the APs, an interference power level or the like of a neighboring wireless communication station……Paragraph [0049] teaches a processing procedure in Step S14 is repeated a plurality of times whenever needed. For example, in a process of selecting control values for all APs, the processing procedure may be repeated until it is determined that a change from a current control value is not made (dynamic power control as it is repeated and evolves over time)), wherein the interference threshold is determined based on the DPC operations (Paragraph 0041……In FIGS. 3 and 4, the centralized management device first makes a connection and collects information from a control-target AP (S11). Next, acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for each AP is calculated according to an interference relationship between each of the APs, an interference power level or the like of a neighboring wireless communication station……Paragraph [0049] teaches a processing procedure in Step S14 is repeated a plurality of times whenever needed. For example, in a process of selecting control values for all APs, the processing procedure may be repeated until it is determined that a change from a current control value is not made (dynamic power control as it is repeated and evolves over time));
assign power levels based on the DPC operations which enable monitoring of the WiFi network (Paragraph 0041……In FIGS. 3 and 4, the centralized management device first makes a connection and collects information from a control-target AP (S11). Next, acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity for each AP is calculated according to an interference relationship between each of the APs, an interference power level or the like of a neighboring wireless communication station……Paragraph [0049] teaches a processing procedure in Step S14 is repeated a plurality of times whenever needed. For example, in a process of selecting control values for all APs, the processing procedure may be repeated until it is determined that a change from a current control value is not made (dynamic power control as it is repeated and evolves over time)), and
adjust the power levels based on the monitoring and the interference threshold (Paragraph 0020….. a wireless communication method of a system that includes a plurality of access points interfering with each other, a plurality of stations being connected to the access points, and a centralized management device being connected to the access points, in which the centralized management device controls a transmission power level and an interference detection threshold for the access points, in which the centralized management device collects interference power level information including received power levels form neighboring access points being a source that causes interference to the access points, a received power level from each station being a destination of the access points, and transmission power level information including a transmission power level of the access points, and decides an interference detection threshold and a transmission power level in the access points according to an acquisition frequency of transmission opportunity and an estimated value of throughput that are computed), but fails to teach wherein the adaption of the power levels comprises predicting interference patterns and proactively adjusting the power levels based on the predicted interference patterns.
However, in related art, Siomina teaches wherein the adaption of the power levels comprises predicting interference patterns and proactively adjusting the power levels based on the predicted interference patterns (Paragraph 0212….the radio network operation task may be a task selected from the group comprising: interference estimation, interference prediction, path loss estimation, uplink power control, building up assistance data, informing a wireless device 102 of a transmit power of the assisting network node 104,108, adjusting at least one transmit power related to the performing network node 106,108, configuring at least one signal transmitted by the performing network node 106,108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Siomina’s teaching about wherein the adaption of the power levels comprises predicting interference patterns and proactively adjusting the power levels based on the predicted interference patterns with Shinohara’s invention in order to increase the performance of the wireless system by improving control of the power level.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Engi et al. (US 2025/0240626), Charipadi (US Patent #11,716,694), Jagannathan et al. (US 2023/0039222), Al-Mufti et al. (US 2023/0007668), Bros et al. (US 2020/0320820), Zhao et al. (US 2017/0374558), O’Reirdan et al. (US 2017/0085417), and Heath (US 2013/0073388).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132