DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YIN et al. (US 2021/0337594 A1), hereinafter YIN.
Regarding claim 1, YIN discloses a method comprising:
at a first wireless station implementing a listen before talk function to communicate over a wireless channel to a second wireless station (the wireless station performing CSMA/CA using enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA), see ¶ 0167, it should be note that the CSMA/CA is known in the art as listen before sending/talk protocol):
receiving multiple data packets destined for delivery over the wireless channel to the second wireless station (the wireless station receiving RTA traffic and non-RTA traffic, see ¶ 0167);
detecting that a first data packet and a second data packet of the multiple data packets fall in a first access class of multiple access classes (STAs are able to discern between RTA packets and non-RTA packets, see ¶ 0010, 0043);
detecting that the first data packet is marked as being higher in priority than the second data packet in the first access class (the RTA packets are given a higher priority than other packets, see ¶ 0010); and
scheduling the first data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the second data packet over the wireless channel (RTA packets with a higher priority than other packets, see ¶ 0010, 0044).
Regarding claim 2, YIN inherently discloses at the first wireless station: mapping an identity of the first access class to a first clear channel assessment window assigned to the first access class; and in response to detecting non-use of the wireless channel for a time duration as specified by the first clear channel assessment window: transmitting the first data packet over the wireless channel followed by transmission of the second data packet over the wireless channel (inherent feature: the STA performs CCA to determine where the transmission channel is busy or available for transmission of RTA packets, see ¶ 0130, 0140)
Regarding claim 3, YIN discloses via the first wireless station: transmitting the first data packet over the wireless channel in response to a first acquisition of the wireless channel; and transmitting the second data packet over the wireless channel in response to a second acquisition of the wireless channel (the STA transmits the packets in A_VO transmit queue first 718 or STA transmits the packets in R_VO transmits first 484 or STA transmits the packets in VO transmit queue 482, see figure 15).
Regarding claim 4, YIN discloses detecting that the first data packet is marked as being higher in priority than the second data packet in the first access class includes: based on analyzing first bit information in the first data packet, detecting that the first data packet is marked as a high priority data packet in the first access class; and based on analyzing second bit information in the second data packet, detecting that the second data packet is not marked as a high priority data packet in the first access class (mapping to transmit queues and AC 434 detecting incoming packets, analyzing each packet and storing in appropriate queues based on it priority for scheduling for service, see figures 13-14).
Regarding claim 5, YIN discloses scheduling the first data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the second data packet over the wireless channel includes: storing the first data packet in a first queue of the first access class; and storing the second data packet in a second queue of the first access class (the TRA packets and non-TRA packets are store in different queues, see figures 7, 13-14).
Regarding claim 6, YIN discloses storing a third data packet in the first queue prior to storing the first data packet in the first queue (network control (NC) packet are transmitted the earliest, see ¶ 0010); and in accordance with the scheduling: transmitting the third data packet over the wireless channel followed by transmission of the first data packet over the wireless channel before transmitting the second data packet over the wireless channel (RTA packets with a higher priority than other packets, except for Network Control (NC) packets. That is, the RTA packets are given a higher probability of being transmitted earlier than other packets, except for NC packets, see ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 7, YIN discloses emptying the first queue by transmitting all data packets in the first queue including the first data packet over the wireless channel before transmitting the second data packet over the wireless channel (make sure the first queue e.g. A_VO transmit queue 476 is empty before transmitting packets in queue R_VO queue 480 or packets in VO queue 482, see figure 15).
Regarding claim 8, YIN discloses implementing a first processing layer to detect that the first data packet is marked as being higher in priority than the second data packet in the first access class, the first processing layer controlling which of multiple queues associated with the first access class each of the first data packet and the second data packet is stored for subsequent transmission over the wireless channel (Packets come in as MSDU including UP and RTA information 392 to be mapped 394 to transmit queues 410 in different access categories (AC). A new transmit queue R_VO 398 is added in the queue system, with the conventional queues VO 396, A_VO 400, A_VI 402, VI 404, BE 406 and BK 408., see ¶ 0143).
Regarding claim 9, YIN discloses implementing a first processing layer to process bit information in each of the multiple data packets (the mapping to transmit queues and AC 194, see figure 13); and via the first processing layer: i) storing the first data packet in a first queue associated with the first access class in response to detecting presence of a high priority marker in the first data packet (highest priority of VO are stores in queues 396, see figure 13) and ii) storing the second data packet in a second queue associated with the first access class in response to detecting absence of the high priority marker in the second data packet (the second highest priority of R_VO are stores in queues 398, see figure 13).
Regarding claim 10, YIN discloses the multiple data packets received by the first wireless station further include a third data packet and a fourth data packet, the method further comprising: at the first wireless station:
detecting that the third data packet and the fourth data packet of the multiple data packets fall in a second access class of the multiple access classes; and scheduling the third data packet and the fourth data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the first data packet over the wireless channel (the incoming multiple packets are mapped into appropriate access categories (AC) and scheduling the according to assigned priority, see figure 13 and ¶ 0143-0144).
Regarding claim 11, YIN discloses scheduling the third data packet and the fourth data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the first data packet over the wireless channel includes: storing the third data packet and the fourth data packet in a first queue of the second access class; and transmitting the third data packet and the fourth data packet over the wireless channel prior to transmitting the first data packet over the wireless channel (the R_VO transmit queue 398 shares the VO EDCAF 412 with the VO and A_VO transmit queues, see ¶ 0144 and figure 13).
Regarding claim 13, YIN discloses a system comprising:
a communication management resource operative to:
receive multiple data packets destined for delivery from a first wireless station over a wireless channel to a second wireless station, the wireless channel acquirable via a listen before talk function (the wireless station receiving RTA traffic and non-RTA traffic, see ¶ 0167, the wireless station performing CSMA/CA using enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA), see ¶ 0167, it should be note that the CSMA/CA is known in the art as listen before sending/talk protocol);
detect that a first data packet and a second data packet of the multiple data packets fall in a first access class of multiple access classes (STAs are able to discern between RTA packets and non-RTA packets, see ¶ 0010, 0043);
detect that the first data packet is marked as being higher in priority than the second data packet in the first access class (the RTA packets are given a higher priority than other packets, see ¶ 0010); and
schedule the first data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the second data packet over the wireless channel (RTA packets with a higher priority than other packets, see ¶ 0010, 0044).
Regarding claim 14, YIN inherently discloses at the first wireless station: mapping an identity of the first access class to a first clear channel assessment window assigned to the first access class; and in response to detecting non-use of the wireless channel for a time duration as specified by the first clear channel assessment window: transmitting the first data packet over the wireless channel followed by transmission of the second data packet over the wireless channel (inherent feature: the STA perform CCA to determine where the transmission channel is busy or available for transmission of RTA packets, see ¶ 0130, 0140)
Regarding claim 15, YIN discloses via the first wireless station: transmitting the first data packet over the wireless channel in response to a first acquisition of the wireless channel; and transmitting the second data packet over the wireless channel in response to a second acquisition of the wireless channel (the STA transmits the packets in A_VO transmit queue first 718 or STA transmits the packets in R_VO transmits first 484 or STA transmits the packets in VO transmit queue 482, see figure 15).
Regarding claim 16, YIN discloses detecting that the first data packet is marked as being higher in priority than the second data packet in the first access class includes: based on analyzing first bit information in the first data packet, detecting that the first data packet is marked as a high priority data packet in the first access class; and based on analyzing second bit information in the second data packet, detecting that the second data packet is not marked as a high priority data packet in the first access class (mapping to transmit queues and AC 434 detecting incoming packets, analyzing each packet and storing in appropriate queues based on it priority for scheduling for service, see figures 13-14).
Regarding claim 17, YIN discloses scheduling the first data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the second data packet over the wireless channel includes: storing the first data packet in a first queue of the first access class; and storing the second data packet in a second queue of the first access class (the TRA packets and non-TRA packets are store in different queues, see figure 7).
Regarding claim 18, YIN discloses storing a third data packet in the first queue prior to storing the first data packet in the first queue (network control (NC) packet are transmitted the earliest, see ¶ 0010); and in accordance with the scheduling: transmitting the third data packet over the wireless channel followed by transmission of the first data packet over the wireless channel before transmitting the second data packet over the wireless channel (RTA packets with a higher priority than other packets, except for Network Control (NC) packets. That is, the RTA packets are given a higher probability of being transmitted earlier than other packets, except for NC packets, see ¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 19, YIN discloses emptying the first queue by transmitting all data packets in the first queue including the first data packet over the wireless channel before transmitting the second data packet over the wireless channel (make sure the first queue e.g. A_VO transmit queue 476 is empty before transmitting packets in queue R_VO queue 480 or packets in VO queue 482, see figure 15).
Regarding claim 20, YIN discloses implementing a first processing layer to detect that the first data packet is marked as being higher in priority than the second data packet in the first access class, the first processing layer controlling which of multiple queues associated with the first access class each of the first data packet and the second data packet is stored for subsequent transmission over the wireless channel (Packets come in as MSDU including UP and RTA information 392 to be mapped 394 to transmit queues 410 in different access categories (AC). A new transmit queue R_VO 398 is added in the queue system, with the conventional queues VO 396, A_VO 400, A_VI 402, VI 404, BE 406 and BK 408., see ¶ 0143 and figure 15).
Regarding claim 21, YIN discloses implementing a first processing layer to process bit information in each of the multiple data packets (the mapping to transmit queues and AC 194, see figure 13); and via the first processing layer: i) storing the first data packet in a first queue associated with the first access class in response to detecting presence of a high priority marker in the first data packet (highest priority of VO are stores in queues 396, see figure 13) and ii) storing the second data packet in a second queue associated with the first access class in response to detecting absence of the high priority marker in the second data packet (the second highest priority of R_VO are stores in queues 398, see figure 13).
Regarding claim 12, YIN discloses the multiple data packets received by the first wireless station further include a third data packet and a fourth data packet, the method further comprising: at the first wireless station:
detecting that the third data packet and the fourth data packet of the multiple data packets fall in a second access class of the multiple access classes; and scheduling the third data packet and the fourth data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the first data packet over the wireless channel (the incoming multiple packets are mapped into appropriate access categories (AC) and scheduling the according to assigned priority, see figure 13 and ¶ 0143-0144).
Regarding claim 13, YIN discloses scheduling the third data packet and the fourth data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the first data packet over the wireless channel includes: storing the third data packet and the fourth data packet in a first queue of the second access class; and transmitting the third data packet and the fourth data packet over the wireless channel prior to transmitting the first data packet over the wireless channel (the R_VO transmit queue 398 shares the VO EDCAF 412 with the VO and A_VO transmit queues, see ¶ 0144 and figure 13).
Regarding claim 25, YIN disclose Computer-readable storage hardware having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when carried out by computer processor hardware, cause the computer processor hardware to:
receive multiple data packets destined for delivery over the wireless channel to the second wireless station (the wireless station receiving RTA traffic and non-RTA traffic, see ¶ 0167);
detect that a first data packet and a second data packet of the multiple data packets fall in a first access class of multiple access classes (STAs are able to discern between RTA packets and non-RTA packets, see ¶ 0010, 0043);
detect that the first data packet is marked as being higher in priority than the second data packet in the first access class (the RTA packets are given a higher priority than other packets, see ¶ 0010); and
schedule the first data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the second data packet over the wireless channel (RTA packets with a higher priority than other packets, see ¶ 0010, 0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YIN in view of AHMED et al. (US 11,330,460), hereinafter AHMED.
Regarding claims 12 and 24, YIN discloses scheduling the third data packet and the fourth data packet for transmission over the wireless channel prior to transmission of the first data packet over the wireless channel includes: storing the third data packet in a first queue of the second access class; storing the fourth data packet in a second queue of the second access class (packets store in queues 402, 404 or VI packets, see figures 13, 14). However, YIN fails to disclose transmitting the third data packet and the fourth data packet over the wireless channel prior to transmitting the first data packet and the second data packet over the wireless channel.
In the same field of endeavor, AHMED discloses that in one aspect, EDCA parameters can be determined or assigned according to a priority. In one approach, communication can be classified into access classes (AC) according to a type of content to transmit. For example, communication can be classified into voice, video, best effort, background, etc. In some embodiments, artificial reality application may select an AC or queue. According to the AC, the wireless controller 520 can select a set of values for the EDCA parameters. In one example, a higher priority AC may have a smaller AIFS than a lower priority AC. In one example, a higher priority AC may have a smaller CWmin and CWmax than a lower priority AC. Hence, a higher priority AC may obtain access to the wireless link before the lower priority AC (see col. 12 lines 61 to col. 13 line 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement AHMED’s teaching in the network taught by YIN to allow the user capability to dynamically adjusting the channel access for packet transmission based on current’s need.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 26, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: based on analyzing third bit information in the third data packet of the multiple received data packets, detecting that the third data packet is not marked as being a higher priority data packet in the first access class; and in response to detecting congestion associated with wirelessly transmitting data packets over the wireless channel: i) marking the third data packet with a marker indicating the third data packet as being higher priority in the first access class; and ii) storing the third data packet in a higher priority queue associated with the first access class than would otherwise occur without the marker.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412