DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species F (figs. 16A-18) in the reply filed on 07 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites that “a sealing ridge is axially positioned between the raised lip and the groove”. This makes it seem like the sealing ridge is on the end piece, when the sealing ridge is actually on the gasket and must be in order to contact the sealing surface as required by the claim. It appears the claim should be amended to clearly recited the sealing ridge is located on the gasket.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the sealing surface of the coupling" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites “a sealing ridge is positioned radially inwardly from a radially outermost portion of the raised lip”. This makes it seem like the sealing ridge is on the end piece, when the sealing ridge is actually on the gasket and must be in order to contact the sealing surface as required by the claim. It appears the claim should be amended to clearly recited the sealing ridge is located on the gasket.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan (USP 6,267,417). For portions of the rejection please refer to the annotated fig. 1 of Fan below:
In regards to claim 8, Fan discloses a pre-assembled coupling assembly comprising:
a hose adapter comprising an end piece (20) defining a raised lip (23), a sealing surface (see annotated fig.), a groove (21), and a stop lip (22) comprising a circumferential gap (see areas circumferentially between “22”), the stop lip positioned at a first end opposite the groove (shown in annotated fig.), the sealing surface axially positioned between the raised lip and the groove (shown in annotated fig.); and
a coupling (30 retained on the first end and coupled to the coupling when the coupling is in a relaxed position.
In regards to claim 9, Fan further discloses the coupling defines a coupling bore (central bore), a first ridge (32), and a second ridge (other 32) positioned opposite from the first ridge, wherein the coupling bore extends from the first ridge to the second ridge.
In regards to claim 10, Fan further discloses the coupling comprises a gasket (35) defining a sealing ridge (shown in fig. 1 on edges) and positioned within a coupling bore between a first ridge and a second ridge of the coupling.
In regards to claim 11, Fan further discloses the end piece defines an inner end and an outer end, the end piece defining an axis extending from the inner end to the outer end, the first end axially positioned between a first ridge and a second ridge of the coupling (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 14, Fan further discloses a first ridge (32) of the coupling is axially aligned with the groove (shown in fig. 2) and positioned external to the groove in the relaxed position and a sealing surface (37) of the coupling is adjacent to the first ridge.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
Claims 12, 13, and 15-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not show or suggest a coupling assembly comprising all the limitations of claim 1. Fan shows a coupling assembly comprising most limitations of the claims as shown above, but does not disclose a radially innermost portion of a sealing ridge is positioned radially inward from a radially outermost portion of the raised lip.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 01/23/2026