DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on September 4th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the disclosure of Esmond does not anticipate all the limitations of the amended claim 1. The examiner has considered this argument and finds this persuasive. However, upon further consideration, new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 USC § 103 for claim 1 (and all its dependent claims) in view of additional teaching reference from Fuji.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esmond (US2013/0230434A1) in view of Fuji (JPS61184808U, Original and English merged).
Annotated Figure 4
Regarding claim 1, ESMOND discloses an air passage type silencer (Title, Abstract, Annotated figure 4) comprising:
an inlet-side ventilation pipe (paragraph [0050]; Annotated figure 4:12);
an expansion portion (paragraph [0050]; Annotated figure 4: “Expansion section”) that communicates with the inlet-side ventilation pipe and of which a cross-sectional area is larger than a cross-sectional area of the inlet-side ventilation pipe;
an outlet-side ventilation pipe (paragraph [0050], Annotated figure 4:18) that communicates with the expansion portion and of which a cross-sectional area is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the expansion portion;
an opening portion structure (paragraph [0050]: “convergent cone”; Annotated figure 4: 47) of which a cross-sectional area gradually decreases from an inside of the expansion portion toward a connection portion between the expansion portion and the outlet-side ventilation pipe;
a rear surface space that (paragraph [0050], Annotated figure 4: “Rear surface space”) is surrounded by the opening portion structure, a side surface of the expansion portion that is on an outlet-side ventilation pipe side, and a peripheral surface of the expansion portion; and
a porous sound absorbing material (paragraph [0050]: “sound deadening material”, Annotated figure 4: 45) that is disposed at least in an opening portion of the rear surface space.
ESMOND does not explicitly teach an edge surface of the opening portion structure on an inlet-side ventilation pipe side and an inner surface of the expansion portion are not in contact with each other, and an opening portion is formed between the edge surface of the opening portion structure on the inlet-side ventilation pipe side and the inner surface of the expansion portion
FUJI teaches bell shaped opening portion structure (FUJI, Page 14, line 53-54: bell mouths; Figure 2: 3d of tail pipe 3) that do not contact the inner surface of the expansion portion for exhaust silencer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the opening portion structure of ESMOND (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47) with a bell-shaped opening portion structure that is not in contact with the expansion portion as taught by FUJI . Motivation to do such modification would be to reduce separation caused by high-speed flow within the expansion portion and as a result reducing the secondary noise.
Additionally, examiner points out the applicant does not disclose any criticality of the introduced limitation “edge surface of the opening portion structure on an inlet-side ventilation pipe side and an inner surface of the expansion portion are not in contact with each other”. The inventor does not disclose any evidence of comparative improvement between the cases where the edge surface of the opening portion structure on an inlet-side ventilation pipe side and an inner surface of the expansion portion are not in contact with each other versus when the said surfaces are in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 6, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses that a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe and a central axis of the inlet-side ventilation pipe are on one straight line (ESMOND, paragraph [0041]: “… it should be understood that the inlet, or other components described and shown may be straight or curved with respect to the longitudinal axis depending upon the space limitations of a particular application.”).
Regarding claim 7, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses that the porous sound absorbing material (ESMOND, paragraph [0008] :“sound deadening material”, Annotated figure 4: 45) is disposed on a region from a side surface of the expansion portion that is on an inlet-side ventilation pipe side to a side surface on the outlet-side ventilation pipe side (ESMOND, paragraph [0008]:”… include sound deadening material integrated with one or more internal surface of the apparatus.”).
Regarding claim 9, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above. ESMOND further discloses that the opening portion structure includes a region (Annotated figure 4: “Rear surface space”) in which a wall thickness (Annotated figure 4: “Wall thickness”) decreases toward an inlet-side (Annotated figure 4: 12) ventilation pipe side. While, ESMOND is silent about wall thickness of the opening portion structure (47 in Annotated figure 4) the space between outer surface of the silencer (Annotated figure 4: “Silencer outer wall”) and the wall of opening portion structure (Annotated figure 4: 47) is equivalent to wall thickness of the rear surface space of the claimed invention and this wall thickness (Annotated figure 4: “Wall thickness”) decreases towards the inlet-side ventilation pipe (Annotated figure 4: 12).
Claim(s) 2, 14, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jha et al. (https://journal.ump.edu.my/index.php/ijame/issue/view/191; "Optimal Automobile Muffler Vibration and Noise Analysis") hereinafter JHA and Herrin et al. (https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Xin-Hua/publication/277570476_The_Proper_Use_of_Plane_Wave_Models_for_Muffler_Design/links/55b05d6008aeb92399172378/The-Proper-Use-of-Plane-Wave-Models-for-Muffler-Design.pdf; "The Proper Use of Plane Wave Models for Muffler Design") hereinafter HERRIN.
Regarding claim 2, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses the air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above.
ESMOND in view of FUJI does not disclose the following range for resonance frequency F, wherein f1 × (1 - 0.2) < F < fc is satisfied, where F is a resonance frequency in the rear surface space in a state where the porous sound absorbing material is not disposed, f1 is a first resonance frequency of the air passage type silencer in the state where the porous sound absorbing material is not disposed, and fc is a cutoff frequency determined by a cross-sectional area of an opening of the outlet-side ventilation pipe.
For practical muffler/ silencer design in industry, it is very common practice that the desired chamber resonance frequency is: (i) not to close to the fundamental system resonance frequency f1 and, (ii) below higher-order acoustic or structural transition frequencies, also known as cutoff frequency fc. JHA(Abstract) teaches “The modes on the muffler should be located away from the engine’s operating frequencies in order to minimise the resonance.”, which covers part (i) of the aforementioned design practice. HERRIN (page 928) teaches “However, plane wave models can be used regardless of the complexity of the muffler provided the cutoff frequency is not exceeded.”, which covers part (ii) of the aforementioned design practice. JHA in view of HERRIN, when put together, teaches the common practice design rule f1 < F < fc. The stated range of the current invention, where F is preferably in-between 80% of the fundamental system resonance frequency f1 and the cutoff frequency fc, falls with the common practice design rule of f1 < F < fc. JHA teaches f1<F and HERRIN teaches F<fc. These two taken together encompass the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try a broad range of frequencies for F which would have included f1 × (1 - 0.2) < F < fc on the silence disclosed by ESMOND in view of FUJI in order to minimize resonance and to be able to use the plane wave model.
Regarding claim 14, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above. ESMOND further discloses that a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe and a central axis of the inlet-side ventilation pipe are on one straight line (paragraph [0041]: “… it should be understood that the inlet, or other components described and shown may be straight or curved with respect to the longitudinal axis depending upon the space limitations of a particular application.”).
Regarding claim 15, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above. ESMOND further discloses that the porous sound absorbing material (paragraph [0008]: “sound deadening material”, Annotated figure 4: 45) is disposed on a region from a side surface of the expansion portion that is on an inlet-side ventilation pipe side to a side surface on the outlet-side ventilation pipe side (paragraph [0008]: ”… include sound deadening material integrated with one or more internal surface of the apparatus.”).
Regarding claim 17, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above. ESMOND further discloses that the opening portion structure includes a region (Annotated figure 4: ‘Rear surface space’) in which a wall thickness (Annotated figure 4: “Wall thickness”) decreases toward an inlet-side (Annotated figure 4: 12) ventilation pipe side. While, ESMOND is silent about wall thickness of the opening portion structure (Annotated figure 4: 47) the space between outer surface of the silencer (Annotated figure 4: “Silencer outer wall”) and the wall of opening portion structure (Annotated figure 4: 47) is equivalent to wall thickness of the rear surface space and this wall thickness (Annotated figure 4: “Wall thickness”) decreases towards the inlet-side ventilation pipe (Annotated figure 4: 12).
Claim 3, 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Merchant et al. (US2011/0168482A1) hereinafter MERCHANT.
Regarding claim 3, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses the air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above. Although ESMOND in view of FUJI does not explicitly disclose about the cross-section of convergent cone section (Annotated figure 4: 47), which is equivalent to opening portion structure of the claimed invention, being perpendicular to the central axis of the outlet, in the event the central axis of the outlet and the central axis of the convergent section are parallel to each other or on the same straight line, the cross-section of the convergent cone will be perpendicular to the axis of the outlet.
ESMOND in view of FUJI does not disclose that the cross-sectional shape of the opening portion structure being a quadrangular shape and that a distance between one pair of sides facing each other gradually decreases from the inside of the expansion portion toward the connection portion between the expansion portion and the outlet-side ventilation pipe, and a distance between the other pair of sides facing each other is constant.
MERCHANT teaches about a silencer for bend pipe of a gas turbine (Title, Abstract, Figure 3), that has quadrangular cross-section, where in certain portions spacing between two opposing walls are either converging (Figure 3: 20) or diverging (Figure 3: 16) and the other two opposing walls are constant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of MERCHANT on the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI so that the cross-section of the convergent cone section is quadrangular shape where, a distance between one pair of sides facing each other gradually decreases from the inside of the convergent cone toward the outlet pipe, and a distance between the other pair of sides facing each other is constant. Such modification would get to a reduced silencer size, make the silencer suitable for use in ducts with changing cross-section and improve sound attenuation performance of the silencer over a wide range of frequencies (MERCHANT, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses the air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above.
ESMOND in view of FUJI does not disclose a silencer where the opening portion structure has a structure in which two plate-shaped members face each other and a distance between the two plate-shaped members gradually decreases from the inside of the expansion portion toward the connection portion between the expansion portion and the outlet-side ventilation pipe.
MERCHANT teaches about a silencer for bend pipe of a gas turbine (Title, Abstract, Figure 3), that has rectangular cross-section, where in certain portions the spacing between two opposing walls are either converging (Figure 3: 20) or diverging (Figure 3: 16) and the spacing between the other two opposing walls is constant, where the constantly spaced apart opposing walls can just be the walls of the duct where the silencer is placed in.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the convergent cone section (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47) of ESMOND, which is equivalent to the opening portion structure of the claimed invention, to include the rectangular cross-section converging transition portion (Figure 3: 20) as taught by MERCHANT in order to make the silencer usable in a rectangular cross-section duct and to reduce the amount of material to be used by eliminating the two constantly spaced apart walls of the silencer.
Regarding claim 20, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of MERCHANT discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 3 as set forth above. ESMOND further discloses that a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe and a central axis of the inlet-side ventilation pipe are on one straight line (ESMOND, paragraph [0041]: “… it should be understood that the inlet, or other components described and shown may be straight or curved with respect to the longitudinal axis depending upon the space limitations of a particular application.”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Purhonen (US4109754A).
Regarding claim 5, ESMOND discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above, where the divergent and convergent flow sections are placed inside a constant cross-section enclosure (‘Expansion section’ in Annotated figure, paragraph [0019]) which is equivalent to the expansion section of the claimed invention.
However, ESMOND does not disclose a cross-sectional shape of the expansion portion that is perpendicular to a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe is a rectangular shape.
PURHONEN teaches about a noise absorber (Title, Abstract, Figure 1-3), where the flow channel is placed within a box having shape of a rectangular cross-section channel (PURHONEN, claim 5), which is equivalent to the expansion section of the claimed invention of instant application.
ESMOND is silent about the casing of the muffler. PURHONEN teaches a muffler with a rectangular cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the current claimed invention, to modify ESMOND to include a rectangular cross-section as taught by PURHONEN in order to make the silencer usable in ducts with rectangular cross-section.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuroki (JP2000248920A).
Regarding claim 8, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above.
However, ESMOND in view of FUJI does not disclose that a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe is offset from a center of the side surface of the expansion portion.
KUROKI teaches about an automobile silencer where the central axes of inlet-side port (Figure 4: 5), out-let side port (Figure 4: 6) and expansion section (Figure 4: 8) are not aligned.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the configuration of the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI with the teachings of KUROKI to get to a silencer configuration where the central axes of inlet, that of expansion section and that of outlet are not aligned, in order to provide a silencer that can be flexibly located within the vehicle as dictated by space constraint.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Petschenig (US2011/0186378A1).
Regarding claim 10, ESMOND in view of FUJI discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 1 as set forth above. However, ESMOND in view of FUJI does not disclose that the opening portion structure is attachable and detachable with respect to the expansion portion.
PETSCHENIG teaches about an exhaust muffler (Title, Abstract, Figure 9) comprising multiple attachable and detachable members (paragraph [0015]: “… a first body member and a second body member attached to the first body member”; paragraph [0061]). PETSCHENIG describes a configuration (paragraph [0061]) where converging section (Figure 9: 64), which is equivalent to converging cone of ESMOND (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47) and opening portion of current claimed invention, can be attached to and detached from the rest of the muffler portion (Figure 9: 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI with the teachings of PETSCHENIG to make the convergent cone section (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47) attachable and detachable and thereby making the silencer to have a more modular design to facilitate its use in areas of space constraint and also make silencer easily accessible for replacement and repair.
Claim 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of MERCHANT.
Regarding claim 11, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses the air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above. Although ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN does not explicitly disclose about the cross-section of convergent cone section (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47), which is equivalent to opening portion structure of the claimed invention, being perpendicular to the central axis of the outlet, in the event the central axis of the outlet and the central axis of the convergent section are parallel to each other or on the same straight line, the cross-section of the convergent cone will be perpendicular to the axis of the outlet.
ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN does not disclose that the cross-sectional shape of the opening portion structure being a quadrangular shape and that a distance between one pair of sides facing each other gradually decreases from the inside of the expansion portion toward the connection portion between the expansion portion and the outlet-side ventilation pipe, and a distance between the other pair of sides facing each other is constant.
MERCHANT teaches about a silencer for bend pipe of a gas turbine (Title, Abstract, Figure 3), that has quadrangular (it is noted that a rectangle is quadrangular) cross-section, where in certain portions spacing between two opposing walls are either converging (Figure 3: 20) or diverging (Figure 3: 16) and the other two opposing walls are constant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of MERCHANT on the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN so that the cross-section of the convergent cone section is quadrangular shape where, a distance between one pair of sides facing each other gradually decreases from the inside of the convergent cone toward the outlet pipe, and a distance between the other pair of sides facing each other is constant. Such modification would get to a reduced silencer size, make the silencer suitable for use in ducts with changing cross-section and improve sound attenuation performance of the silencer over a wide range of frequencies (MERCHANT, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 12, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses the air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above.
ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN does not disclose a silencer where the opening portion structure has a structure in which two plate-shaped members face each other and a distance between the two plate-shaped members gradually decreases from the inside of the expansion portion toward the connection portion between the expansion portion and the outlet-side ventilation pipe.
MERCHANT teaches about a silencer for bend pipe of a gas turbine (Title, Abstract, Figure 3), that has rectangular cross-section, where in certain portions the spacing between two opposing walls are either converging (Figure 3: 20) or diverging (Figure 3: 16) and the spacing between the other two opposing walls is constant, where the constantly spaced apart opposing walls can just be the walls of the duct where the silencer is placed in.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the current claimed invention, to modify the convergent cone section (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47) of ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN, which is equivalent to the opening portion structure of the claimed invention, to include the rectangular cross-section converging transition portion (Figure 3: 20) as taught by MERCHANT in order to make the silencer usable in a rectangular cross-section duct and to reduce the amount of material to be used by eliminating the two constantly spaced apart walls of the silencer.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of PURHONEN.
Regarding claim 13, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above, where the divergent and convergent flow sections are placed inside a constant cross-section enclosure (ESMOND, paragraph [0019], Annotated figure 4: ”Expansion section”) which is equivalent to the expansion section of the claimed invention.
ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN does not disclose a cross-sectional shape of the expansion portion that is perpendicular to a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe is a rectangular shape.
PURHONEN teaches about a noise absorber (Title, Abstract, Figure 1-3), where the flow channel is placed within a box having shape of a rectangular cross-section channel (PURHONEN, claim 5), which is equivalent to the expansion section of the claimed invention of instant application. ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN is silent about the casing of the muffler. PURHONEN teaches a muffler with a rectangular cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN to include a rectangular cross-section as taught by PURHONEN, in order to make the silencer usable in ducts with rectangular cross-section.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of KUROKI.
Regarding claim 16, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above.
However, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN does not disclose that a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe is offset from a center of the side surface of the expansion portion.
KUROKI teaches about an automobile silencer where the central axes of inlet-side port (Figure 4: 5), out-let side port (Figure 4: 6) and expansion section (Figure 4: 8) are not aligned.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN with the teachings of KUROKI to get to a silencer configuration where the central axes of inlet, that of expansion section and that of outlet are not aligned in order to provide a silencer that can be flexibly located within the vehicle as dictated by space constraint.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of PETSCHENIG.
Regarding claim 10, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 2 as set forth above.
ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN does not disclose that the opening portion structure is attachable and detachable with respect to the expansion portion.
PETSCHENIG teaches about an exhaust muffler (Title, Abstract, Figure 9) comprising multiple attachable and detachable members (paragraph [0015]: “… a first body member and a second body member attached to the first body member”; paragraph [0061]). PETSCHENIG describes a configuration (paragraph [0061]) where converging section (Figure 9: 64), which is equivalent to converging cone of ESMOND (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47) and opening portion of current claimed invention, can be attached to and detached from the rest of the muffler portion (Figure 9: 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of JHA in view of HERRIN with the teachings of PETSCHENIG to make the convergent cone section (ESMOND, Annotated figure 4: 47) attachable and detachable and thereby making the silencer to have a more modular design to facilitate its use in areas of space constraint and also make silencer easily accessible for replacement and repair.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of MERCHANT as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of PURHONEN.
Regarding claim 19, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of MERCHANT discloses an air passage type silencer according to claim 3 as set forth above.
However, ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of MERCHANT does not disclose a cross-sectional shape of the expansion portion that is perpendicular to a central axis of the outlet-side ventilation pipe is a rectangular shape.
PURHONEN teaches about a noise absorber (PURHONEN, Title, Abstract, Figure 1-3), where the flow channel is placed within a box having shape of a rectangular cross-section channel (PURHONEN, claim 5), which is equivalent to the expansion section of the claimed invention of instant application.
ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of MERCHANT is silent about the casing of the muffler. PURHONEN teaches a muffler with a rectangular cross-section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the silencer of ESMOND in view of FUJI in view of MERCHANT to include a rectangular cross-section as taught by PURHONEN in order to make the silencer usable in ducts with rectangular cross-section.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753