DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/13/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received on 02/13/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 02/13/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150255772 A1) in view of Iwata et al. (US 20200335760 A1).
Regarding claim 1, modified Jung discloses a battery cell (0002) comprising an anode (0003), a cathode (0003), and a separator made of a first electrically insulating material compressed between the anode and the cathode to form an anode overlap configuration in which the cathode is recessed into the separator (0042). Jung does not disclose a separator having cracks around the edge of the cathode. Iwata teaches cracks on the surface of a layer of a separator referred to as “layer B” (0129), and Iwata teaches a separator having cracks around an edge of the cathode (0199), and a second electrically insulating material along the edge of the cathode and penetrating the cracks in the separator (0034). Jung and Iwata both pertain to an electrochemical cell. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the separator cracking as taught by Iwata, into the separator disclosed in Jung, because Iwata discloses improved heat resistance and initial battery characteristics by controlling cracks within the separator of a battery (0008). When the separator disclosed in Jung incorporates the surface cracks as taught by Iwata, the separator will necessarily have cracks around the edge of the cathode.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150255772 A1) in view of Iwata et al. (US 20200335760 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Sato et al. (US 6589690 B1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Jung discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above. Modified Jung does not disclose a battery cell of claim 1 wherein the second electrically insulating material is a gel. Sato discloses an adhesive polymer which gels in the presence of electrolyte to improve the ionic conductivity of the positive electrode (Column 21, Lines 36-48). Modified Jung and Sato both pertain to an electrochemical cell. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the adhesive polymer into the battery to inhibit the generation of internal short-circuit and to improve the safety of the battery (Column 14 Lines 1-20).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jung discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above. Modified Jung does not disclose a battery cell of claim 2 wherein the gel has a solvent with a different polarity than a binder of the separator. Sato discloses an adhesive polymer using polyvinylidene fluoride (PVdF) (0142), and a separator made of polyethylene (0067). Jung and Sato both pertain to an electrochemical cell. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that PVDF is polar and polyethylene is nonpolar, thus teaching the gel having a solvent with a different polarity than the binder of the separator. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the adhesive polymer into the battery to suppress the generation of internal short-circuit (0072), and to improve the conductivity of the positive electrode (0142). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the polyethylene separator into the battery to improve the safety of the battery (0067).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20150255772 A1) in view of Iwata et al. (US 20200335760 A1), as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Zhao et al. (US 20150056491 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jung discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above. Modified Jung does not disclose the battery cell of claim 1 wherein the second electrically insulating material is a resin. Zhao discloses the use of an epoxy resin as an adhesive in a composite porous separator (0024). The surfaces of a polyolefin porous substrate (0067) were coated in an epoxy resin mixture (0066). Jung and Zhao both pertain to an electrochemical cell. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant application to apply a resin adhesive to a separator, because the resin greatly improved the adhesiveness between the electrode plates and thereby inhibited the thermal expansion of the battery (0084).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jung discloses all of the claim limitations set forth above. Modified Jung does not disclose the battery cell of claim 1 wherein the second electrically insulating material is a resin. Zhao discloses the use of an epoxy resin as an adhesive in a composite porous separator (0024). The surfaces of a polyolefin porous substrate (0067) were coated in an epoxy resin mixture (0066). Jung and Zhao both pertain to an electrochemical cell. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant application to apply an epoxy resin adhesive to a separator, as the epoxy resin greatly improved the adhesiveness between the electrode plates and thereby inhibited the thermal expansion of the battery (0084).
Conclusion
/G.W.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1781
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781