DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Changhong WANG et al. “An overview of protected satellite communications in intelligent age”, SCIENCE CHINA Information Sciences, June 2021, vol. 64, No. 161301, pages 1-18, DOI:10.1007/s11432-019-2928-9).
Regarding claim 1, WANG teaches that an intelligent transportation system (Fig. 1, “Introduction” section, and section “3.3 Satellite cross-links). WANG teaches that a first satellite, a second satellite that is different from the first satellite in one or more of a communication coverage, a communication cost, and a communication-related resource (Fig. 1, 3, section “2. System overview” and section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, where teaches guarantee high-data-rate transmission and high bandwidth, satellite cross-link communications can be multi-layered to support flexible large-scale network structures as they are capable of receiving and forwarding various kinds of information from land, sea, sky, and deep space), a third satellite that is different from the first satellite and the second satellite in one or more of the communication coverage, the communication cost, and the communication-related resource (Fig. 1, 3, section “2. System overview” and section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, where teaches satellite cross-links is a technology that supports direct communication between satellites, the satellite cross-links adopt a much higher frequency band for data transmission and utilize the communication system differently from the conventional lower-band communication system on the ground, and guarantee high-data-rate transmission and high bandwidth, satellite cross-link communications can be multi-layered to support flexible large-scale network structures as they are capable of receiving and forwarding various kinds of information from land, sea, sky, and deep space), and one or more mobile nodes configured to perform data communication with one or more of the first satellite, the second satellite, and the third satellite, the one or more mobile nodes being a transportation equipped with communication equipment (Fig. 1, 3, section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, and section “3.4 Multiple spot beam antenna technology”, where teaches multiple spot beam antenna satellite systems have the inherent advantage of suppressing jamming compared to the traditional single-beam satellites. Therefore, the multiple spot beam antenna technology, which provides higher gain, wider coverage, and better jamming suppression ability, is now widely used in the protected SatCom systems, and multiple spot beam antenna technology is very critical in the protected SatCom systems, when secure, timely, and effective communications are required, such as in front-line vehicles, various airborne platforms, and submarines on the battlefield, the combat terminals are dispersed).
Regarding claim 2, WANG teaches that the first satellite has a first communication coverage, a first communication cost, and a first communication-related resource, the second satellite has a second communication coverage narrower than the first communication coverage (Fig. 1, 3, section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, and section “3.4 Multiple spot beam antenna technology”, where teaches SatCom system comparing with traditional satellite, the multiple spot beam antenna of traditional satellite has the following characteristics. First, its beam is narrow, and its gain is high. If multiple transmitters are used to simultaneously feed the beams, a longer operating distance can be obtained. Second, the combined beam can cover a specific shape of the airspace. Third, the low-side lobes can be realized in a combined feed, in addition, providing the SatCom with higher equivalent isotropic radiated power and G/T values to meet the system link requirements), a second communication cost less than the first communication cost, and a second communication-related resource that is smaller than the first communication-related resource (Fig. 1, 3, section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, and section “3.4 Multiple spot beam antenna technology”, where teaches SatCom system comparing with traditional satellite, the multiple spot beam antenna of traditional satellite has the following characteristics. First, its beam is narrow, and its gain is high. If multiple transmitters are used to simultaneously feed the beams, a longer operating distance can be obtained. Second, the combined beam can cover a specific shape of the airspace. Third, the low-side lobes can be realized in a combined feed, in addition, providing the SatCom with higher equivalent isotropic radiated power and G/T values to meet the system link requirements), and the third satellite has a third communication coverage narrower than the second communication coverage, a third communication cost less than the second communication cost, and a third communication-related resource smaller than the second communication-related resource (Fig. 1, 3, 4, section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, section “3.4 Multiple spot beam antenna technology”, and section “3.6 Intelligent control”, where teaches SatCom system comparing with traditional satellite, the multiple spot beam antenna of traditional satellite has the following characteristics. First, its beam is narrow, and its gain is high. If multiple transmitters are used to simultaneously feed the beams, a longer operating distance can be obtained. Second, the combined beam can cover a specific shape of the airspace. Third, the low-side lobes can be realized in a combined feed, in addition, providing the SatCom with higher equivalent isotropic radiated power and G/T values to meet the system link requirements. Also, configuration where the second satellite and the third satellite had the resource smaller than the first satellite, and the second satellite and normal technical engineer as to the configuration, where the configuration has such difference can invent from “it mainly plays the role of collecting and processing the data from the satellite cross-links. It than obtains the operating condition and resource allocation status of the whole system).
Regarding claim 10, WANG teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 2. Furthermore, WANG further teaches that communication method of an intelligent transportation system including a first satellite, a second satellite, a third satellite, and a mobile node (Fig. 1, “Introduction” section, and section “2 System Overview”), wherein the first satellite has a first communication coverage, a first communication cost, and a first communication-related resource, the second satellite has a second communication coverage narrower than the first communication coverage, a second communication cost less than the first communication cost, and a second communication-related resource that is smaller than the first communication-related resource (Fig. 1, 3, section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, and section “3.4 Multiple spot beam antenna technology”, where teaches SatCom system comparing with traditional satellite, the multiple spot beam antenna of traditional satellite has the following characteristics. First, its beam is narrow, and its gain is high. If multiple transmitters are used to simultaneously feed the beams, a longer operating distance can be obtained. Second, the combined beam can cover a specific shape of the airspace. Third, the low-side lobes can be realized in a combined feed, in addition, providing the SatCom with higher equivalent isotropic radiated power and G/T values to meet the system link requirements), the third satellite has a third communication coverage narrower than the second communication coverage, a third communication cost less than the second communication cost, and a third communication-related resource smaller than the second communication-related resource, the communication method comprising transmitting, by the mobile node, an offloading task to one or more of the first satellite, the second satellite, and the third satellite (Fig. 1, 3, 4, section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, section “3.4 Multiple spot beam antenna technology”, and section “3.6 Intelligent control”, where teaches SatCom system comparing with traditional satellite, the multiple spot beam antenna of traditional satellite has the following characteristics. First, its beam is narrow, and its gain is high. If multiple transmitters are used to simultaneously feed the beams, a longer operating distance can be obtained. Second, the combined beam can cover a specific shape of the airspace. Third, the low-side lobes can be realized in a combined feed, in addition, providing the SatCom with higher equivalent isotropic radiated power and G/T values to meet the system link requirements. Also, configuration where the second satellite and the third satellite had the resource smaller than the first satellite, and the second satellite and normal technical engineer as to the configuration, where the configuration has such difference can invent from “it mainly plays the role of collecting and processing the data from the satellite cross-links. It than obtains the operating condition and resource allocation status of the whole system).
Regarding claim 18, WANG teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 10. Furthermore, WANG further teaches that a first satellite located at a first altitude above the ground and having a first communications coverage (Fig. 1, 3, “Introduction” section, section “2 System Overview”, and section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, where teaches guarantee high-data-rate transmission and high bandwidth, satellite cross-link communications can be multi-layered to support flexible large-scale network structures as they are capable of receiving and forwarding various kinds of information from land, sea, sky, and deep space), one or more second satellites located at a second altitude lower than the first altitude and having a second coverage narrower than the first communication coverage (Fig. 1, 3, “Introduction” section, section “2 System Overview”, section “3.3 Satellite cross-links”, and section “3.4 Multiple spot beam antenna technology”, where teaches the second satellite beam is narrow than the first satellite beam).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 3-9 and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose the limitation “the second satellite has the second communication coverage within the first communication coverage of the first satellite, the third satellite has the third communication coverage within the second communication coverage of the second satellite, each of the first satellite, the second satellite, and the third satellite is prepared to support a mobile edge computing (MEC) function, and the mobile node transmits an offloading task to one or more of the first satellite, the second satellite, and the third satellite” as specified the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al. (US 2003/0036349) discloses Multilayer Radio Frequency Interconnect System.
Sebastian et al. (US 2016/0330259) discloses Deltacasting.
Buer et al. (US 2024/0259086) discloses Satellite for End to End Beamforming.
Information regarding...Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system... at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)."
J.L
February 20, 2026
John J Lee
/JOHN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649