Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art are unpersuasive. While there may have been a copy and paste error in citation for the “generating results…” step, the cited portions clearly disclose independent results from individual execution units that are then compared (see at least paragraphs 0009 and 0022, and throughout). The cited portions regarding the “monitoring…” step also sufficiently teach the monitoring separately as the error detection routines are run independently on all execution units). As to Applicant’s arguments regarding the use of the token, the claim language is simply written broadly enough to encompass the teachings of Laudon. Further, the Applicant appears to argue that the claimed token causes a decider to block a result, but the specification appears to indicate on page 9, that the token causes a decider to activate, rather than block, a result similar to the teachings of Laudon. These arguments are not persuasive. The amendments have addressed some of the 112(b) rejections, but other issues remain. The 112(f)/112(b) rejection has not been adequately addressed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: channels and downstream decider/ decider, monitoring function in claims 1-10. The terms “connected downstream” do not provide sufficient structure to perform the recited function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 6, It is still unclear to which decider “ the decider” refers.
As to claim 7, there is lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “the decider to which the monitoring function is connected.” It is unclear to which monitoring function, the monitoring function refers” and to which deciders, “the deciders” refers.
Claim limitations “channels and downstream decider/ decider, monitoring function” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is insufficient structure recited in the specification for performing the functions of these limitations. The specification merely refers to hardware/software implementations. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiberle (US 20090217092 A1) in view of Laudon (US 6108301 A).
As to claim 1, Weiberle teaches a method for operating a safety-critical computer system for processing a calculation task(see paragraph 0010, 0022, and Fig.1-4)) and , the method comprising the following steps:
generating results for the calculation task by a plurality of channels independently of one another (see figs 1-4 and accompanying text, disclosing results generated by individual execution units);
monitoring a health status of each individual channel of the channels separately (see paragraph 0037-0038, disclosing comparing results of the two execution units and if there is a discrepancy, running error detection routines on all execution units);
wherein a decider of a plurality of deciders for enabling or blocking output of the results is connected downstream of each of the channels(see figs 1-4, disclosing comparators and interruption/enabling units), and depending on the health status of the channels, enabling at most one of the channels for output of the results (see paragraphs 0040-0041m disclosing shutting down one of the units that is determined to be faulty)
Wiebler does not explicitly teach wherein it is ensured using a token that output of the results is blocked for all other channels of the channels.
However, Laudon teaches using a token to activate a redundant unit while disabling another one (see summary and col. 6, lines 45-63)
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to a person of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Weiberle with the tokens of Laudon because it avoids the need for complex circuitry for redundant communication links (see col. 2, lines 1-9).
As to claim 2, the references teach claim * as detailed above. They further teach the token is always assigned to only one decider of the deciders (see figs. of Weiberle for interrupt enabling circuits and see and, when a health status of one of the channels to which a respective one of the deciders is connected is impaired, the token is assigned to another one of the deciders, wherein the assignment is initiated one of the deciders that is in possession of the token deciders (see figs. of Weiberle for interrupt enabling circuits and see col. 6 and summary of Laudon for use of a token that is passed between communication units to determine which one is active).
As to claim 4, the references teach claim 2 as detailed above. They further teach the token is periodically assigned to one of the other deciders (see Laudon col 5 bottom to col 6, top) . . . disclosing sending the token after predetermined times).
As to claim 5, the references teach claim 1 as detailed above. They further teach the computer system has a first channel and a second channel, wherein a first decider is connected downstream of the first channel and a second decider is connected downstream of the second channel (see Weiberle figs. 2-4, disclosing interrupt/enable circuits).
As to claim 8, the references teach claim 1 as detailed above. They further teach the event of all channels are detected as faulty, no results are output (see paragraphs 0031 and 0040 of Weiberle).
As to claim 9, it is rejected on grounds corresponding to above rejected claim 1 as they are substantially equivalent.
Conclusion
No prior art was found with which it would be appropriate to reject claims 3, 6, 7, and 10 as currently understood by the examiner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON B BRYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114