DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-9 and 15-20) in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search for cutting tool of Group I requires search for cutting insert of Group II and although the two groups have additional limitations, however, no additional search is required even if a cutting tool and a cutting insert have separate status in the art. This is not found persuasive because Applicant is not arguing that inventions are not independent or distinct. If Applicant has elected Group II (claims 10-14) then naturally a search for a cutting insert does not include a search for a cutting tool. In addition, the claims in the two identified distinct groups include different designs and examiner has clearly identified features required in one group and not the other, which would predictably require different search queries and potentially yield art not necessarily suitable for rejecting the claims of the other group. In addition, Applicant’s argument that the identified groups would include some overlap is insufficient to show that there is no burden for examining between the groups. Applicant has not presented specifically what alleged deficiency the restriction analysis includes.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hecht (US 20070231089A1).
As applied to claims 1 and 15, Hecht teaches a cutting tool (10) including a cutting tool insert holder (14) wherein a cutting insert (12) is held at several abutment regions resulting in the regions applying reaction forces to the cutting insert to better secure the insert during a cutting operation. Hecht teaches the cutting tool (10) comprising:
the tool holder (14) defining a central longitudinal holder axis, a forward holder direction extending in a direction parallel to the central longitudinal holder axis, and a rearward holder direction opposite the forward holder direction, the tool holder including an insert coupling portion comprising a forward facing forward holder surface located at a forward tool end of the tool holder, the forward tool end delimiting the tool holder in the forward holder direction, the insert coupling portion defining an insert seat, the insert seat opens out through the forward facing forward holder surface (Figs. 4 and 5), the insert seat defined by:
a top holder abutment surface (70);
a bottom holder abutment surface opposing the top holder abutment surface (62); and
a holder side abutment surface (48) connecting the top holder abutment surface and the bottom holder abutment surface;
a four-way indexable plate-shaped cutting insert (the cutting insert 12 is five-way indexable which is a multi-indexable including two, three and four way, see paragraph [0022]) releasably secured to the tool holder, the cutting insert being indexable about a central insert axis thereof, the cutting insert having a first axial insert direction along the central insert axis, a second insert direction along the central insert axis opposite the first axial insert direction, and a circumferential insert direction about the central insert axis, the cutting insert defining an insert median plane orthogonal to the central insert axis, the cutting insert (12) comprising:
a base body centered about the central insert axis (portion of 12 labeled 20 in Fig. 2);
a first insert side surface (16);
a second insert side surface (16, two identical side surfaces with only one shown in Fig. 2, paragraph [0022]) opposite the first insert side surface, the insert median plane disposed between the first insert side surface and the second insert side surface;
a peripheral insert surface (18) connecting the first insert side surface and the second insert side surface; and
four cutting arms circumferentially distributed about the central insert axis (Fig. 3 shows 4 cutting arms), the four cutting arms including, in the circumferential insert direction, an active arm (any of 26a in Fig. 3 or 27 in Fig. 6), an upper arm (26c), an inner arm (26d), and a lower arm (26e), the active arm being the cutting arm that extends farthest in the forward holder direction and protrudes in the forward holder direction from the forward holder surface (Fig. 6), each cutting arm extending from the base in a direction away from the central insert axis, the peripheral insert surface of each cutting arm comprising:
a rake surface (34) facing in the circumferential insert direction;
a relief surface (36) facing in a circumferential direction opposite the circumferential insert direction;
a cutting edge (32) formed at an intersection of the rake surface and the relief surface;
a top arm surface extending from the rake surface towards the base body; and
a bottom arm surface extending from the relief surface towards the base body (see Fig. 2);
a fastener (78) releasably securing the cutting insert in the insert seat with exactly four pairs of abutting surfaces therebetween defined as (see paragraphs [0027] and [0031]):
the first insert side surface (flat abutment surface 20 of end surface 16) abutting the holder side abutment surface (48, see paragraph [0027]);
the bottom arm surface of the upper arm abutting the top holder abutment surface (76 in Fig. 6);
the bottom arm surface of the lower arm abutting the bottom holder abutment surface (66 in Fig. 6); and
the top arm surface of the inner arm abutting the bottom holder abutment surface (68 in Fig. 6).
As applied to claim 2, Hecht teaches the invention cited including wherein the tool holder further comprises a shank portion comprising a rearward tool end, the rearward tool end delimiting the tool holder in the rearward holder direction;
a top holder surface; and a front holder surface, the top holder surface and the front holder surface connected to one another and to the forward holder surface (see Fig. 4).
As applied to claims 7, 8, 18 and 19, Hecht teaches the invention cited including wherein the first insert side surface comprises a first insert abutment portion, located at the base body, and a first arm side portion, located at the four cutting arms, the first insert abutment portion being farther away from the insert median plane than at least a portion of the first arm side portion (as in claims 7 and 18) and wherein the second insert side surface comprises a second insert abutment portion, located at the base body, and a second arm side portion, located at the four cutting arms, the second insert abutment portion being farther away from the insert median plane than at least a portion of the second arm side portion (as in claims 8 and 19, see flat abutment surface 20, paragraph [0022], Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht (US 20070231089A1).
As applied to claims 5 and 16, Hecht teaches the invention the invention cited including wherein an outer diameter OD belonging to an imaginary circumscribing circle, defined as the smallest circle circumscribing the cutting insert, and an inner diameter ID belonging to an imaginary inscribed circle, defined as the largest circle inscribed by the cutting insert, fulfills the following condition: 0.3 * OD ≤ ID ≤ 0.6 * OD (see Hecht, Figs. 3 and 3 showing the cutting insert 12 and holder 14 of cutting tool 10 having elements and relationships similar to the claimed limitations shown in instant Figs. 4 and 11).
If Applicant does not agree that Hecht teaches claims 5 and 16 condition 0.3 * OD ≤ ID ≤ 0.6 * OD being met, then it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. One of ordinary skill would have been capable of determining the appropriate OD and ID to meet the claimed condition and ranges in order to provide desirable and suitable nesting of the cutting insert within the cutting tool holder to accommodate the loads incurred during the operation which would result into a more accurate and precise machining operation with minimal chance of damaging the workpiece or the cutting insert.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht (US 20070231089A1) in view of Otsuka et al. (US 20240189918A1, hereinafter “Otsuka”).
As applied to claims 6, 9, 17 and 20, Hecht teaches the invention cited but does not explicitly teach the tool holder further defines an inlet and a top outlet, the top outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the top outlet opening out to the forward holder surface; and wherein in a top view, the top outlet is located directly in the rearward holder direction from the active arm (as in claims 6 and 17) and wherein the first insert side surface further comprises a coolant groove recessed into the first insert abutment portion and opening out to the first arm side portion, the tool holder defining a side outlet and an inlet, the side outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the side outlet opening out to the holder side abutment surface (as in claims 9 and 20).
Otsuka teaches an indexable cutting tool (1) and cutting insert (20) with the tool body including a coolant flow passage (12) for coolant supply, the coolant flow passage (12) being provided to the tool body; an opening part (13) that is provided to the insert mounting seat (11); and a recessed part (23) that forms a flow passage in which at least part of the coolant discharged from the opening part flows, the recessed part being provided to the cutting insert (abstract, Figs. 1-2 and 7-8). Otsuka further teaches that the cutting insert 20 is provided with recessed parts 23 to form the flow passage in which at least part of the coolant 50 discharged from the opening part 13 of the coolant flow passage 12 flows (see, for example, FIG. 4). These recessed parts 23 and opening part 13 of the shank 10 are provided to face toward the cutting edges 21 in a state where the cutting insert 20 is mounted on the insert mounting seat 11, and form a coolant discharge part 30 having such a shape that the coolant 50 is discharged toward at least part of the cutting edges 21. The insert mounting seat 11 of the shank 10 is provided with the opening part 13 of the coolant flow passage 12 (see FIGS. 2 and 5). A portion of a bottom surface (a face in contact with the insert mounting seat 11) 24 of the cutting insert 20 that faces this opening part 13 in a state where the cutting insert 20 is mounted on the insert mounting seat 11 is provided with the recessed parts 23 (see, for example, FIGS. 3 and 4). These opening part 13 and recessed parts 23 are provided to form the coolant discharge part 30 that can discharge the coolant 50 supplied through the coolant flow passage 12 toward at least part of the cutting edges 21, and, preferably, a machining point (a portion at which the cutting insert 20 cuts a workpiece) (see FIG. 1). These opening part 13 and recessed parts 23 are preferably formed in a shape that can make the coolant 50 reliably reach the cutting edges 21 particularly even when machining such as inner diameter grooving of a small diameter or grooving of a narrow groove width, with which it is difficult for the coolant 50 to reach a machining point, is performed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ into the device of Hecht an inlet and a top outlet, the top outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the top outlet opening out to the forward holder surface; and wherein in a top view, the top outlet is located directly in the rearward holder direction from the active arm and a coolant groove recessed into the first insert abutment portion and opening out to the first arm side portion, the tool holder defining a side outlet and an inlet, the side outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the side outlet opening out to the holder side abutment surface, as taught by Otsuka, as an effective means of providing cooling and lubrication to the machining point thus resulting in not only prolonging operational life of the tool but also enhancing the quality of machined surface.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 15-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht (US 8,678,718, hereinafter “Hecht ‘718”) in view of Schiffers (US 6,612,207).
As applied to claims 1 and 15, Hecht ‘718 teaches a cutting tool (40, Figs. 1-7) having an indexable cutting insert (20) with four cutting portions, the cutting insert is securable within a holder portion (42) in four index positions by means of a fastener (44). Hecht ‘718 teaches the cutting tool (40) comprising:
the tool holder (42) defining a central longitudinal holder axis, a forward holder direction extending in a direction parallel to the central longitudinal holder axis, and a rearward holder direction opposite the forward holder direction, the tool holder including an insert coupling portion comprising a forward facing forward holder surface located at a forward tool end of the tool holder, the forward tool end delimiting the tool holder in the forward holder direction, the insert coupling portion defining an insert seat, the insert seat opens out through the forward facing forward holder surface (Figs. 3-7), the insert seat defined by:
a top holder abutment surface (70);
a bottom holder abutment surface opposing the top holder abutment surface (62); and
a holder side abutment surface (48) connecting the top holder abutment surface and the bottom holder abutment surface;
a four-way indexable plate-shaped cutting insert (insert 20, indexable two-way about C axis and two-way about A1 or A2 axis) releasably secured to the tool holder, the cutting insert being indexable about a central insert axis thereof (C axis), the cutting insert having a first axial insert direction along the central insert axis, a second insert direction along the central insert axis opposite the first axial insert direction, and a circumferential insert direction about the central insert axis, the cutting insert defining an insert median plane orthogonal to the central insert axis, the cutting insert (12) comprising:
a base body (see 30) centered about the central insert axis;
a first insert side surface (22);
a second insert side surface (22, two identical opposing surfaces as shown in Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 3-4) opposite the first insert side surface, the insert median plane disposed between the first insert side surface and the second insert side surface;
a peripheral insert surface (24) connecting the first insert side surface and the second insert side surface; and
four cutting arms circumferentially distributed about the central insert axis (see Fig. 4), the four cutting arms including, in the circumferential insert direction, an active arm, an upper arm, an inner arm, and a lower arm, the active arm being the cutting arm that extends farthest in the forward holder direction and protrudes in the forward holder direction from the forward holder surface (see Fig. 4), each cutting arm extending from the base in a direction away from the central insert axis, the peripheral insert surface of each cutting arm comprising:
a rake surface (34);
a relief surface (36);
a cutting edge (32) formed at an intersection of the rake surface and the relief surface;
a top arm surface extending from the rake surface towards the base body; and
a bottom arm surface extending from the relief surface towards the base body (see Fig. 1);
a fastener (78) releasably securing the cutting insert in the insert seat with exactly four pairs of abutting surfaces therebetween defined as (see Fig. 4):
the first insert side surface (at portion 30 of end surface 22) abutting the holder side abutment surface (62); and
the top arm surface of the inner arm abutting the bottom holder abutment surface (54 in Fig. 4).
Hecht ‘718 does not explicitly teach the orientation of the cutting portions by not teaching that each cutting arm comprises the rake surface facing in the circumferential insert direction, that the relief surface facing in a circumferential direction opposite the circumferential insert direction, that the bottom arm surface of the upper arm abutting the top holder abutment surface and that the bottom arm surface of the lower arm abutting the bottom holder abutment surface.
Schiffers teaches a cutting tool including a holding element (8, Fig. 2) receiving an indexable cutting insert (51) with four cutting portions, the cutting insert is securable within the holder portion (8) in positions by means of a fastener (9). Schiffers teaches the cutting insert (51) has rake surface facing in the circumferential insert direction, the relief surface facing in a circumferential direction opposite the circumferential insert direction, the bottom arm surface of the upper arm abutting the top holder abutment surface and the bottom arm surface of the lower arm abutting the bottom holder abutment surface (Figs. 1-2) and that once inserted into the holder (8), the cutting insert becomes into contact with the holding element at four locations 10’, 10”, 10’” and 10’” (col. 7, lines 26-41, 55-58, Figs. 1 and 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time the invention was filed to modify the cutting insert of Hecht ‘718 to have the rake surface facing in the circumferential insert direction, the relief surface facing in a circumferential direction opposite the circumferential insert direction, the bottom arm surface of the upper arm abutting the top holder abutment surface and the bottom arm surface of the lower arm abutting the bottom holder abutment surface, as taught by Schiffers, as a matter of use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way (see MPEP 2143, KSR, Rationale “C”). One having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the modification of the elements of cutting insert of Hecht ‘718 to have the claimed surface orientations in a conventional manner taught by Schiffers would improve the cutting operation while providing improved clamping and holding of the insert within the holder without a modification of the principles of operation of Hecht ‘781.
As applied to claim 2, Hecht ‘718 as modified by Schiffers teaches the invention cited including Hecht ‘718 teaches wherein the tool holder further comprises a shank portion comprising a rearward tool end, the rearward tool end delimiting the tool holder in the rearward holder direction; a top holder surface; and a front holder surface, the top holder surface and the front holder surface connected to one another and to the forward holder surface (see Fig. 3).
As applied to claims 3 and 4, Hecht ‘718 as modified by Schiffers teaches the invention the invention cited including wherein the insert seat opens out through the front holder surface; the top holder surface comprises a top coupling segment located in the insert coupling portion; a top shank segment located in the shank portion and closer to the central longitudinal holder axis than the top coupling segment; and a rearwardly facing coupling segment stopper located between the top coupling segment and the top shank segment; a tool overhang length OL defined parallel to the central longitudinal holder axis from the coupling segment stopper to the cutting edge of the active arm; and an outer diameter OD of an imaginary circumscribing circle, defined as the smallest circle circumscribing the cutting insert, fulfills the following condition: 0.7 * OD ≤ OL ≤ 1.2 * OD (as in claim 3) and wherein a holder overhang length, defined parallel to the central longitudinal holder axis from the coupling segment stopper to the forward holder surface, is in a range of 10 mm to 25 mm (as in claim 4, see Hecht ‘718, Figs. 1 and 7 showing the cutting insert 20 and holder 42 having elements and relationships similar to the claimed limitations shown in instant Figs. 4 and 11).
If Applicant does not agree that Hecht ‘718 as modified by Schiffers teaches the claim 3 condition 0.7 * OD ≤ OL ≤ 1.2 * OD and claim 4 range of 10 mm to 25 mm being met, then it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. One of ordinary skill would have been capable of determining the appropriate OD and OL to meet the claimed condition and ranges in order to provide desirable and suitable nesting of the cutting insert within the cutting tool holder to accommodate the loads incurred during the operation which would result into a more accurate and precise machining operation with minimal chance of damaging the workpiece or the cutting insert.
As applied to claims 5 and 16, Hecht ‘718 as modified by Schiffers teaches the invention the invention cited including wherein an outer diameter OD belonging to an imaginary circumscribing circle, defined as the smallest circle circumscribing the cutting insert, and an inner diameter ID belonging to an imaginary inscribed circle, defined as the largest circle inscribed by the cutting insert, fulfills the following condition: 0.3 * OD ≤ ID ≤ 0.6 * OD (see Hecht ‘718, Figs. 4 and 7 showing the cutting insert 20 and holder 42 of cutting tool 40 having elements and relationships similar to the claimed limitations shown in instant Figs. 4 and 11).
If Applicant does not agree that Hecht ‘718 as modified by Schiffers teaches claims 5 and 16 condition 0.3 * OD ≤ ID ≤ 0.6 * OD being met, then it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. One of ordinary skill would have been capable of determining the appropriate OD and ID to meet the claimed condition and ranges in order to provide desirable and suitable nesting of the cutting insert within the cutting tool holder to accommodate the loads incurred during the operation which would result into a more accurate and precise machining operation with minimal chance of damaging the workpiece or the cutting insert.
As applied to claims 7, 8, 18 and 19, Hecht ‘718 as modified by Schiffers teaches the invention cited including wherein the first insert side surface comprises a first insert abutment portion, located at the base body, and a first arm side portion, located at the four cutting arms, the first insert abutment portion being farther away from the insert median plane than at least a portion of the first arm side portion (as in claims 7 and 18) and wherein the second insert side surface comprises a second insert abutment portion, located at the base body, and a second arm side portion, located at the four cutting arms, the second insert abutment portion being farther away from the insert median plane than at least a portion of the second arm side portion (as in claims 8 and 19, see Hecht ‘718, col. 3, lines 3-16, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 6, 9, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hecht (US 8,678,718, hereinafter “Hecht ‘718”) in view of Schiffers (US 6,612,207) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Otsuka et al. (US 20240189918A1, hereinafter “Otsuka”).
As applied to claims 6, 9, 17 and 20, Hecht ‘718 as modified by Schiffers teaches the invention cited but does not explicitly teach the tool holder further defines an inlet and a top outlet, the top outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the top outlet opening out to the forward holder surface; and wherein in a top view, the top outlet is located directly in the rearward holder direction from the active arm (as in claims 6 and 17) and wherein the first insert side surface further comprises a coolant groove recessed into the first insert abutment portion and opening out to the first arm side portion, the tool holder defining a side outlet and an inlet, the side outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the side outlet opening out to the holder side abutment surface (as in claims 9 and 20).
Otsuka teaches an indexable cutting tool (1) and cutting insert (20) with the tool body including a coolant flow passage (12) for coolant supply, the coolant flow passage (12) being provided to the tool body; an opening part (13) that is provided to the insert mounting seat (11); and a recessed part (23) that forms a flow passage in which at least part of the coolant discharged from the opening part flows, the recessed part being provided to the cutting insert (abstract, Figs. 1-2 and 7-8). Otsuka further teaches that the cutting insert 20 is provided with recessed parts 23 to form the flow passage in which at least part of the coolant 50 discharged from the opening part 13 of the coolant flow passage 12 flows (see, for example, FIG. 4). These recessed parts 23 and opening part 13 of the shank 10 are provided to face toward the cutting edges 21 in a state where the cutting insert 20 is mounted on the insert mounting seat 11, and form a coolant discharge part 30 having such a shape that the coolant 50 is discharged toward at least part of the cutting edges 21. The insert mounting seat 11 of the shank 10 is provided with the opening part 13 of the coolant flow passage 12 (see FIGS. 2 and 5). A portion of a bottom surface (a face in contact with the insert mounting seat 11) 24 of the cutting insert 20 that faces this opening part 13 in a state where the cutting insert 20 is mounted on the insert mounting seat 11 is provided with the recessed parts 23 (see, for example, FIGS. 3 and 4). These opening part 13 and recessed parts 23 are provided to form the coolant discharge part 30 that can discharge the coolant 50 supplied through the coolant flow passage 12 toward at least part of the cutting edges 21, and, preferably, a machining point (a portion at which the cutting insert 20 cuts a workpiece) (see FIG. 1). These opening part 13 and recessed parts 23 are preferably formed in a shape that can make the coolant 50 reliably reach the cutting edges 21 particularly even when machining such as inner diameter grooving of a small diameter or grooving of a narrow groove width, with which it is difficult for the coolant 50 to reach a machining point, is performed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to employ into the device of Hecht ‘718/Schiffers an inlet and a top outlet, the top outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the top outlet opening out to the forward holder surface; and wherein in a top view, the top outlet is located directly in the rearward holder direction from the active arm and a coolant groove recessed into the first insert abutment portion and opening out to the first arm side portion, the tool holder defining a side outlet and an inlet, the side outlet in fluid communication with the inlet, the side outlet opening out to the holder side abutment surface, as taught by Otsuka, as an effective means of providing cooling and lubrication to the machining point thus resulting in not only prolonging operational life of the tool but also enhancing the quality of machined surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Henry et al. teaches toolholder has a head portion including a slot separating the head portion into a lower extension with a lower seat and an upper extension with an upper seat to retain a cutting insert. The head portion contains a coolant entrance passage, which receives coolant from a coolant source, and a coolant delivery passage, which discharges coolant toward a cutting insert. The cutting insert includes a top surface with an upwardly extending protuberance that can be engaged by the toolholder to rigidly mount the cutting insert in the head portion of the toolholder. The cutting insert further includes a coolant channel formed in the top surface of the cutting insert that is positioned directly opposite of the coolant discharge to enhance the flow rate of the coolant delivered to the cutting insert-workpiece interface (abstract, Figs. 1-10).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 09/19/2026