DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the claim amendment and new prior art.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 17. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gersten et al. (US 2022/0311295 A1) in view of Fenn et al. (DE 10 2019 202 563 A1) and Ramsey et al. (US 2021/0126497 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Gersten discloses a rotating assembly (107), comprising:
a first rotating part (109) having a first body with a radially extending outer rim portion (111);
a second rotating part (101) having a receiving area (see annotation below) defined by a radially extending inner flange (see annotation below) with an inwardly extending shoulder (see annotation below) defined thereon;
the first rotating part (109) being located in the second rotating part (101) with the radially extending outer rim portion (111) of the first rotating part (109) adjacent to the radially extending inner flange of the second rotating part (101; FIG. 5), and a portion of the first rotating part (109) being axially supported by the inwardly extending shoulder (FIG. 5).
Gersten does not disclose a plurality of anti-rotation encapsulation recesses located in the first body at least one of at or adjacent to the radially extending outer rim portion;
staking elements comprising plastically deformed portions of the second rotating part, the staking elements being formed via application of an axial load, and the staking elements extend into respective ones of the plurality of anti-rotation encapsulation recesses such that the staking elements enable the transmission of torque between the first and second rotating parts.
Fenn discloses a plurality of anti-rotation encapsulation recesses (22) located in the first body (4) at least one of at or adjacent to the radially extending outer rim portion (15b; FIG. 3);
staking elements (18) of the second rotating part (3), the staking elements being formed via application of an axial load (the cylinder section is pressed axially), the staking elements extend into respective ones of the plurality of anti-rotation encapsulation recesses (22) such that the staking elements (18) enable the transmission of torque between the first and second rotating parts (4, 3; FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Gersten in view of Fenn to disclose a plurality of anti-rotation encapsulation recesses located in the first body at least one of at or adjacent to the radially extending outer rim portion; staking elements of the second rotating part formed via application of an axial load that extend into respective ones of the plurality of anti-rotation encapsulation recesses such that the staking elements enable the transmission of torque between the first and second rotating parts, for the advantages of holding the rotor carrier parts together.
Ramsey discloses staking elements (126) comprising plastically deformed portions (deformed when clamped in groove 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Gersten in view of Fenn, further in view of Ramsey to disclose staking elements comprising plastically deformed portions, which allows the welding step of attaching the first rotating part to the first rotating part to be removed, simplifying the manufacture process.
Regarding claim 11/10, Gersten in view of Fenn and Ramsey was discussed above in claim 10. Fenn further discloses wherein the second rotating part (3) is formed of stamped sheet metal.
Gersten does not explicitly disclose the radially extending inner flange has a thickness of less than 15 mm. Gersten does disclose in ¶ [0028] that the radii R1 and R2 are 10,000 mm long and the Δr is 0.02 mm. While the drawings are not to scale, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art that with a rotor radius of 10,000 mm and the Δr of 0.02 mm, the radially extending inner flange would be miniscule compared to the radius. FIG. 4 in view of the above disclosure would reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the thickness of the radially extending inner flange would be 15 mm or less.
Regarding claim 12/10, Gersten in view of Fenn and Ramsey was discussed above in claim 10. Fenn further discloses wherein the anti-rotation encapsulation recesses (22) are completely filled by the respective staking elements (18; the recesses are dimensioned corresponding to the stakes).
Regarding claim 13/10, Gersten in view of Fenn and Ramsey was discussed above in claim 10. Fenn further discloses wherein the anti-rotation encapsulation recesses (22) are equally spaced in a circumferential direction (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 14/10, Gersten in view of Fenn and Ramsey was discussed above in claim 10. Fenn further discloses wherein the anti-rotation encapsulation recesses (22) extend radially inwardly (the recess is on a radially inner side of the outer rim portion) from a radially outer surface of the radially extending outer rim portion (32b).
Regarding claim 15/10, Gersten in view of Fenn and Ramsey was discussed above in claim 10. Gersten further discloses wherein the first rotating part (109) is a bearing carrier (¶ [0052] bearing plate), and the second rotating part (101) is a rotor carrier for an electric motor (¶ [0035] rotor carrier; ¶ [0002] rotor carrier for a rotor of an electric machine).
Regarding claim 16/10, Gersten in view of Fenn and Ramsey was discussed above in claim 10. Fenn further discloses wherein the application of the axial load to form the staking elements (18; the first rotating part is pressed against the second rotating part as shown in FIG. 1) presses the first rotating part (4) against the inwardly extending shoulder (as disclosed in Gersten) of the second rotating part (3).
Gersten modified in view of Fenn would have the first rotating part pressed against the second rotating part when inserting the staking elements into the recesses.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17/10, the specific limitation of “an axial height of each of the staking elements is 1.0 mm – 3.0 mm” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
None of the prior arts discloses an axial height of a staking element between 1.0 mm – 3.0 mm.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, the claim is a new claim incorporating claim 10 and allowable subject matter claim 17. Claim 18 is allowable for the same reason as discussed above in claim 17.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834