Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendment filed 07/06/2026 which includes amendments to the claims and arguments related to the previous rejection. They have been entered and considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 (currently depending on claim 6) is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim must refer to a preceding claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govekar et al. (US20200271268) "Govekar" in view of Zhan et al. (PCT/CN2021/129690 and corresponding (US20250028023) "Zhan", and Stieff (US20130110314) “Stieff ”.
Regarding claim 1, Govekar discloses a portable calibration assembly (Fig. 1), comprising: a calibration fixture (Fig. 1; 100) configured to hold one or more calibration targets (Fig. 4A; 142, 144) for a vehicle (Fig. 5B; 300); and one or more bumper alignment fixtures (Fig. 11; 500 and 600) configured to align the calibration fixture with a centerline (Fig. 9A) of the vehicle; wherein the calibration fixture is collapsible (Figs. 13 and 14), and comprises: a main frame (Fig. 1; 120 and 110) comprising: a base member (Fig 1; 110) configured to rest on a supporting surface (not shown); and a pillar member (Fig. 1; 120); and a plurality of arms (Fig. 1; 130), wherein each of the arms has a free end (Fig 1; opposite ends of 130), and a connected end (Fig. 12; 705) pivotally coupled (Fig. 13 and Fig. 14) to the pillar member, wherein the bumper alignment fixtures comprise a front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) configured to align with the centerline at a front of the vehicle (Fig. 5B; 300); and the front bumper alignment fixture comprises a first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) configured to project a laser line (Fig. 9B; 152).
Although Govekar discloses a pillar member (Fig. 1; 120) and base member (Fig. 1; 110) and a first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) configured to project a laser line (Fig. 9B; 152).
Govekar does not disclose 1) the pillar member is pivotally coupled to the base member, nor 2) the first laser assembly projects a laser line in opposing directions.
Zhan teaches 1) a pillar member is pivotally coupled to a base member (See Figs. 1 and 2 and [0037] “The lifting mechanism 40 is hingedly installed on the support platform 10.”).
Neither Govekar nor Zhan disclose the first laser assembly projects a laser line in opposing directions.
Stieff teaches 2) a laser line projected in opposing directions (Fig. 2; 108F and 108R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to 1) pivotally couple Govekar’s pillar member and base member, as taught by Zhan, reducing the space required for storage and making transport easier, and 2) configure Govekar’s first laser assembly to project laser lines in opposing directions, as taught by Stieff, to better establish front and rear centerline references simultaneously.
Regarding claim 2, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 1.
Govekar does not disclose a first horizontal axis, a first arm configured to pivot about a second horizontal axis; and a second arm configured to pivot about a third horizontal axis.
Zhan teaches a first horizontal axis (Figs. 1 and 2), a first arm (Fig.12; 52) configured to pivot about a second horizontal axis (Figs. 11 and 12); and a second arm (Fig.12; 52) configured to pivot about a third horizontal axis (Figs. 11 and 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure Govekar’s pillar member and arms to pivot about a first, second, and third horizontal axis, as taught by Zhan, reducing Govekar’s portable calibration assembly to a more compact configuration.
Regarding claim 3, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 2.
Govekar does not disclose the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially parallel; and the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially perpendicular to the first horizontal axis.
Zhan teaches the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially parallel (Figs. 11 and 12 shows the axis about which arms are folded); and the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially perpendicular (Fig. 2) to the first horizontal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure Govekar’s portable calibration assembly to pivot about Zhan’s horizontal axes; wherein Zhan’s second and third horizontal axes are substantially parallel to each other and substantially parallel to Zhan’s first horizontal axis, facilitating multi-directional folding and making Govekar’s assembly more compact and easier to transport.
Regarding claim 5, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 1, wherein: when the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) is placed against a front bumper (Fig. 5B; bumper of 300) of the vehicle (Fig. 5B; 300), the first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) is configured to project the laser line (Fig. 9B; 152).
Govekar does not disclose a first direction, and a second direction opposite the first direction.
Stieff teaches a first direction (Fig. 2; direction of laser beam 108F), and a second direction (Fig. 2; direction of laser beam 108R) opposite the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to project Govekar’s laser lines in opposing directions, as taught by Stieff, in Govkar’s first laser assembly making it easier to establish front and rear centerline references.
Regarding claim 7, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 5, wherein: the bumper alignment fixtures (Fig. 11; 500 or 600) comprise a rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) configured to align with the centerline at a rear of the vehicle; and the rear bumper alignment fixture comprises a second laser assembly (Fig. 8A; 630) configured to project another laser line (Fig. 8A; laser line from 630).
Regarding claim 8, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 7, wherein: when the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) is placed against a rear bumper (Fig. 5B; rear bumper of 300) of the vehicle (Fig. 5B; 300), the second laser assembly (Fig. 8A; 630) is configured to project the other laser line (Fig. 8A; line from 630) toward the vehicle (Fig. 5B; 300).
Regarding claim 9, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 8, wherein: the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) further comprises a laser indicator (Fig. 8A; 660) vertically aligned with the other laser line projected by the second laser assembly (Fig. 8A; 630); and when the laser line projected from the first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) beneath the vehicle aligns with the laser indicator (Fig. 8A; 660), alignment of the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) and the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) is confirmed.
Regarding claim 10, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 5, wherein the calibration fixture further comprises: one or more laser indicators (Fig. 4B; 157) disposed on at least one of the pillar member and the base member, and configured to align with the laser line projected from the first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150).
Regarding claim 11, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 1, and the pillar member.
Govekar does not disclose an adjustable length.
Zhan teaches an adjustable length (Fig. 11; 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for Govekar’s pillar member to have an adjustable length like Zhan’s, allowing a user to more easily align laser lines to a correct position.
Regarding claim 12, Govekar discloses a portable calibration assembly (Fig. 1), comprising: a front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) configured to align with a centerline (Fig. 9A) of a vehicle (Fig. 9C; 300) at a front (Fig. 9C; front of 300) of the vehicle; a rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) configured to align with the centerline at a rear (Fig. 9C; rear of 300) of the vehicle (Fig. 9C; 300); and a calibration fixture (Fig. 1; 100) configured to align with the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500), and to hold one or more calibration targets (Fig. 4A; 142, 144) for the vehicle; the calibration fixture comprising: a main frame (Fig. 1; 120 and 110) comprising: a base member (Fig 1; 110) configured to rest on a supporting surface (not shown); and a pillar member (Fig. 1; 120) having a first end portion (Fig. 1; end of 120 connected to base 110) and a second end portion (Fig. 1; top end of 120), wherein the front bumper alignment fixture comprises a first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) configured to project a laser line (Fig. 9B; 152).
Govekar does not disclose 1) a first pivotal coupling, a first arm having a first free end, a first connected end pivotally coupled via a second pivotal coupling, a second arm having a second free end, a second connected end pivotally coupled via a third pivotal coupling, nor 2) opposing directions.
Zhan teaches 1) a first pivotal coupling (Fig. 1; 37), a first arm (Fig. 12; 52 left) having a first free end (Fig. 12; outer end of 52 left), a first connected end (Fig. 12; inner end of 52 left) pivotally coupled via a second pivotal coupling (Fig. 12; 53 left), a second arm (Fig. 12; 52 right) having a second free end (Fig. 12; outer end of 52 right), a second connected end (Fig. 12; inner end of 52 right) pivotally coupled via a third pivotal coupling (Fig. 12; 53 right).
Neither Govekar nor Zhan disclose a laser line projected in opposing directions.
Stieff teaches 2) a laser line projected in opposing directions (Fig. 2; 108F and 108R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to 1) use Zhan’s first, second, and third pivotal coupling in Govekar’s portable calibration assembly to better facilitate storage and transportation of Govekar’s portable calibration assembly, and 2) configure Govekar’s first laser assembly to project laser lines in opposing directions, as taught by Stieff, to better establish front and rear centerline references simultaneously.
Regarding claim 13, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 12.
Govekar does not disclose pivoting about a first horizontal axis via the first pivotal coupling between an upright position a folded position, pivoting about a second horizontal axis via the second pivotal coupling between an expanded position where the first arm is substantially perpendicular and a collapsed position where the first arm is substantially parallel; and the second arm is configured to pivot in relation about a third horizontal axis via the third pivotal coupling between an expanded position where the second arm is substantially perpendicular and a collapsed position where the second arm is substantially parallel.
Zhan teaches pivoting about a first horizontal axis (Figs. 1 and 2) via the first pivotal coupling (Fig. 1; 37) between an upright position (Fig. 1) a folded position (Fig. 2), pivoting about a second horizontal axis (Figs. 11 and 12) via the second pivotal coupling (Fig. 12; 53 left) between an expanded position (Fig. 12) where the first arm (Fig. 12; 52 left) is substantially perpendicular and a collapsed position (Fig. 11) where the first arm (Fig. 12; 52 left) is substantially parallel; and the second arm (Fig. 12; 52 right) is configured to pivot in relation about a third horizontal axis (Figs. 11 and 12) via the third pivotal coupling (Fig. 12; 53 right) between an expanded position (Fig. 12) where the second arm (Fig. 12; 53 right) is substantially perpendicular and a collapsed position (Fig. 11) where the second arm (Fig. 12; 53 right) is substantially parallel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure Govekar’s portable calibration assembly to pivot about a first, second, and third, horizontal axis, as taught by Zhan, thereby reducing space occupied by Govekar’s portable calibration device, and better facilitating storage and transportation.
Regarding claim 14, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 13.
Govekar does not disclose the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially parallel; and the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially perpendicular to the first horizontal axis.
Zhan teaches the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially parallel (Figs. 11 and 12 shows the axis about which arms are folded); and the second horizontal axis and the third horizontal axis are substantially perpendicular (Fig. 2) to the first horizontal axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure Govekar’s portable calibration assembly to pivot about Zhan’s horizontal axes; wherein Zhan’s second and third horizontal axes are substantially parallel to each other and substantially parallel to Zhan’s first horizontal axis, facilitating multi-directional folding and making Govekar’s assembly more compact and easier to transport.
Regarding claim 15, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 12, wherein: the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 1; 500) comprises a first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150); and when the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 1; 500) is placed against a front bumper (Fig. 5B; bumper of 300) of the vehicle (Fig. 5B; 300), the first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) is configured to project a laser line (Fig. 9B; 152).
Govekar does not disclose a first direction, and a second direction opposite the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to project Govekar’s laser lines in opposing directions, as taught by Stieff, in Govkar’s first laser assembly making it easier to establish front and rear centerline references.
Regarding claim 17, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 15, wherein: the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) comprises a second laser assembly (Fig. 8A; 630) configured to project another laser line (Fig. 8A; laser line from 630); and when the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) is placed against a rear bumper of the vehicle, the second laser assembly (Fig. 8A; 630) is configured to project the other laser line (Fig. 8A; laser line from 630) toward the vehicle.
Regarding claim 18, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 17, wherein: the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) further comprises a laser indicator (Fig. 8A; 660) vertically aligned with the other laser line projected by the second laser assembly (Fig. 8A; 630); and when the laser line projected from the first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) beneath the vehicle aligns with the laser indicator (Fig. 8A; 660), alignment of the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) and the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) is confirmed.
Regarding claim 19, Govekar discloses the portable calibration assembly of claim 15, wherein: the calibration fixture further comprises: one or more laser indicators (Fig. 4B; 157) disposed on at least one of the pillar member and the base member, and configured to align with the laser line projected from the first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150).
Regarding claim 20, Govekar discloses a method comprising: placing a calibration fixture (Fig. 1; 100) of a portable calibration assembly (Fig. 1) a predetermined distance ([0063]) in front of a vehicle (Fig. 5B; 300), wherein the calibration fixture (Fig. 1; 100) comprises a base member (Fig 1; 110), a pillar member (Fig 1; 120) coupled to the base member (Fig 1; 110); unfolding the calibration fixture (Fig. 1; 100); installing one or more calibration targets (Fig. 4A; 142); placing a front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) of the portable calibration assembly against a front bumper (Fig. 5B; bumper of 300) of the vehicle, wherein the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) comprises a first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) configured to project a laser line (Fig. 9B; 152), aligning the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) with a centerline (Fig. 9A) of the vehicle via the laser line from the first laser assembly; placing a rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) of the portable calibration assembly against a rear bumper (Fig. 5B; bumper of 300) of the vehicle, wherein the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) comprises a second laser assembly (Fig. 8A; 630) configured to project another laser line (Fig. 8A; laser line from 630); aligning the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600) with the centerline of the vehicle via the other laser line projected from the second laser assembly; determining whether the front bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 500) is aligned with the rear bumper alignment fixture (Fig. 11; 600); and aligning the calibration fixture with the front bumper alignment fixture by aligning one or more laser indicators (Fig. 4B; 157) on the calibration fixture with the laser line projected from the first laser assembly (Fig. 7; 150) in the first direction when alignment of the front bumper alignment fixture is confirmed.
Govekar does not disclose 1) a pivotally coupled pillar member and a plurality of arms pivotally coupled, nor 2) a laser line pointing in opposing directions.
Zhan teaches 1) a pivotally coupled pillar member (See Figs. 1 and 2 and [0037] “The lifting mechanism 40 is hingedly installed on the support platform 10.”) and a plurality of arms (Fig. 12; 52) pivotally coupled (Fig. 12; 53).
Neither Govekar nor Zhan disclose the first laser assembly projects a laser line in opposing directions.
Stieff teaches 2) a laser line pointing in opposing directions (Fig. 2; 108F and 108R).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to 1) pivotally couple Govekar’s pillar member and base member, as taught by Zhan, reducing the space required for storage and making transport easier, and 2) configure Govekar’s first laser assembly to project laser lines in opposing directions, as taught by Stieff, to better establish front and rear centerline references simultaneously.
Claims 4, 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Govekar, Zhan, and Stieff in view of Tacklind et al. (US6542304) “Tacklind”.
Regarding claims 4, 6, and 16, Govekar, Zhan, and Stieff disclose the portable calibration assembly of claim 5.
Govekar, Zhan, nor Stieff disclose a reflector comprising a plurality of mirrors and an aperture; wherein: the aperture is disposed below the plurality of mirrors and a line laser device spaced apart from the reflector, and configured to project onto the reflector; a first one of the mirrors is configured to reflect a portion of the laser line in the second direction; a second one of the mirrors is configured to reflect a portion of the laser line in the second direction; and the aperture is configured to allow another portion of the laser line to pass through the reflector in the first direction.
Tacklind teaches a reflector (Fig. 1; 2) comprising plurality of mirrors (Fig. 1; 8a-8d) and an aperture (Fig. 2; 14); wherein: the aperture is disposed below the plurality of mirrors (Fig. 1; 8a-8d) and a line laser device (Fig. 1; 4) spaced apart from the reflector, and configured to project onto the reflector (Fig. 1; 2); a first one of the mirrors (Fig. 1; 8a) is configured to reflect; a second one of the mirrors (Fig. 1; 8c) is configured to reflect; and the aperture is configured to allow another portion of the laser line to pass through (Fig. 1; 12) the reflector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Tacklind’s mirrors to reflect Govekar’s laser line in Stieff’s first direction, and to use Tacklind’s aperture to allow Govekar’s laser line to pass through in Stieff’s second direction, having all laser lines coming from a single emitter enhances alignment accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, Govekar, Zhan, and Stieff disclose the portable calibration assembly of claim 15.
Govekar, Zhan, nor Stieff disclose a reflector comprising a plurality of mirrors and an aperture; wherein: the aperture is disposed below the plurality of mirrors and a line laser device spaced apart from the reflector, and configured to project onto the reflector; a first one of the mirrors is configured to reflect a portion of the laser line in the second direction; a second one of the mirrors is configured to reflect a portion of the laser line in the second direction; and the aperture is configured to allow another portion of the laser line to pass through the reflector in the first direction.
Tacklind teaches a reflector (Fig. 1; 2) comprising plurality of mirrors (Fig. 1; 8a-8d) and an aperture (Fig. 2; 14); a line laser device (Fig. 1; 4) spaced apart from the reflector, and configured to project onto the reflector (Fig. 1; 2); a first one of the mirrors (Fig. 1; 8a) is configured to reflect; a second one of the mirrors (Fig. 1; 8c) is configured to reflect; and the aperture is configured to allow another portion of the laser line to pass through (Fig. 1; 12) the reflector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Tacklind’s mirrors to reflect Govekar’s laser line in Stieff’s first direction, and to use Tacklind’s aperture to allow Govekar’s laser line to pass through in Stieff’s second direction, having all laser lines coming from a single emitter betters alignment accuracy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US11162785 discloses a calibration apparatus comprising a target structure having a reflective surface.
US11119189 discloses a calibration system and a calibration bracket.
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855